Money changer murder suspect calls mother

“I am innocent; I am coming home”

Despite telling his mother that he is innocent and would turn himself in, the 19-year-old suspect in the murder of money-changer Mohamed Fizal Mahmood Baksh was still at large yesterday.

Mohamed Fizal Mahmood Baksh

The prime suspect in Baksh’s murder is Phileman Boodhoo, also called Kevin Boodoo, who has not been seen since Monday, the same day that the 56-year-old money-changer was lured to his death. The suspect has been in phone contact with relatives.Shamyela Boodhoo, his mother, told Kaieteur News that her son contacted her from an unknown number around 08.00 hrs yesterday.“He said ‘Hi Mom, I innocent (and) I coming,’ and I say, ‘Where are you?’ and the phone cut off.” Mrs. Boodhoo said that she informed the police about the call.

“If he calls again I would say ‘surrender to the police or come home and we would take you to the station’.Mrs. Boodhoo revealed that she had known the victim for many years.“I don’t know if (her son) do it but if he do it, let the law deal with him. That uncle (the slain money-changer) was a good man.”Mrs. Boodhoo confirmed that police had detained her and two other relatives on Christmas Eve, but eventually released them after talking statements.

Mohamed Fizal Mahmood Baksh’s battered body was found around 07:00hrs on Thursday in a bushy section of the No. 63 Village, Corentyne, foreshore, three days after he was reported missing.
He was fully clothed, and the back of his skull had been fractured in two places. There was also a wound on one of his legs. Police found his wristwatch and phone at the scene.The corpse was beginning to decompose, and this indicated that Baksh, 56, known as ‘Sugar Cake,’ had been dead for at least 48 hrs.He is believed to have been clubbed to death with a piece of wood, which detectives found nearby.
A post mortem by Pathologist Dr. Vivekanand Brijmohan indicated that the cause of death was haemorrhage and shock, due to a fractured skull.

The slain man’s daughter, Safina Baksh, told Kaieteur News that a woman found her father’s body while going to the area to graze a horse. The woman then contacted a relative of her father, who then informed other family members.Ms. Baksh, who was among relatives who saw the body, said that her father appeared to have been badly beaten.Detectives are said to be going through the slain man’s phone, particularly in the wake of reports that the prime suspect had called Baksh a few hours before Baksh disappeared.

Suspect: Phileman Boodhoo, called “Kevin’

The suspect, identified as Phileman Boodhoo, also called Kevin Boodhoo, 19, resides at Number 63 Village, Corentyne, two villages away from where the body was found. He remains at large.
Investigators are working on the theory that the killer lured Baksh to his death by telling the 56-year-old money-changer that two elderly individuals needed to change some foreign currency.Baksh was reportedly last seen alive heading to the suspect’s home. Kaieteur News understands that the victim may have had at least $1M in his possession when he left home.

Seeta Boodhoo, an aunt of the suspect, said that he had contacted her by phone on Wednesday afternoon. She said she asked him about a bank loan that he had taken in October. She said that the nephew told her, “Don’t stress, the loan would pay,” before terminating the call.
The aunt said that she believes that her nephew may be in Suriname.
“He must face the law; let them hold him until he could prove he is not guilty.”

Mohamed Baksh was last seen alive around 08:00 hrs on Monday. He reportedly left home to meet with the suspect, who had informed him that there were two elderly people who wanted to change some foreign currency. A taxi driver confirmed that Baksh was seen walking into the street where ‘Kevin’ lived.Seeta Boodhoo, the man’s aunt, said that ‘Kevin’ moved in with her in June after his father passed away. She said that he had been selling household items in her yard to financially support himself.She said that she last saw him around noon last Monday, which was the same day that Baksh was last seen alive.

Why is the PPP not complaining that another East Indian is murdered and the suspect is a 19 year old East Indian as well? Did Granger let out this PPP bandit so that he could go and murder an old man? Or did the PPP protect this criminal for all this time so that he did not have to go to jail?

Mr.T posted:

Why is the PPP not complaining that another East Indian is murdered and the suspect is a 19 year old East Indian as well? Did Granger let out this PPP bandit so that he could go and murder an old man? Or did the PPP protect this criminal for all this time so that he did not have to go to jail?

Most crimes are committed by negroes. Check the prisons.

Mr.T posted:

The prison are full of black people because the previous corrupt PPP regime only wanted to lock up black folks. The East Indians only had to make a phone call to get out of jail. An exception is the then girlfriend of Roger Khan. She is a black girl who the PPP let off for murder.

Mr.T posted:

If he did it and since he is only 19, that means he is a product of the PPP/C regime.

So then it had to be you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Because the former Prime Minister is not a murderer.  I don't like how you accusing black people wrongfully.  That is very racist!!!

Tranny, you are the racist piece of shit.

Or maybe he learned from Sean Hinds who was trained by the PNC to kill Indians.

Former Cop Shawn Hinds confesses he was member of death squad

Shawn Hinds [from HGPTV video)Shawn Hinds (from HGPTV video)

http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...ember-of-death-squad

A former policeman has admitted that he was a member of a death squad that was responsible for bringing down several heavily armed criminals who had escaped from the Georgetown Prison in February 2002.

“I was in a death squad,” said Shawn Hinds who is a former bodyguard for now sacked Town Clerk, Carol Sooba. His confession comes at time when police are intensifying their probe into the shooting death of political activist Courtney Crum-Ewing in March, 2015 while he had been urging residents of Diamond, East Bank Demerara to go out and vote for the coalition.

Hinds, who was up to recently seen frequently near the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) headquarters, told the privately-owned HGPTV Nightly News that he worked with under the late Axel Williams who was subsequently shot and killed several years ago in helping to bring crime under control. He differentiated between the death squad and a phantom squad.

“Years ago, they said I was in some killing squad. I would not sit here and deny that. If I wasn’t a part of a killing squad, this country wouldn’t have had law and or come to some… because there was Shawn Brown and Dale Moore and Chip Teeth,” he in the exclusive interview with Travis Chase.

He did not specifically say whether he had killed anyone.  Hinds, along with Mark Thomas and Ashton King, had been charged with the murder of George Bacchus in February 2004, days after he had publicly confessed to being a death squad informant. He was subsequently freed by the High Court.

Phone records had shown that Williams had been in constant contact with then Home Affairs Minister  Ronald Gajraj at certain times including when several suspected criminals were gunned down outside Nigel's Supermarket on Robb and Light Streets. Gajraj was subsequently cleared by a Commission of Inquiry and went on to become Guyana’s High Commissioner to India.

Hinds claimed that he was supplied with a machine gun and instructed how to carry out his operations. “I used to go and uplift a gun from CID (Criminal Investigations Department) headquarters- a machine gun- so this thing is not no one sided affair…We were guided and we were in communication with senior people from CID headquarters,” he said.

Hinds said “all my orders came from CID headquarters” and that he has in his possession communication containing instructions and how the killing should be done. Despite his claimed involvement, Hinds said he had paid for his own lawyer and other requirements when he was once locked up.

Police have so far held one person based on hard evidence and was looking for a second person in connection with Crum-Ewing's death, but already Hinds is denying his involvement. "I can't take that. I can't live with that. I could only take what is my own. Me ain't responsibe for nothing there. Me ain't got anything to do with that," he said.

Hinds insisted that he was at home at the time of the shooting. He said he has surveillance video cameras at his home to show where he was when Crum-Ewing was gunned down. "Me aint feeling i Turning in. I cant take a murder charge for what me aint know... I got a mortage I got a family," he said.

He recalled that after seeing a tinted vehicle two days ago outside his home, he later went down to Freedom House- the PPP Headquarters- where he related his experience and then observed a former government official becoming jittery. "This man jittery. If you see how this man operating jittery," he said.

Hinds, who had been often seen at high-profile PPP and government events-at the swearing in of Donald Ramotar as President at State House and at PPP public meetings in certain potential hot-spots-suggested that media owner and the government official might have conspired to hire Crum-Ewing's killer.

Insisting that he was innocent of that crime, Hinds said he does not know the suspect in police custody. "I don't even know this guy they got in custody... never told him anything, never met him or do anything with him," he said.

Hinds was created by the PPP,refresh your memory Bebe.

Mr.T posted:

If only they went after coolie crooks with equal ferocity! All of the PPP would be there giving Bubba happy endings.

Or maybe he learned from Sean Hinds who was trained by the PNC to kill Indians.

Former Cop Shawn Hinds confesses he was member of death squad

Shawn Hinds [from HGPTV video)Shawn Hinds (from HGPTV video)

http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...ember-of-death-squad

A former policeman has admitted that he was a member of a death squad that was responsible for bringing down several heavily armed criminals who had escaped from the Georgetown Prison in February 2002.

“I was in a death squad,” said Shawn Hinds who is a former bodyguard for now sacked Town Clerk, Carol Sooba. His confession comes at time when police are intensifying their probe into the shooting death of political activist Courtney Crum-Ewing in March, 2015 while he had been urging residents of Diamond, East Bank Demerara to go out and vote for the coalition.

Hinds, who was up to recently seen frequently near the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) headquarters, told the privately-owned HGPTV Nightly News that he worked with under the late Axel Williams who was subsequently shot and killed several years ago in helping to bring crime under control. He differentiated between the death squad and a phantom squad.

“Years ago, they said I was in some killing squad. I would not sit here and deny that. If I wasn’t a part of a killing squad, this country wouldn’t have had law and or come to some… because there was Shawn Brown and Dale Moore and Chip Teeth,” he in the exclusive interview with Travis Chase.

He did not specifically say whether he had killed anyone.  Hinds, along with Mark Thomas and Ashton King, had been charged with the murder of George Bacchus in February 2004, days after he had publicly confessed to being a death squad informant. He was subsequently freed by the High Court.

Phone records had shown that Williams had been in constant contact with then Home Affairs Minister  Ronald Gajraj at certain times including when several suspected criminals were gunned down outside Nigel's Supermarket on Robb and Light Streets. Gajraj was subsequently cleared by a Commission of Inquiry and went on to become Guyana’s High Commissioner to India.

Hinds claimed that he was supplied with a machine gun and instructed how to carry out his operations. “I used to go and uplift a gun from CID (Criminal Investigations Department) headquarters- a machine gun- so this thing is not no one sided affair…We were guided and we were in communication with senior people from CID headquarters,” he said.

Hinds said “all my orders came from CID headquarters” and that he has in his possession communication containing instructions and how the killing should be done. Despite his claimed involvement, Hinds said he had paid for his own lawyer and other requirements when he was once locked up.

Police have so far held one person based on hard evidence and was looking for a second person in connection with Crum-Ewing's death, but already Hinds is denying his involvement. "I can't take that. I can't live with that. I could only take what is my own. Me ain't responsibe for nothing there. Me ain't got anything to do with that," he said.

Hinds insisted that he was at home at the time of the shooting. He said he has surveillance video cameras at his home to show where he was when Crum-Ewing was gunned down. "Me aint feeling i Turning in. I cant take a murder charge for what me aint know... I got a mortage I got a family," he said.

He recalled that after seeing a tinted vehicle two days ago outside his home, he later went down to Freedom House- the PPP Headquarters- where he related his experience and then observed a former government official becoming jittery. "This man jittery. If you see how this man operating jittery," he said.

Hinds, who had been often seen at high-profile PPP and government events-at the swearing in of Donald Ramotar as President at State House and at PPP public meetings in certain potential hot-spots-suggested that media owner and the government official might have conspired to hire Crum-Ewing's killer.

Insisting that he was innocent of that crime, Hinds said he does not know the suspect in police custody. "I don't even know this guy they got in custody... never told him anything, never met him or do anything with him," he said.

Hinds was created by the PPP,refresh your memory Bebe.

Django - did you see his interview on NCN after this article was published?  Why isn't he charged as yet with the crime?  

Mr.T posted:

If only they went after coolie crooks with equal ferocity! All of the PPP would be there giving Bubba happy endings.

Why you don't like coolies? Can we guess? You might need the services of Tola. You should not address the coolie and blackman issues in Guyana. You are a polluted ocean of misinformation. You don't know a shit about Guyana. You can address cassava and piwari manufacturing.

Mr.T posted:

Why you don't like coolies? Can we guess? You might need the services of Tola. You should not address the coolie and blackman issues in Guyana. You are a polluted ocean of misinformation. You don't know a shit about Guyana. You can address cassava and piwari manufacturing.

Where did I say I did not like coolies? I do not like crooks and that is what the PPP has made of its supports given their tacit acceptance of their corrupt regime. It is a complete suspension of belief that is pervasive and sad.

You commenting on the status of he information I project is not a problem for me. I do not consider the comments of waste persons. Further, its salutary effect is self evident given it grates on the nerves of bigots like you.

It is sad that in the penumbra of your life you have not gleaned any wisdom from your daylight years.

These are the kids who came of age under Bharrat Jagdeo...the Jagdeo generation. The PPP has destroyed the fragile social capital in these villages. Rum abuse evolved into cocaine abuse...all because he felt coke brings in FX and fulfill some hidden left-wing agenda. The chickens are coming home to roost...

TK posted:

These are the kids who came of age under Bharrat Jagdeo...the Jagdeo generation. The PPP has destroyed the fragile social capital in these villages. Rum abuse evolved into cocaine abuse...all because he felt coke brings in FX and fulfill some hidden left-wing agenda. The chickens are coming home to roost...

Nothing but the truth.

This is a good motherly advice to a son.

“If he calls again I would say ‘surrender to the police or come home and we would take you to the station’.Mrs. Boodhoo revealed that she had known the victim for many years.“I don’t know if (her son) do it but if he do it, let the law deal with him.

I also believe:

There may be more than one person involved in killing the money changer and the kid must be a with them and get scared if he said he is innocent. He should come out and say who actually did it. 

TK posted:

How about your generation too?

TK posted:

How about your generation too?

Nah...abe ah free range pickneys. It was much safer growing up under Hoyte and early Jagan years.

You ah taak ancient times nancy story hey bai. Your teenage years never saw a TV or a cell phone. Now a dankey kyart drivah get 2-3 cell phone. When kane cuttah want wan punt, dem ha use cell phone fuh kall fuh one. Wah rass you tink? Julius Caesar days gaan lang time ago. Steve Jobs was summoned by Moses to update his tablet.

Bhai..we had bicycle some new and some built from parts and a pocket radio.Ah them days now let them enjoy technology.