Georgetown, Guyana – (April 10, 2017) The Ministry of the Presidency refutes the misleading, false and malicious article, which was carried in the Monday, April 10, 2017 edition of the Guyana Times, headlined “Ministers can dictate to state media – President”, in which His Excellency President David Granger’s utterances were misrepresented.

Ms. Stacy Carmichael, Assistant Editor of NewsRoom on the Ministry of the Presidency’s weekly television programme ‘The Public Interest’, asked the President, “As an advocate for press freedom, do you have any concerns with any attempts by members of your Cabinet to interfere with the content of the State media?” The article claims that the President, in response, said that there is nothing wrong with a Government minister ‘dictating’ where articles should be placed in the State newspaper.

On the contrary, the President, in his response said, “If you are referring to a letter by the Minister of Communities, I do not regard it as interference. Apart from being a Minister, he is a private citizen. He expressed concerns. I do not think he attempted to coerce or to use his ministerial influence to change what I regard as the editorial right to publish an article or to publish news stories. I don’t think there was any interference at all. He wrote a letter just as anybody else could write a letter… I have seen worse letters by other people and the fact that it came from a minister does not constitute interference. If he had gone into the newsroom and order changes be made that is a different matter… But as far as the matter you are raising is concerned, the Minister did not decide what should or should not be published, he expressed an opinion on what had already been published.”

The question and response were related to a press release by the Guyana Press Association on April 4, 2017, which criticised a letter written by Mr. Ronald Bulkan, the Minister of Communities, and published in the Guyana Chronicle on April 3, 2017.

At no point during the recording of the programme did the President say that Ministers of Government can dictate to the State media entities. Further, the headline is at odds with the actual content of the article published in that newspaper since in the same report, the media house states in the fourth paragraph, “Asked to comment on this minister’s actions, President Granger said he does not view it as interference in the work of the media, but as the Minister giving his opinion on the matter, just as every citizen has a right to do”. This clearly shows that the headline was a deliberate attempt to mislead the Guyanese people.

The Ministry emphatically condemns the article and notes that media houses have an important responsibility to provide facts to the people of Guyana. This erroneous headline and lead were published despite the fact that the President’s comments was publicised via television, the internet and other communication platforms. The assertions carried therein have no basis in fact and the Ministry is, therefore, calling for an immediate retraction.

While the Government of Guyana promotes and stands solidly behind press freedom, the Ministry of the Presidency calls on the Guyana Times and all media houses to pay attention to the ethics and responsibilities that ought to be observed in the profession of Journalism. The Media must take its responsibility to provide accurate information to the members of the public seriously.

The Ministry of the Presidency uses this opportunity to reiterate the President’s commitment to the non-interference of the media by his administration. In April 2016, at a workshop hosted by the Guyana Press Association, the President said that citizens’ access to information is a democratic right and information is necessary for citizens’ informed participation in society.

“The Government of Guyana is committed to the promotion of a high degree of media professionalism. My administration will not undermine the professionalism of State media workers by subjecting them to political direction or interference with their work. My administration is committed also to non-interference in the independent media. Independent media act as watchdogs of the Government. They promote transparency by ensuring that information is provided to the public on the work of the Government,” the President said.

He noted, at that forum, that restrictions on the flow of information deny citizens the opportunity to participate fully in decision-making and, thereby, impair democracy. The President said that his Government accepts that the State media have a duty to report accurately and without bias on all three arms of the State and that they are obliged to report the views of all parties and should serve the interests of all of the people of Guyana.

Look at these PNC Chaps. They were hollering about an independent state media. They are caught lying once again.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/lo...2#556942147105650512

Yugi,

your credibility is lost,who will believe you ??

THE SOURCE OF THE ARTICLE WAS ALSO OMITTED.

Eh ehhh but look at story..Django how dare you post the truth and giving dem FILTHY SHITHEAD PPP peeps the SHITTINGS from drinking all dat dam SNAKE OIL from the SLOPCAN just like JIM JONES time. 

I got a feeling these chaps who run GUYANA LIES all de TIMES news rag doan even know how fo run a CAKE SHOP

The PNc and The Namakaram Crabdag said Govt dont belong in Media, now they in full control of the Media, back channel TREATS and VIOLENCE to have ONLY their stories publish and Broadcast!!!!!!!!!!!!

Speaking of erroneous headlines!!!!!  Hello Django!!!!

Didn't you know Django is now Editor-in-Chief of this Forum? He is the Ultimate Decider of his Headlines, which is meant to tell us dunces what to look for and how to understand the news he relays here. Look at Django's headline as against KN headline here. But we have to give him credit for sticking to APNU+AFC through thick and thin, wrong or right, wrong and strong. And you pro-PPP guys here are also playing partisan editors too, slanting your headlines just like E-in-C Django. 

They are threatening not just members of judiciary but those in the press who freely exercise their independence. This country is heading down the wrong course. With oil revenues flowing in the next decade don't expect the atmosphere to improve. Expect more violence on a record scale.

Billy, let's put aside oil a moment. Also, let's accept the proposition that APNU+AFC is only almost 3 years in power and deserve some understanding.

Now, let's get down to brass tacks. Practically every single month since it got into government APNU+AFC has been making one 'mistake' after another. As a keen observer, I grant that some are mistakes due to incompetence and inexperience. But I think some are deliberate wrongdoings designed to strengthen APNU's grip on power. Having lived through the period when Burnham calculatedly and crudely removed basic human rights one after another, I am seeing some undemocratic practices creeping in again but in a sophisticated way.

For all intents and purposes, the Cummingsburg Accord is dead. It was honored in the breach from Granger's first Cabinet meeting. Remember the elections campaign when Nagamootoo was telling the people he would make major appointments as PM and chair Cabinet meetings too? Gilbakka for one swallowed that pill, ignoring our Grand Vizier Demerara_Guy who had warned that the Constitution of Guyana gave the President, not the PM, the power to do those things which the Cummingsburg Accord promised. D_G was vindicated.

So, right now I am worried that before long, a dictatorship will return, and this is why I have pledged here to join the fight for free and fair elections.

One more thing: Disgruntled coalition supporters like myself are now between a rock and a hard place. Despite Jagdeo's advice, PPP people in social media and society are still demonizing us. And PNC people are also angry with us, accusing that we want to bring back Jagdeo in power. Damned if we do, and damned if we don't. We'll probably be like wandering Jews roaming through the political wilderness. Baap ray baap.

Gilly, I respect your honesty and say to you, speak from the heart and you will be fine, speak truth to Power, speak for the helpless and the poor, speak for justice, human rights and Fairness and you will have nothing to worry about.

Let us get back to the article and the article and away from the name calling, labelling. This is more that a PPP/PNC issue. It is an issue about how our democracy functions.

The president is basically arguing that there was no interference by using undue influence because the minister has a right as any other citizen to write a letter. Now, this position is just not valid. Yes, the minister has a right to write letters, but the weight of his request or suggestions is not the same as that of an ordinary citizen. Do you think that the editor or whom so ever decides on these things will not be influenced, will not e presidentthink of the minister's suggestion when he next has to deal with government events generally or with events by this minister? Yes, he will!

The president's position and argument is far more than a stretch.

Z

Django, you should know by now that anything coming out of the Guyana Times, you have to take it with a pinch of salt. Wait a few more days and the real story will reveal itself. Jagdeo set up these media outlets specifically to spread Piss Pot Propaganda and he has his band of porters on social media to disseminate it to those who are not so bright and can't think independently. They learnt from the best in the Fake News business, the Soviets.

I never expect honestly from politicians because I don't think they are wired for honesty. What I do believe is that while the PNC is dishonest, they are also hapless. Every passing day is solidifying that argument. This stupid government wasted a whole year planning for a jubilee celebration and meaningless audits. Now they are having constipation.

Gilly, I respect your honesty and say to you, speak from the heart and you will be fine, speak truth to Power, speak for the helpless and the poor, speak for justice, human rights and Fairness and you will have nothing to worry about.

Well, well, well...this is one endorsement that calls for celebration! I have some Captain Morgan White Rum in the fridge. Will take a neat shot! Thanks!!!

Django, you should know by now that anything coming out of the Guyana Times, you have to take it with a pinch of salt. Wait a few more days and the real story will reveal itself. Jagdeo set up these media outlets specifically to spread Piss Pot Propaganda and he has his band of porters on social media to disseminate it to those who are not so bright and can't think independently. They learnt from the best in the Fake News business, the Soviets.

Gaad Bless Freddie Kissoon and Kaieteur News.  The Beacon of Truth.

Neither do I condemn him.  Go and sin no more.

If you say so Kellyanne Conway, then it is so. Not!!!

QUOTE FROM MOTP: 'On the contrary, the President, in his response said, “If you are referring to a letter by the Minister of Communities, I do not regard it as interference. Apart from being a Minister, he is a private citizen. He expressed concerns.'

Bluntly I say the President is engaging in semantics. Did Ronald Bulkan state in his letter that he was writing as a private citizen without his ministerial cap? Having worked in the state media in Guyana, I can tell you that when a minister communicates his concerns to an editor, is shakings or shittings.

Isn't that the lady who got the President of the United States elected, y'all better watch out ...............................................!!!!

She's also the lady who stated that microwaves are used for spying and that there was a Bowling Green Massacre. But carry on with what y'all do best, spread fake news.

QUOTE FROM MOTP: 'On the contrary, the President, in his response said, “If you are referring to a letter by the Minister of Communities, I do not regard it as interference. Apart from being a Minister, he is a private citizen. He expressed concerns.'

Bluntly I say the President is engaging in semantics. Did Ronald Bulkan state in his letter that he was writing as a private citizen without his ministerial cap? Having worked in the state media in Guyana,I can tell you that when a minister communicates his concerns to an editor, is shakings or shittings.

Gill,

this is modern era,editors should grow some ba.....ls.

added to that Guyana Chronicle should be privatized.

Bluntly I say the President is engaging in semantics. Did Ronald Bulkan state in his letter that he was writing as a private citizen without his ministerial cap? Having worked in the state media in Guyana,I can tell you that when a minister communicates his concerns to an editor, is shakings or shittings.

Gill,

Licks like peas on you r@ss today. No amount of Guyana dollars can compensate for this brutal assault on you.

Gill,

Licks like peas on you r@ss today. No amount of Guyana dollars can compensate for this brutal assault on you.

Banna,

whey the licks deh.

One more thing: Disgruntled coalition supporters like myself are now between a rock and a hard place. Despite Jagdeo's advice, PPP people in social media and society are still demonizing us. And PNC people are also angry with us, accusing that we want to bring back Jagdeo in power. Damned if we do, and damned if we don't. We'll probably be like wandering Jews roaming through the political wilderness. Baap ray baap.

You not in a bad position when both the PPP and PNC need the AFC core group of supporters.

Now, the AFC as a party is dead as doornail. The question is will the disgruntled vote or stay home ?

I predict a PPP win if the elections are not rigged. Many disgruntled Blacks will stay home like they did in the U.S. Election. The youths of Guyana have been cast aside by the AFC/PNC. Many are also disgruntled.

Natives are now moving back in large numbers to the PPP. 

Taxes and the collapse of the economy is not helping the PNC.

It is all of the PPP to win. I hope that they thread carefully.

Well, well, well...this is one endorsement that calls for celebration! I have some Captain Morgan White Rum in the fridge. Will take a neat shot! Thanks!!!

Who the hell keeps rum in their fridge?

Gill,

Bai, yuh rass mad or what? Yuh blaming the editors now? They are the victims of ministerial interference. YOUR government meddling. Nah mek me cuss now. The Captain Morgan sauce ent come out me system yet.

ksazma posted: Who the hell keeps rum in their fridge?

I was doing that in sunny hot Guyana. I drink without ice so I cool the liquor in my fridge. 

I wonder if this practice contributed to your early march to the bone yard?

ksazma posted: Who the hell keeps rum in their fridge?

I was doing that in sunny hot Guyana. I drink without ice so I cool the liquor in my fridge. 

I wonder if this practice contributed to your early march to the bone yard?

No, sir. Cheese, french fries, red meat, egg sandwiches and anger --- those are the things that dented me. As a rule, I drink two shots of alcohol occasionally. Not harmful according to my doctor.

now this the best laugh i had for a long time were was this fool when the ppp was raping the nation 

warrior posted:

now this the best laugh i had for a long time were was this fool when the ppp was raping the nation 

Still not 1 ppp jailed for "raping the nation" as promised by jackass Granger.