It's really sad when you think of how many people leave Guyana hoping for a better life in a foreign land. I, like many know it all too well that life is not a bed-of-roses anywhere else in the world. It's hard work and dedication that make a strong foundation for yourself and family. Unlike Guyana, life is much more laid back and simple. Nevertheless, most of us love our country and leave many fond memories behind.

What's your memory worth remembering?

Here are some of the things that I missed:
I missed feeling the sound of rain drops falling on the house zinc and make you want to sleep and dream about your girl friend.

I missed the "force ripe" age when you think you're in love. You and your friend would lime by the culbut and waiting to see your girl friend come out on the virenda. Then you would look at each other for hours, and that would be enough to give you dreams. (if she daddy is there, you have to look North).

I missed riding a bicycle and towing my neighbor daughter to the market. When she reaches the market, she says thanks. (I know her butt is sore from the cross bar, but she wouldn't rub it until I turn around).

I missed writing a love letter that goes like this: Dear (name) Dumpline, I hope that you are well. As for me, I am quite well. I hope my letter reaches you under the golden branches of something, something?

Now, what are the golden branches? Is it a coconut branch or golden apple leaves that have that romantic rhyme? I know I'm not the only one writes like that in my boyhood day because I receive and read letters like that from people all over corentyne?

Recently, someone posted a thread about how kids get it too good today. That is true to the bone. Our days were far too innocent from today and Mom and Dad use to be proud of us. Now that we're parents of our own, we know that first hand.

There're many more sentimental things I wish to share, but that's just a little something to put you in a Guyana state of mind.

Smile

I missed writing a love letter that goes like this: Dear (name) Dumpline, I hope that you are well. As for me, I am quite well. I hope my letter reaches you under the golden branches of something, something?

I remember this Big Grin I think we use to say "under the golden branches of love and happiness" Big Grin

such great memories
Originally posted by Riya:

I remember this Big Grin I think we use to say "under the golden branches of love and happiness" Big Grin

such great memories

sure remember that..those were great memories Big Grin it was so nice recieving the letters Wink
Receiving a love letter can be nerve wracking. I remember a friend of the boy slipping me the letter and I quickly hid it in my book. It felt like it was burning hole in my book Big GrinBig Grin The first chance I got...somewhere remote in the yard Big Grin I would take it out with trembling hands and read it and quickly tear it up. Then the reply with golden branch bit Big GrinBig Grin only if I like him though clever
I left Guyana when I was four, so I don't have very many memories. One thing I remember is trying to pick a monkey apple from a vine overhanging a trench and almost falling in. I remember being at it for a very long time (probably 10 minutes is a long time to a four year old) and being determined to get it. I used to LOVE monkey apples (the one with the little black seeds).

I also remember my mom and dad taking me to the sea to do prayer, and while on our way there we passed a place where there was a narrow walkway with sloping sides. Crawling up the sides were what seemed like millions and millions of little crabs. My daddy put me on his shoulders and carried me. That is one of my best memories.
I missed riding a bicycle and towing my neighbor daughter to the market. When she reaches the market, she says thanks. (I know her butt is sore from the cross bar, but she wouldn't rub it until I turn around).

I never like sitting on those bars...even when the have their special made saddle bars. Plus once my leg ketch "junjuni" Big Grin Big Grin
Memories are playing outdoors in the pasture;

Running down the damn to visit my grandmother especially when she made homemade donuts and konkie

playing dolly house with neighbour kids

climbing all the fruit tree in the yard

roasting green plantain on the fireside to make fufu

school days flirting and fighting with classmates; stealing school time to go to Plaza Cinema

Going Demico House for Chicken in the Rough

Playing music loud from the radio while doing house work

Lying in hammock under the house and daydreaming

Going on the seawall on weekend to lime

Flying kite in the pasture and doing bush cook

Going to Liberty Cinema on opening day of new movie and pushing to get in to get a good seat.

Oh how I miss the good ole days Smile
Originally posted by Cher:
Everything I remember about Guyana was great...especially Friday Fights after school Big Grin however its not the same and therefore I have no intention in going back for visits.

That is one of the main reasons why I will not go back, I want to remember the old country, it is like a bubble in my memory, going back and seeing the new modern Guyana, will burst that bubble.
Amral
Lots of good memories starting with spending time at Mahaica Hospital on weekends and holidays when my father was stationed there. Waking up during roja month hearing my mother wake us up in stages. Also the smell of the food in the afternoon while listening the the muslim songs as we wait to break fast. That food smell was memorable. Also going to the masjid for morning prayer.

School days at Rama Krishna. Helping fix up the mandir on weekends for Sundays. Riding all over the city on Phagwah days visiting peoples houses to eat their goodies and sing chowtals.

School days especially at Indians on sports day. Going to the cinemas and pushing and shoving in the line even though I had tickets already from the manager. Smile

Playing cricket and beating up the black kids only to have them beat us up back although not at cricket. Smile

As a big family, we did so many things together even getting dressed and going to the store to buy two half gallon ice creams.

Very memorable was when Lata visited. I saw her at the garden, at Rama Krishna and at the National Park.

But the best time I had was after I met my final girlfriend. By that time, I was older, self suficient and without a curfew. Smile

Gosh, to many to list.
Originally posted by chameli:
Ksaz, u coulda said it's none a nobody business ...so thank you for abiding by my fastness and clarying something that i queried for all the many times u said u went to dat sch.Cool wavey it shows how much your mom was respected/loved by your dad that he sent you to the sch on her request...very cool

I cudda jus tell yuh tuh cyer yuh fassniss self dahside. Smile

Actually we ended up at Rama Krishna because the headmaster was my father's patient. Exchange for free medicine. Smile
Originally posted by amral:
Originally posted by Cher:
Everything I remember about Guyana was great...especially Friday Fights after school Big Grin however its not the same and therefore I have no intention in going back for visits.

That is one of the main reasons why I will not go back, I want to remember the old country, it is like a bubble in my memory, going back and seeing the new modern Guyana, will burst that bubble.

Returning and visiting some of our memorable places, can create in our mind a different perception of Guyana, that we remember as children. Not only the people in Guyana have changed, so do us, who have been Canadanianized/Americanized for decades.

When we visit and experience the present harshness of Guyana,developed by the people during the decades while we were away, it takes away from us those memories we cherish most about our earlier life in Guyana.When this happens it is difficult to return to our childhood memories. Like our Indian language and culture, once it is lost, it is almost difficult to find again.

There are valid reasons for not returning to Guyana, in order to retain that memory.
Originally posted by chameli:
i have to admit that this has baffled me over the yrs... Confused
i thought that school was for Hindus onlydunno

Ksaz me darling, doan be offended...educate me pls

cham, I attended Rama Krishna. Despite the name, it wasn't just for Hindus. I had Chinese, Portugese and Black classmates. Granted, just a few. Don't know if that change now.

After a time, the Mandir was separated from the school.
Returning and visiting some of our memorable places, can create in our mind a different perception of Guyana, that we remember as children. Not only the people in Guyana have changed, so do us, who have been Canadanianized/Americanized for decades.

When we visit and experience the present harshness of Guyana,developed by the people during the decades while we were away, it takes away from us those memories we cherish most about our earlier life in Guyana.When this happens it is difficult to return to our childhood memories. Like our Indian language and culture, once it is lost, it is almost difficult to find again.

There are valid reasons for not returning to Guyana, in order to retain that memory.

Tola you read my mind, even reading what you wrote there, made a tear form in my eyes.
Amral