I would like to see all MPs give up their private practice when they are appointed to the National Assembly. An MPs position should not be treated like a part time job but a full time job. If they want to keep their full time job they should not accept MP positions. When appointed, they should serve the country full time. They get salaries now for doing nothing for the nation. They can return to it after they are no longer an MP.

Have you ever heard of MPs in Canada and Britain engaging in private practice while serving the nation? Have you ever heard of Senators or members of congree in the USA engaging in private practice while serving their country?

Those are my thoughts and I'd love to hear yours. I remain open minded.

Couple things:

1. Our MPs aren't paid enough to only be MPs. One would need to dramatically raise their salaries to ban outside income.

2. In return for raising salaries, sittings need to be increased. 88 Sitting days in 3 years is terrible.

3. At 65 MPs, we have a National Assembly that is just too large. We are over-represented at 5,100 votes per seat. Trinidad with like 1.2 million people has a 41 Member House of Representatives.

4. MPs need to have constituencies and offices and staff in order to be more effective.

5. MPs have to be elected under their own names so they can develop an individual base so people can pressure them individually.

This is all not going to happen because the parties prefer the present system of dependence on the Leader.

Couple things:

1. Our MPs aren't paid enough to only be MPs. One would need to dramatically raise their salaries to ban outside income.

2. In return for raising salaries, sittings need to be increased. 88 Sitting days in 3 years is terrible.

3. At 65 MPs, we have a National Assembly that is just too large. We are over-represented at 5,100 votes per seat. Trinidad with like 1.2 million people has a 41 Member House of Representatives.

4. MPs need to have constituencies and offices and staff in order to be more effective.

5. MPs have to be elected under their own names so they can develop an individual base so people can pressure them individually.

This is all not going to happen because the parties prefer the present system of dependence on the Leader.

Is it about only money or the SERVICE to the People. No wonder you are so confused. Or are you. Maybe all you see is money???

Last edited by Nehru

Couple things:

Is it about only money or the SERVICE of the People. No wonder you are so confused. Or are you. Maybe all you see is money???

Do you ever read my comments before attacking me? Re-read carefully.

I support making them full time and banning outside employment but the practicality of it depends heavily on raising their wages to that which is a "living wage" for them otherwise they're just gonna become more corrupt.

I'm talking about this while being informed by the actual experience of many legislatures that have dealt with this issue before.

Lastly, politics has actually cost me money over the years chap. I never made a red cent. So you have the wrong person to make such an accusation to.

Couple things:

Is it about only money or the SERVICE of the People. No wonder you are so confused. Or are you. Maybe all you see is money???

Do you ever read my comments before attacking me? Re-read carefully.

I support making them full time and banning outside employment but the practicality of it depends heavily on raising their wages to that which is a "living wage" for them otherwise they're just gonna become more corrupt.

I'm talking about this while being informed by the actual experience of many legislatures that have dealt with this issue before.

Lastly, politics has actually cost me money over the years chap. I never made a red cent. So you have the wrong person to make such an accusation to.

They are getting more than enough. Salary is not all they get. In any case, they should serve the People regardless of what they receive.  Many are willing to do that.  WEh YUh Batty Boy she gone and hide??

I fully agree. If they cannot dedicate their time and energy to their Jobs, what good are they??

I have to agree. Look at those million dollar total NICIL cheques cashed by Moses and you get the pictures.

MP's must server their constituents.

They must not choose political office and can continue to serve their pocket books at the same time. They can remain lawyers if the so choose but must not seek political office and remain a lawyer at the simultaneously.

The AFC has the biggest hypocrites and crooks.

Great topic for discussion.

Don, I know you mean well and I'm prepared to support your idea, but it is a controversial one.

In Guyana, MPs don't represent individual constituencies or ridings as in the US and Canada. They are not accountable to the people within a specific geographical area. That used to happen in Guyana up to 1964.

However, with proportional representation, the MPs are drawn from a general party list and they handle specific subjects in parliament. They are accountable to the Party leadership, not the constituency.

Another thing. As you know, Dr Cheddi Jagan was a trained dentist. After 1964 he was Opposition Leader in parliament and he had resumed his dental practice too on a part-time basis. He shared a surgery with his brother Sirpaul on Charlotte Street, GT. He used to phone me from Freedom House in 1973-74 and ask me sometimes to meet him at his dental surgery to uplift reading material for articles or letters he wanted me to write.

Many parliamentarians belong to professions that are practised privately, like law, medicine and business/finance. Their professional income is generally higher than their parliamentary income. They will not want to give up the first for the second income.

What is needed is binding integrity legislation applicable to MPs to prevent conflicts of interest.