The Xenon Hotel

[www.inewsguyana.com]The multi-million dollar Xenon Hotel has opened its first branch in Georgetown as part of its expansion plans. The popular hotel which houses its first brand in Charity on the Essequibo Coast boasts a modern 29 room hotel in the heart of the city.

The Xenon brand has more than 30 years experience in the hospitality industry. The Georgetown and Essequibo branches are linked and special packages are available for persons who wish to visit either branch.

The investment is meant to compliment the investment in the 704 entertainment complex and is located across the road from 704 at Lamaha and Albert Streets. The brand new hotel boasts all the modern facilities one has come to expect including hot and cold water, air conditioned rooms, free Wi-Fi, cable television and adequate parking. There are 25 rooms and 4 suites and all are serviced by an elevator.Xenon 19

The hotel management says they are expecting that the investment will complement Guyana’s tourism package as visitors now have another option for accommodation within the city.

The hotel promises that it will provide modern conveniences with the charm of Guyanese hospitality and assures that rates are affordable. The brand new hotel is catering to international and local travelers and says that the comfort it offers will astound even the most discerning traveler.

There are many hotels accommodation in Georgetown, yet more new hotels are opened up. The smaller hotel operators understand the competitiveness is the business. Pegasus should take note. Everyone needs to get a piece of the action.

More hotels to accommodate our booming tourism industry?

Do people take "real" vacations in Guyana? As opposed to juss go hang out at the relatives' house and visit one two rum shaps and drink some water coconuts at their relatives' expense?

Many years ago I stayed at Tower hotel for two week and tour the whole of G/T with my G/F. People want to be free from family sometime, plus you get your privacy too. 

Do you even know what a tourist is chap? A tourist is not some coolie and he sweethoman enjoying some coconut wata.

Tourists are non-Guyanese people on tour drawn to Guyana for some peculiar reason. Even Trinidad has a tourism industry because it offers something uniquely Trini...carnival.

WTF does Guyana offer that is unique? Some malcontent coolies and Blacks and some oppressed Amerindians? Along with piles of garbage, rude customer service people, and abbe haute cuisine of fry rice, roase poke, and banks beer?

P.S. Jackass....no country is ever a tourist destination where the U.S. Embassy is designated a "hardship post" for pay and allowances. Guyana is such a shytehole that it takes extra money to attract diplomats to grudgingly accept postings there. Often times it's not enough. Many a Merican diplomat has been disappointed to learn of his impending posting to a place called "Guyana" even with the "hardship post" payments. As for Ambassaduh wuk, you usually go there only to top up your pension on your way out of the Foreign Service by collecting "hardship" money.

Tourist arrivals up by 13.9% in the first quarter of year

‘GUYANA – South America Undiscovered’ is fast becoming the destination of choice for visitors.The Ministry of Tourism and the Guyana Tourism Authority (GTA) have reported a record high of 46,369 arrivals in the first quarter of this year. This translates into a 13.9 percent increase over last year’s arrivals.

In a brief interview with Tourism, Industry and Commerce Minister Irfaan Ali, he explained, “It is clear that the country’s interest in tourism is very aggressive at this moment. This steady increase is testimony to the continued investment in the country’s tourism sector and the aggressive marketing strategies used.”

It is evident from the figures and the overall trends that visitor arrivals keep climbing, and according to Minister Ali, it is expected to continue along this trajectory. He noted that the growth in the sector will be supported by several major investments, including the recently opened Marriott Hotel and the expansion of the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, among many other initiatives.

Mr Indranauth Haralsingh, Director of the GTA, said the increase in arrivals from Central and South America, which accounted for 15% of total market share, was a result of the boost in airlift from Conviasa, Copa Airlines and Insel Air, and the marketing initiatives of the Guyana Tourism Authority, THAG and the Private Sector.

He explained, “Conviasa continues flying to Guyana from Venezuela, Insel Air has also commenced flights direct from the Dutch Caribbean, such as Aruba and Curacao. In addition, with the introduction of direct flights by COPA, we have seen an increase in airlift to Guyana.”

The third and fourth biggest generating markets were Canada and Europe, with 13% and 6% respectively, the Director noted.

The current year-to-date (January to March 2015) summary indicates that visitor arrivals increased by 26.1% with a total of 18,464 visitors, compared to the 14,648 for the same period in 2014.

According to the GTA Director, these figures can be attributed to Guyana continuing to attract more international recognition through films and documentaries.

The country has maintained attendance at key travel and trade shows, and the Guyana Tourism Authority has intensified its marketing strategies. Haralsingh also noted that Guyana is in talks with more reputable airlines.

“This is a tangible return on our investments,” he pronounced.

The Unites States (US) remained at the top market for a share of 39 % of the total tourist arrivals during first quarter of this year, while visitors from the Caribbean accounted for 24% of the total arrivals.
(Rebecca Ganesh)

So where are these tourists? They sure ain't in any pictures from the PPP. They aren't to be seen on the streets of GT. It is quite obvious that the PPP is counting every person coming off a plane as a tourist. Right now Guyana got more vacant hotel rooms than there are people living in GT.

Look idiot,

I already explained to you that people crawling out of their American basements to go burden their relatives in Guyana for two weeks and drink couple wata coconut at de backdam is different that some American non-Guyanese who travel to Guyana as tourists who want a "Guyanese experience"?

When I travel, I want the authentic experience of that country. Not to be holed up in a Marriott and visit some American-style mall and eat at Popeye's.

Come to Guyana. What authentic Guyanese experience do we offer tourists? Abbe muddy beaches covered in fresh mercury from the interior mines? Abbe crystal clear brown sea wata? Abbe Choke an Raab experience? Abbe stinking piles of garbage? GT's legions of poor street people rivaling Port-au-Prince? Abbe fine cook shaps?

Come to Guyana. What authentic Guyanese experience do we offer tourists?

Even choke and rob has gone out of fashion. Now they just shoot you. So not even robberies are not of the authentic variety any more.

‘GUYANA – South America Undiscovered’ is fast becoming the destination of choice for visitors.The Ministry of Tourism and the Guyana Tourism Authority (GTA) have reported a record high of 46,369 arrivals in the first quarter of this year. This translates into a 13.9 percent increase over last year’s arrivals.

Shaitan, why don't you run for president of Guyana or America?

I doan know how abbe can be related chap. You're an idiot.

Thank God for dilution of blood otherwise I may have turned out to be just as schupid as you are.

The Xenon Hotel

[www.inewsguyana.com]The multi-million dollar Xenon Hotel has opened its first branch in Georgetown as part of its expansion plans. The popular hotel which houses its first brand in Charity on the Essequibo Coast boasts a modern 29 room hotel in the heart of the city.

The Xenon brand has more than 30 years experience in the hospitality industry. The Georgetown and Essequibo branches are linked and special packages are available for persons who wish to visit either branch.

The investment is meant to compliment the investment in the 704 entertainment complex and is located across the road from 704 at Lamaha and Albert Streets. The brand new hotel boasts all the modern facilities one has come to expect including hot and cold water, air conditioned rooms, free Wi-Fi, cable television and adequate parking. There are 25 rooms and 4 suites and all are serviced by an elevator.Xenon 19

The hotel management says they are expecting that the investment will complement Guyana’s tourism package as visitors now have another option for accommodation within the city.

The hotel promises that it will provide modern conveniences with the charm of Guyanese hospitality and assures that rates are affordable. The brand new hotel is catering to international and local travelers and says that the comfort it offers will astound even the most discerning traveler.

Will we see donald getting a another back ball before May 11 at this short time place?

How about some ambulances and decent medical facilities?

Bai, abbe nah need ambulance and decent medical facilities when abbe visit Guyana fuh two weeks annually. Abbe juss need wan hotel, some wata coconut, and some nice rum shaps suh abbe can impress de locals wid abbe Merican currency.

Whah de rass me guh duh wid ambulance pon me vacation?

In a brief interview with Tourism, Industry and Commerce Minister Irfaan Ali, he explained, “It is clear that the country’s interest in tourism is very aggressive at this moment. This steady increase is testimony to the continued investment in the country’s tourism sector and the aggressive marketing strategies used.”

It is evident from the figures and the overall trends that visitor arrivals keep climbing, and according to Minister Ali, it is expected to continue along this trajectory. He noted that the growth in the sector will be supported by several major investments, including the recently opened Marriott Hotel and the expansion of the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, among many other initiatives.

Mr Indranauth Haralsingh, Director of the GTA, said the increase in arrivals from Central and South America, which accounted for 15% of total market share, was a result of the boost in airlift from Conviasa, Copa Airlines and Insel Air, and the marketing initiatives of the Guyana Tourism Authority, THAG and the Private Sector.

He explained, “Conviasa continues flying to Guyana from Venezuela, Insel Air has also commenced flights direct from the Dutch Caribbean, such as Aruba and Curacao. In addition, with the introduction of direct flights by COPA, we have seen an increase in airlift to Guyana.”

The third and fourth biggest generating markets were Canada and Europe, with 13% and 6% respectively, the Director noted.

The current year-to-date (January to March 2015) summary indicates that visitor arrivals increased by 26.1% with a total of 18,464 visitors, compared to the 14,648 for the same period in 2014.

According to the GTA Director, these figures can be attributed to Guyana continuing to attract more international recognition through films and documentaries.

The country has maintained attendance at key travel and trade shows, and the Guyana Tourism Authority has intensified its marketing strategies. Haralsingh also noted that Guyana is in talks with more reputable airlines.

“This is a tangible return on our investments,” he pronounced.

The Unites States (US) remained at the top market for a share of 39 % of the total tourist arrivals during first quarter of this year, while visitors from the Caribbean accounted for 24% of the total arrivals.
(Rebecca Ganesh)

Eennnnn....

Many years ago I stayed at Tower hotel for two week and tour the whole of G/T with my G/F. People want to be free from family sometime, plus you get your privacy too. 

Do you even know what a tourist is chap? A tourist is not some coolie and he sweethoman enjoying some coconut wata.

Tourists are non-Guyanese people on tour drawn to Guyana for some peculiar reason. Even Trinidad has a tourism industry because it offers something uniquely Trini...carnival.

WTF does Guyana offer that is unique? Some malcontent coolies and Blacks and some oppressed Amerindians? Along with piles of garbage, rude customer service people, and abbe haute cuisine of fry rice, roase poke, and banks beer?

Why are you MAD, it seems like no progress is good in Guyana, for a third world country every little achievement is an improvement.When I returned to Guyana after over 30 years, I was a tourist, we were a group of 10 people, we went to Lethem, the falls, Charity, Crabwood creek, Oriella, etc. We stayed at different hotels, hired two cars to take us around, we eat in restaurants , went fishing. Now, what I did was typical of all tourists going to any country. Note I had no family to visit, but met two old friends. Question, when last have you visited Guyana??Going for a holiday and being a Tourist in Guyana isn't the same!!My English neighbour just left for two weeks HOLIDAY to his home country, ENGLAND.

Luck him, people doan get shot in England when they reach their destination.

First of all, If going to Guyana don't advertise your home coming, next don't wear Five gold chain, ten finger rings and dress up more than you do in North America to show-off pun the poor people. The most popular , the factory worker in New York goes to a RUM shop in his old village and wants to buy Rum for every body, to Show- Off. Cain, you know , you can't get lost in Jane & Finch after dark and in Brixton, England don't look strange at night. A good friend and family just return from Guyana, spent ten days , it was the best holiday ever. Guyana is a country of Haves and Have Not, the young people are lazy, waiting for the next barrel from overseas or if they know you are from abroad, they bum you for change$.

Originally Posted by kp:

First of all, If going to Guyana don't advertise your home coming, next don't wear Five gold chain, ten finger rings and dress up more than you do in North America to show-off pun the poor people. The most popular , the factory worker in New York goes to a RUM shop in his old village and wants to buy Rum for every body, to Show- Off. Cain, you know , you can't get lost in Jane & Finch after dark and in Brixton, England don't look strange at night. A good friend and family just return from Guyana, spent ten days , it was the best holiday ever. Guyana is a country of Haves and Have Not, the young people are lazy, waiting for the next barrel from overseas or if they know you are from abroad, they bum you for change$.

Bhai, Pt. Loknauth have a different experience. I agree with you on the above.

Originally Posted by kp:

Tks.

This thread has nothing to do with politics, and everything to do with investment and investors confidence of doing business in the hotel industry that cater for the future and the steady increase of tourism in Guyana. Ambulance and hospital is a different subject, folks. People should stop being politically ignorant about everything. Is there anything wrong with buildings popping up all over G/T. I am happy to know smaller hotels understands competition unlike Pegasus that wants to be a monopoly in the industry.

Originally Posted by kp:

True story dat kp but with Iman, when I was there with the ex we stood out because when u see two clear skin people with nuff nuff mosquito bites,you know is new blood right there.

Even while there I dressed as I would, no dam jewellery, except the ex as usual bull headed rass, she kept on both bangles sayin "I cyan get it off it hurts" I said, "ok, dem boys gonna help you and it'll take a few secs" she din like dat kinda talk.

I man had shirt hangin out, old running shoe, walk with a bump an drop, dat is in case someone tryin fo take a shot at me, they cyan get good aim.

They did have a wrong address, (I did some mixup address while on the flight) when I called the airline to find out about our flight out the following day I was told they were trying to contact me to let me know the flight was leaving twelve hours later but couldn't find me.

Now, instead of calling the number I gave, would they be sending someone out to give me the news? Hmmmm.

Or could it be they wanted to take us out to dinner at a posh restaurant seeing it's such a sweet sweet guyana, so they sent a taxi?

There are many hotels accommodation in Georgetown, yet more new hotels are opened up. The smaller hotel operators understand the competitiveness is the business. Pegasus should take note. Everyone needs to get a piece of the action.

Smaller hotels operate in a different market than Pegasus. The only people who Peg must focus on is Marriott and the CARA HOTELS.

The occupancy rate in the small hotels is abysmal.  I assume that these folks know what they are doing.  Visitor arrivals from North America are FLAT to DECLINING!   There arent enough visitors from the Caribbean or the UK to offset that fact.

The PPP/C has made a lot of progress to this country ever since they came into power. They are expanding the horizons for the future generation and their generations to come. Jobs are being created on a daily basis, infrastructures are being thrown up, Schools are being built, Projects are being implemented in order for the country's improvement etc. 

Post all you want.  The fact that the population is DECLINING tells you that Guyanese do not think that this benefits them. 

The US Ambassador said that the drop in population is not due to migration to the USA, suggesting that large numbers have fled to the Caribbean or to South America.