May 11 to remain Election Date – President confirms

January 22, 2015 11:00 am Category: Politics A+ / A-
President Donald Ramotar.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – President Donald Ramotar has confirmed that May 11, 2015 will remain the Election Date, putting to rest concerns that it will clash with CXC and CAPE exams, which is scheduled for the same day.

In a Facebook post on Wednesday, January 21, the President said that the Ministry of Education will put adequate systems in place to ensure that students are able to sit their exams without disruption of the day’s election activities.

However, up to the time this story was published, the Education Ministry, headed by Minister Priya Manickchand was yet to announce what those “adequate systems” are.

When contacted by iNews on Wednesday about what impact the elections will have on the exams, Chief Education Officer, Olato Sam referred all questions to the Education Minister.

Education Minister, Priya Manickchand.

Contact was then made with Public Relations Officer of the Ministry, Suelle Findlay-Williams, who asked for a “few hours” to get the Minister’s response. However, repeated calls to the PRO’s cell phone between Wednesday and today went unanswered.

As a result of the many concerns raised about the clash of the exams and the election date, Opposition Leader David Granger has since suggested that President Ramotar change the election date from May 11.

APNU Leader, David Granger

“It is obviously an error or I would say a blunder because now that it has happened, the PPP is trying to correct that mistake and they probably didn’t put enough thought into it,” Granger told Reporters on Wednesday, January 21 at his Hadfield Street, Georgetown Office.

The Opposition Leader does not believe that the date for the examinations should be changed, since it is traditionally written around May of each year throughout the Caribbean.

The President confirms May 11th, if the A.F.C/A.P.N.U wants they are free to boycott the elections, nevertheless on the 11th May the Guyanese populace would be heading very early to the places of poll.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The P.P.P is on the path to regain the Parliamentary majority, the A.F.C/A.P.N.U are now like cornered rats.

The only cornered rat is that fat **** ramotar.

Uncle Sam and the EU put the brakes on him and his dicktator operation.....

They told him to haul his ass, Carolyn still hollering no sanctions? did she consult with her BT HOLE on dat?

The A.F.C/A.P.N.U now wants to buy time buy suggesting that the date be differed. The President stick to his word, Elections would be held on the 11th of May, whether the joint opposition like it or not.

Buy time? I would prefer we postpone Mash and call the election why can't we do that?

The results of this snap elections, is likely to be very disappointing to you HM_Redux.

Gotta get used to it....The P.P.P is here to  stay 

Uncle sam putting nuff nuff cowards in their place these day you see how they put some lash pun ramotar and chase he in a corner?

Mek sure de sperm buyer buy up all the sperm he gonna need for the next couple a years because things gonna be rough..........

The results of this snap elections, is likely to be very disappointing to you HM_Redux.

Gotta get used to it....The P.P.P is here to  stay 

Soh yall going to be happy with 46%? 

The P.P.P is on the path to regain the Parliamentary majority, the A.F.C/A.P.N.U are now like cornered rats.

They told him to haul his ass, Carolyn still hollering no sanctions? did she consult with her BT HOLE on dat?

HM Redux, you are so vulgar when you refer to Carolyn by asking "did she consult with her BT HOLE on dat?  You really need a break. 

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

HM Redux, you are so vulgar when you refer to Carolyn by asking "did she consult with her BT HOLE on dat?  You really need a break. 

He needs a time out.

Hass_mare does not respect women. He is a sexual deviant. The bwoy needs therapy.  All he thinks about is the BT.

He needs a time out.

Hass_mare does not respect women. He is a sexual deviant. The bwoy needs therapy.  All he thinks about is the BT.

yOU CANT BLAME THE PERSON. The person has a right in America just like everyone else,

The President confirms May 11th, if the A.F.C/A.P.N.U wants they are free to boycott the elections, nevertheless on the 11th May the Guyanese populace would be heading very early to the places of poll.

tovic

• tovic

tovic

GOOD MOVE - hold to the date.

May 11 it is.