If you look at the Region 6 returns for the AFC, you would have to reasonably conclude that Moses Nagamootoo's 11th hour resignation may have cost the PPP 2 seats.

Timing played an important part if you consider the time and effort President Jagdeo and General Secretary Donal Ramotar had to spend con the Moses' defection to the AFC and the charges he cited as reasons for leaving. The Presidential pension package could not have come at a more inopportune moment. Add to the poor optics of Pradoville 2 and you have to wonder about timing.

Let's hear Kiddie's revisionist theory on Moses.

The PPP/C triumphed in the outlying areas, where politics is still in the last century. It fared not so triumphantly in the battle ground areas of Regions 4 and 6. The Region 44 results belie the notion of it gaining momentum among all races, and its less than stellar showing, historically speaking, in Region 6 shattered the claim that Moses is a spent force.

The last elections had a fear factor of Sat Sawh's killing that was huge to keep the flock home and of course Moses Nagamootoo helped by staying on. In 2011 his timing was that of a master politician.
Can you please tell us what Moses has to gain by doing so?? I predict in a few months he will be kicked to the Curb, I hope I am wrong.
Originally posted by Kari:

The PPP/C triumphed in the outlying areas, where politics is still in the last century. It fared not so triumphantly in the battle ground areas of Regions 4 and 6. The Region 44 results belie the notion of it gaining momentum among all races, and its less than stellar showing, historically speaking, in Region 6 shattered the claim that Moses is a spent force.

The last elections had a fear factor of Sat Sawh's killing that was huge to keep the flock home and of course Moses Nagamootoo helped by staying on. In 2011 his timing was that of a master politician.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Originally posted by Churchill:
Moses Nagamootoo, the desciple of Cheddi Jagan parted the Red Sea......

The people are now free from the yoke of the Jagdeo/Ramouthar cabal......

flag

get a grip on yourself. Jagdeo is no longer there.

The count shows thaT THE ppp WAS ROBBED IN REGION ONE.
rama you guys win the election,now you have my permittion to get drunk.but whenn you get sober remember no more racist remark.
Originally posted by warrior:
TE]rama you guys win the election,now you have my permittion to get drunk..

drunk with sorrow as this is a repudiation by Guyanese, most didnt vote for them. The turnout was HIGHER than last time it looks like. And the PPP can no longer ignore the opposition.

Of course that "landslide" victory and the "PPP uniting Guyanese" BS were heard of. Even they wouldnt dare utter that now.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Originally posted by Churchill:
Moses Nagamootoo, the desciple of Cheddi Jagan parted the Red Sea......

The people are now free from the yoke of the Jagdeo/Ramouthar cabal......

flag

get a grip on yourself. Jagdeo is no longer there.

The count shows thaT THE ppp WAS ROBBED IN REGION ONE.
rama you guys win the election,now you have my permittion to get drunk.but whenn you get sober remember no more racist remark.

We won the battle not the war.
Originally posted by Nehru:
Can you please tell us what Moses has to gain by doing so?? I predict in a few months he will be kicked to the Curb, I hope I am wrong.

Nehru, reflect not on what Moses hoped to gain by his resignation from the PPP, but his visceral commentary on what he perceived to be corruption among the LEADERSHIP of a party that he feels was HIJACKED.

And you also would know that Moses's departure was more of him getting shoved out. The Jagdeo leadership calculated that he was a nobody and worth nothing politically after leaving - go back to the videos. So your question about what Moses has to gain is utterly misplaced.
I know this, whrn Moses is calm and no longer angry and frustrated he will realise that Trotmn and Nigel used him and that they were planted there for a reason.

Nehru, reflect not on what Moses hoped to gain by his resignation from the PPP, but his visceral commentary on what he perceived to be corruption among the LEADERSHIP of a party that he feels was HIJACKED.

And you also would know that Moses's departure was more of him getting shoved out. The Jagdeo leadership calculated that he was a nobody and worth nothing politically after leaving - go back to the videos. So your question about what Moses has to gain is utterly misplaced.
I know this, whrn Moses is calm and no longer angry and frustrated he will realise that Trotmn and Nigel used him and that they were planted there for a reason.

i am hoping before the next election,the country will change,that you do not have be a racist any more
Originally posted by Nuff:
I am wondering if this is the same GN&I I left. I honestly haven't read the posts in 3 years and just popped in for fun during the election results ... but it looks like all the old PPP stalwarts went rogue.

Y'all bad fuh daze! What happened along the way to the 2011 elections? lol

This is what you need to know about the PPP - the hijackers became intolerable and you had to wait until the right moment just before the elections to air dirty laundry. That simple.....it's not going rogue....it's about when to make the cut.

i am hoping before the next election,the country will change,that you do not have be a racist any more

It's too simplistic to call Nehru a racist. In fact I would categorically say he isn't. The PNC's behavior, until the rise of Winston Murray, Van-West Charles and latterly David Granger, left most Indians scarred by the race violence in the 60s and the alienation by the GDF's antics when Burnham was consolidating his rule, to have this suspicion of a race divide. Expand this to the broader Caribbean context and how minisculed the Indentured experience was made Indians felt.
I am wondering if this is the same GN&I I left. I honestly haven't read the posts in 3 years and just popped in for fun during the election results ... but it looks like all the old PPP stalwarts went rogue.

We learned from your leaving and told Amral he is being controlled by Jagdeo's FreeDumb House. Big Grin

You picked the most heated time to visit GNI. lol
Originally posted by Tola:

We learned from your leaving and told Amral he is being controlled by Jagdeo's FreeDumb House. Big Grin

You picked the most heated time to visit GNI. lol

Nothing heated here. Just a feeling that the old race voting is slowly being chipped away. Now if the PPP can distance itself from charges of corruption and profligate spending and the PNC can become a better opposition party, the AFC would have been a blessed event for Guyana.
Expand this to the broader Caribbean context and how minisculed the Indentured experience was made Indians felt.

No need to debate this but Africans were way more scarred by their experience in slavery and under colonialism. Think "good hair", "color", "baby mother". You will see what I mean. Brazil, Guyana, Martinique, Curacao, Cuba, USA, its all the same.
Originally posted by caribj:
Expand this to the broader Caribbean context and how minisculed the Indentured experience was made Indians felt.

No need to debate this but Africans were way more scarred by their experience in slavery and under colonialism. Think "good hair", "color", "baby mother". You will see what I mean. Brazil, Guyana, Martinique, Curacao, Cuba, USA, its all the same.

Fair point, but that should not color (sorry for the pun) the view towards Indians. We belong to the Caribbean, in spite of attempts to make us believe we were from another continent.

It's too simplistic to call Nehru a racist. In fact I would categorically say he isn't. The PNC's behavior, until the rise of Winston Murray, Van-West Charles and latterly David Granger, left most Indians scarred by the race violence in the 60s and the alienation by the GDF's antics when Burnham was consolidating his rule, to have this suspicion of a race divide. Expand this to the broader Caribbean context and how minisculed the Indentured experience was made Indians felt.
that BS i am a indian too,so all the rest of indians that vote for the AFC.they did not feel insecure.the true champion in this election is the indians that vote AFc THEY SHED their hate and give guyana a chance.the blacks vote race so they do not count unless they vote AFC.
Originally posted by warrior: that BS i am a indian too,so all the rest of indians that vote for the AFC.they did not feel insecure.the true champion in this election is the indians that vote AFc THEY SHED their hate and give guyana a chance.the blacks vote race so they do not count unless they vote AFC.

Like de daroo kicking in.... Big Grin
[Fair point, but that should not color (sorry for the pun) the view towards Indians. We belong to the Caribbean, in spite of attempts to make us believe we were from another continent.

The issue of the role of Indians in the Caribbean is a fair comment.

However other ethnic groups in the caribbean put their "Caribbeanness" first and look to the ancestral lands as part of their DISTANT past. IndoCaribbean people will have to decide whether they are Indians sojouring thru the caribbean, or are a Caribbean people with a distant Indian past. You dont see Portuguese Guyanese trying to push up on Brazilians, despite their common heritage.
the blacks vote race so they do not count unless they vote AFC.

OK so even other AFCites are admitting their strategy to get the black vote was poor. If teh AFc wants to become a factor in this segment calling them racists when they know full well they made mistakes isnt teh way to do this.

Note that other AFCites, despite calling me names, have finally conceded that I have a point. Why did 20% of blacks support the AFC last time and not now? This is for the AFC to decide. BTW most Indians voted PPP so lets not forget that either.
[Fair point, but that should not color (sorry for the pun) the view towards Indians. We belong to the Caribbean, in spite of attempts to make us believe we were from another continent.

The issue of the role of Indians in the Caribbean is a fair comment.

However other ethnic groups in the caribbean put their "Caribbeanness" first and look to the ancestral lands as part of their DISTANT past. IndoCaribbean people will have to decide whether they are Indians sojouring thru the caribbean, or are a Caribbean people with a distant Indian past. You dont see Portuguese Guyanese trying to push up on Brazilians, despite their common heritage.

You cannot mistake religious practices as evidence of a soujourning in the Caribbean by Indians. Heck we don't even speak the languages of India, even Surinamese and Trinidadians have a decided advantage in this area and they are not subject to accusations of alienating themselves from the Caribbean. We eat all Caribbean foods. It's too simplistic to posit that Indians contribute to this feeling of being alienated from the Caribbean. If yo and I have a conversation with no video anybody would have a hard time figuring that we're from different races.
the blacks vote race so they do not count unless they vote AFC.

OK so even other AFCites are admitting their strategy to get the black vote was poor. If teh AFc wants to become a factor in this segment calling them racists when they know full well they made mistakes isnt teh way to do this.

Note that other AFCites, despite calling me names, have finally conceded that I have a point. Why did 20% of blacks support the AFC last time and not now? This is for the AFC to decide. BTW most Indians voted PPP so lets not forget that either.
when you want to clean you start at home first,then how much money the AFC had to spend.AFC is a young party comepare to these two monsters,how much resource do you think they had.all i am saying instead of paying them the respect they deserve you keep dumping on them.they do not need fools like you who was doing nothing to help on the ground keep shiting on them
CaribJ will insist on his view that Blacks voted APNU because they were dissatisfied with the PPP/C. But he has to understand that while anyone not on the reservation will be dissatisfied with the PPP, the APNU voters voted APNU mainly because of race.

CaribJ's view also denies the shift in Indian voting patterns as evidenced by the AFC's taking vital votes away from the PPP in Region 6.

CaribJ will also deny the logic that follows that Moses Nagamootoo had a lot to do with the Region 6 take-aways by the AFC. When you boil it down that one vote swing has changed the political discourse in Guyana; and CaribJ should acknowledge two trends here - (1) Indians will be more prepared to move away from the PPP that he believes; and (2) the enormity of the Moses defection. If he doesn't understand this then CaribJ has his head in the sand.
CaribJ will insist on his view that Blacks voted APNU because they were dissatisfied with the PPP/C. But he has to understand that while anyone not on the reservation will be dissatisfied with the PPP, the APNU voters voted APNU mainly because of race.

CaribJ's view also denies the shift in Indian voting patterns as evidenced by the AFC's taking vital votes away from the PPP in Region 6.

CaribJ will also deny the logic that follows that Moses Nagamootoo had a lot to do with the Region 6 take-aways by the AFC. When you boil it down that one vote swing has changed the political discourse in Guyana; and CaribJ should acknowledge two trends here - (1) Indians will be more prepared to move away from the PPP that he believes; and (2) the enormity of the Moses defection. If he doesn't understand this then CaribJ has his head in the sand.
well well,thank you and well said Smile

I do not care what Carib says. God bless the AFC. God bless the people of GY. God bless the Indo Guyanese who had the courage not to vote race.