Three arrested at PPPC meeting at Stabroek

Written by Denis Scott Chabrol Friday, 18 November 2011 22:19

Three persons including one woman were arrested Friday night for allegedly disturbing a public meeting by the Peoples Progressive Party (PPP) meeting outside Stabroek Market.

As the estimated 200 persons across the road opposite the meeting became increasingly restive, two truck-loads of heavily armed dark-uniformed policemen were summoned and parked short distances away from the meeting.A section of the pro-APNU gathering jeering the PPPC meeting

Tension grew as the arrests were made separately at different times, with several persons surrounding and verbally abusing the police officer who had initiated and ordered the arrest.

A Peoples National Congress / A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) member, Tandica Todd was arrested after she protested previous arrests. A scuffle ensued between her and police and she eventually fell down or threw herself down on the ground to avoid being taken to the station.

The arrests came one day after police warned that “firm” action would be taken against persons who attempt to disrupt political meetings in the run-up to the November 28 general and regional elections.

One of those arrested was carrying a placard but it was unclear whether anti-PPP sentiments were written on it.

Across the road, unarmed police officers and female other ranks kept a watchful eye on the gathering that booed and jeered the speakers including Clement Rohee, Roger Luncheon, Bharrat Jagdeo and Donald Ramotar.

ppp_stabroek_arrest1The crowd waved David Granger APNU posters and chanted “cocaine” and “Granger, Granger.”

One woman alleged that she was assaulted by a pro-APNU supporter and accused a police officer of walking away and ignoring her complaint although she had pointed out the alleged perpetrator to the lawman.

“One of the PNC supporters from over there come over two time and threaten me and say if I don’t put the (PPP) flag down, she going to beat me.

“I show the police officer but he just turn he back and walk away.. Why he didn’t go and hold the lady the same time,” housewife, Mandori Singh,52, told Demerara Waves Online News ( www.demwaves.com )

Jagdeo, in his address, accused the Alliance For Change (AFC) of “farming out” Guyana’s sovereignty by advocating that foreigners come in and help run the Guyana Police Force.
ppp_stabroek_arrest2

Ramotar promised universal secondary education over the next five years if he wins the regional and general elections. He also assured that he would take on board workable recommendations from the opposition to help develop Guyana.

Luncheon, in referring to the disruption of PPPC meetings at Buxton and Victoria by pro-APNU elements, said his party would not be intimidated and he cautioned youths to guard against being driven into fear. "When they see this crowd, they s#!+ in their boots. Their intimidation is not working,” he said.

All of the speakers pummeled the PNC’s track record while in government, saying that party was attempting to wash its image with a new face in the form of APNU.

They urged the gathering of an estimated 200 core persons who gathered around the stage where they were speaking to give the PPPC a resounding victory based on the incumbent’s track record of ensuring economic growth and improvement in the social sectors like health and education as well as roads and bridges.

Ramotar also hailed the One Laptop Per Family (OLPF) and Amaila Hydropower project and singled out improvements in the health services that has seen heart and kidney surgeries being performed locally.

PPP probably paid these people to disrupt their own meeting right?
Or better yet the police were wrong to arrest these peaceful people for exercising their democratic right to disrupt yet another meeting right?
OH LAWD . . . DEM people disturbing the peace.

Get de wata cannon . . . Release de Phantommmmmm.

O LAWDDDD . . .

Soooo . . . who again did these (VIOLENT?) hecklers and booers maim and beat up?!
One woman alleged that she was assaulted by a pro-APNU supporter and accused a police officer of walking away and ignoring her complaint although she had pointed out the alleged perpetrator to the lawman.

Kith and Kin

Originally posted by asj:

Kith and Kin

Pour the gasoline bai . . . need a match?
These APNU people are only hurting their party by their actions,there's no need for this foolish behaviour.

I'm gonna miss all this excitement until I return from a much needed vacation.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
This is the best they can do redux. And they know they don't have much time left...tick tock...tick tock...

Gerhard, I think the desperados in the PPP are pushing for a major provocation to polarize the electorate, and APNU might be stupid enough to play into their hands . . .

AFC got to stay the course . . . U are the alternative! flag
This is the best they can do redux. And they know they don't have much time left...tick tock...tick tock...

Is that the sound of your belly-tick...tock...tick..tock?
Originally posted by redux:

O LAWDDDD . . .

Soooo . . . who again did these (VIOLENT?) hecklers and booers maim and beat up?!

That is what you will get in the PNC wins..
Yiou will then get the perks you so cherished and craved for.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

O LAWDDDD . . .

The PNC will not win. There is a great liklikood the PPP will also not win but the minority government. Then there will be hell to pay. I would be there to watch and help dismantle their Amerind Coterie who mislead our people and deny them access to the kinds of self reliance to make them whole.
Originally posted by D2:

O LAWDDDD . . .

The PNC will not win. There is a great liklikood the PPP will also not win but the minority government. Then there will be hell to pay. I would be there to watch and help dismantle their Amerind Coterie who mislead our people and deny them access to the kinds of self reliance to make them whole.

Banna, you have a dream.

If there is a PPP minority government, The PPP will still have the Presidency. The President will appoint all the ministers who will run the country. Nothing will be dismantled.
The PPP will negotiate with the PNC in exchange for perks unknown. They will have all the jobs they want. The AFC will not be a part of this endeavour.

O LAWDDDD . . .

Is this the new tactic y'all vampires tryin out to deal with my (very brite) floodlights?

Risible . . . keep scrapin and hustlin bai, U mite find some magic dat mite wuk

O LAWDDDD . . .

Is this the new tactic y'all tryin out to deal with my (very brite) floodlights?

Risible . . . keep scrapin and hustlin bai, U mite find some magic dat mite wuk

You will see my magic on November 30th.
Originally posted by D2:

O LAWDDDD . . .

Banna, you have a dream.

If there is a PPP minority government, The PPP will still have the Presidency. The President will appoint all the ministers who will run the country. Nothing will be dismantled.
The PPP will negotiate with the PNC in exchange for perks unknown. They will have all the jobs they want. The AFC will not be a part of this endeavour.
Are you now saying the PNC and the PPP are are conspiring to continue the PPP corruption? I am quite convinced that the PNC are too afraid of their own supporters to do that. If that happens then the AFC has a five year wait to put the lot in jail because then they will surely win outright.
Originally posted by D2:

O LAWDDDD . . .

Banna, you have a dream.

Are you now saying the PNC and the PPP are are conspiring to continue the PPP corruption? I am quite convinced that the PNC are too afraid of their own supporters to do that. If that happens then the AFC has a five year wait to put the lot in jail because then they will surely win outright.
the APNU will never sell out to the ppp.this is a new breed of APNU.why you thing joe and byone leave.i hope the ppp try to rigg or start a problem.they will get a rude awaking.these guys is decent people,but remember they are army

GR. AFC=20%. You havent made big breathroughs in the black working class vote...most Indos will stay with the PPP.
Originally posted by D2:
Are you now saying the PNC and the PPP are are conspiring to continue the PPP corruption? I am quite convinced that the PNC are too afraid of their own supporters to do that.

These folks beat up Haslyn parris and were on their way to beat up Hoyte when they felt they "surrendered" to the PPP....all they actually did was acknowledge defeat.

Last time they were resigned. This time they seemed worked up again.

Hopefully the PPP will not try to rig...when they get under 50% they just need to be big about it and accept that.
APNU/PNC/R be warned that the scare tactics of violence, rape and arson will not be tolerated. Many are waiting for you to act stupidly.
JAMES BOND AND BASIL WILLIAMS NOTE THAT YOUR USE OF CRIMINALS IN THESE ELECTION TO CREATE PANDEMONIUM AND CHAOS WILL PROVE TO BE DISASTROUS. DON'T PLAY WITH FIRE. THIS TIME IT IS YOU WHO WILL FEEL THE EFFECTS OF YOUR ACTIONS, NOT THE STORES ON REGENT STREET
Originally posted by caribj:

GR. AFC=20%. You havent made big breathroughs in the black working class vote...most Indos will stay with the PPP.

Ravi Dev once made that mistake by thinking indians who attended his meetings will vote for him. he had a rude awakening and so would the AFC.
Originally posted by Streetsmart:
APNU/PNC/R be warned that the scare tactics of violence, rape and arson will not be tolerated. Many are waiting for you to act stupidly.
JAMES BOND AND BASIL WILLIAMS NOTE THAT YOUR USE OF CRIMINALS IN THESE ELECTION TO CREATE PANDEMONIUM AND CHAOS WILL PROVE TO BE DISASTROUS. DON'T PLAY WITH FIRE. THIS TIME IT IS YOU WHO WILL FEEL THE EFFECTS OF YOUR ACTIONS, NOT THE STORES ON REGENT STREET

YAWWWWWNNN . . .

Run along little boy

. . . go play pretend tough guy with your little 'girlfriends' and their dollies.
Originally posted by caribj:

don't forget the bucks. Big Grin
Originally posted by Streetsmart:

YAWWWWWNNN . . .

Run along little boy

. . . go play pretend tough guy with your little 'girlfriends' and their dollies.

You'll see whose playing come elections day and after