Home > TOP STORY > More than 500 students graduate from the GTI …as the Institute plans to offer higher-level programmes
More than 500 students graduate from the GTI …as the Institute plans to offer higher-level programmes
A section of the graduating class

More than 500 students graduate from the GTI …as the Institute plans to offer higher-level programmes

WITH the pride of 63 years of excellence behind them and a pass rate of 61 percent in one of the nation’s most prestigious technical institutes, more than 500 students last evening graduated from the Government Technical Institute (GTI).

GTI Valedictorian Mark Gomes receives his prize from Major General [Rt’d), Norman Mc Lean

GTI Valedictorian Mark Gomes receives his prize from Major General (Rt’d), Norman Mc Lean

“Across the industrialised and developing world, economic growth is increasingly linked to skilled training necessary to raise labour productivity and average labour standards,” so said GDF Chief of Staff Brigadier, Mark Phillips, who delivered the feature address to the graduates.
He added that the forces of global integration and technological change have “increased the focus on the importance of education and training in the competitive process.” Phillips plugged the need for technical training as he said, “In Guyana, we too are now faced with the dilemma of whether to concentrate investment in general education or technical/vocational education.”
The Chief of Staff assured the graduates that in the competitive world, there is always space for their levels of expertise, especially in Guyana, as he encouraged them to consider being part of Guyana’s great “economic takeoff.”
“Technological vocational education must be viewed as an essential prerequisite for socially balanced economic growth,” he stated.
The GTI began operations in May 1951 to provide training in craft skills; but in July of 1956, technician level courses were introduced into the institute, which further developed into diploma level programmes.
With a current student population of 1,785, Competency Based Education and Training (CBET) are now offered in masonry, plumbing, furniture making, and motor vehicle repairs, to name a few.
With a pass rate of 61 percent, GTI Board Member, Major General (Rt’d.), Norman Mc Lean, expressed dissatisfaction with the pass rate. He said, “The results were not stellar in my view,” as he urged students to push for a 66 percent pass rate, reflective of two-thirds of the entire graduating class.
On another note, the Institute recorded exceptional performances at the level of the National Awards given to students throughout the Technical Institutes in the country, where GTI Georgetown managed to walk away with six of the seven awards.
Commenting on the progress of the Institute and where it could be, GTI Principal, Carl Benn spoke of incremental steps as the Institute creates greater partnerships, both locally and internationally.
“We are anticipating the delivery of higher level programmes in the not-too-distant future, where we will move from offering Level One and Two, and moving onto offering Level Three, that is equivalent to an Associate Degree,” Benn added, as he hopes the Institute will be re-branded to the standard of a Polytechnic Institute.
By all appearances, the evening belonged to Valedictorian Mark Gomes, who not only passed with distinction as he read for a Technician Certificate in Electrical Engineering Pt. II, but also walked away with a National Award upon completion of the Guyana Technical Education Examination.
Gomes attributed his successes to his mother for her guidance, and to his father and grandfather, from where he seemed to have drawn his inspiration, since, according to him, both of them are employed in technical fields.
“The roots of education are bitter, but the fruits are sweet,” a humbled Gomes read in his address to an appreciative graduating class who warmly embraced his presence with loud applause and a standing ovation.
Delivering the final charge to the graduates, Chief Education Officer, Olato Sam urged them to reshape the social fabric of this society as they ought to be keen on what they stand for, not to allow themselves to accept substandard payment and conditions.
“Let this be only one step in your educational achievements, and structurally realise a way that will afford you the opportunity to engage in life-long learning,” the Chief Education Officer noted conclusively.

What lies you dumb shit head? Out of Ramotar's mouth came the acknowledgement that among Caribbean states Guyana ranks dead last!

Do you think t hes multiple threads with purely gratuitous titles will serve to make a lie into the truth? The PPP is a horrible corrupt government and on that account alone they will lose by a wider margin if not lose the office itself. Be prepared for another round of interrogation and questioning and blocking of their endless graft schemes.

Storm the PPP propaganda brigade are very limited since they have not had the pleasure of completing high school from the dam top.

Therefore they think that other humans are as simple as they are.

What lies you dumb shit head? Out of Ramotar's mouth came the acknowledgement that among Caribbean states Guyana ranks dead last!

Do you think t hes multiple threads with purely gratuitous titles will serve to make a lie into the truth? The PPP is a horrible corrupt government and on that account alone they will lose by a wider margin if not lose the office itself. Be prepared for another round of interrogation and questioning and blocking of their endless graft schemes.

Storm has ZERO credibility.

His best friend was jailed for fraud and corruption and he has remained silent when it involves his best friend.

Shame on you Storm. 

His best friend was jailed for fraud and corruption and he has remained silent when it involves his best friend.

Shame on you Storm. 

I guess with no basis for argumentation you do have to invent best friends for me. I suggest you look to to the PPP's best friends some 20 of which to date have been caught and jailed by the feds. Ed is singing like a mezzo soprano and the only reason he is still out of jail after stealing 50 million from the people.

As I said, scum and bottom feeders like you have no other option to make a case except by attacking the messenger. Even so it is hapless transparently stupid as invent besties for me and claiming because they were jailed I cannot be trusted. Go suck on Jagdeo's lollipop. It might be something you are good at since you get no traction speaking to truths

Shame on you Storm. 

I guess with no basis for argumentation you do have to invent best friends for me. I suggest you look to to the PPP's best friends some 20 of which to date have been caught and jailed by the feds. Ed is singing like a mezzo soprano and the only reason he is still out of jail after stealing 50 million from the people.

As I said, scum and bottom feeders like you have no other option to make a case except by attacking the messenger. Even so it is hapless transparently stupid as invent besties for me and claiming because they were jailed I cannot be trusted. Go suck on Jagdeo's lollipop. It might be something you are good at since you get no traction speaking to truths

Fact:

Your best friend was jailed for fraud and corruption while you remained silent. 

Shame on you.

Aye fookeetutu whappen wid de plane and de money bags?

How come PPP allow de man fuh build million dollar hangar and dem nah ask no questions or publicize de thing in de press to show how de tourism industry getting big boosts?

Shame on you Storm. 

Fact:

Your best friend was jailed for fraud and corruption while you remained silent. 

Shame on you.

Fact dumbass, even if he was indeed my best friend you would still be wrong. He is out doing what you will never do and making the world a better place given he learnt his lesson. His community is by his side. Can you say that given your  miserable approach life as a malicious lying scumbag?

BTW Errol Arthur who postes here was the fellow's bestie at one time as he acknowledged on the thread where you gleaned the tidbit you misuse here. Errol is one of the most beloved man in our community here; do you think that because he liked the fellow he would be a scoundrel? Get real you scumbag.

How come PPP allow de man fuh build million dollar hangar and dem nah ask no questions or publicize de thing in de press to show how de tourism industry getting big boosts?

He has Ed  and Eazy jet boss among another 20 or so close friends of the PPP in the US now in jail so it is not like he does not have lots to go on. I bet the US dea is watching the new  venture with the white powder king involved very closely.

YUji, Meh Neighba seh FACTS and FIGGA nah LIE.  Leh dem bawl all dem want.

Suh Ramotar lie when he said we at the bottom? Check one of the threads here commenting on the benefit of his vote buying scheme called "Because we care"!!

All the recipients are happy with $10,000.00. I did not hear anyone gave back the money. Did you? If you do, please let me know.

Let me deconstruct your stupid rationalization. Because they did not give back the 50 dollars US they agree with the vote buying scheme  that  means it was morally right to do? The PPP will make dalits of all of you yet since you make of them the twice born at  the peril of your own karmic weal

Take your stupidity somewhere else. You call it vote buying; the Guyanese people do not.

The Lindeners will not vote for the PPP. Is this news to you? Most black people will not vote for the PPP. Did they return the money? Did the natives return the money?

Yuh neighingba is right. Facts and Figgas doan lie but de fools manipulating de facts and figgas are liars, thieves and criminals.

Ask Ashni Singh why he forget to answer the ombudsman on NBS,

Ask Ashni Singh weh de census figures deh.

Ask Ashni singh weh de NICIL money gone 50 Billion.

Jagdeo’s house is likely worth more than the $360M the PPP promises Amerindian Development Fund

March 24, 2013 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, The PPP and its Amerindian lackeys and window dressers must think Amerindians are fools, idiots and jokers. $360 million for an Amerindian Development Fund over a prolonged period is a cruel joke. Bharrat Jagdeo’s house and land at Pradoville is worth more than $360 million. Yes, the same Jagdeo who got arguably the most expensive real estate in Guyana at $5 million an acre when remigrants are being sold less than a quarter acre for $7 million. How could these PPP vagabonds give $360 million to the poorest and most marginalized ethnic group in Guyana, the overwhelming majority of whom are living in dire poverty and think this is okay when some within the PPP have profited by ripping off this country for far more than $360 million? What is a miserly $360 million going to do to correct hundreds of years of economic sterilization, marginalization, exclusion and denial of the Amerindian people? Only an uncaring no-good government gives an insulting $360 million to an ethnic group that is furthest in the economic hole in an already bitterly poor country. Even worse, this is an ethnic group that supported the PPP. This is how they repay them, by insulting them. Even after the fallout of the Isseneru land case, these PPP charlatans have the gumption to pull this contempt and mockery of the proud Amerindian people. It tells of the derisive mentality within the PPP. The crooks will collect up to US$250 million from Norway with the rainforest agreement. Yet they are giving Amerindians a pathetic and measly $360 million (US$1.8 million)? They are spending US$50 million on a Marriott hotel in the hope it fattens a few investors but refuse to treat Amerindians who comprise 9.2% of the population with any decency. $360 million to over 75,000 Amerindians is a rudely insulting $4800 per person. The PPP has already mistreated Amerindians over that land dispute at Isseneru. It further demeans them with this slap in the face of an Amerindian Fund. The PPP wants to call a snap election or local government elections and it decides it will do just like Columbus, Cortes and Pizarro by tricking and insulting Amerindians into taking their votes. This is why they launched this nauseous adventure called the Amerindian Development Fund. It is nothing but an attempt to hoodwink Guyanese and Amerindian people. The PPP continues its economic prostitution of the Amerindian people with this farce. And it wonders why Amerindians have completely left the PPP. Amerindians, run from these rogues, run as fast as you could. M. Maxwell

Because they did not give back the 50 dollars US they agree with the vote buying scheme that means it was morally right to do?

The $10,000.00 grant and voting for the government at future elections are separate and different approaches.

$1.1B Amerindian Development Fund was for uncontrolled vote buying

April 22, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

…there still remains in the 2014 Budget a lot of fat -Chris Ram  

The $1.1B that the parliamentary opposition did not approve was said to be used under the Amerindian Development Fund was exposed as money for uncontrolled vote-buying in the Amerindian communities. The money had nothing to do with capital expenditure.

Financial Analyst Christopher Ram

This is according to Financial Analyst, Christopher Ram, who in his review of the recent budget which was reduced by $37B, said that as it relates to that $1.1B fund, “when the window was opened on the projects, (the projects) melted like fat from pork exposed to the sun.” According to Ram, “Not surprisingly, none of the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) Ministers seemed in the least bit embarrassed at being caught red-handed, even as they abused some bemused Amerindians to picket the National Assembly.” According to the project profile for the use of the $1.1B as was set out by the Ministry of Finance, the money would be used to secure the livelihood and youth entrepreneurship apprenticeship programmes; construction of village officers and multi-purpose buildings; purchase of sports gear, musical instruments, drip irrigation systems, tractor and implements; support to other projects and programmes including eco-tourism. Ram in his analysis noted that collaterally, $42.5M for water and land transport and acquisition of furniture and equipment under the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs was also not approved. In his continued analysis of the expenditures Ram wrote that the surprises at some of the non-approvals were probably matched by some of the items that were approved. “The state-owned Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo), an entity with no Board of Directors, a history of violations of the law requiring the publication of financial statements, and a future awash with red ink, was given a further $6B as a subsidy for 2014; the Commerce, Industry and Consumer Affairs Ministry was allocated $1B for an as yet undefined programme to support enterprise development initiatives while the Ministry of Finance got a pass on an allocation of $4.4B for unspecified Other Employment Costs, a re-designation of the line item previously described as Revision Of Wages and Salaries.” According to Ram, GuySuCo placed the Opposition on the horns of a dilemma. He said that while they knew the money would continue to finance poor governance, lack of accountability and a hopelessly managed and structured entity, the Parliamentary Opposition, and mainly the Alliance For Change (AFC), could not dare to not approve the budget provision for the sugar corporation. “No one, it seems, was prepared to say to GuySuCo no more money until it accounts for what the Assembly had given it in prior years.” Ram suggested that if the country is going to drain money into GuySuCo, use at least half of that money to pay severance for a few thousand workers and allow them to pursue other employment of their choice and the rest for a serious restructuring of the industry. Ram posits that “in two to three years we could have a streamlined, profitable enterprise.” According to Ram, A Partner for National Unity (APNU), while it harbours legitimate doubts about the spending of previous multi-billion dollar allocations for Revision of Wages and Salaries, it would have found itself at the mercy of the government propaganda machinery – GINA/NCN – if it had dared to not approve the line item for Other Employment Costs. “APNU’s problem is that it knows that some part of the allocation will go to revision of wages and salaries of public sector employees, the majority of whom it may consider supporters.” He said, too, that APNU with its perceived emphasis for a stronger and more effective Police Force should probably explain why it would approve a twenty-fold increase in the capital allocation for Community Policing while the Police Force receives a reduction under the same budget. A point to note is that when the allocations for the Ministry of Home Affairs came up for a vote, not a single question was posed to the subject minister. Ram in his analysis said too that the $1B allocation for Enterprise development initiatives without a clear institutional mechanism and criteria for accessing these funds defies all logic, economics and the Fiscal Management and Accountability Act. In addition to the allocations referred to, there still remains in the 2014 Budget a lot of fat, according to Ram, “and one has to assume that the thirty-three opposition members of the National Assembly lost concentration or commitment when the items came up for concentration.” According to Ram, Dr. Frank Anthony and Minister Irfaan Ali must be smiling at the amount of funds at their disposal for their discretionary spendthrift ways.

Home > TOP STORY > More than 500 students graduate from the GTI …as the Institute plans to offer higher-level programmes
A section of the graduating class

With a pass rate of 61 percent, GTI Board Member, Major General (Rt’d.), Norman Mc Lean, expressed dissatisfaction with the pass rate..

Why the shock given the poor preparation that these kids had in Guyana's abominable primary and secondary systems.  No wonder they do poorly at tertiary levels!

As they proceed to panic and suffer from acute diarrhea necessitating a trip to an FL hospital, at taxpayers' expense, who is going to fly them out now?

Surinam Air, CAL, Insel, and COPA will deny them boarding because of the stench!

Yuji does not respond to welfare bums and Dead Wuk Individuals.

You are still an ass hole. 

Why do you glorify those PPP frauds with this type of vulgarity?  Surely you can do better.

Yuh neighingba is right. Facts and Figgas doan lie but de fools manipulating de facts and figgas are liars, thieves and criminals.

Ask Ashni Singh why he forget to answer the ombudsman on NBS,

Ask Ashni Singh weh de census figures deh.

Ask Ashni singh weh de NICIL money gone 50 Billion.

Fact remains that Jamaica, never known to have a good educational system, outside of that available to its elites and upper middle class, beats Guyana in English and Math, and yet is upset with its scores.

Guyana rolls around like a pig in garbage because a few kids do well.  They know that the education that they receive in school is substandard so their parents must invest large sums for private lessons, and that, combined with hard work explains the outstanding performance of these few.  And the PPP grabs credit, while ignoring the plight of the average Guyanese kid who leaves school functionally illiterate and then proceeds to perform poorly at GTI, UG, in nurse training, etc.

Low breed fookeetutu aka gold smith baboo a PPP operative asked me to tell you that you are a high school dropout a dunce and a ***** hole.
Is dat true?

This dead wok pandit is at work on Thanksgiving Day reincarnating cold turkey.......

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:
Low breed fookeetutu aka gold smith baboo a PPP operative asked me to tell you that you are a high school dropout a dunce and a ***** hole.
Is dat true?

This dead wok pandit is at work on Thanksgiving Day reincarnating cold turkey.......

Anil wuz right all ayuh is low breed....low low breeds....

Take your stupidity somewhere else. You call it vote buying; the Guyanese people do not.

The Lindeners will not vote for the PPP. Is this news to you? Most black people will not vote for the PPP. Did they return the money? Did the natives return the money?

one native was going to return the money and your family rob the man

Shame on you Storm. 

GTI should introduce cassava planting, then Storm would be dancing in the rain.

GTI could play a critical role in the development of Guyana and should seek to partner-up with an external institution to help with standards and benchmark.  Try to get well trained skill craftsman in Guyana, good luck.

GTI was all this under Burnham and more

wha happen since . . .?

GTI was all this under Burnham and more

wha happen since . . .?

Indeed both GTI graduates and those from Guymine were well regarded in the USA.  Apparently things have changed over the past 20 years.  Ability to package cocaine for export is a skill which the PPP regards as being more valuable.

As I mentioned earlier. defense of the PPP will make a complete ass of Indian self concept. Here you are, knowingly defending to the point of self delusion what is transparently the case. The PPP is buying vote not using the nations assets to any real needs based ends!

As the saying goes a fool and his money is soon parted. It is clear no one is obliged to refuse free cash on account of the person giving hoped to buy their conscience. That many will not fall for this ruse does not mean they should feel obliged to refuse the money.