MPS TAKE ANOTHER VACATION WHILE APNU+AFC PONDER BUYING PLANES FOR PERSONAL USE

APNU+AFC announced that Parliament will go on a hiatus for 56 days (8 weeks holiday). This is on top of Members of Parliament vacationing in August and September. It means that in 2016, MPs will have 4 months time off with pay. For MPs who are used to work just about one day per week and often with many weeks in between with no sitting, this is really grabbing money without working. Most of them work less than one month for 12 months pay.

MPs are going on another vacation at a time when sugar workers have been told they cannot get a wage increase for 2015 and with a hopeless 2016 before them and for public servants who have been told that they should not expect any meaningful salary increase. APNU+AFC stayed long enough in Parliament to impose 130 new taxes on the people. For struggling taxpayers, this is an unfair burden to ask them to carry, just so that APNU+AFC can jet-set around the world.

APNU+AFC gave themselves a huge pay increase and imposed a large increase for MPs last year, worth over a billion dollars for the 11th Parliament. Now they are also using the institution to suck blind Guyanese taxpayers by taking salaries and benefits they receive for "liming". While sugar workers, public servants and workers everywhere in Guyana will toil for wages and salaries that do not keep up with the rising standard of living, APNU+AFC is busy burdening Guyana with a jet-setting government, intent on spending money while the country limps along.

Adding salt to the wound, they take time-off to consider buying a fleet of airplanes to take jet-setting ministers wherever they want to go. Simultaneously, APNU+AFC has warned people that if the government reduces VAT, as they promised in their manifesto and on public platforms everywhere before the May 2015 General Elections, they would have to add VAT to water and electricity rates. Worse yet, the Minister of Finance has told Guyanese that if they were to require the President and others to pay income tax which every worker in Guyana has to pay, then the government will have to give the President and those others a heavy top-up of their salaries.

We have an obligation to end corporal punishment in schools, to stop the archaic practice of beating children in school and, instead of meeting to do this, we are going on a hiatus for 56 days. We have human rights obligations like updating the death penalty provision in our constitution and laws, under national and global obligations, to repeal the death penalty in Guyana. Instead of completing this assignment, and at a time when 18 prisoners lost their lives extra-judicially, we decided that our under-work MPs must get another 56 days time-off.

We need to ensure that we stop criminalizing our LGBT sisters and brothers among us; our Parliament needs to act with haste to stop denying them their human rights. We have shamelessly procrastinated for years to repeal punitive laws that deny innocent people their god-given rights and have often told them "we are working on it". How could we be working on it when we heap time-off on a bunch of MPs who already barely work?

APNU+AFC has made a total mockery of our Parliament, the Voice of the People, carrying on as if they have no obligation to the people and shamefully taking their monthly salaries without showing up to work. Even when they work, they prevent the Opposition from bringing the people's concerns to Parliament. For example, they stopped a motion on behalf of rice farmers, insisting that rice is not the business of the government, doing so at a time when they have signed a rice deal with Jamaica that stands as one of the most corrupt deals in our country. This is the same Parliament that has no time to discuss the crisis in the sugar industry, but has time to take an extended vacation, just after announcing closing Wales Sugar Estates and putting hundreds out of work.
The Parliament of every country must stand as a rock for democracy. The 11th Parliament of Guyana has descended into a prime example of authoritarianism. As Guyana catapults towards dictatorship and economic chaos, the Parliament is a good gauge of how rapid this descent into dictatorship is. It is shameless that APNU+AFC has completely morphed Parliament into a dictatorial tentacle.
Dr. Leslie Ramsammy
March 29, 2016

baseman posted:
Eric.d posted:

The PPP/C should refuse to collect their pay during the time that Parliament is closed. They should set an example and embarrass the APNU+AFC parliamentarians.

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

Hey, it's the PNC/AFC who took a 500% salary increase, it's the PNC/AFC who went out and bought $100k cars, it's the PNC/AFC who contemplates buying a private jet, it's the PNC who said will will live within the Guyana reality while ranting that the PPP lived above their means, etc, etc.

Now, go explain this to the average working man/woman who saw a relatively meager salary increase while seeing swathes of VAT and other tax increases depleting the meager salary increases.

This from a bunch of talking heads while in opposition, is now doing everything the said they will not do!

Yes, talk is CHEAP!!!

This govt are a bunch of thieves and crooks through "codification"!!  And the "best" is yet to come...hold your jackasses!!

Keep on braying! Did the PPP/C refuse the 500% salary increase?

baseman posted:
Eric.d posted:

The PPP/C should refuse to collect their pay during the time that Parliament is closed. They should set an example and embarrass the APNU+AFC parliamentarians.

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

Hey, it's the PNC/AFC who took a 500% salary increase, it's the PNC/AFC who went out and bought $100k cars, it's the PNC/AFC who contemplates buying a private jet, it's the PNC who said will will live within the Guyana reality while ranting that the PPP lived above their means, etc, etc.

Now, go explain this to the average working man/woman who saw a relatively meager salary increase while seeing swathes of VAT and other tax increases depleting the meager salary increases.

This from a bunch of talking heads while in opposition, is now doing everything the said they will not do!

Yes, talk is CHEAP!!!

This govt are a bunch of thieves and crooks through "codification"!!  And the "best" is yet to come...hold your jackasses!!

Keep on braying! Did the PPP/C refuse the 500% salary increase?

Where this 500% come from,looks like the increase growing daily.

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

Eric.d welcome to GNI don't be intimidated by some posters just say what you want to say.

Welcome Eric.  And please support Django in all the nonsense he has to say.

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

Eric.d welcome to GNI don't be intimidated by some posters just say what you want to say.

Ha ha ha..how the huckster licence tun Donkey cart licence.

LOL

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

LOL

See what I told you Eric, Django is our resident expert in all types of Licensing Agreements.  He also has a PhD from Harvard, so thread carefully or he will come after you with a vengeance and make you swear on a Bible every day.

You mean like the Jagdeo refused his pension, and is taking the same Leader of opposition pay as that which Granger got?

No the PPP is only crying for attention.  I guess they found out that despite their "victory" APNU AFC are in power, and will likely remain there until 2020. 

That is unless Jagdeo resigns and they make Nagamootoo in charge of the PPP.

You mean like the Jagdeo refused his pension, and is taking the same Leader of opposition pay as that which Granger got?

No the PPP is only crying for attention.  I guess they found out that despite their "victory" APNU AFC are in power, and will likely remain there until 2020. 

Those "green" bwoys here will come throw a fit. 

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

LOL

See what I told you Eric, Django is our resident expert in all types of Licensing Agreements.  He also has a PhD from Harvard, so thread carefully or he will come after you with a vengeance and make you swear on a Bible every day.

No Phd for Django,he is just an ordinary Guy.

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

Django makes way more sense than some of you "green with envy" bwoys.

Eric.d posted:

Oh dear me!  Why does this language sound soooooooo familiar?????????

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

Welcome Eric.  And please support Django in all the nonsense he has to say

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

Thank you, Django. 

Eric.d posted:

Oh dear me!  Why does this language sound soooooooo familiar?????????

Hahahah. Are you revealing the ways of the "green bwoys"? . Bibi sounds like sieignet sounds like Ian sounds  like  baseman sounds like cobra sounds like Sheldon_man sounds like nehru. 

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

And are you the fifth resurrection of Christ??  I know yesterday was Easter and all, but........................................

Eric.d posted:

Good point! 

Talk is cheap. 

And are you the fifth resurrection of Christ??  I know yesterday was Easter and all, but........................................

Alyuh look like some real deh bad old men green with envy and full of hatred because the well dried up for Alyuh. Get used to it the coalition is here to stay. 

baseman posted:

The PPP boys fully understand the political reality.  Let's hope the PNC/AFC jokers kech lil sense, and quickly!!  Guyana headed for the abyss!!

Nagamootoo is a spent force, he was in the PPP but got a new lease on life hooking up with the AFC, now all wash and tun down!!  He is PPP jetsam, PNC flotsam.

Guyana is doing quite well. The squeeze is on the PPP pocket since they now have to rely on their brains to make do with what t hey stole because their fingers no longer reach the nations till.

The PPP dont have to do Jack!! The DUNCES wreck the Country in less that 10 months!!!!

The country was already wrecked after 23 years of asset stripping by the PPP. The PPP was actually glad that it lost the election. They had ruined sugar, rice, bauxite. It was time for them to go before their supporters started to feel the pressure.