Go-Invest was kept in the dark on many foreign investments

May 24, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

–     “Bai Shan Lin did not come through us”- CEO
By Abena Rockcliffe
Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Office for Investment (GO-Invest), Keith Burrowes,

GO-Invest CEO, Keith Burrowes

said yesterday that Guyana’s premier investment agency can only account for about 10 percent of the foreign investments made in the country in recent years.
Burrowes made this known as he conducted a telephone interview, during which he found it necessary to note that he has no political allegiance and is fully prepared to work with the new government.
Burrowes referred to a letter he said was published a month ago. In it he stated that he was working with government since the era of Forbes Burnham. “I am not politically aligned; Governments over the years thought that I was competent for the job and I have succeeded always.”
The CEO said that he has already struck a good relationship with senior officials of the new government.
However, when asked about his preparedness to tell the new government how Guyana has been benefitting from the many foreign investments made in the country, Burrowes dropped the bomb that his company can only account for 10 percent of the total investments.
He said that most foreign investments in Guyana’s natural resources whether gold, diamond or timber went through the Ministry of Natural Resources which was headed by Robert Persaud. Companies like “Bai Shan Lin did not come through us.”
The CEO said that he has long been pushing for the establishment of a database to record all investments despite which agency the investors went through.
The idea, he said, was to have all investment related issues anchored in one data base so that at any one time a true reflected of Guyana’s overall investment rating can be had. Burrowes said that the current system allows for many inaccuracies in accountability.
For example, Burrowes said that when the government asks Go-Invest for a figure on the amount of investment in Guyana to put in the budget, that figure is made to represent the total investments when the truth of the matter is that Go-Invest can only account for a limited amount.
He said that GO-Invest cannot speak for the majority of investments in gold. “Ideally at least we should have information on the investment even if it did not go through us…the database would address this problem. It can be placed at Office of the President and all investments information can be sent to that database despite which agency the investor goes through.”
Burrowes said that he is fully prepared to answer to the new administration. He is prepared to say how Guyana has been benefitting from foreign investments, but only those that came through Go-invest.
The CEO said that there are many initiatives that the agency has in store to make Go-Invest more marketable. For example, he said that training has already started to make some staff members bi-lingual with an aim to be able to better reach out to investors. He said that already the sign board outside GO-Invest has four different languages.
Also, Burrowes said that there is a perception in Guyana that GO-Invest deals strictly with foreign investors…”We want Guyanese to know that the agency is not foreign driven and is there to facilitate local investments from investors who are suitably qualified.”
Burrowes boasted that Go-Invest has been operating successfully since he took over.
He also informed that his work towards the completion of a document to guide the company’s proposed restructuring process is at a halt as he awaits the new Government’s vision for the company.
Under the new administration, Burrowes will have to answer to the newly appointed Minister of Investments, Dominic Gaskin.

Young executive took $50M loan to buy $52M house

May 24, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

Serious questions are likely to be asked soon of a top official of the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA) who acquired a $52M property.
The official who is involved in the management of a number of projects in the housing sector, and who is said to be still in his early 30s, is alleged to have bought the property located in the upscale Lamaha Gardens after only working for a few years at the CH&PA.
This purchase has raised eyebrows, with questions being asked about such a young man working for such a short period of time, affording such an expensive property.
The Lamaha Gardens property was transferred jointly in the names of the official and his brother. According to information reaching this newspaper, the two brothers were able to purchase the property after having acquired a $50M loan from a city bank, and after putting down a mere $2M. The property is reportedly being rented to foreign officials working in Guyana.
This rental has led to questions about a possible conflict of interest.
The Lamaha Gardens property is not the only property owned by the official.
Kaieteur News has been reliably informed that the said man also owns a posh residence in West Demerara, not far from the palatial residence of the former Minister of Housing and Water. This house was constructed only a few years ago. The sudden rise to wealth of this young man has caused raised eyebrows in the community and within the Ministry.
Following General Elections last week, a new Government under the leadership of President David Granger has been elected.  A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition has vowed to stamp out corruption and investigate a number of questionable deals.

Pointblank

Must say, in all honesty, when I see how they flaunted it, dem banna ain't gatt no shame.  Dem tout Socialism but practice Feudalism.  Maybe, rigged or not, they deserve some time-out.

Classic Guyanese trends. Back in the PNC days, it was the people associated with the YSM who seem to graduate from UG, get positions they didn't seem to be the best candidate for and lived relatively privileged. Now granted that during the PNC days, Guyana did not have as much wealth as it has now where the PPP demonstrated the trends. People associated with the PYO got the same kind of benefits as those YSM ones from the PNC days. Only this time the wealth was far more during the PPP days. A privileged under the PNC days would have 3 bedroom house whereas a privileged under the PPP days would have a 13 bedroom for instance. Now that the government has changed, I don't expect any corruption to go away as Granger is preaching. I expect to see those associated with APNU to display the excess demonstrated by the PPP. Well, only until the money run out. I don't expect the money to last too long. Guyanese don't change overnight because the government changed.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Now that the government has changed, I don't expect any corruption to go away as Granger is preaching. I expect to see those associated with APNU to display the excess demonstrated by the PPP. Well, only until the money run out. I don't expect the money to last too long. Guyanese don't change overnight because the government changed.

Dem bais look like Oil money coming their way, so it's not money or no money.  Question, will it be Denmark or Nigeria!

Classic Guyanese trends. Back in the PNC days, it was the people associated with the YSM who seem to graduate from UG, get positions they didn't seem to be the best candidate for and lived relatively privileged. Now granted that during the PNC days, Guyana did not have as much wealth as it has now where the PPP demonstrated the trends. People associated with the PYO got the same kind of benefits as those YSM ones from the PNC days. Only this time the wealth was far more during the PPP days. A privileged under the PNC days would have 3 bedroom house whereas a privileged under the PPP days would have a 13 bedroom for instance. Now that the government has changed, I don't expect any corruption to go away as Granger is preaching. I expect to see those associated with APNU to display the excess demonstrated by the PPP. Well, only until the money run out. I don't expect the money to last too long. Guyanese don't change overnight because the government changed.

stop your nonsense

[even adjusting for budgetary scale] PPP corruption these past 15 years is WITHOUT PRECEDENT in the history of the region! . . . nothing even close

g'waan daside

Now that the government has changed, I don't expect any corruption to go away as Granger is preaching. I expect to see those associated with APNU to display the excess demonstrated by the PPP. Well, only until the money run out. I don't expect the money to last too long. Guyanese don't change overnight because the government changed.

Dem bais look like Oil money coming their way, so it's not money or no money.  Question, will it be Denmark or Nigeria!

Doesn't matter. It will require a lot of money to pay all them VPs and ministers. Even them ministers who are ministers of other ministers.

stop your nonsense

[even adjusting for budgetary scale] PPP corruption these past 15 years is WITHOUT PRECEDENT in the history of the region! . . . nothing even close

g'waan daside

You are correct. I admit guilt on statistics. There are no scientific approach to my conclusion. Nonetheless, thiefing is thiefing and I don't expect that to change. That would require a complete overhaul of Guyanese tendencies.

Doesn't matter. It will require a lot of money to pay all them VPs and ministers. Even them ministers who are ministers of other ministers.

the corruption y'all don't want us to keep an eye on is the PPP fire sale of Guyana assets to PPP cronies and family

i totally understand why alyuh sk**ts want ordinary people to focus on ministerial salaries and ting rather than the real deal which in many countries would earn double digit prison terms or worse - capital justice!

full disclosure . . . i support the Lee Kwan Yew approach which pays a super ministerial salary to minimize corruption

such an approach, however, MUST be coupled with iron justice for those caught betraying the public trust

The corruption y'all don't want us to keep an eye on is the PPP fire sale of Guyana assets to PPP cronies and family

i totally understand why alyuh sk**ts want ordinary people to focus on ministerial salaries and ting rather than the real deal which in many countries would earn double digit prison terms or worse - capital justice!

I am totally for the prosecution of people who violate the laws of Guyana even to the point of imprisonment and seizure of their assets associated with that corruption. What I don't share is peoples' beliefs that the change in government would remove that corruption. I think that all it will do is change who is going to be involved in the corruption. Indians/PPP don't own the rights to Guyanese corruption. It was there when I left Guyana back in the 80's. It was believed to be there as late as May 11th 2015 and I venture to think it will be there under this new government.

The corruption y'all don't want us to keep an eye on is the PPP fire sale of Guyana assets to PPP cronies and family

I am totally for the prosecution of people who violate the laws of Guyana even to the point of imprisonment and seizure of their assets associated with that corruption. What I don't share is peoples' beliefs that the change in government would remove that corruption. I think that all it will do is change who is going to be involved in the corruption. Indians/PPP don't own the rights to Guyanese corruption. It was there when I left Guyana back in the 80's. It was believed to be there as late as May 11th 2015 and I venture to think it will be there under this new government.

straw man noted

you do understand why i deployed the term "WITHOUT PRECEDENT" . . . no?

full disclosure . . . i support the Lee Kwan Yew approach which pays a super ministerial salary to minimize corruption

such an approach, however, MUST be coupled with iron justice for those caught betraying the public trust

Unfortunately Guyanese don't have the DNA necessary to curb or eliminate corruption. The trend is that those who would have the capacity to prosecute corruption are the ones who would be involved in it.

Even President Granger who was born in a Manger© can't do anything about that.

straw man noted

I beg your pardon. I thought that your "without precedent" reference was regarding the scale of corruption. I didn't realize that you meant that corruption in Guyana has no precedent before the PPP came to office in 1992. I can't attest for what happened in the region because I don't know nor do I care to know what others in the region are doing. Gee, I get all my information on Guyana from GNI which shows what my level of interest in Guyana really is.

straw man noted

I beg your pardon. I thought that your "without precedent" reference was regarding the scale of corruption. I didn't realize that you meant that corruption in Guyana has no precedent before the PPP came to office in 1992. I can't attest for what happened in the region because I don't know nor do I care to know what others in the region are doing. Gee, I get all my information on Guyana from GNI which shows what my level of interest in Guyana really is.

ahmmm, that's exactly what i meant . . . nothing complex about my statement

what's the problem?

straw man noted

what's the problem?

The problem is corruption itself. That was there before 1992, after 1992 and will be there now. If the PPP thief more, that is only because more was available to thief. In a strange way, they may take pride in the amount they were able to thief resulting from the wealth they generated under their government.

An example is that back in the 80's people paid 20.00 bribe to get their birth certificate expedited. I don't know if that still exist but if it does, it is probably $20,000.00. Regardless of the disparity of those two amounts, the only constant in both cases is that corruption stands in the way of them getting that birth certificate.

I venture to think that that corruption isn't going away just because the government has changed. Nothing in how Guyanese operate so far seek to dispute that.

straw man noted

what's the problem?

The problem is corruption itself. That was there before 1992, after 1992 and will be there now. If the PPP thief more, that is only because more was available to thief. In a strange way, they may take pride in the amount they were able to thief resulting from the wealth they generated under their government.

An example is that back in the 80's people paid 20.00 bribe to get their birth certificate expedited. I don't know if that still exist but if it does, it is probably $20,000.00. Regardless of the disparity of those two amounts, the only constant in both cases is that corruption stands in the way of them getting that birth certificate.

I venture to think that that corruption isn't going away just because the government has changed. Nothing in how Guyanese operate so far seek to dispute that.

like i observed earlier . . . (multiple?) straw man noted

let me also repeat, since u playing yuh schtupid:

"[even adjusting for budgetary scale] PPP corruption these past 15 years is WITHOUT PRECEDENT in the history of the region! . . . nothing even close"

btw, the extra money ("wealth") yuh so pridefully mentioned was available for barat dem to tief was "generated" from back breaking VAT, debt, debt forgiveness, external aid to support a dying sugar industry, high gold prices, and rent seeking from fire sale of the nation's assets

Q.E.D.