Muhammad Ali’s son reportedly detained at airport, asked twice about his religion

February 25 at 11:30 AM, https://www.washingtonpost.com...m_term=.e32104b5f3cb

An activist in his time, it’s likely Muhammad Ali would not like this alleged turn of events. (David Fenton/Archive Photos/Getty Images

Muhammad Ali Jr. had just returned to Florida from Jamaica, where he had accompanied his mother, Khalilah Camacho-Ali, who was there giving a speech about black history. After arriving at the Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood airport, Ali Jr. — son of one of the greatest boxers of all time — was detained and asked at least twice about his religion, according to family friend and attorney Chris Mancini. Ali — born in Philadelphia in 1972 — and his mother are both Muslim.

“To the Ali family, it’s crystal clear that this is directly linked to [President] Trump’s efforts to ban Muslims from the United States,” Mancini told the Courier-Journal (Louisville, Ky.) on Friday about the alleged incident, which occurred on Feb. 7.

Late last month Trump signed an executive order calling for a temporary travel ban on citizens from seven Muslim-majority countries in the Middle East and Africa. The order, which critics accused of being a thinly veiled attempt to discriminate against Muslims, has since been rejected by a federal appeals court and effectively overturned. However, according to Mancini, that hasn’t stopped government representatives from discriminating based on religion, which is how he said Ali Jr. ended up being detained, despite his holding a U.S. passport.

Mancini told the Courier-Journal on Friday that Ali and his mother were initially flagged by immigration agents for their “Arabic-sounding” names. He said Camacho-Ali was not detained after she showed officials a photograph of herself with her ex-husband, but when Ali Jr. could not produce a photograph to show of himself with his father, who died last year, immigration officials separated Ali Jr. from his mother, then detained him for approximately two hours.

Mancini told the Miami New Times that immigration officers asked Ali Jr. about his religion within the first 30 minutes of being detained and again when he was taken to a small holding room where he was held for another 90 minutes.

“What right does the United States have to inquire about somebody’s religion when they enter the country?” Mancini told the New Times. “There was no other basis for a secondary inspection. This is an instance where the ban has been enforced even though it has been thrown out. The government is still trying to find grounds to keep Muslims out.”

U.S. Customs and Border Protection has refused to comment on the specifics on the alleged detention, noting to the Courier-Journal, that “due to the restrictions of the Privacy Act, U.S. Customs and Border Protection cannot discuss individual travelers.” The spokesperson added, “However, all international travelers arriving in the U.S. are subject to CBP inspection.”

The Washington Post has reached out to a spokesman for the late boxer’s family for further comment.

Mancini told the Courier-Journal that immigration officials eventually allowed Ali Jr. back into the country, where he was able to then reunite with his mother, who had asked local police for help in the meantime. However, because customs officials are under federal jurisdiction, local police were powerless.

Ali Jr. and his mother live in Deerfield Beach, Fla., about 20 miles from the airport.

• mceclip0

Those 60 million people who voted for Trump will eventually realize their mistake because while keeping Muslims out of America may sound sexy, they will also learn that Trump is not going to help them become any more prosperous. Infact, he is such a schmuck that he will bankrupt the economy like he bankrupted his many companies. These people will realize that orgasms over removing Muslims is not enjoyable on an empty stomach.

And how yuh know all of this?

With the White race once again in control in Europe and the USA, it is better to fortify the back door. Dem ppl that believe in owning slaves, and with the ME and its despotic leadership. Maybe, dey will sell Africans again. 

Trump would be admired if he did nothing other than round up un-Americans and deport them. 

Why have people in their country who do not share or respect their values. 

Perhaps there are much more to evolve as time progresses.

Why you knuckleheads getting so hot under the collar because the son of a famous boxer is being questioned?

It shows that the officials are doing their job.

It also shows that no one is above the law and anyone can be a suspect. There is a price to keep us safe and to keep this nation safe. Customs and law enforcement officers cannot be complacent and be selective, especially at a time when terrorism is on the rise.

Now, I dont want to sound like the racist invoking the stereotypes about Muslims...but they are a logical target as long as Muslims (and yes, its a tiny fraction) continue to engage in terrorism around the world. 

And when people feel their rights are being violated...they have a recourse in the courts...we dont have kangaroo courts here like in Guyana

This is a different word in which we live. 

So DG, you and Kazma need to buckle up and stop getting giddy with excitement anytime you think Muslims are being unfairly targeted. 

Since when is asking someone about their religion a sound immigration question? And how stupid are these immigration people anyway if they can't recognize the very public son of a very public man who has been in the public domain since the 60s?

And how yuh know all of this?

With the White race once again in control in Europe and the USA, it is better to fortify the back door. Dem ppl that believe in owning slaves, and with the ME and its despotic leadership. Maybe, dey will sell Africans again. 

Trump would be admired if he did nothing other than round up un-Americans and deport them. 

Why have people in their country who do not share or respect their values. 

You may love massa whip but don't expect others to do the same. Trump is hapless and it shows with him and his gang. That is a fact.

Why you knuckleheads getting so hot under the collar because the son of a famous boxer is being questioned?

It also shows that no one is above the law and anyone can be a suspect. There is a price to keep us safe and to keep this nation safe. Customs and law enforcement officers cannot be complacent and be selective, especially at a time when terrorism is on the rise.

Now, I dont want to sound like the racist invoking the stereotypes about Muslims...but they are a logical target as long as Muslims (and yes, its a tiny fraction) continue to engage in terrorism around the world. 

And when people feel their rights are being violated...they have a recourse in the courts...we dont have kangaroo courts here like in Guyana

So DG, you and Kazma need to buckle up and stop getting giddy with excitement anytime you think Muslims are being unfairly targeted. 

Bai, this is merika not Saudi Arabia.  

You need to change your meds, 

AJ

Reality and obvious issues appear to miss you by eons; ... however it is your choice to be ingrained with that approach and mind-set.

Vish, I think that you need to reconsider your position.

First, trump had argued that his immigration action, the ban was not a religious discrimination. Now, we hear of American Muslim being specifically being questioned about his religion. I thought that there was something in the constitution that guaranteed certain individual rights.

Secondly, you might want to give up some of your individual rights to satisfy Trump's agenda, but you cannot just assume that it will be ok for others who value their rights more than you.

third, you do sound like a racist and stereotyping, in spite of your wish not to do so. 

Fourth, the courts are not as impartial as you seem to indicate. Why do you think that the Republicans blocked Obama's nomination for the Supreme Court? 

Z
Zed posted:

First, trump had argued that his immigration action, the ban was not a religious discrimination. Now, we hear of American Muslim being specifically being questioned about his religion. I thought that there was something in the constitution that guaranteed certain individual rights.

Secondly, you might want to give up some of your individual rights to satisfy Trump's agenda, but you cannot just assume that it will be ok for others who value their rights more than you.

third, you do sound like a racist and stereotyping, in spite of your wish not to do so. 

Fourth, the courts are not as impartial as you seem to indicate. Why do you think that the Republicans blocked Obama's nomination for the Supreme Court? 

I commented on the need for questioning of people entering the country, not on the actions of the officials. I am not justifying what the officials did. It was stupid. But to suggest that they cannot ask questions when suspicions arise is insane, especially in this day and age. 

The article does not say if the officials had probable cause because they refuse to comment on their motive for doing so. 

We cannot assume that everytime a situation like this arises the officials are in the wrong. There have been times when many dark skin people were questioned after 911. Do we assume that all of the officials who were engaged in these actions were guided by stereotypes and racist motives?

"We cannot assume that everytime a situation like this arises the officials are in the wrong."

YES, they are in the wrong if they ask your religion, do they do the same for neo-nazis.

Do you have numbers to support your assertion that Muslims are prone to terrorism over all other religions.

AJ
Zed posted:

Republicans block Obama's choice but democrats will also block Trump choice ifthey could...its the nature of politics in the US.

Placing a SC member on the bench is a lifetime position, so there are always ideological concerns by democrats and republicans. It is not always the case that members of the SC will support the President. Note the three judges who opposed the Trump ban.

Courts may not be impartial all the time...and this depends on where one stands...but we can expect that they are qualified to make well reasoned and sound decisions. Then, there is the recourse to appeals.  

Abu Jihad posted:

"We cannot assume that everytime a situation like this arises the officials are in the wrong."

YES, they are in the wrong if they ask your religion, do they do the same for neo-nazis.

Somehow Vish missed that the ONLY reason this is news is because they questioned him about his religion? People are questioned everyday when they travel. Hell, people are probably questioned when they go to Guyana also.

There is no appeal from the decisions of the Supreme Court. The "we" is not as inclusive as you think. Also, the Republicians opposition to Obama's nominee contradicts your argument. If they are not always impartial, then how can you argue that they will make sound decisions?

no assumptions made. The article indicates that he was asked his religion. According to the constitution, is he allowed to do so?

America is supposedly a country of rules and laws, and there is a constitution that guarantees certain rights,. Because the actions of some after the 911 attack happened, this does not mean that it was right. 

Those who forget the past are destined to repeat the mistakes of the past. The slow erosion of rights must be fought. If not, then Many Americans will face a bleak future. Just think of Nazi Germany. Do you think that suddenly, there was a rise of the madness. No, it was a gradual process, little by little.

Z
Abu Jihad posted:

Do you have numbers to support your assertion that Muslims are prone to terrorism over all other religions.

I never use the work "prone". Dont put words in my mouth. The majority of acts of terrorism in recent years are committed by Muslims...whether they are "real" muslims or not is not the issue...in their minds they are Muslims. 

As for the evidence...well...where do you want me to start?

Zed posted:

There is no appeal from the decisions of the Supreme Court. The "we" is not as inclusive as you think. Also, the Republicians opposition to Obama's nominee contradicts your argument. If they are not always impartial, then how can you argue that they will make sound decisions?

no assumptions made. The article indicates that he was asked his religion. According to the constitution, is he allowed to do so?

America is supposedly a country of rules and laws, and there is a constitution that guarantees certain rights,. Because the actions of some after the 911 attack happened, this does not mean that it was right. 

Those who forget the past are destined to repeat the mistakes of the past. The slow erosion of rights must be fought. If not, then Many Americans will face a bleak future. Just think of Nazi Germany. Do you think that suddenly, there was a rise of the madness. No, it was a gradual process, little by little.

Banna, you are trying to split hairs here...you are only looking at one side of the coin...the Democrats not getting their way..because you are supporting the Democrats as not getting their way..

There is a rigorous process to becoming a SC justice. There is no better way of vetting a candidate...one thing is certain...the candidates today, republican or democrats are well vetted. 

There is no "appeal" to decisions of the SC, but Congress can rewrite the laws to override their decisions.

This thing is going too far now. When someone mess with the children of the greatest then Prashad has a problem with that.

Prash,

I have to agree with you on this.

This is now getting out of hand. The great Mohammed Ali spoke out against the unjust Vietnam war and even went to jail for it.

Is this how his children are being treated ? Totally unacceptable.