Suicide surge in Berbice

NOVEMBER 12, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

By Leon Suseran There has been an upsurge in suicides in Berbice over the past week. During last week alone, five men took their own lives. Berbice has been known to be a β€˜hot- spot’ of suicides over the years, with the Corentyne topping the suicide geographical area.

Joshua Ragbeer, 27, of Lot 79, Number 2 Settlement, Blairmont, West Bank Berbice hanged himself last Monday in his cell at the New Amsterdam Prison. In April he had confessed to a murder that was committed some 14 years ago when he was 13 years old. He was subsequently charged for the offence at the Blairmont Magistrate’s Court and remanded to jail. Hire car driver, Indrakumar β€˜Rajin’ Jaggarnauth , 38, of Whim Village, Corentyne died at the New Amsterdam Hospital on November 5. Vickram β€˜Vishal’ Singh, 24, of 27 Johns Settlement, Port Mourant, suicide people

Them Kullie men know the ropes:   That is five votes for the PPP gone fuh channa 

Corentyne committed suicide on November 2.  He hanged himself in the Tain backdam. A few cattle farmers made the gruesome discovery early that Saturday morning. β€œWe don’t know if he hang himself Friday night or Saturday morning, but his body was very stiff as if he did it early,” one of them said.

One of his aunts, Natasha, stated she received a message on November 2, that he β€œhang himself.” Police and relatives then gathered at the Ramoo’s Funeral Home at Williamsburg. He leaves to mourn his wife, Sabo, and son Anthony Singh.

And Jaidat β€˜Vijay’ Dipoo, 32, of Hampshire Squatting Area, Corentyne committed suicide by ingesting poison last Tuesday. He leaves to mourn his wife, Margaret and children, Rosanna, Rebecca, Rehana, Rachel and Samuel. Then on last Friday, police at the Blairmont Police Station at West Berbice, discovered the lifeless body of Balkissoon β€˜Boi’ Daichan, 42, in his jail cell. Daichan and his wife for over 20 years were living in an abusive relationship for quite a while.

Roshinie Narine, 40, his wife of Lot 30 D’Edward Village, West Bank Berbice, said that he used to abuse her and drank alcohol often. This resulted in her securing a restraining order against Daichan. β€œThe magistrate did put he out the home…and he had a six- month bond.”

The woman claimed that the man violated the restraining order on several occasions, and she kept reporting the matter to the police. He was picked up by police on Thursday after breaching the restraining order, during which he threatened to kill the wife and then hang himself. He subsequently did the latter. Dr. Veerasammy Ramayya, Psychologist, opined that alcohol; dysfunctional nuclear families whereby one or more parent is absent; persons marrying too young; and easy access to poisons at drug stores and shops are the main causes of the upsurge of suicides in Guyana as a whole.

β€œThe drinking has a lot to do with it. Domestic violenceβ€” this is a problem because of the drinking problem and the drugs. This is actually between young people,” the doctor said.

β€œThe suicide rate in Guyana, as I see it, is [due to] lack of spiritual involvement. We don’t have proper counseling in the schools.” In Black Bush Polder, he added, there is a high incidence of persons drinking poisons. β€œThere are no strict rules as to who can buy poisons in the drug stores.”

β€œEarly marriages, too, are to blameβ€”the couple is not matured enough to handle situations. There are many dysfunctional families; the nuclear family has lost its moralityβ€”I would say that there is a 90 per cent absence of religious teachings in the home,” he added.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The AFC goons main task is to derail any thread that exposes their political organization, one can recall when the Nigel Hughes story was revealled many of them went silent.

I do not know Nigil did anything wrong. Note Ramotar squatted on OMAI'b board where be became fat with graft. We got nothing. If the PPP cared for instances as this they would have had the prudence to ask that politicians and parliamentarians and anyone acting as agents of the government create firewalls between themselves and their holdings and all gifts would be the property of the state. But Jagdeo can get "gifts" accruing to 29 tons of swag to furnish his home. The giver got lots of freebies at the states expense.

AFC exodus continues with exit of another high profile Berbice member

Attorney Charrandas Persaud

– as infighting, divisions deepen

BY MICHAEL YOUNGE

The Alliance For Change (AFC) is now scrambling to reverse the resignation of Attorney Charrandas Persaud, who decided to leave the party over β€œrecognition issues”, which have been added to a long list of other concerns that are yet to be addressed.

Persaud’s resignation now brings the total high-profile resignations this month to five after several other persons decided to cross the floor to join the main opposition party, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), because of unresolved conflicts and differences on policy issues and decisions taken by the AFC’s current leadership.

The attorney told Guyana Times on Thursday afternoon that he would not be aligning himself to any political party over the next few weeks and months.

AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan

He explained that as of Thursday no one from the party’s leadership team contacted him to discuss his resignation or made any attempts to resolve the conflict.

Persaud said he made his decision based upon his conscience and the fact that he believed that the leadership of the party was β€œtaking him for granted” and appeared unappreciative of the hard work he was doing in Regions Five and Six.

He said the AFC failed to recognise the amount of work its representatives have been doing in Berbice and will learn about the value of the people’s support and efforts in due time.

Unappreciated, disrespected

β€œThe AFC will realise that the cow only recognises the use of its tail during mosquito season. So they will find out how the work that Charrandas did could have been to their benefit. They have to learn,” he stressed.

He explained that the disrespect and lack of appreciation climbed to new levels when he turned up for a planned television show only to be told that the party had sent a pre-recorded programme to be played instead.

Additionally, the party has not made any moves on several of his recommendations, including lobbying government to add more items to the list of products that will not attract Value Added Tax (VAT). He also noted that the party cancelled a public meeting at which he was the main speaker, in Rosignol, without proper reason and failed to reschedule.

Persaud, who is also an AFC councillor, said the party has also failed to inform him why it made a somersault on its initial position on the Amaila Falls Hydro Power Project. β€œAm I not entitled to know so that I can inform our people in Berbice and defend the party?” he asked.

Dictator

β€œI refuse to bend over backwards for a dictator …,” he declared during the interview, explaining that he plans on leaving the country in early October to commence a well-deserved vacation.

Persaud’s concerns also extend to other matters related to the leadership style of some of the executives and the party’s failure in some instances to β€œwalk the ground” and respect the views of its supporters on other national issues.

AFC executive member Dominic Gaskin, speaking at the party’s press conference on Thursday, confirmed Persaud’s resignation. He appeared to be suggesting that the party at that late hour would have made overtures to Persaud with the aim of β€œreversing” his decision to resign.

He did not deny the claims made by Persaud, saying that β€œperhaps the party has not communicated its appreciation for his work as β€œsufficiently” as it should. Gaskin said that the party was β€œdisappointed” by his decision to resign and was only β€œwilling” to speak with him to address his concerns.

At the press conference, AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan acknowledged that the recent defections to the APNU and Persaud’s resignation would β€œaffect” the party.

He, however, became defensive, explaining that if people did not want to adhere to founding principles of the AFC and what it stood for, they were free to go. According to him, the party must remain independent, not pandering unnecessarily to either the APNU or the ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP) or it will lose its identity.

β€œIf people inside of the party do not want to hold to the course that this ship is on in this political ocean, we will have to say thank you for services, but you are now free to lead different political lives,” he told media.

The recent resignations and defections are just a small part of the problems plaguing the AFC, which is now being threatened by the non-support of larger numbers of its financiers and supporters across the country, according to a top AFC source.

source: Guyanatimes

The Alliance for Change seems to be leaking members. The party was hit by yet another high profile exit in its Berbice camp with the resignation of Rohan Jageshwar. Jageshwar's action was taken on October 5th during a quasi-executive meeting held at Future Line Restaurant at Susannah Village, Berbice. On numerous occasions before he had openly questioned the leadership capability of party leader, Khemraj Ramjattan. He was once overheard stating that β€˜Ramjattan is no leader’ and that he has β€˜no respect for him.’

Originally Posted by asj:

Next:

Guyana president Donald Ramotar

using his office budget

to hide paying Fat Cats, Big Poke

and Crab Louse big $$$$$$

David Degroot -  

Crab Louse/Ghost Writer

Gail Taxiera

Fat-Cat $967,985

Mahendra Roopnarine Freedom House Operative

$395,000 per month

Kwame McCoy

Presidential Information Liason Officer

$334,850 per month

Chitraykha Dass - 

Freedom House Secretary

$250,000 per month

Shanta Goberdan

GINA Editor-in-Chief

$295,460 per month

Neaz Subhan

Gina Director

$295,530 per Month

Odinga Lamumba

Black House of Israel Thug

Dr Roger Luncheon

Head President Secretariat

$895,326 per month

Hydar Ally

Deputy Head President Secretariat

$550,064 per month

Office of the President

Running a Dharam Shala

for Friends and Cronies

Charles Ramson Jr

Technical Legal Director

$430,196 per month

Joseph Singh

Special Assistant to the President

$667,440 per month

Eshwar Persaud

OP's Protocol Advisor

$268,000 per month

Kit Nascimento

Special Advisor

Leroy Cort

Cabinet Monitor Officer

$155,628 per month

Chitraykha Dass

Presidential Political Liason Officer

$255,000 per month

Kwame Gilbert

Social Policy Officer

$294,585 per Month

Hamilton

Black House Of Isreal Thug

Cheddi Jagan 11

(Joey Son)

$489,666 per month

Desmond Kissoon

President Political Liaison Officer Region 9

$280,000

Clive Lloyd

Presidential Advisor on Sports

$721,000 per month

Norman McClean

Advisor

Zulfikar Mustapha

Head, Community Relations Liaison Officer

$307,600 per Month

Philip Bynoe

Pay Sugar Workers G$800. per punt

while others are paid more than 

800% above the average worker....

AFC in shambles!

Alleged defectors from the AFC from left to right: Rab Mukraj, Dr Asquith Rose and Tarron Khemraj with APNU leader David Granger and shadow public works minister Joseph Harmon at the meeting in New York

– top New York backers reportedly defect to APNU

Amid a fallout locally over the integrity of two of its key executives, the Alliance For Change (AFC) is now faced with more trouble – with one of its top financiers in New York, Shamir Ally resigning and three other prominent figures there signalling their intention to join the main opposition coalition, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU).

The AFC only last week had confirmed that Ally had resigned from the party over the leadership’s apparent reluctance to address his concerns.

Denial

AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan was reported as denying that no action was taken.

β€œWe did take some severe measures against those persons who did hurl those abusive remarks, but we just could not have, in effect, enforce because it’s very difficult,” Ramjattan was quoted in another section of the media as saying.

The three latest persons believed to have left the party are economist Tarron Khemraj, political science professor Dr Asquith Rose and businessman Rab Mukraj from the party’s New York group.

Speculation abounded when the APNU released a statement on Wednesday revealing that Leader of the Opposition, David Granger and shadow minister for public works, Joseph Harmon, met with Khemraj, Rose and Mukraj in New York to discuss the way forward for the country.

The release added that the two sides examined the current economic, political and social situation in Guyana and concluded that a broad pro-Guyana approach was needed to stimulate movement towards the attainment of their common objectives.

It continued that β€œthey agreed to work together to build structures to improve governance, promote national unity, and advance human development”.

Speaking to Guyana Times late Wednesday evening, Ramjattan said, at the moment, the party is busy sorting out these reports, to provide some clarity.

Baffled

He disclosed that he communicated with Khemraj via email moments before speaking to this publication and he was baffled about what was going on.

The party leader said the AFC member informed him that the meeting with APNU was concerning Guyana’s diaspora. Ramjattan added that, hence, he is certain out of the three, one is not going anywhere.

He continued, β€œI am certain the two might have been misreported in view of what the meeting was about and what Tarron told me.”

However, he was aware that Dr Rose has issues with the AFC going back on its stated position opposing the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project. The AFC leader added that he would spend all night if he had to, to sort the issue out and clear the air.

Another section of the media reported Rose as saying that β€œas much as 11 persons have decided to walk from the AFC…. several of them would go to APNU and the remainder back to the government People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)”.

source: the guyanatimes

AFC in shambles!

..aying that β€œas much as 11 persons have decided to walk from the AFC…. several of them would go to APNU and the remainder back to the government People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)”.

source: the guyanatimes

bobby the boob newspaper is just another instrument of the PPP propaganda. The AFC is doing fine and will do fine.

Chairman of the Alliance for Change (AFC), Nigel Hughes, was appointed as the β€˜Secretary’ of the Amaila Falls Hydro Inc., the Special Purpose Vehicle/Company created for the development, construction and operation of the US$858M Hydro Power plant.
Executive Member of the AFC, Cathy Hughes, the wife of Nigel Hughes, as recent as yesterday issued a press statement in which she was identified as the Public Relations Officer for Sithe Global, locally.
Party Leader Khemraj Ramjattan, when contacted said that he was aware that Hughes has an association with the company but said he did not know that he was Company Secretary.

Excerpts from the Kaieteurnews

For a party which protracts itself as having widespread support throughout the length and breadth of Guyana it boggles our minds as to why the Alliance for Change(AFC) resorts to the use of multiple fictitious handles in order to post comments on the blog-sphere and various social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter.

The upping of this practice seems to have coincided with the mass exodus of its membership following the Hughes'/Sithe Global fiasco and the dwindling of the party's support base when it became clear that they had been duped into voting for the policies and practices of the PNC's APNU by proxy. There is no doubt that this is yet another AFC con job which is aimed at having the masses believe its support base is intact despite all the evidence which points to the contrary.

oI cOUNCIE, SO, cOUNCIE IS YOUR REAL NAME OR A HANDLE?

Conscience, you do have a valid point, at most there are 2 AFC supporters on this board who have multiple handles. I believe that creature Mitjuanita the pedophile has at least 5 and his second in command Jaliki got 3. They suckered d2 into joining their band of crooks but really they are looking to rob him so they can sport till daybreak. 

Bugurd_See

Excellent pic of the Goads.

Conscience, you do have a valid point, at most there are 2 AFC supporters on this board who have multiple handles. I believe that creature Mitjuanita the pedophile has at least 5 and his second in command Jaliki got 3. They suckered d2 into joining their band of crooks but really they are looking to rob him so they can sport till daybreak. 

Bugurd_See

Excellent pic of the Goads.

I was sent one by a reader  showing Goads feeling up his son's testacles; I can't show  the kid's face.

Last edited by Mitwah

AFC councillor details widespread corruption within party

WEDNESDAY, 11 SEPTEMBER 2013 15:38 ADMINISTRATOR
PrintPDF

By AFC Region 6 Councillor Haseef Yusuf

AFC Councillor, Haseef Yusuf

Nothing that the Alliance For Change (AFC) does or will do in the future will ever surprise me again. There is a saying that you only know someone when you deal with him. If I had not dealt with certain executive members of the AFC, I would still be singing their praises.I knew from the inception that Nigel Hughes would rescind his resignation because in the end, when you are in the same boat, you will never want to part company with your compadres. The β€˜top guns’ in the AFC need each other’s support badly. They complement each other’s corrupt practices, as they try to outsmart their members and supporters.
However, recently there was a desperate attempt to get rid of me by the National Executive Committee of the AFC since I am not part of the corrupt β€˜jahaaji’ network. They sent a message with an AFC Region 6 Councillor that if I am not pleased with the current policies and actions of the party then I should resign from the party and as an AFC Councillor. I told that Councillor in no uncertain terms that if the AFC is not pleased with my stance against cronyism and corruption and my promotion of national development, then they should expel me and furthermore, it is the corrupt ones within the AFC who should resign!

Ironically, it was the same Councillor who submitted exhaustive evidence of cronyism and corruption against an AFC MP at an inquiry, who claimed that he spent in excess of $4.5M on β€˜bigan’ and β€˜curass’. That was a β€˜whitewash inquiry’ and even the Chairman of that inquiry, the then General Secretary Mr Sextus Edwards, was not aware of the press release which concluded that the entire episode was one of β€˜misunderstanding and miscommunication.’ You cannot go against your own kind!
Subsequently, there was numerous evidence of corruption but I no longer have the resolve to bring it up. It was simply a case of you cannot fight the Devil’s case in Hell!

I will just itemize a few instances:

- Certain top members of the AFC will go abroad (Canada, USA) and members in the diaspora will hold fund- raisers and give monies collected to these members who will not submit the same in its entirety since proper accounting records are not kept. I was utterly shocked when the unaudited financial statement for 2012 showed that in one year the AFC only collected $22,087,500 from its chapters in the UK, Canada, USA, etc. During the 2011 campaign alone; one of the chapters in Canada sent $55,000 Canadian or $11,000,000 (Guyana dollars). I have evidence of this.

- Certain top AFC members will collect donations and not make any recordings in any receipt book or any document whatever.

- Monies are being spent with no proper bills or vouchers;

- positions are given to cronies and those who donate a lot.

- I saw a top AFC member collect monies and issue a receipt but on looking closer I saw that there was no carbon sheet, hence no duplication made. How was the balancing done?

- Everything was donated for a fund-raiser in Berbice and it made a loss!

- On Election Day 2011, food and drinks were diverted to some AFC members’ homes for their private use while some AFC polling agents went hungry;

- During the 2012 AFC convention, a motion was passed for AFC groups to bank all monies collected in a party account, this was never done. In fact, it was I who raised that motion which was unanimously passed. So much for accountability!

- During the 2011 elections there were three factions in Berbice and all were accusing each other about theft, mismanagement and corruption, but no investigation was done. The leaders of the AFC cannot afford to β€˜rock the boat.’

- During the AFC 2012 convention, members were specifically instructed not to vote for the former General Secretary but to vote in favour of David Patterson. This also happened in the case of Moses Nagamootoo and Mrs. Punalall.

- Article 15(9) of the AFC Constitution stated that the National Executive Committee shall appoint an auditor annually yet the AFC presented an unaudited and inaccurate financial statement at the AFC 2012 Convention. There is no shortage of accountants and auditors within the AFC, so why no audited accounts?

- The financial statement which ended on February 2012 showed a surplus of $464,643 yet members were told after the 2011 Elections that the AFC owed Mrs Cathy Hughes a sum in excess of $ 7,000,000 and that the AFC MPs will have to make contributions towards offsetting that liability. How can there be a surplus when monies are owed? In other words, there were no bills to support the spending of $ 7 million! The financial statement did not speak of any liability! Here is a party that is preaching accountability but is utterly devoid of that concept in its internal dealings.

Is this the party that wants to run this country? It seems as if the worst from the PNC and PPP formed the AFC; not the best as I had believed! Mr Ramjattan himself told me that if the AFC had won the elections, there would have been β€˜murderation’ among members for positions. But it would have also been β€˜murderation’ to fill their pockets! Imagine all the political blackmail that is going on now with the intention to fill some of the AFC’s β€˜fat cats’ pockets! Come on Ramjattan, make the β€˜right turn’ or resign! You cannot allow your β€˜boys’ to continue their corrupt tendencies! But then can you afford β€œto rock the boat”?
Is it wrong for me to speak out about the very things the AFC is preaching in public about? Should I keep my mouth shut, turn a blind eye and pretend that all is well within my party?
I believe in what the Great Mahatma preached- do not be afraid to speak out against corruption even if you are alone. History will judge and absolve me for speaking out against cronyism and corruption within my party. I will have to clean my house before I clean my neighbour’s. Let us remove the β€˜beam’ from our own eyes then we can see to remove the β€˜speck’ from our brother’s.

As the AFC infighting continues among it membership some taken to social media site Facebook and are speaking out against cronyism and corruption within that small opposition party. A disgruntled member however took the cake with charges that the party's most recent internal elections had been rigged to elect a few who are in favour with Khemraj Ramjattan's leadership.  This particular allegation has been made by many so far and it has only been met with silence and denial by what is left of the party's leadership .

Recently several high profile members switched allegiances to the PNC's APNU and this was accompanied by a mass exodus of the party's grassroot members. Many pledged to renew their support for the PPP after expressing feelings of betrayal by the AFC.

As the AFC infighting continues among it membership some taken to social media site Facebook and are speaking out against cronyism and corruption within that small opposition party. A disgruntled member however took the cake with charges that the party's most recent internal elections had been rigged to elect a few who are in favour with Khemraj Ramjattan's leadership.  This particular allegation has been made by many so far and it has only been met with silence and denial by what is left of the party's leadership .

Recently several high profile members switched allegiances to the PNC's APNU and this was accompanied by a mass exodus of the party's grassroot members. Many pledged to renew their support for the PPP after expressing feelings of betrayal by the AFC.

This is pure bull. I bet the PPP paid off Indra and her husband by appointments or they would be gone.

In any event speak to the handing off of some 30 million US to a ghost company and a person with as much qualification for the task as Motilal had for making murti!

Just last week we had the AFC's Moses Nagamootoo preaching tolerance for 'journalistic independence', 'freedom of expression' and 'differing views' but as usual the AFC preaches one thing and practices something completely different. Here we have a card-bearing member of the AFC complaining of being censored and sanctioned by his party after expressing views which were critical of it.

Originally Posted by asj:

Next:

Guyana president Donald Ramotar

using his office budget

to hide paying Fat Cats, Big Poke

and Crab Louse big $$$$$$

David Degroot -  

Crab Louse/Ghost Writer

Gail Taxiera

Fat-Cat $967,985

Mahendra Roopnarine Freedom House Operative

$395,000 per month

Kwame McCoy

Presidential Information Liason Officer

$334,850 per month

Chitraykha Dass - 

Freedom House Secretary

$250,000 per month

Shanta Goberdan

GINA Editor-in-Chief

$295,460 per month

Neaz Subhan

Gina Director

$295,530 per Month

Odinga Lamumba

Dr Roger Luncheon

Head President Secretariat

$895,326 per month

Hydar Ally

Deputy Head President Secretariat

$550,064 per month

Office of the President

Running a Dharam Shala

for Friends and Cronies

Charles Ramson Jr

Technical Legal Director

$430,196 per month

Joseph Singh

Special Assistant to the President

$667,440 per month

Eshwar Persaud

OP's Protocol Advisor

$268,000 per month

Kit Nascimento

Special Advisor

Leroy Cort

Cabinet Monitor Officer

$155,628 per month

Chitraykha Dass

Presidential Political Liason Officer

$255,000 per month

Kwame Gilbert

Social Policy Officer

$294,585 per Month

Hamilton

Black House Of Isreal Thug

Cheddi Jagan 11

(Joey Son)

$489,666 per month

Desmond Kissoon

President Political Liaison Officer Region 9

$280,000

Clive Lloyd

Presidential Advisor on Sports

$721,000 per month

Norman McClean

Advisor

Zulfikar Mustapha

Head, Community Relations Liaison Officer

$307,600 per Month

Philip Bynoe

Pay Sugar Workers G$800. per punt

while others are paid more than 

800% above the average worker....

Just last week we had the AFC's Moses Nagamootoo preaching tolerance for 'journalistic independence', 'freedom of expression' and 'differing views' but as usual the AFC preaches one thing and practices something completely different. Here we have a card-bearing member of the AFC complaining of being censored and sanctioned by his party after expressing views which were critical of it.

Like any other party, the AFC must deal with it's own demons.

Indo Guyanese are being banned for speaking out, this is disturbing and the evidence comes from a card carrying AFC member posted on Facebook.  Go figure.

The AFC is making some bad decisions that will come back to haunt them.

ANOTHER HIGH RANKING AFC MEMBER RESIGNS!

As the fallout continues over the Alliance for Change(AFC) merger with the PNC’s A Partnership for National Unity(APNU) yet another senior member of that opposition party has resigned. Balwant Persaud, a member of the AFC’s executive today submitted his resignation. Persaud cited the party’s betrayal by joining with the PNC, internal corruption and cronyism as some of the reasons behind his decision. This brings to two, the number of high ranking members to have resigned over the past few days. Former General Secretary Sixtus Edwards also broke ranks and listed similar reasons. He told one media entity that at least five other senior officials are expected to do the same shortly.