Human history—
A saga of exploitation
A saga of subversion
Personal history—
Cracked memories
Carefully secured in one’s heart.

Published :04 Nov 2010

The Whitby sailed from Calcutta on the 13 January 1838 with 249 immigrants, and after a voyage of 112 days, arrived in Guyana on the 5 May. Five Indians died on the voyage. The ship immediately sailed to Berbice and 164 immigrants, who were recruited by Highbury and Waterloo plantations, disembarked. The ship then returned to Demerara and between 14-16 May the remaining 80 immigrants landed and were taken to Belle Vue Estate.

Of the total of 244 Indians who arrived on the Whitby, there were 233 men, 5 women and 6 children.

Let us not forget!

The first Indian to step on the shores of British Guiana in Berbice was Anant Ram while in Demerara the first to disembark was Nutha Khan. Little did they know that they were marking a new chapter in the history of Indians in British Guiana.  Hence Ram Aur Khan Day in Guyana. 

I am extremely grateful to my maternal great grand father no.62 ship M.Angelo 1869 and great grand mother no.4657 ship Rohilla 1874 who made the decision and took that journey across the Kala Pani,to better themselves,as an offspring fourth generation i appreciate your sacrifices and are very much proud of you especially choosing a mixed village to reside,your struggles and sacrifice will always be remembered.

On this commemoration day i commend all the Indian Immigrants who took that journey to begin a new life in Guyana [formerly British Guyana]

My maternal foreparents Ghoorah and Reshmee Singh were born here circa 1856.  Their greatgrandsons are Dr. Balwant Singh and Dr. Nankoomar Singh. The latter currently lives in Washington DC and studied at Howard University Medical.

023_001[1]

• 023_001[1]

My maternal foreparents Ghoorah and Reshmee Singh were born here circa 1856.  Their greatgrandsons are Dr. Balwant Singh and Dr. Nankoomar Singh. The latter currently lives in Washington DC and studied at Howard University Medical.

023_001[1]

Dr. Balwant Singh's son and I attended Central High School.

Also, an important venture for the Indians during those days in British Guiana.

Excerpt.

4. ARRIVAL OF THE COOLIES IN BRITISH GUIANA.

According to the official account, the number of Coolies shipped from Calcutta, per Hesperus, was 155 men, five women, and ten children, in all 170 persons for Messrs. GLADSTONE and MOSS; per Whitby, they were shipped, 250 men, seven women, and ten children, in all 267 persons, to the care of JAMES MATTHEWS, Esq., attorney to ANDREW COLVILLE, Esq., and JOHN CAMERON, Esq., agent to Messrs. GILLANDERS & Co., of Calcutta. The Coolies consigned to Mr. CAMERON, were disposed of to Messrs. DAVIDSONS, BARKLEY & Co., and to JAMES BLAIR, Esq. The mortality on board the Hesperus, during her voyage, was fourteen, of which number two are represented to have been drowned (suicides?) The mortality on board the Whitby, amounted to four. There were consequently landed from both vessels 419 Coolies, which were distributed in the following manner, viz.:-

*********************************MalesFemales
Vreed-en-Hoop (John Gladstone, Esq.)655
Vriedestein - - Ditto310
Anna Regina, (Messrs. Moss,)463
Belle Vue, (A. Colville, Esq.)793
Waterloo, (James Blair, Esq.)470
Highbury, (Messrs. Davidsons & Co.)11711

In all 407 persons, according to the official returns of the special magistrates, printed by order of the House of Commons, 21st of February, 1840, No. 77, pp. 51, 52. This will show a difference in the numbers landed and located upon the estates, of twelve Coolies, the cause of which cannot be gathered from the papers. It is of importance, that this point should be cleared up.

Source -- http://www.guyana.org/features/indianim_toguyana.html

Title -- Indian Indentured Immigration to Guyana

What is his name?  Dr. Balwant Singh's mom, Mrs. Bifaya Singh, and my great grandmother are two sisters.

At the moment I cannot remember his name. However, he, many others and I were good friends, visiting each others' home and playing cricket, etc..

They lived in East Street close to where the hospital is now built.  Funny enough, you mentioned a while ago that you went to school with my father's side as well.  A name which I dare not mention on this site!!

Colonial British Indian indentured labour transportation by country

Indian indentured labour importing colonies
Name of ColonyNumber of Labourers Transported
Mauritius453,063
British Guiana238,909
Trinidad143,939
Jamaica36,412
Grenada3,200
St Lucia4,350
Natal152,184
St Kitts337
St Vincent2,472
Reunion26,507
Surinam34,304
Fiji60,965
East Africa32,000
Seychelles6,315
Total1,194,957

Source -- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_indenture_system

Title -- Indian indenture system

They lived in East Street close to where the hospital is now built.  Funny enough, you mentioned a while ago that you went to school with my father's side as well.  A name which I dare not mention on this site!!

Correct ... it was a very big house, and Dr. Balwant Singh was the Pathologist and Bacteriologist at the Georgetown hospital.

Yes!!! He was the only Pathologist in Guyana for many years.  This man is his cousin.  Two sister children.

Dr. Steven N. Singh

Dr. Steven N. Singh is chief of the Division of Cardiology and a professor in the Department of Medicine at the Howard University College of Medicine and Howard University Hospital. He is board certified in internal medicine and cardiology. Dr. Singh received his medical degree from Howard University College of Medicine and completed his residency at Boston Veterans Administration Hospital. He completed his fellowship training at Georgetown University Medical Center.

I knew Dr. Balwant Singh since the 1960s. He was a close friend and I visited with him many times at his residence by Ogle (road side). He was very helpful to many Mandirs when he was at the Gandhi Youth Organization, by making it easy to get Dhall, Ghee, potatoes, milk etc. when these items were banned during the LFSB years. He fought a big fight and a losing battle with the PNC and Burnham around the use of the Indian Immigration Fund to build the National Cultural Centre. But Forbes showed this principled man no mercy. I remember when the PNC government had the Supreme Court order that Dr. Balwant Singh attend Court from a hospital bed and in a Stretcher. I saw it with my own eyes in the Supreme Court compound. 

I shall NEVER forget!!!!!!!  And we still treat them with care and compassion at his hospital when the PNC Ministers are sick.  Noel Holder was in there the other day and was given privileged treatment.

Dondadda posted:

I knew Dr. Balwant Singh since the 1960s. He was a close friend and I visited with him many times at his residence by Ogle (road side). He was very helpful to many Mandirs when he was at the Gandhi Youth Organization, by making it easy to get Dhall, Ghee, potatoes, milk etc. when these items were banned during the LFSB years. He fought a big fight and a losing battle with the PNC and Burnham around the use of the Indian Immigration Fund to build the National Cultural Centre. But Forbes showed this principled man no mercy. I remember when the PNC government had the Supreme Court order that Dr. Balwant Singh attend Court from a hospital bed and in a Stretcher. I saw it with my own eyes in the Supreme Court compound. 

Indeed a troubling period for Dr. Balwant Singh in those days for Guyana.

Regarding the National Culture Centre, Burnham continue to show his disregard for law, order and the importance of fundamental issues.

I remember when the PNC government had the Supreme Court order that Dr. Balwant Singh attend Court from a hospital bed and in a Stretcher.

I heard about this a long time ago but never knew it happened for real until now. I thought it was a concocted story to discredit LFS Burnham. 

I shall NEVER forget!!!!!!!  And we still treat them with care and compassion at his hospital when the PNC Ministers are sick.  Noel Holder was in there the other day and was given privileged treatment.

A practising physician is bound by an ethical code called the Hippocratic Oath. He cannot refuse to treat a sick person because of race or politics.

"The Hippocratic Oath is one of the oldest binding documents in history. Written in antiquity, its principles are held sacred by doctors to this day: treat the sick to the best of one's ability, preserve patient privacy, teach the secrets of medicine to the next generation, and so on." [SOURCE: pbs.org]

What is his name?  Dr. Balwant Singh's mom, Mrs. Bifaya Singh, and my great grandmother are two sisters.

At the moment I cannot remember his name. However, he, many others and I were good friends, visiting each others' home and playing cricket, etc..

His name is Dr. Balwant Singh Jr.Physician and CEO

See http://drbalwantsinghshospital.com/

What are you talking about?  Who said anything about refusing to treat a sick person??????????????

I said the patient was given privileged treatment, which is a far cry from what you are insinuating. 

What are you talking about?  Who said anything about refusing to treat a sick person??????????????

I said the patient was given privileged treatment, which is a far cry from what you are insinuating. 

In that case, I beg your pardon.

Coonial British Indian indentured labour transportation by country

Mauritius453,063
British Guiana238,909
Trinidad143,939
Jamaica36,412
Grenada3,200
St Lucia4,350
Natal152,184
St Kitts337
St Vincent2,472
Reunion26,507
Surinam34,304
Fiji60,965
East Africa32,000
Seychelles6,315
Total1,194,957

And now, thanks to Jagdeo, several thousands now live in islands like Grenada, and St Kitts.

Coonial British Indian indentured labour transportation by country

Mauritius453,063
British Guiana238,909
Trinidad143,939
Jamaica36,412
Grenada3,200
St Lucia4,350
Natal152,184
St Kitts337
St Vincent2,472
Reunion26,507
Surinam34,304
Fiji60,965
East Africa32,000
Seychelles6,315
Total1,194,957

And now, thanks to Jagdeo, several thousands now live in islands like Grenada, and St Kitts.

Guyanese have been living in numerous parts of the world in large and small numbers for ages.

As I provided on related discussions on GNI, Guyanese were living in the Scandinavian countries since before World War I ... that is over 100 years now.

Sir James Douglas, a Guyanese and first Governor General of British Columbia, Canada in 1858.  He was also the Governor of Vancouver Island, which became integrated to form British Columbia from 1851 to 1864.

Guyanese have been living in numerous parts of the world in large and small numbers for ages.

And Jagdeo drove his supporters to do menial work in tiny islands.  Yet you and others scream what a wonderful man he was.

Constant propagation of your isolated and personal beliefs.

Really. Chat with people from T&T, Barbados, and other islands, and find out the truth of the economic refugees that the PPP supporters became.

Carib bai, why yuh suh obsessed with Jagdeo? Guyanese have been migrating from even before Burnham conned D'Aguiar into giving him those three seats. They continued during those ugly PNC years, during the PPP years and still continues now during the Coalition year. After the PPP won the election in 1992, we got the now famous Terry Gajraj song 'pack up meh grip and leh we go'. That was a sentiment to go back to Guyana. Where are the Coalition supporters now that Granger has to beseech them to return and build Guyana? Looks like they ain't going back either. 

Carib bai, why yuh suh obsessed with Jagdeo? Guyanese have been migrating from even before Burnham conned D'Aguiar into giving him those three seats.

Why not?  Arent you obsessed with Burnham.  Given that Jagdeo is alive, and Burnham died 31 years ago I will submit that he is more relevant.

PPP supporters were fleeing to the USA and Canada under the PNC.  Under Jagdeo suddenly islands like Nevis and Grenada began to attract them.

Are you now comparing these two volcanic peaks with the USA and Canada?

When you find evidence that I praise the coalition gov't then you can ask me why Guyanese aren't returning.  In fact many APNU supporters are increasingly vocal about their thoughts on this matter, and its not the reaction that Granger will favor.

Now compare this to the hero worshipping that we see towards Jagdeo from the PPP supporters.  Even as more than a few female PPP supporters were forced to work in the bars of the back streets of Bridgetown, as they couldn't survive in Jagdeo's Guyana.

I remember when the PNC government had the Supreme Court order that Dr. Balwant Singh attend Court from a hospital bed and in a Stretcher.

I heard about this a long time ago but never knew it happened for real until now. I thought it was a concocted story to discredit LFS Burnham. 

Burnham doesn't any help in the discredit department.

Carib bai, why yuh suh obsessed with Jagdeo? Guyanese have been migrating from even before Burnham conned D'Aguiar into giving him those three seats.

Why not?  Arent you obsessed with Burnham.  Given that Jagdeo is alive, and Burnham died 31 years ago I will submit that he is more relevant.

PPP supporters were fleeing to the USA and Canada under the PNC.  Under Jagdeo suddenly islands like Nevis and Grenada began to attract them.

Are you now comparing these two volcanic peaks with the USA and Canada?

Are you suggesting that PNC supporters did not flee Guyana during the previous PNC rule?

They certainly did, and with good reason to.  But then I don't bow down and worship the PNC as you do the PPP.

If you say bad things about Burnham, I would either say nothing, or agree with you.

Now look at your spirited defense of Jagdeo, even as thousands of his people fled to ill treatment in the islands, including virtual slavery in T&T.

They certainly did, and with good reason to.  But then I don't bow down and worship the PNC as you do the PPP.

If you say bad things about Burnham, I would either say nothing, or agree with you.

Now look at your spirited defense of Jagdeo, even as thousands of his people fled to ill treatment in the islands, including virtual slavery in T&T.

Fair enough. In regard to the current Coalition, do you have any data as to how many of their supporters or ex-pats are returning to invest/build Guyana?

Btw, where is my spirited defense of Jagdeo? I am more a critic of the Coalition than I am a supporter of the PPP. Furthermore, I wasn't even a supporter of the PPP while they were in government.

Fair enough. In regard to the current Coalition, do you have any data as to how many of their supporters or ex-pats are returning to invest/build Guyana?

Btw, where is my spirited defense of Jagdeo? I am more a critic of the Coalition than I am a supporter of the PPP. Furthermore, I wasn't even a supporter of the PPP while they were in government.

If you didn't care about Jagdeo we wouldn't be having this line of conversation. 

I wasn't a supporter of the PNC, and never cared to defend them.

If you didn't care about Jagdeo we wouldn't be having this line of conversation. 

That is only because you are confused by thinking I care about the PPP.

Such lengthy defense of the PPP.  Now if you didn't favor them you would know fully well why so many of their supporters fled Guyana, many to do menial jobs in small islands, and at times suffering great indignities, like the poor goals working in bars in the back streets of Bridgetown.

Given that you have never seen proof that I defend the Burnham era there wouldn't have been any reason to reference that.