Nagamootoo’s comment draws wide criticism from MPs
- Manickchand calls on House to distance itself from statements
PPP/C Member of Parliament  and Minister of Education Priya Manickchand has condemned the outburst yesterday by Alliance For Change (AFC) Member of
Parliament Moses Nagamootoo in the National Assembly, when he confessed to cursing his grandson when the child bothers him with repeated questions and admitted to shouting at the child, saying “shut yo so and so mouth”.
During his presentation on the 2012 budget debate, Nagamootoo, a former PPP/C party member who defected to the AFC, said, “…it is like a child. In the vehicle when I travel from my home, my grandson will say ‘are we there yet? Are we there yet?’  and I would tell he ‘shut yo so and so mouth’.”
The House immediately erupted, and a loud uproar was heard in the chambers as some members were shocked and astounded to hear this coming from the Honourable Member of the House with some members chanting and accusing him of ‘Child Abuse’.
“I find it unfortunate that a leader of the House said something like that for a couple of reasons,” Minister Manickchand told the Chronicle in an invited comment.
“While it is true that we can decide on corporal punishment ourselves, as far as it stands right now, that is we are consulting on where we should go as a country on that matter, but what I find grossly unfortunate is that we don’t speak to children like that,” Manickchand commented, in direct reference to what Nagamootoo said.
She insisted that one shouldn’t speak to children like that, noting, “Children should be encouraged and (saying) ‘shut your so and so’ because I asked ‘are we there yet’ is really shutting down curiosity, shutting down anxiety that might be justified and so on”.
“I don’t want to get involved in how the Member treats his grandchildren or doesn’t treat them...but I think that the fact that that (‘shut your so and so&rsquo has been publicly said ought to be condemned by all,” the minister chided.
“People who say they love children and they have children’s rights in the forefront of their minds – you would know that we have moved as a world from a place where children are seen and not heard to a place where we are actively encouraging their views,” she noted.
Manickchand encouraged all members of the National Assembly to embrace that right of a child to be heard and “not try to shut down views based on this venom that we heard here today.
“And so for me, I think it says to us that we need to be cautious when we speak to our children, so that we don’t impart behaviour that might itself turn out to be negative and so on,” she said.

We need to cut the brother some slack.  This a tempest in a teapot.  There is cussin out and there is cussin out.  I "cuss" out my wife, children, grandchildren, and other family members and friends all the time.  Let him who has never cussed out anyone cast the first stone.

Moses and I know each other from school days and I can vouch for his integrity and humanity.

Let me first premise my statements that on a personal level I do not believe in screaming or cursing as a methodology for scolding even my dogs. I do not yell at them. I found it more rewarding to engage a child or the dog as the case may be as to the source of their curiosity of agitation. Address that and the problem ceases.

However, one hears it on these sitcoms often where a parent screams "child, shut your damn mouth" to emphasize the parent is at the end of their rope. I have heard it from parents also and know the are not intending to be abusive nor do the love their children less.

I however chide Mr. Nagamootoo for poor illustration of his point and poor turn of phrase.

Let him who has never cussed out anyone cast the first stone

I saw that over the weekend in both Kings Of Kings and The Greatest Story Ever Told. Jesus told that to the Crowd who wanted to stone an Adulturous woman. I love Bible stories. Are you comparing Moses to someone who commits Adultery?

How yuh doing Bhai Errol. As a friend, you should have a concersation with him before it is too late.

Ah cant hear from meh Padna man, ah keep calling the man but no answer.

Bhai Errol, With all due respect and seriousness, I do not thinh Moses is the SAME Moses you knew. Times change and People change. Lately, his action and words tell me he is NOT the same person.

Alliance For Change (AFC) Member of Parliament Moses Nagamootoo in the National Assembly,  confessed to cursing his grandson when the child bothers him with repeated questions and admitted to shouting at the child, saying “shut yo so and so mouth”.
During his presentation on the 2012 budget debate, Nagamootoo, a former PPP/C party member who defected to the AFC, said, “…it is like a child. In the vehicle when I travel from my home, my grandson will say ‘are we there yet? Are we there yet?’  and I would tell he ‘shut yo so and so mouth’.”
The House immediately erupted, and a loud uproar was heard in the chambers as some members were shocked and astounded to hear this coming from the Honourable Member of the House with some members chanting and accusing him of ‘Child Abuse.’

Tthe Joint Opposition parties are showing their true colors

Moses should be congratulated for his honesty. It is no secret that many Guyanese men are very abusive at home and in public, especially when drunk. Even Jagdeo was known for his public abuses towards others. Never heard anyone from the PPP in parliament speak up against his behaviour.

Originally Posted by Sharon Storm:

Alliance For Change (AFC) Member of Parliament Moses Nagamootoo in the National Assembly,  confessed to cursing his grandson when the child bothers him with repeated questions and admitted to shouting at the child, saying “shut yo so and so mouth”.
The House immediately erupted, and a loud uproar was heard in the chambers as some members were shocked and astounded to hear this coming from the Honourable Member of the House with some members chanting and accusing him of ‘Child Abuse.’

Tthe Joint Opposition parties are showing their true colors

Should we post Varshnie's tales of abuse here and the response of you creeps in the PPP who could not even address the fact the leader of your party was an abuser and a liar?

Warrior you have just proven you are definitely naive about Guyanese Politics, therefore in no position to constructively contribute to this thread, it sees you are hell bent of defeating Nagamootoo, even if it comes to selling your conscience if any

Its unbelievable to see these bloggers  defending  Nagamootoo  child abuse

Your hypocrisy is more the case since no one defended him. They speak to the mountain out of a mole hill being constructed by the whelps from members of the PPP members.

When PPP party member children were accused of rape and coercion by many young girls and the tapes taken by these creeps were distributed for sale and yet you miserable cretins had the audacity to dismiss it as "consensual sex"

You spend days defending a police chief accused of rape who had a history of similar accusations and who lost his permission to travel on account of suspicions of nefarious dealings.

You ought to go to confession for venal sins since you hardly know what Mr Nagamotto said but assume it was something abusive. Instead of presuming a wrong was done you need to addressed wrongs claimed to have been done by your PPP folks.

Listen to this CUNUMUNU and LAMATA. Why would the Minister risk getting Fleas by dealing with a STINKING DOG!!!

You seem to smelling yourself. No wonder your diction is as you are...base and of the fishwife's genre.

Alliance For Change (AFC) Member of Parliament Moses Nagamootoo in the National Assembly, when he confessed to cursing his grandson when the child bothers him with repeated questions and admitted to shouting at the child, saying “shut yo so and so mouth”.
The House immediately erupted, and a loud uproar was heard in the chambers as some members were shocked and astounded to hear this coming from the Honourable Member of the House with some members chanting and accusing him of ‘Child Abuse’.

What a shame!!!!!

Alliance For Change (AFC) Member of Parliament Moses Nagamootoo in the National Assembly, when he confessed to cursing his grandson when the child bothers him with repeated questions and admitted to shouting at the child, saying “shut yo so and so mouth”.

What a shame!!!!!

That is slant...the kind you muckraking minions feast on. The man said "‘shut yo so and so mouth" so only if you fill in the blanks as your filthy minds are accustomed to doing  you end up with claims of abuse.

However you have, the accusation of rape against 2 ministers, pedophilia against another,  members sons supposedly raping young women and selling the video tapes, the president claiming he is married when it is a lie while abusing his supposed wife, the police chief accused of rape and the list goes on

Despite all of that you still try to find some space of moral green in you dessicated mind scape to frame Moses as and abuser!

this is the same lady that did not say a word when the ppp burn the boy penis and refuse to pay what the court order and she was the minister of human service now she know about child abuse with a simple statment

Member of Parliament Moses Nagamootoo in the National Assembly, when he confessed to cursing his grandson when the child bothers him with repeated questions and admitted to shouting at the child, saying “shut yo so and so mouth”.

If that is not Child Abuse, then what is?

nehru sound like a little ppp wimp calling for amral for help when he is supporting the ppp ministers to thief the tax payers money

for an intelligent person like moses to be cursing his grandson,wow, the man gat me thinking, he is one dysfunctional fool.  I would hope it would be common sense that it is NOT okay to swear at a child and yes that is emotional/mental abuse for swearing at a child.

I swear at stupid people, like prahsad, warrior, stormbrain, and a few others  , coz they are big pu$$%&^$ adults with brains still under developed.

Mr Nagamootoo is on record about the many things he were taught by the COMMUNIST JAGANS. It is also a known fact that communists do not care for family and loved ones.

Did the Jagan's  and Freedom House be responsible for Nagmootoo behaviour?

Moses was a neemakaram then for cursing his sons. He's a neemakaram now for sleeping with strange bed fellows. He was never the Jagans wonder boy to take the leadership before Jagdeo and Ramotar. Dr. Jagan saw he a was a faithful neemakaran that would one day turnaround and bite his massa? Mouth open story jump out.

Mr Nagamootoo is on record about the many things he were taught by the COMMUNIST JAGANS. It is also a known fact that communists do not care for family and loved ones.

If the PPP is responsible for Moses behavior, then would you agree you're responsible for all muslim terrorist activities? Chief, you can answer the question yourself?

In  these  modern  time,  Mr  Nagamottoo's language and  mode  of  scolding his  annoying  grand  kid may  in  fact be  a little  too harsh,  inappropriate  and  unacceptable.  However , contextually I submit his  critics  are  making  a  mountain  out  of  a mole-hill and  at  the same  time exposing  their dry eyed hypocrisy. Many of  us who  have  kids, can  relate  first hand  how  annoying  and  distracting  children in back seat  can  be  to  drivers - sometime  with dire  consequences.  Mr.  Nagamoottoo being  a  man  of good  breeding,  I  seriously  doubt that  his  scolding  of " Shut you so and so  mouth" could  have been  anything  beyond  " blasted"  or 'damned".   

Moses was a neemakaram then for cursing his sons. He's a neemakaram now for sleeping with strange bed fellows. He was never the Jagans wonder boy to take the leadership before Jagdeo and Ramotar. Dr. Jagan saw he a was a faithful neemakaran that would one day turnaround and bite his massa? Mouth open story jump out.

So I suppose  Nadira  Jagan  Brancier is  also  a  neemakharam by your  estimation?    

An' look hu yu nah, kik dah side, no ambassada wuk, naow yuh a cuss coolie and chaatay blackman bakside.  Gwan soa loongera.

Let us not knock Nagamootoo as he is from the old school where a good smack can go a long way to ensure proper behavior. What is relevant is that he is doing a great service by holding the PPP to task. Now they don't have carte blanche to pass budgets by sheer force of their numbers. They now have to justify expenditures.

BGUrd, It IS a BIG difference doing it at home and STATING It IN A PARLIAMENT, NOT even in Al Queda Parliament would that be accepted.

Stupid man, Al Queda aims at a Caliphate and not at democracy to the analogy is nonsensical. Mr Nagamotto said nothing than is imagined by those with dessicated mind.

Let him clarify. you are not allowed to fill in his words. That was the warning we got with respect to Varshnie's claim of being abused and with respect to the President lying that he had a wife. It is what we were told these past months with respect to the rape charges of against the Police chief.

And what moral green patch do you stand on when your realty with respect you your public claims of infidelity and constant carousing etc as habit? Is that not a profligate seeking status among honorable men?