Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo

Nagamotoo invites U.S. Indians to invest in Guyana

PRIME Minister Moses Nagamootoo Friday evening sought to cajole business leaders and investors of the Indian diaspora, especially those in the United States, to invest in Guyana.“…there are ample opportunities for the American-Indian diaspora in renewable energy supply (solar, wind, hydro etc.),” Nagamootoo told those attending the Global Convention of the Global Organisation of Peoples of Indian Origin (GOPIO) in New York.

“There are unbridled opportunities for large-scale agricultural projects, agro-processing and aquaculture on extensive arable lands, development of which has been restricted for centuries to sugar cultivation,” he stated.
In pitching Guyana, he noted that Guyana is the only English-speaking country in South America with 215,000 sq. km, the same size as the United Kingdom and 20 times the size of Jamaica; rich in natural resources such as forests, gold, bauxite, gas and oil; politically and economically stable with positive growth rates over the past decade; governed by a six-party, multi-ethnic, coalition Government that has an Open Door policy towards business, etc..
In addition, he stated that 85% of the land space of Guyana is virgin rainforest.

“We aim to develop 100% renewable power supply by the year 2025 under our policy to promote both a clean and green economy,” the Prime Minister stated.
It was with these facts in mind that he invited new investors to Guyana.

“With anticipated alternative energy, Guyana can become a safe haven for ICT and light manufacturing to take advantage of duty-free access to U.S. markets under agreements such as the Caribbean Basin Initiative.
“So, as Prime Minister, I assure you a role in credible investment and business in Guyana.
“We are relatives. Now, we must become partners,” Nagamootoo stated.
He said that though Guyana and India are defined by distinct and different nationalities, almost one-half of the population of Guyana shares ethnic-cultural and ancestral relationships with India.
“We share a common political history of rule by the British. After slavery ended, the British recruited mainly Chinese, Portuguese and Indians to supplement freed African labourers on the sugar estates,” he noted.
Nagamootoo said he traced his own ancestry to South Indian, indentured immigrants who arrived in 1847 in the then British colony and who were bonded to the sugar plantations on the Guiana coastland.
Nagamootoo noted that his ancestors and many other immigrants chose not to return to India and accepted Guiana as their new homeland.
“Though he was born in 1947, the year of India’s independence, like so many other Guyanese I value dearly and cherish my ancestral roots and ethnic-cultural bonds with all Indian citizens and nationals.
“This is why I consider being here amongst you, a privilege and an honour,” he told the GOPIO Convention.
The Prime Minister noted that Guyana and India enjoy special relations.
“India inspired our own independence struggle. India is present in almost all facets of Guyanese life. Indian specialists are helping to modernise and transform our sugar, rice and other agricultural sectors; Indian doctors and medical technicians serve in several of our hospitals; Indian foods, music, art, rituals and even yoga form part of the cultural life of Guyana.
“Besides, India helps to train many of our technicians and media workers under the ITEC programme,” he stated.

Did Nagamootoo tell the diaspora that Guyana is a land of many thieves, rapists, and murderers? Now he turned to Indians to do business in Guyana? He is lucky to be invited and get a free dinner from the (GOPIO).

Nagamootoo is in la la land.  He cannot get the local Indians who are very vested in Guyana to invest, how the hell does he get expatriates.  Did he elaborate the areas for investment and the value proposition on offer?

That's right invest in the Granjer-greene gang because the Guyana Duke of Edinburgh said so.

Man that is the job to have. Guyana Duke of Edinburgh. On tour to make a difference. A life of a Duke is cool.

He got zero investment from the Black diaspora, now he is running back to courting Indians. But he must believe they are stupid, they all know what is awaiting them in Guyana, robbery, rape and shakedown from govt officials. 

Blacks will not invest, not in a big way and not the type of investment needed in Guyana.  Blacks who do well here have ample sweet-skin opportunities, why would they want to go and deal with mud and mosquitoes in Guyana, much less crime.  Indians are more cut out for the bare knuckle hard work any investment in Guyana will need to be successful.  And few Indians will do it under this racist and incompetent regime.

Dat Neemakaram, Crabdaag thinks Desis stupid???  They dont clean toilets!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nagamootoo noted that his ancestors and many other immigrants chose not to return to India and accepted Guiana as their new homeland.
“Though he was born in 1947, the year of India’s independence, like so many other Guyanese I value dearly and cherish my ancestral roots and ethnic-cultural bonds with all Indian citizens and nationals.
“This is why I consider being here amongst you, a privilege and an honour,” he told the GOPIO Convention.

Ppavi, what was it you were saying about Naga claiming to be not Indian?

Kari posted:

Dat Neemakaram, Crabdaag thinks Desis stupid???  They dont clean toilets!!!!!!!!!!!!

Crabdaags and Neemakarams ARe INDIANS, learn to read and understand. I NEVER said he was not Indian. Onve again, NEEMAKARAM, CRabdaag AND parasites LIKE uNCLE tOM ARE indians. bEFORE YOU WRITE CANT YOU FIRST THINK????

Kari posted:

Crabdaags and Neemakarams ARe INDIANS, learn to read and understand. I NEVER said he was not Indian. Onve again, NEEMAKARAM, CRabdaag AND parasites LIKE uNCLE tOM ARE indians. bEFORE YOU WRITE CANT YOU FIRST THINK????

Seems like you can't get rid of the arthritis in your digits there Pavi - some CAPS are still coming through on the keyboard!

Kari posted:

Seems like you can't get rid of the arthritis in your digits there Pavi - some CAPS are still coming through on the keyboard!

No surprise you are a friend of Uncle Tom. Remember the hit song : Show me your company and I'll tell who you are"???

Kari posted:

Sounds like a con job from Naga here Kari.  Naga is a smart man.

Kari posted:

A kack man to be precise. Kari and Django gat Barrels of snakeoil left over.  When yuh stupid yuh done stupid, said my Neighba.

Last edited by Nehru

Nagga did state that he is not Indian, but Guyanese.

Kari posted:

Damn bai, I see like yuh went overboard wid dem caps. Might need a Navajo code talker fuh this one.

Kari posted:

Damn bai, I see like yuh went overboard wid dem caps. Might need a Navajo code talker fuh this one.

Just dont give me reasons to CAP you.

“We aim to develop 100% renewable power supply by the year 2025 under our policy to promote both a clean and green economy,” the Prime Minister stated.

As I've repeatedly said here, this government will definitely not be removed in 2020 and it now looks like the PPP will not get back in power in 2025 either. President Granger has reportedly spoken of long-term plans also. 

Bai, yuh think that just because Naga said that they expect to still be the government in 2025, that means that they will. Unless the plan is already in place for the old style PNC approach to balloting.

Whatever it takes, this government will hold on at all costs. And Bharrat Jagdeo is helping them in an unusual way. According to the latest press report, Jagdeo says the Granger administration is sucking up to the Americans and other foreign powers. Yuh tink de US will want Jagdeo back in powa afta all dem nasty tings Priya and Donald and Jagdeo seh bout dem? Dem go tun a blind eye to whateva de guvment do. Wha come sah do.

Kari posted:

You're too smart for that Kzaaazzz..... Now you're the hero of folks like Nehru et al. Here comes the hatred whose floodgates you've opened - well widened some more.

Unless the plan is already in place for the old style PNC approach to balloting.....

Such pre-judging (it's called prejudice I believe) is understandable Kzaaazzzut it's prejudice nevertheless. It exposes one's thinking about something. The use of the qualifier "unless" is unnecessary as you believe that this coalition, PNC-dominated, yes, is going to rig the 2020 elections.

So Kzaaazzz keep on trumpeting (have you mailed in your vote yet for Trump?) your insights....we'll take note.

He is prudent to ask for returnees with skill and entrepreneurial ideas to return and establish a footprint. Lets be for real. Oil will begin to flow in 2018, the government will expand tens of time. The economy will similarly. Indians will not have an natural in on projects because of ethnic nepotism except as they are there and able to get a jump on others. Welcome to the big regret that the PPP were such monumental idiots.

Danyael posted:

He is prudent to ask for returnees with skill and entrepreneurial ideas to return and establish a footprint. Lets be for real. Oil will begin to flow in 2018, the government will expand tens of time. The economy will similarly. Indians will not have an natural in on projects because of ethnic nepotism except as they are there and able to get a jump on others. Welcome to the big regret that the PPP were such monumental idiots.

Oil exploration economics is such that the benefits will not trickle down so quickly.

Whatever it takes, this government will hold on at all costs. And Bharrat Jagdeo is helping them in an unusual way. According to the latest press report, Jagdeo says the Granger administration is sucking up to the Americans and other foreign powers. Yuh tink de US will want Jagdeo back in powa afta all dem nasty tings Priya and Donald and Jagdeo seh bout dem? Dem go tun a blind eye to whateva de guvment do. Wha come sah do.

No statements bashing the Americans. Stop being so close to the Chinese. These people are not like the traditional Guyanese Chinese. These China Chinese/ Hong Kong/ Taiwan Chinese don't give a damn about anyone else except their own people and white people to become part of white society.

'PRIME Minister Moses Nagamootoo Friday evening sought to cajole business leaders and investors of the Indian diaspora, especially those in the United States, to invest in Guyana.“…there are ample opportunities for the American-Indian diaspora in renewable energy supply (solar, wind, hydro etc.),” Nagamootoo told those attending the Global Convention of the Global Organisation of Peoples of Indian Origin (GOPIO) in New York.

“There are unbridled opportunities for large-scale agricultural projects, agro-processing and aquaculture on extensive arable lands, development of which has been restricted for centuries to sugar cultivation,” he stated.
In pitching Guyana, he noted that Guyana is the only English-speaking country in South America with 215,000 sq. km, the same size as the United Kingdom and 20 times the size of Jamaica; rich in natural resources such as forests, gold, bauxite, gas and oil; politically and economically stable with positive growth rates over the past decade; governed by a six-party, multi-ethnic, coalition Government that has an Open Door policy towards business, etc..'

Does he think these people are dumb. Why don't he tell them his boys scrapped the Amalia Falls Project?  He calls Guyana ' politically and economically stable', he should tell them about the firing of tons of people in the public sector simply because they are Indians. 

Amalia falls don't make any sense. If I had my way Joey would be been inchange of hydro because no crook is getting pass him. Brazilian companies could have been contacted to build hydros.

Kari posted:
Danyael posted:

Oil exploration economics is such that the benefits will not trickle down so quickly.

You cannot be waiting on trickle down on oil money. That never happens. What will happen is that the government will begin massive road and bridges and other connective tissue to a  transportation infrastructure. That will be matched by a communication infrastructure. Then there will be the building of mega cities and playgrounds for the emerging rich elites.

There will be massive import on luxury goods to facilitated the specialized tastes of the elites....trickle down dont happen...has not happened anyplace excpt in states like Norway.

Everywhere else the pattern is the same. The massive poor underclass will see better lives but the elites will be an entrenched super rich class with no connection to them except as a service class. Our Agriculture and manufacturing will not keep pase either.

Guyana has water, hard rain and jungle things that make transportation costly.

This may sound stupid but it is an idea to discuss the feasibility.

What about some type of underground train or bullet train. That way we don't have to worry about water, jungle or rain.

Granger is proud to tell people that he is an African. He said it on Benchop internet radio. "It is very clear to see that I am a man of African descent" 

Guyana has water, hard rain and jungle things that make transportation costly.

This may sound stupid but it is an idea to discuss the feasibility.

What about some type of underground train or bullet train. That way we don't have to worry about water, jungle or rain.

Just take a ride along the cost of Belgium and northern France not to mention the Netherlands and see the way water is controlled with massive engineering. With money we can manage our water. Imagine if we had stepped dams along some of the smaller costal rivers. That would control flow and reserve water for dry periods. We can manage the water with money.

Kari posted:

You're too smart for that Kzaaazzz..... Now you're the hero of folks like Nehru et al. Here comes the hatred whose floodgates you've opened - well widened some more.

Bai, you should know by now that I care only to be the hero of my two children. I don't trust Nagamootoo any more than I trust Granger, Jagdeo or any other politician. I still parrot the phrase "Politics is who gets what, when and how". I don't expect any more than that from politicians. I am getting to that point where I am expecting as much if not less from preachers. Nagamootoo says what is expedient no less than any other politician. I don't like to point things out in racial terms because there is no pure race nor is there any particular one or ones that can never ne as good as others. Nevertheless, Naga's Indian pander above either indicates that it is a con job or that is the level to which he believes the Guyanese Indian potential investors in New York can only rise.

Kzaazzz if you're going to be a hero to your kids only and the heck with the rest of the world, then do not pour fuel on the rest of the world. In other words be silent and only open up to your kids.

Kari posted:

Unless the plan is already in place for the old style PNC approach to balloting.....

Such pre-judging (it's called prejudice I believe) is understandable Kzaaazzzut it's prejudice nevertheless. It exposes one's thinking about something. The use of the qualifier "unless" is unnecessary as you believe that this coalition, PNC-dominated, yes, is going to rig the 2020 elections.

So Kzaaazzz keep on trumpeting (have you mailed in your vote yet for Trump?) your insights....we'll take note.

I don't believe that there is going to be rigging in the 2020 elections. That does not preclude me from thinking that it is possible. The first sign that this Coalition thinks like the old PNC is when they decided to reintroduce the multiple Vice Presidents positions. They followed that up with a year of haplessness. What is the prevailing element that this cannot become the old PNC by 2020?

The Trump question is a low blow bai.

Kari posted:

Kzaazzz if you're going to be a hero to your kids only and the heck with the rest of the world, then do not pour fuel on the rest of the world. In other words be silent and only open up to your kids.

Fuel is useless if there is not an igniter bai.

Kari posted:

No surprise you are a friend of Uncle Tom. Remember the hit song : Show me your company and I'll tell who you are"???

OY, did u see insp. Rags face book page? The man pose off with Nagamoottoo in some yard in Richmond Hill. Ah had to call e and give e a piece of meh mind. Nuff people  let him have it too. I was shocked.
I hope is nah u yard, bai, or I might gat to call u too.

Danyael posted:

Never knew there was ethnic nepotism. This is a baseless claim. It is nepotism based on who can pay the biggest bribe. This was true under the PPP and continues to be true under the PNC.

Kari posted:

OY, did u see insp. Rags face book page? The man pose off with Nagamoottoo in some yard in Richmond Hill. Ah had to call e and give e a piece of meh mind. Nuff people  let him have it too. I was shocked.
I hope is nah u yard, bai, or I might gat to call u too.

Is the man Uncle, actually he tole that he would pick me up on Saturday  to go to a BBQ. Ok Skont is dat where he was taking me. Boy is 2 Mudda Kunt I would have given Uncle Tom!!!!!!!!!!!!

Danyael posted:

Never knew there was ethnic nepotism. This is a baseless claim. It is nepotism based on who can pay the biggest bribe. This was true under the PPP and continues to be true under the PNC.

Guyana's problem has always been ethnic nepotism. It is why we have a bifurcated political system. Bribe etc is just one symptom.