The Guyana Dream: When a broad-based patriotic alliance comes to power on May 11, the Guyana dream of "one Guyana" will come true. When I agreed to work in a new government of national unity as Prime Minister/Vice President with David Granger as President, I knew it was a giant step towards unity. I did so knowing that my friend and brother Khemraj Ramjattan would be allowed to serve as Vice-President in charge of Home Affairs, to suppress the episodes of criminal attacks on our citizens. I did so, knowing that the AFC must hold the portfolio for Agriculture to make sure that sugar workers are protected and that rice farmers get the price for padi that they deserve without being tear- gassed or stripped naked, and that those who plant the land must be given ownership of it, not foreigners or corrupt cronies; and that fishermen are adequately protected from pirates.
i joined force for a new Guyana when a woman like my young sister Cathy Hughes could be a Vice-President to give meaning and direction to youth policies, gender issues, tourism, cultural development so that we could create a new Guyana brand of who we are - united, proud and free, and that other women could play meaningful role as leaders.
I opted for a united slate so that the brilliant and noble Nigel Hughes could be given a chance to steer the process to reform our Constitution to rid it of the dictatorial presidential powers.
I know that my colleagues and my many supporters wanted Moses Nagamootoo to be President, but I made a conscious decision that Guyana's interest comes first, and I endorsed Granger instead for the post, and instead opted to head the Cabinet because I believe that the country could be better served if I use my experience to guide a new group of qualified ministers to serve only the people, and to bring solutions to their many problems. The AFC has led the way towards national unity, and yesterday would go down in history as the first, new day in the Guyana Dream!

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

In the Guyana context of trying to unify the country, these political mechanisms are necessary first steps to build relationships.  Moses' statement above is inspiring.

Agreed!

I might be a little more inspired if Coolie political behavior was different than what it is. But it is'nt so I'm not.

The only question in my mind is the size of the PPP/C majority (51% plus what) in the next Parliament.

In the Guyana context of trying to unify the country, these political mechanisms are necessary first steps to build relationships.  Moses' statement above is inspiring.

Agreed!

I might be a little more inspired if Coolie political behavior was different than what it is. But it is'nt so I'm not.

The only question in my mind is the size of the PPP/C majority (51% plus what) in the next Parliament.

I would have preferred to see a Moses led united party but it's been done and we move forward. The PPP has to be defeated and this could still be a reality.

The PPP/C does have the ability to shoot themselves in the foot many times between now and election time. What Moses did up there is exactly what they have to do...bring a positive message to the people, leave the old baggage behind.

In terms of political activism/experence, Moses Nagamootoo is senior to David Granger.

Nagamootoo demonstrated statesmanship and grace in settling for the prime ministerial post.

It showed that he is not a "leader or nothing" person as the PPP wrongfully painted him.

It's reassuring to hear Moses say that the AFC will take charge of agriculture and give sugar workers and rice farmers a better life.

Agreed!

I would have preferred to see a Moses led united party but it's been done and we move forward. The PPP has to be defeated and this could still be a reality.

The PPP/C does have the ability to shoot themselves in the foot many times between now and election time. What Moses did up there is exactly what they have to do...bring a positive message to the people, leave the old baggage behind.

While I do admit that campaigns do matter. They only matter when you have some wares to sell. These wares cannot be sold to Indians so the only other alternative path to a non-PPP/C Government is an APNU Minority Presidency (a virtual impossibility in a two horse race) or an APNU Majority Presidency which would mean that APNU has to benefit from one of two scenarios.

First scenario is that APNU repeats it's Black constituency performance (26 seats) of 2011 (likely) and the AFC side bring in it's 2011 voters (7 seats) to Granger (unlikely). The second scenario is that APNU increases Black/Mixed turnout dramatically (possible but unlikely) and the AFC repeat some 2011 success within the Indo constituency (15k to 20k) (highly unlikely).

Both of the former two paths to an APNU-led victory is predicated on some unlikely scenario occurring. This is a racial election with racial dynamics. There is no point in pretending otherwise.

Agreed!

Hope the message resonates with Indians.

Like you Iam optimistic.

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
How insensitive of you sahib
Would you like it if some Hindu tell yuh that's like salt poke in yuh cookup?

Bro did you not hear Nandalaal when he said Chatrees running things.

Actually, Nandlall said QC students running things. He meant that the most powerful people in the regime attended QC.

He made the chatree remark to show he is from a higher caste than Jagdeo.

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
How insensitive of you sahib
Would you like it if some Hindu tell yuh that's like salt poke in yuh cookup?

Bro did you not hear Nandalaal when he said Chatrees running things.

Actually, Nandlall said QC students running things. He meant that the most powerful people in the regime attended QC.

He made the chatree remark to show he is from a higher caste than Jagdeo.

Meaning he would never scratch his baltz in public but in private have no problem sticking his hands into the cookie jar.