Stop using jumbie; fear of black man – Nagamootoo

Prime Ministerial candidate of the APNU-AFC coalition, Moses Nagamootoo is calling for an end to race-baiting and using the “jumbie of fear of the black man” going into the May 11 elections.

Speaking on the radio programme Hard Talk aired on 90.1 Love FM on Sunday, Nagamootoo said regardless of individual race, “we are all Guyanese” and should see each other as such. “We need to send positive messages to our supporters and in fact all Guyanese. We have to learn to live out the creed of who we are; we are Guyanese and we are not Indo-Guyanese, Afro-Guyanese, Chino-Guyanese, Amerindo-Guyanese…we are Guyanese. If you go to Trinidad you find Trinis, Jamaica, Jamaicans so we don’t have to emphasise our difference, we have to live with who we are and try to be able to understand the concerns collectively that all of us need to see our country move forward.”

The coalition PM candidate said as a politician he cannot identify any group or block of parties that requires damnation. “I believe that the PPP would attract sufficient votes to be respected after the elections even though it will go into the minority and in the opposition. I believe that the five parties in APNU combined with AFC will win a handsome majority but it will come from all sections of the Guyanese people. We must not go there appealing to their racial or prejudicial side. Appeal to their side that tells us we have an angel inside all of us that could do better if we allow it to do better,” he stated.

Concern remains about the resurfacing of racial animosity, particularly between blacks and Indians in some sections of the society at elections time. Some believe these sentiments are fuelled by the nature and tone of political campaigns which, in the past, seemed to focus more on race than on issues affecting Guyanese.

“We want to say that there should be no violence in the elections. We should have an end to race-carping and perhaps still using this jumbie; the fear of the black man because when we go the United States, we don’t ask who is Obama, whether he is black, blue or green. When we go to Suriname…Guyanese go there and they can live with Bouterse, or they go to any of the Caribbean islands…they run to countries that are literally ruled by black people so I don’t think that we should carp on this issue of race,” Nagamootoo said.

He stressed that a better system of governance is what the focus should be and more inclusiveness for young people going into the elections. Nagamootoo said he is offering a hand of friendship to all the political parties, even before the elections, to let them know there is room for all in the coalition.

Nagamootoo was appearing on the programme at the time with Minister of Health, Dr. Bheri Ramsaran

That's Moses our healer and statesman, with a real Jaganite heart.

David is like that too.  So let's move Guyana forward!

Let's be strong and throw the rascals out of office.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

That's Moses our healer and statesman, with a real Jaganite heart.

David is like that too.  So let's move Guyana forward!

Let's be strong and throw the rascals out of office.

The more you people call Moses a "Jaganite", the less I wanna support him.

I don't want Jaganites and Burnhamites.

Let us be done with these two daags already. It's 2015.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Jaganite is a good thing.  Burnham was a crook of the worst kind (election thief).

No bai. Jaganite means coolie auntyman who made Indians wait out the Cold War for their right to vote.

That's Jaganite.

Jaganite is also bequeathing to Indians and Guyana a Stalinist political party grounded in "democratic centralism" which is a fancy word for dictatorship.

Jaganite and Burnhamite are two sides of the same shyte stained coin.

Fear is a subjective thing. It can be overcome where there is a will.

The so-called Indo-Guyanese fear of Afro-Guyanese, which politicians have exploited and manipulated for 60 years, must be confronted head-on.

Personally, I have never been afraid of Afro-Guyanese. I grew up near them at Uitvlugt and we got along fine over the decades. During the racial disturbances 1963-1964 there was blood and bitterness, but over time the relations became normal again.

Of course, every race in Guyana has its fair share of bigots but thankfully they are not in the majority.

Other AFC-APNU politicians would do well to pick up where Moses left off and spread the message that Indo-Guyanese must not be afraid of Afros.

Gil,

It's not as simple as "coolie man frikken black man."

It's far more complex than that. I think you have many Indians who remember post election violence.

That is the common thread in conversations with Indians. No fear. Not Burnham. Not aloo and roti.

It's the still justified anger over post election violence targeting Indians. Not targeting the PPP. Not Ministers. Not the President. But ordinary Indians for being Indians.

Gil,

It's far more complex than that. I think you have many Indians who remember post election violence.

That is the common thread in conversations with Indians. No fear. Not Burnham. Not aloo and roti.

It's the still justified anger over post election violence targeting Indians. Not targeting the PPP. Not Ministers. Not the President. But ordinary Indians for being Indians.

So explain why it more complex shaintaan?

Gil,

When last we had post election violence.  Since 1997.  So what shyte you talking here Shaintaan

Moses wants revenge on the PPP for the way he was treated.  They did not make him the President.  He will do whatever it takes to defeat the PPP even if he has to sell his family.

The man seh the good PPP people are welcomed.  Indra Chaderpaul is welcomed.  Frank Anthony is in talks with Moses.

ASNI- NOT welcomed.  OH Nandalala got to go back to school he srunt to DUNCE.

Gil,

When last we had post election violence.  Since 1997.  So what shyte you talking here Shaintaan

2001 Post Election. Then the Buxton "Freedom Fighters" which is like 2002-2005 era.

This isn't ancient history chap.

And no amount of wishful thinking is gonna wash this away.

Gil,

2001 Post Election. Then the Buxton "Freedom Fighters" which is like 2002-2005 era.

Who was Inspector Gadget?

An East Indian BANDIT who terrorised Berbice for months.

Remember this one who tried to robbed a supermarket with GUNS?

Gil,

This is why I can't talk to most of you Coalition goons. Ayuh run to play propaganda games with people. Save that nonsense for Councie.

I'm just articulating a fact that Indian People hold the PNC responsible for 1997, 2001, and then Buxton. Period. You can throw in all them other coolie bandits you like. But the narrative here is one that is distinctly anti-PNC from the collective Indian standpoint.

You can prattle all you like. I don't care about the individual issues with this narrative. The Indian People believe it and act accordingly and you and your nuancing ain't gonna help that.