Can the PPP be saved?

By Ralph Ramkarran On May 31, 2015 @ 5:10 am In Features,Sunday

The end of the Jagan leadership of the PPP terminated the era of real, as opposed to formal, internal democracy. Its structure and leadership model, third world and Leninist influenced, lent itself to authoritarian methods. But the Jagans ensured full discussions and neither dictated conclusions. Both changed their views from time to time after being persuaded by contrary opinion in discussions.

The symbol of that openness was that after a debate where opinion was divided, a vote was taken. However, after the Jagdeo leadership gained traction, voting after discussions ceased at his instance. Jagdeo summed up all discussions and the summing up, containing his views, was the decision. He still does so. Elections at and after Congress began to be grossly manipulated. Both Donald Ramotar and Bharrat Jagdeo publicly opposed the 2011 presidential candidate being elected by secret ballot.

so140112ralphBroad discussions continue to take place on matters of political strategy. But members of the leadership instinctively know how far to go. For example, no discussion has taken place on a coalition government because the leadership clique was opposed to it. Dissenting opinions on major issues in which Jagdeo has an interest were so frowned upon that there is a large dose of self-censorship. Anyone who attempted to raise a matter of consequence, such as corruption or the supply of drugs, risked incurring Jagdeo’s wrath. That was something to be feared, as he was their employer.

All leaders of the PPP still defer to Bharrat Jagdeo. No one questions his analyses and none would dare raise his domineering role in government, in the party or in the election campaign. His lead role in the campaign, which is privately criticized by most PPP leaders, as it was in 2011, signals his return to the hustings after a hiatus over the past three years during which he was busy assisting in the affairs of state and enjoying the perks of retirement and international travel. Not having any more state responsibilities, only Freedom House and Parliament Building, if he becomes an MP, and the dock at the Whim Magistrates’ Court will now accommodate him.

His current activism is also propelled by his compelling addiction to the limelight, enthusiasm for which appears to be temporarily displaced by Whim, his belief in his own genius and dissatisfaction with the performance of Donald Ramotar. In the meantime, Donald Ramotar has never made good on his private pre-2011 election promise to many who had raised concerns about Jagdeo’s attitude and behaviour that “things will change” after elections. Probably realizing subsequently that he needs Jagdeo’s help, he has allowed the latter’s power to remain intact.

Jagdeo is not one to sit on the sidelines. If he returns to Parliament, even if he does not become Opposition Leader, it would be a signal that his political ascendancy in the PPP is assured. Thereafter it would only be a matter of time before he eases out Ramotar and Rohee, who are both in their mid 60s, ‘old’ in Jagdeo’s eyes, while he is in his early 50s. Even if he is not in Parliament, his toxicity notwithstanding, his tenure will continue, being seen now as the main Indian ethnic leader of a party that has lost its political and moral compass.

There is talk of bringing in young faces. But what of those introduced in 2006 – Robert Persaud, Frank Anthony, Priya Manickchand, Ashni Singh, Irfaan Ali and Anil Nandlall? Of more recent vintage are Colin Croal, Nigel Dharamlall, Shyam Nokta. Did they not perform? Or are the new young people going to replace the ‘old’ people, a category of citizen that Jagdeo continually reviles? If so, shouldn’t Ramotar, Rohee, Teixeira and Luncheon, even Jagdeo, be among those to be replaced? Resignation, regardless of age, is what happens when you lose elections. Ed Miliband, the Labour leader, who just lost the UK elections, is 46 and he has resigned.

The PPP’s only hope is that the APNU+AFC coalition fails the people and loses its slim lead. But with APNU+AFC’s knowledge of what not to do, constitutional reform, efforts to implement its other electoral promises and going after the Amerindian vote, the possibility of the PPP returning to political office in the near future, under a leadership and policies which have failed twice, looks bleak. Attrition of the same young people, who have livelihood and family responsibilities, and who will face the impotency of the PPP’s current postures, will also eventually take its toll.

The PPP can now only be saved by external pressure. There is, and unlikely to be, any internal movement for reform because of the stranglehold on the leadership described above. It is, therefore, now incumbent on the many members and former members of the PPP who have become disaffected or displaced, who have been forced into inactivity, but who disagree and agonize over the path taken by the PPP and wish to see reforms, to establish a new political party devoted to the ideals of Cheddi Jagan. Such a party will aim primarily at winning over supporters of the PPP and gaining seats in the National Assembly at the next elections. The objective is to deprive the PPP of the possibility of gaining an absolute majority. This will provide leverage for reforms to restore policies of ‘winner does not take all,’ shared governance by way of coalition arrangements, a political solution to Guyana’s problems and national unity.

At the risk of sounding simplistic, I agree that the Jaganites must break away from the Jagdeoites who today have an iron grip on all the PPP's levers of power.

So far, those Jaganites are reportedly only whispering their disapproval of Jagdeo. They need to combine forces, confront the Jagdeoites in Freedom House, and walk out en bloc to regroup as a new party.

There is one big problem facing them, however; some Jaganites will return to parliament in the opposition PPP benches. Would they want to relinquish that for a greater cause?

Anybody has the PPP "Constitution" or whatever they call it that governs the procedures to be followed?  I cannot believe that an internal struggle cannot be raised to oust Ramotar and Jagdeo.  Is Ramkarran still a member of the PPP?  If yes, he needs to get to work with the rank and file to change things.

At the risk of sounding simplistic, I agree that the Jaganites must break away from the Jagdeoites who today have an iron grip on all the PPP's levers of power.

So far, those Jaganites are reportedly only whispering their disapproval of Jagdeo. They need to combine forces, confront the Jagdeoites in Freedom House, and walk out en bloc to regroup as a new party.

There is one big problem facing them, however; some Jaganites will return to parliament in the opposition PPP benches. Would they want to relinquish that for a greater cause?

The Jaganites will never do that. They're a bunch of Antiman with Antimanish inclinations when it comes to power and politics.

Look for the rise of ROAR under some new name in the near future. The PPP cannot ever enter Government with a right wing Indian party on its ass.

And ROAR has some coolies bright enough to not get AFC capooned

Originally Posted by VVP:

Anybody has the PPP "Constitution" or whatever they call it that governs the procedures to be followed?  I cannot believe that an internal struggle cannot be raised to oust Ramotar and Jagdeo.  Is Ramkarran still a member of the PPP?  If yes, he needs to get to work with the rank and file to change things.

That's problem numero 1.

No one has ever really seemed this "PPP Constitution." But basically it involves Congresses and Special Congresses getting called by the Executive Committee or Central Committee and then they count the votes at any new leadership election.

So in English, the current Leadership of the PPP has to call a Special Congress of people personally loyal to them so as to oust them and they (the leadership) get to count the votes.

This is a fool's errand. It doesn't even work in theory chap.

That's problem numero 1.

No one has ever really seemed this "PPP Constitution." But basically it involves Congresses and Special Congresses getting called by the Executive Committee or Central Committee and then they count the votes at any new leadership election.

So in English, the current Leadership of the PPP has to call a Special Congress of people personally loyal to them so as to oust them and they (the leadership) get to count the votes.

Can a member challenge the process in court?  After all I think political parties have to abide with general rules if they are to maintain privileges on tax exempt status, for example.  I just sehing something.

That's problem numero 1.

Can a member challenge the process in court?  After all I think political parties have to abide with general rules if they are to maintain privileges on tax exempt status, for example.  I just sehing something.

That is an American thing where political parties as regulated by the election law and their internal elections are overseen and paid for and staffed by the official Elections Commission.

To my personal knowledge, and I appeal to our resident Gilbakka to clear this up, Guyanese political parties are not regulated at all by the law, and I think only the AFC has taken it upon themselves to register under the Companies Act.

The PNC and the PPP to my knowledge do not exist in law. Any law. And as an unregulated association, they're free to do as they please. Even rig their own elections.

Hell, the PPP even deliberately keeps its membership rolls small and secret. Also, when you no longer support the incumbent leadership of the PPP as a Member, you find that you're no longer a member.

There is no such thing as a Member in good standing who does not support the incumbent leadership. That is an impossibility under current practice.

Also, when you no longer support the incumbent leadership of the PPP as a Member, you find that you're no longer a member.

There is no such thing as a Member in good standing who does not support the incumbent leadership. That is an impossibility under current practice.

You shitting me.  Is this the way it really works.  They can throw people out as they like?  Rama is this true bai?

If the PPP does not reform itself, another party might rise up.

It's possible that if AFC activists who worked hard do not get any benefits, and if Granger sidelines the AFC, that party may face some defections and dissent that they have been sold out by those who got positions for themselves.

That's not farfetched.

The 2015 elections have changed Guyana's politics forever.

Also, when you no longer support the incumbent leadership of the PPP as a Member, you find that you're no longer a member.

You shitting me.  Is this the way it really works.  They can throw people out as they like?  Rama is this true bai?

I swear to God chap.

Ask Mel Carpen and Chuck Mohan et al and let them tell you if they were allowed to even keep their memberships

Of course if you support the leadership, you don't even have to pay the nominal membership fees.

As soon as you make any utterance whatsoever against the leadership, your membership is immediately revoked on some frivolous grounds.

So all the disgruntled PPPites who can change the party really can't because they have been "resigned" by the PPP.

There is no such thing as a PPP Member who does not support the leadership. It's kind of ingenious if you think about it.

The Jaganites will never do that. They're a bunch of Antiman with Antimanish inclinations when it comes to power and politics.

Look for the rise of ROAR under some new name in the near future. The PPP cannot ever enter Government with a right wing Indian party on its ass.

Yuh know, frenno, I've been itching to tell you that it's my considered opinion that ROARites hijacked the recent PPP elections campaign.

As long as the PPP was guided by Marxism-Leninism, elections campaigns never openly focused on race, especially when Jagan was alive.

The abandonment of its traditional ideology left a vacuum in the PPP which the ROARites quickly rushed to fill. You don't have to work in Freedom House to do that, you know what I mean.

If they did that to Moses and Ramjattan, they probably do that to the little people.

Restore the PPP or lose forever. With all that greed and lust for power, the recent cabinet members not going anywhere.

Jagdeo never  gave up the Leadership of the Party.  He nominated Donald Ramoutar as the presidential contender and that's all what Donald was to the party. 

All indications pointed to clement Rohee as the next Presidential Contender in 2020, if he is in good health.  Robert Persaud and Anil Nandlall are waiting in the wings. 

Last edited by Ramakant-P

Jagdeo never  gave up the Leadership of the Party.  He nominated Donald Ramoutar as the presidential contender and that's all what Donald was to the party. 

All indications pointed to clement Rohee as the next Presidential Contender in 2020, if he is in good health.  Robert Persaud and Anil Nandlall are waiting in the wings. 

Uncle Rama I need to jine the PPP, can you help me?

All GNI members who supported the APNU/AFC should mind their own business.  Don't be concerned about the PPP.  They are not lost. They had 49.2% of the votes cast.    Anyone who claims that the PPP is a 40% party are referring to indian support only, which is true.  About 10% Indians voted against the PPP.   The PPP is going to get stronger.  Indians and afros are migrating at the same rate.  This info I got from the US Customs and Immigration.  

Yuh know, frenno, I've been itching to tell you that it's my considered opinion that ROARites hijacked the recent PPP elections campaign.

As long as the PPP was guided by Marxism-Leninism, elections campaigns never openly focused on race, especially when Jagan was alive.

The abandonment of its traditional ideology left a vacuum in the PPP which the ROARites quickly rushed to fill. You don't have to work in Freedom House to do that, you know what I mean.

Yea, the campaign was dominated by ROAR. I know that. Without ROAR Moses would have brought over legions more Indos to the Coalition.

This election was only close because of ROAR. The PPP shouldn't have even gotten 49%.

Unfortunately, the PPP don't understand subtlety. They let Kwame and the gang go full "I Hate Black People." Something no ROARite advocated.

ROAR was about an appeal to the Indians to save the PPP because no one had any good argument for the PPP. There was none to be made.

What were we gonna say? "Vote PPP. Get more crime"? "Vote PPP, 5 More Years of Unbridled Tiefin?"

That's problem numero 1.

That is an American thing where political parties as regulated by the election law and their internal elections are overseen and paid for and staffed by the official Elections Commission.

To my personal knowledge, and I appeal to our resident Gilbakka to clear this up, Guyanese political parties are not regulated at all by the law, and I think only the AFC has taken it upon themselves to register under the Companies Act.

The PNC and the PPP to my knowledge do not exist in law. Any law. And as an unregulated association, they're free to do as they please. Even rig their own elections.

I can speak authoritatively about what obtained up to 1992. The basic PPP unit was the group. According to the party constitution, groups sent delegates to congresses on a proportionate basis. At congresses, delegated elected the 35-member Central Committee. After that, the new CC met at Freedom House and elected the 15-member Executive Committee. The Exco is the highest decision-making body, requiring a simple majority, 8 members, to rule on a given issue. Joey Jagan called those 8 members the "Gang of 8." The system was called democratic centralism.

Technically, a financial card-carrying member who felt aggrieved could have sought recourse in the courts, but for all practical purposes he was a doomed man after that. Breaching party discipline, taking internal party matters into the open.

Jagdeo used democratic centralism to his advantage, corrupting and buying out the majority of Central Committee members with lucrative jobs and perks. He also replaced the system of secret voting with a show of hands. Photos and videos would later confirm who didn't raise his hand. And yuh all know wha da mean.

All GNI members who supported the APNU/AFC should mind their own business.  Don't be concerned about the PPP.  They are not lost. They had 49.2% of the votes cast.    Anyone who claims that the PPP is a 40% party are referring to indian support only, which is true.  About 10% Indians voted against the PPP.   The PPP is going to get stronger.  Indians and afros are migrating at the same rate.  This info I got from the US Customs and Immigration.  

PPP business is everybody's business.

Ralph is not a member of the PPP anymore.  He does not have the moral right to call for a new PPP . He should keep his mouth shut as he was one of the many dirty Indians who caused the defeat of the PPP by one seat only. 

I can speak authoritatively about what obtained up to 1992. The basic PPP unit was the group. According to the party constitution, groups sent delegates to congresses on a proportionate basis. At congresses, delegated elected the 35-member Central Committee. After that, the new CC met at Freedom House and elected the 15-member Executive Committee. The Exco is the highest decision-making body, requiring a simple majority, 8 members, to rule on a given issue. Joey Jagan called those 8 members the "Gang of 8." The system was called democratic centralism.

Technically, a financial card-carrying member who felt aggrieved could have sought recourse in the courts, but for all practical purposes he was a doomed man after that. Breaching party discipline, taking internal party matters into the open.

Jagdeo used democratic centralism to his advantage, corrupting and buying out the majority of Central Committee members with lucrative jobs and perks. He also replaced the system of secret voting with a show of hands. Photos and videos would later confirm who didn't raise his hand. And yuh all know wha da mean.

How many groups do they have?  Is Ramkarran still a member?

Ralph is not a member of the PPP anymore.  He does not have the moral right to call for a new PPP . He should keep his mouth shut as he was one of the many dirty Indians who caused the defeat of the PPP by one seat only. 

PPP sinking to 35%. Watch and wait.

He helped save the country Uncle Rama.

Originally Posted by TK:

Those are only Indians you are talking about.   Not all Indians are members of the PPP. Where did the PPP get 14% non Indian support from?.  Think about that.  

So it looks like here is where the change has to start.

According to the party constitution, groups sent delegates to congresses on a proportionate basis. At congresses, delegated elected the 35-member Central Committee.

Originally Posted by TK:

Those are only Indians you are talking about.   Not all Indians are members of the PPP. Where did the PPP get 14% non Indian support from?.  Think about that.  

Bribing and sell out citizenship and giving poor people Amerindians a fly by night solar panel.

* Ralph Ramkarran is free to go out there and start a new party. Nobody is stopping him.

* But lemme say this. The PPP ain't in danger of imploding. Let's look at the numbers. In 2011 the PPP received 48.6% of the votes and in 2015 they received 49.1% of the votes.

* Like I stated elsewhere, as corrupt and unscrupulous as the PPP has been they missed out on 50% in 2015 by only 3312 votes----and lost to the COALITION by only 4506 votes.

* In 5 years time the PNC/AFC will have a record and the voters will get to pass judgment.

Originally Posted by TK:

True! But they are not likely to stay as the purse of patrimony is gone.

Originally Posted by TK:

Correct.  As their "base" is "ethnically cleansed", they will sink along with it if they don't reform and broaden their appeal.  I give in 10 years, and in 20 Afros will outnumber Indians all together.

* Ralph Ramkarran is free to go out there and start a new party. Nobody is stopping him.

* But lemme say this. The PPP ain't in danger of imploding. Let's look at the numbers. In 2011 the PPP received 48.6% of the votes and in 2015 they received 49.1% of the votes.

* Like I stated elsewhere, as corrupt and unscrupulous as the PPP has been they missed out on 50% in 2015 by only 3312 votes----and lost to the COALITION by only 4506 votes.

* In 5 years time the PNC/AFC will have a record and the voters will get to pass judgment.

Cha Cha you ever heard about the power of the incumbency?  The PPP does not have that anymore.  Their ship sinking.

According to the party constitution, groups sent delegates to congresses on a proportionate basis. At congresses, delegated elected the 35-member Central Committee.

If I were running for the Leadership of the Party, I would pad the congress with my supporters.  It is done in all democratic countries.  There is not going to be any change in the culture of how the PPP choses their central committee members.  The APNU/AFC is the change.  Talk about them.   The PPP has a plan to regain control of the Government in 2020. WE just can't talk about it. 

Can we talk when I get the membership

Not when, 'IF'.  New members are placed on the CIC side of the party until they show some Loyalty to you know who...

===

Cha Cha you ever heard about the power of the incumbency?  The PPP does not have that anymore.  Their ship sinking.

* I was hoping "the power of the incumbency" would propel the PPP from 48.6% in 2011 to 50% in 2015, but that didn't work out.

* I don't see how the PPP can be deemed a sinking ship when they increased their percentage from 48.6% to 49.1%.

* Anyway, if the COALITION matches or exceeds EXPECTATIONS they will deserve to be re-elected in 2020.

How many groups do they have?  Is Ramkarran still a member?

I don't know the answer to your first question. I was a group member up to 1992.

Ramkarran is no longer a PPP member.

Here's the Jagdeoite trick: by a certain alchemy, the majority of delegates from groups happened to be Jagdeoites at the last three congresses, according to my reliable source. And, with an added ingredient, for the first time ever there were 10 local Chinese delegates at the last PPP congress.

Before and during congresses, there is intense lobbying on behalf of contestants for the CC. The Jagdeoite names prevail.

===

* I was hoping "the power of the incumbency" would propel the PPP from 48.6% in 2011 to 50% in 2015, but that didn't work out.

* I don't see how the PPP can be deemed a sinking ship when they increased their percentage from 48.6% to 49.1%.

* Anyway, if the COALITION matches or exceeds EXPECTATIONS they will deserve to be re-elected in 2020.

They wouldn't have the govt. resources to use next time around.  The lost the main media, the transportation, free trips etc. which helped them a lot.