Home > Features > Nagamootoo, Roopnarine profoundly ignorant of what it takes to be a genuine leader
Nagamootoo, Roopnarine profoundly ignorant of what it takes to be a genuine leader

IN less than a week, the nation has been treated to what has now become a traditional signpost of the politics of the combined parliamentary Opposition parties – that of attacking development projects, initiated/planned by the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Government.

alt

Moses Nagamootoo

First, it was the Working People’s Alliance (WPA), with its Agriculture spokesperson Dr Rupert Roopnarine condemning the Hope Canal project as an “extravagance’ as well as being “unnecessary”.

Now, he is followed by none other than Moses Nagamootoo, a senior grandee of the Alliance For Change (AFC), who believes that he was divinely anointed to be President of Guyana!

Dr Rupert Roopnarine

But such grand self-perception, surely is utterly betrayed by his woeful ignorance of what a patriotic President will always do for his country’s advancement, as again exemplified by President Donald Ramotar’s highly successful visit to India, during which he obtained a US$50M loan, for a road that will link the East Coast Demerara to the East Bank Demerara, and a ferry that will ply the North West District.

For Nagamootoo to describe these two very important projects as “fly by night” is unbelievable, as it is unfortunate, even though this may be the ‘silly season’, as is called the period leading to elections.

No serious politician who wants to be considered for national leadership, will ever utter such description of two national development initiatives that when completed, will bring further relief to the nation.

In fact, they are both key to Guyana’s socio-economic transformation.
If for political ends, then it is gross ignorance that reflects the intellectual limitations of a party that had attempted to bring national progress to a halt, by way of a no-confidence vote. How silly this party and its chieftains now look!
But, given the political modus operandi since Nagamootoo’s departure from the People’s Progressive Party/Civic, then such a statement, as originated from him, reeks of bitterness, and reckless spite, all with the contrived aim of the continued vilification of government’s efforts to make Guyana a better place.
Every Guyanese know the strategic importance of that intended road link-up between the two geographic areas. It has been a concept that has been among the priorities of the PPP/C government’s development plans. From whatever point on the East Demerara highway, such road will commence, on completion, it will bring great reduction in travelling time for travellers, en route especially to Timehri, as well as lessening the risk of congestion and accidents.
For the proposed ferry: quicker, safer, reliable and more comfortable travel. Surely, one wonders how such projects can be branded in the manner that Nagamootoo has done?
President Ramotar is on record as saying that he is always ready and willing to promote the development of Guyana. And, he has again done so, by this latest act of putting country first.
It is timely, though; that the likes of Nagamootoo continue their profound ignorance of what it takes to be a genuine leader. The electors, will have less of a problem on election day.

amusing how the barely-literate, infantile touts here on GNI get a thrill labeling their betters as "ignorant" [Freudian projection rising]

yugee bai, take a bow . . . and doan shake yuh bt like when u does approach barat and kwamee dem

arite?

yuji, please enlighten me.

How many levels of ignorance are there?

What is the difference between profoundly ignorant and plain ignorant?

Compare yourself to Moses on a political assessment basis and you will get the answer. 

yuji, please enlighten me.

How many levels of ignorance are there?

What is the difference between profoundly ignorant and plain ignorant?

Compare yourself to Moses on a political assessment basis and you will get the answer. 

In that case he is plain ignorant like me.

Dat "Observer" who seh Moses profoundly ignorant is one ignaar.

amusing how the barely-literate, infantile touts here on GNI get a thrill labeling their betters as "ignorant" [Freudian projection rising]

yugee bai, take a bow . . . and doan shake yuh bt like when u does approach barat and kwamee dem

arite?

The Article missed you. You , Roop and Moses are DUMB FOOLS who would like to be Leaders!!!

arite?

The Article missed you. You , Roop and Moses are DUMB FOOLS who would like to be Leaders!!!

when you wake up in the morning drunk,what you tell yourself.one more day still being stupid 

arite?

when you wake up in the morning drunk,what you tell yourself.one more day still being stupid 

Marnin, Stupidee Bill, yuh fuget to put food in yuh mouth instead of yuh Kakahole again dis Marnin??//!!!!

arite?

Marnin, Stupidee Bill, yuh fuget to put food in yuh mouth instead of yuh Kakahole again dis Marnin??//!!!!

lawd have mercy 

arite?

LOL

Nehru Bhai, you are on fire this morning. Dish it out to them shameless dawgs. Give them a dose of their own medicine.

arite?

LOL

Nehru Bhai, you are on fire this morning. Dish it out to them shameless dawgs. Give them a dose of their own medicine.

EVIL never sleeps