Originally Posted by alena06:
Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

They need to train the newbies.  We must put an end to "power centric" ministers, and nurture servant leaders.

Who will train who...all the same. Handpicked by Granger and incompetent..

where were u all these years of gangster PPP rule . . . mealy-mouthed hypocrite!

They need to train the newbies.  We must put an end to "power centric" ministers, and nurture servant leaders.

where were u all these years of gangster PPP rule . . . mealy-mouthed hypocrite!

LOL

PPP is gone, let's focus on the New Gov't.

STATEMENT FROM MINISTRY OF SOCIAL PROTECTION
COOPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA

The Ministry of Social Protection has noted reports in the media which reference an alleged “incident” which purportedly occurred at the Ministry yesterday, Friday, May 29th.

The Ministry wishes to provide the following facts to the public in light of the misleading and false information previously placed in the public domain.

1. Minister Volda Lawrence and Minister within the Ministry Simona Broomes undertook a familiarization tour of the Ministry and the various departments and agencies therein on Monday and Wednesday May 25th and 27th respectively.
2. Ministers were introduced to the heads of each department and agency and this was followed by each department and agency head introducing ministers to the staff within their respective department or agency.

3. During the tour of the Child Care and Protection Agency (CC&PA), the head Ms. Ann Greene refused to acknowledge the presence of Minister Broomes. Ms. Greene introduced only Minister Lawrence to the staff while completely ignoring Minister Broomes.
4. At a subsequent meeting Ms. Greene conducted herself with hostility, boisterously, belligerently and in a disrespectful manner towards Minister Broomes in the presence of Minister Lawrence, the Permanent Secretary and other staff members. Minister Lawrence was forced to caution and reprimand Ms. Greene for her unprofessional and disrespectful conduct.
5. Ms. Greene loudly and aggressively declared her unwillingness to work with Minister Broomes unless Minister Broomes submitted herself to demands and ultimatums made by Ms. Greene.
6. At no time did Minister Broomes engage in any confrontation with Ms. Greene.

The Ministry views Ms. Greene’s conduct and actions as grossly unprofessional, constituting insubordination, contemptuous and untenable.

The unwarranted conduct and attitude of Ms. Greene towards both ministers, but Minister Broomes in particular, and in full view of ministry staff, has been deemed to be unacceptable.

Both Ministers Lawrence and Broomes have assumed their responsibilities in good faith and with a view to working harmoniously will all staff at the Ministry in service to the people of Guyana, particularly women, children and the vulnerable and abused.

As a result of Ms. Green’s unprofessional behavior, Minister Lawrence was left with no other option than to send her on annual leave for a period of thirty-six (36) days. Minister Lawrence expressed that it is her sincere wish that Ms. Greene will reflect on what transpired on Wednesday and that she (Ms. Greene) will make every effort, on her return, to improve the manner in which she relates to her staff and the Ministers with whom she will have to collaborate.

Minister Lawrence looks forward to Ms. Greene’s cooperation and responsible behavior as the Ministry seeks to provide a service of excellence for the children in its care.
-ENDS-

STATEMENT FROM MINISTRY OF SOCIAL PROTECTION
COOPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA

The Ministry of Social Protection has noted reports in the media which reference an alleged “incident” which purportedly occurred at the Ministry yesterday, Friday, May 29th.

The Ministry wishes to provide the following facts to the public in light of the misleading and false information previously placed in the public domain.

1. Minister Volda Lawrence and Minister within the Ministry Simona Broomes undertook a familiarization tour of the Ministry and the various departments and agencies therein on Monday and Wednesday May 25th and 27th respectively.
2. Ministers were introduced to the heads of each department and agency and this was followed by each department and agency head introducing ministers to the staff within their respective department or agency.

3. During the tour of the Child Care and Protection Agency (CC&PA), the head Ms. Ann Greene refused to acknowledge the presence of Minister Broomes. Ms. Greene introduced only Minister Lawrence to the staff while completely ignoring Minister Broomes.
4. At a subsequent meeting Ms. Greene conducted herself with hostility, boisterously, belligerently and in a disrespectful manner towards Minister Broomes in the presence of Minister Lawrence, the Permanent Secretary and other staff members. Minister Lawrence was forced to caution and reprimand Ms. Greene for her unprofessional and disrespectful conduct.
5. Ms. Greene loudly and aggressively declared her unwillingness to work with Minister Broomes unless Minister Broomes submitted herself to demands and ultimatums made by Ms. Greene.
6. At no time did Minister Broomes engage in any confrontation with Ms. Greene.

The Ministry views Ms. Greene’s conduct and actions as grossly unprofessional, constituting insubordination, contemptuous and untenable.

The unwarranted conduct and attitude of Ms. Greene towards both ministers, but Minister Broomes in particular, and in full view of ministry staff, has been deemed to be unacceptable.

Both Ministers Lawrence and Broomes have assumed their responsibilities in good faith and with a view to working harmoniously will all staff at the Ministry in service to the people of Guyana, particularly women, children and the vulnerable and abused.

As a result of Ms. Green’s unprofessional behavior, Minister Lawrence was left with no other option than to send her on annual leave for a period of thirty-six (36) days. Minister Lawrence expressed that it is her sincere wish that Ms. Greene will reflect on what transpired on Wednesday and that she (Ms. Greene) will make every effort, on her return, to improve the manner in which she relates to her staff and the Ministers with whom she will have to collaborate.

Minister Lawrence looks forward to Ms. Greene’s cooperation and responsible behavior as the Ministry seeks to provide a service of excellence for the children in its care.
-ENDS-

huh?

these 2 jokers still don't get it . . . the 3rd World "authority" mindset is scary

credible institution building can't come soon enough

smfh

PPP is gone, let's focus on the New Gov't.

You never condemned the PPP/C for worst behaviour. You don't have that right to tell us what to focus on. You are son pretentious. I am glad the world is also seeing you for the mealy mouthed hypocrite  you are

Who will train who...all the same.   Handpicked by Granger and incompetent..

I can't speak for all the ministers; the following are not incompetent from what I know about them: Joe Harmon, Winston Jordan, Dr Rupert Roopnaraine, Basil Williams.

I omitted the AFC ministers deliberately because Granger didn't handpick them.

-ENDS-

huh?

these 2 jokers still don't get it . . . the 3rd World "authority" mindset is scary

credible institution building can't come soon enough

smfh

Having heard their side of the story I am a little bit more sympathetic, though I know that there are two sides to the story, with the truth lying some where in between.

Who will train who...all the same.   Handpicked by Granger and incompetent..

Why do you call the woman incompetent when she was doing exactly what those bench warmers should be doing...going into the trenches and rescuing trafficked children. I do not know what are her administrative skills but she was the only one in the fields fighting the traffickers. Ms Green needed to be fired. She has been squatting in that role for a long time with nary a success to show.

Wait until people are brought to court and found guilty before you call them gangsters. Also, what we are talking about here is competency. Did you see the picture of Granger's first cabinet meeting? What does it say about his leadership style? Mixed messages when they talk about inclusive government. The point is that the minister needs to learn about leadership and exercise it so that the ministry is effective in meeting its goals, of doing its mission. If she fires everyone who offers advice, then she will fail.

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:

Wait until people are brought to court and found guilty before you call them gangsters. Also, what we are talking about here is competency. Did you see the picture of Granger's first cabinet meeting? What does it say about his leadership style? Mixed messages when they talk about inclusive government. The point is that the minister needs to learn about leadership and exercise it so that the ministry is effective in meeting its goals, of doing its mission. If she fires everyone who offers advice, then she will fail.

What mixed about the message?  PNC reigns supreme, Indo-slave days returning with a vengeance.  Unfortunately, PPP's actions helped to "mold this destiny".

Originally Posted by Zed:

Al Capone was a notorious "GANGSTER," rite?

he was never convicted of the horrific murders and other mega crimes everybody knows (perhaps, not u) he committed

tax evasion did him in

btw, "gangster" also references a style of operation at odds with civilized, democratic government . . . pay attention

learn something today bai . . . no?

New Broomes made very critical comments on the Department's work.

An apology is in order but they operate on the basis of power.

A good leader would apologize, kiss and make up.  Those are the people she would have to work with.

That initial attitude of the 2 Ministers show old time PNC approaches, contrary to Granger's talk about servant leadership.

I say it's Strike 1 for these 2 newbies.  Don't know how they got their jobs, but there are way smarter people out there.  In this 21st century, we don't need to mediocre leaders and hope that they get better as time goes by.

Sorry, that bench warmer needed to be thrown out on her ass years ago.

i have no special knowledge about this particular situation

what i do know is that there is bad blood between Simona Broomes and Ann Greene over the years, exacerbated by rhetoric on the campaign trail by Broomes pillorying the ministry for non-performance, or worse

i am actually in Broomes' corner on this . . . but what i have a problem with is the high-handed way in which the apparent "insubordination" was handled

Ann Greene is a civil servant, not a political appointee, with all the (nominal?) due process protections of that class of Gov't employee (see GTUC reaction to suspension)

and, correct me if i am wrong, but isn't it the responsibility of the Permanent Secretary (her line boss) to have a proper hearing and determine the 'punishment'?

the minister diminishes her office (and herself) in handling by decree

reminds me of Home Affairs minista Gajraj destroying the career of (AC) Paul Slowe when he properly refused the minista's illegal order to return the conficated gun of a suspect in a criminal matter

credible institution building must start NOW!

THE MITILARIZATION OF GUYANA BEGAN ON MAY 11. THIS TYPE OF BEHAVE OR GIVE ME 20 WILL BE ALL OVER GUYANA SOON.

GUYANA GONE FOR CHANNA.

THE CHANGE THEY ASKED FOR!!!  THEY SOLD THE PEOPLE SNAKEOIL THAT THEY WOULD BE BETTER, 10 DAYS AND THEY ARE ALREADY MUCH WORST.

GUYANA OH GUYANA, YUH GONE FUH CHANNA!!!

drunk & stupid flinging up she dress already this good Sunday morning

smh

I do think if they continue to screw up Granger will take action. 

However, this is a very, very bad reflection on the new Govt. wanting to create an impression that it is different.

They still going through the "storming" phase.  One should not read too much into that.  There is however, great harmony and alignment between the PNC and GDF to ensure perpetual and infinite rule,  "A Partnership for National Ultron" dominance is here to stay.

. . .There is however, great harmony and alignment between the PNC and GDF to ensure perpetual and infinite rule,  "A Partnership for National Ultron" dominance is here to stay.

uh huh, keep on sucking that sullen PPP d*ck . . . it will run out of 'milk' soon

Alyuh and alyuh kataher allies cuss baseman nuff nuff when I said, PNC will take over and dominate and dilute/debase the AFC partners.  Well, is weh we deh less than a month on?

The katahars leff with white mouth, some shame face running like cockroaches and few, like Kari still think nuff talk means it's reality.

. . .There is however, great harmony and alignment between the PNC and GDF to ensure perpetual and infinite rule,  "A Partnership for National Ultron" dominance is here to stay.

uh huh, keep on sucking that sullen PPP d*ck . . . it will run out of 'milk' soon

Alyuh and alyuh kataher allies cuss baseman nuff nuff when I said, PNC will take over and dominate and dilute/debase the AFC partners.  Well, is weh we deh less than a month on?

The katahars leff with white mouth, some shame face running like cockroaches and few, like Kari still think nuff talk means it's reality.

haul yuh incoherent ass daside

go sidle up to kwamee and beg fuh lil btee

Typical response when you know its the truth, so you "dutty" the waters wit lil "batty" talk.  Alyuh as predictable as the four seasons.

kwamee accommodate u limp d*ck yet, eh? . . . klown

again, haul yuh bigoted, race-baiting liard rass daside