Massive corruption in award of US$18M Specialty Hospital contract

November 27, 2015 By GuyanaTimes

Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan Lack of transparency – says Opposition Leader – Ramjattan at helm of scandal BY ALEXIS RODNEY Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan has come under intense pressure and the situation promises to heat up even more, following the announcement by the David Granger-led A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC) Government, that it has contracted Indian Company Fedders Lloyd to continue the construction of the controversial Specialty Hospital. The situation is troubling, not just because Government has back pedalled on the stance it took against the building of the State of the Art facility, but because the contractor, to whom the project has been given, is closely connected to Minister Ramjattan. Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo Concerns have already begun mounting following Government’s announcement on Wednesday that it had signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Indian company, which had lost the bid to Surrendra Engineering Company back in 2011. The MoU was signed on Wednesday between Finance Minister Winston Jordan and a representative of the company, Ajay Jha. This now paves the way for works to restart the construction of the Hospital. But the now Public Security Minister is facing severe criticisms and there are talks that the move is an “underhand” one, particularly because there was no tendering process for the project. The sudden move by Government to use the company without giving any other construction company a fighting chance at the tendering process has raised eyebrows. During the tenth Parliament, Ramjattan was almost hauled before the Committee of Privileges on the charge of failing to declare pecuniary interests in matters debated in the National Assembly. Ramjattan was said to be in a “conflict of interest” position over his legal representation of the Fedders Lloyd Corporation, which he then believed, was cheated of the contract to build the Specialty Hospital. Finance Minister Winston Jordan and Fedders Lloyd’s representative Ajay Jha during the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for the construction of the Specialty Hospital Finance Minister Winston Jordan and Fedders Lloyd’s representative Ajay Jha during the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for the construction of the Specialty Hospital His role as lawyer for the Indian firm had long been questioned by the then PPP/C Government. It was believed that the then AFC Leader had political rather than legitimate motives for objecting to the US$18.1 million contract for the design and construction of the hospital which was awarded to Surendra Engineering company. The PPP/C believed that Ramjattan had acted in contravention of Standing Order 107 which states that “No Member of the Assembly shall appear before the Assembly or any Committee thereof as Counsel or Solicitor for any party, or in any capacity for which he or she is to receive a fee or reward.” Meanwhile, Opposition leader Bharrat Jagdeo on Thursday said that the new agreement between Government and the Indian company “reeks of corruption”, as it serves the interest of its own. According to him, a single source company could not be awarded a contract that is $18 million. “How could you ask the person that is making the proposal to you to do the assessment of work done. The proper thing to do was to seek the independent assessment by a consultancy firm of work that has been done before, do new bills of quantity and then go out to tender”, the Opposition said. According to the MoU, Fedders Lloyd will review the works already started, conclude a design of the hospital that is acceptable to the Government, and commit to fully equip the facility on completion of its construction. The company also undertakes to commence work on the facility immediately following the signing of the MoU. The Specialty Hospital, a project initiated by the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Administration, is aimed at catering for complicated surgeries, ranging from heart operations, organ transplants to cosmetic surgeries. In 2012, a US$18 million contract was awarded to India-based company Surendra Engineering, which was tasked with designing and building the controversial facility. The funding was provided by the Indian Government through a Line of Credit (LOC). The current Administration, which was on the Opposition side of the National Assembly during the 10th Parliament, had heavily criticised the project. The coalition had even cut the $1.25 billion that was budgeted for the Hospital in 2013. The previous Administration had only received $34.4 million as supplementary funding for the hospital in the 10th Parliament as a result of the absence of APNU Member of Parliament (MP) Volda Lawrence, when a vote had been taken for the funds. The previous Administration was hoping that the hospital would be a pull factor to bring tourists and overseas-based Guyanese back to Guyana for “health tourism”. However, the new Administration had said with the current state of affairs in the health sector, it was better that the construction of the Specialty Hospital be put on the ‘backburner’ and the money used to enhance the primary health care system. Government had requested the EXIM (Export, Import) Bank of India to cancel the LOC for the Specialty Hospital and to reallocate the balance of funds to a project to modernise three primary healthcare facilities – Bartica, Suddie and West Demerara Hospitals. However, the Government of India while indicating that it had no objection and support for the modernisation of primary healthcare facilities, suggested that Government should consider salvaging the Specialty Hospital as it will complement primary healthcare facilities in Guyana.

Will the Government of India help recover the over $5 million advanced to Surendra by the corrupt PPP/C government?

Will AG Basil Williams  subpoena officials from Surendra and the defeated PPP/C government and  investigate   why they illegally awarded a  contract to Surendra, a company without the requisite experience?

Ah we dayzz now.  We goa teach alyuh c0olies how fuh tief.

If people think that the PPP stole, look at how much the AFC/PNC thief men are taking in broad daylight.

No transparency.

Remember these crooks were the ones talking about transparence. No debate in Parliament and ignoring their own call for a procurement process.

This is quite disgraceful. Talk about daytime choke and rob !

“How could you ask the person that is making the proposal to you to do the assessment of work done. The proper thing to do was to seek the independent assessment by a consultancy firm of work that has been done before, do new bills of quantity and then go out to tender”,

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Ramjattan is a coolie. So there is nothing you could teach him about thieving.

Whether in America, England or Guyana I never heard Afros are thieves. Since they were converted by the Whiteman, they are ALL living the life of Christ.

Originally Posted by Vish M:

It is easy to charge "Thief Thief"!

Where is the crime?

Do fuh do no obeah, so them Black people does seh.  Dem is not only tief, dem also incompetent, double whammy!

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Ramjattan is a coolie. So there is nothing you could teach him about thieving.

Whether in America, England or Guyana I never heard Afros are thieves. Since they were converted by the Whiteman, they are ALL living the life of Christ.

They are entitled to what they obtain from killing and taking by force. They believe that killing and thieving are their god given rights. Take a look in our own backyard.

Will the Government of India help recover the over $5 million advanced to Surendra by the corrupt PPP/C government?

Will AG Basil Williams  subpoena officials from Surendra and the defeated PPP/C government and  investigate   why they illegally awarded a  contract to Surendra, a company without the requisite experience?

the Art facility, but because the contractor, to whom the project has been given, is closely connected to Minister Ramjattan. THIEF< THIEF< THIEF

Originally Posted by kp:

the Art facility, but because the contractor, to whom the project has been given, is closely connected to Minister Ramjattan. THIEF< THIEF< THIEF

Ramjattan and Naga are lawyers(also pronounced liars). They see money every waking moment of their lives. They will each have a U Haul truck following his coffin to the cemetry.

Originally Posted by kp:

Ramjattan and Naga are lawyers(also pronounced liars). They see money every waking moment of their lives. They will each have a U Haul truck following his coffin to the cemetry.

Two of the MOST DISGRACEFUL Elements on the Planet. They are more SHAMELESS than the World's HOES!!!  I wonder how these House Slaves sllep at night. Then again, they probably sleep well knowing they were able to increase their wealth and Power!!!

Originally Posted by kp:

Two of the MOST DISGRACEFUL Elements on the Planet. They are more SHAMELESS than the World's HOES!!!  I wonder how these House Slaves sllep at night. Then again, they probably sleep well knowing they were able to increase their wealth and Power!!!

These two pseudo coolies are money and power hungry. Look out for major medical news on one them soon.

Originally Posted by kp:

These two pseudo coolies are money and power hungry. Look out for major medical news on one them soon.

the two men are proud Indo-Guyanese/Indian Guyanese

what exactly is a "pseudo coolie"?

Originally Posted by kp:

You think alll Guyanese are negroes. Why don't you buy a couple of Afro wigs and give them two coolie-blackman?

Lookup the meaning of pseudo.

Originally Posted by kp:

You think alll Guyanese are negroes . . .

huh?

Originally Posted by kp:

You think all Guyanese are negroes . . .

huh?

Should be...my bad.

Originally Posted by kp:

huh?

Should be...my bad.

OK fool . . . now that we have settled on the non sequitur

huh?

Originally Posted by kp:

huh?

Should be...my bad.

OK fool . . . now that we have settled on the non sequitur

huh?

You can now go wipe the stuff running down back of your thighs.

Originally Posted by kp:

I see burnham wasted a ping pong scholarship on you.

Originally Posted by kp:

I see burnham wasted a ping pong scholarship on you.

lol

annada ignorant lout with a brain freeze . . . at pains to come up a 'clever' answer

what is the opposite of "pseudo coolie" as distinct from "Indian Guyanese" . . . eh?

I am still waiting to see where is this "massive corruption".

So am I for 22 years I was listening to the shit about Corruption from the 2 House Slaves. Chris Ram took 500 million to find but none available.

Request for more information:

Was Ramjattan an integral member of the "Hospital Contract committee"?

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

Vish M - it is a conflict of interest.  And if the PPP had done this you all would be hollering - Thief!  Thief!

Vish M

So am I for 22 years I was listening to the shit about Corruption from the 2 House Slaves. Chris Ram took 500 million to find but none available.

Was the line of credit was already authorized?

Did the Indian Govt.  not persuade the new govt. to continue with the Specialty Hospital instead of any alternative use of the line of credit?

Retendering would have been a waste of time and money since there were no changes to the specification. Feeders Lloyd has a good track record and was thoroughly investigated.  Surendra like Fip ran away with millions.

Ramjattan has said he was never retained by Fedders Lloyd but was asked to intervene by their lawyers in his capacity as an..... anti-corruption..... Parliamentarian.

Anyway the is a PPP baby that may come to fruition. No?

Did the Indian Govt.  not persuade the new govt. to continue with the Specialty Hospital instead of any alternative use of the line of credit?

Retendering would have been a waste of time and money since there were no changes to the specification. Feeders Lloyd has a good track record and was thoroughly investigated.  Surendra like Fip ran away with millions.

Ramjattan has said he was never retained by Fedders Lloyd but was asked to intervene by their lawyers in his capacity as an..... anti-corruption..... Parliamentarian.

Mitts, do you really  believe this stuff you posted, or is it just the party line you are obliged to repeat and try to propagate?

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:

Mitts, do you really  believe this stuff you posted, or is it just the party line you are obliged to repeat and try to propagate?

What do you disagree with?

You have no integrity. You know very well that Ramjattan represented this company and it is clearly a conflict of interest. 

Ramjattan legal representation of Indian hospital bidder not an issue

-Hughes

The AFC yesterday played down concerns that party leader Khemraj Ramjattan is in a conflict of interest position over his legal representation of the Fedders Lloyd Corporation, which believes it was cheated of a contract to build the specialty hospital at Turkeyen.

Ramjattan’s role as lawyer for the Indian firm has been greeted with accusations by the government that the company and the AFC leader have political rather than legitimate motives for objecting to the US$18.1 million contract for the design and construction of the hospital being awarded to Surendra Engineering.

Was  Fedders Lloyd  the lowest bidder and has experience constructing Specialty Hospitals and that the PPP/C, like the Skeldon Factory, ignored prudence and offered Surendra, who never constructed a hospital,  the bid?.

Has The APNU+AFC new administration received from the Indian Govt the remainder of the original balance to refurbish three primary hospitals, and an additional $14 million USD to construct the Specialty Hospital?

Where is the massive corruption?

Originally Posted by Drugb:

You have no integrity. You know very well that Ramjattan represented this company and it is clearly a conflict of interest. 

Ramjattan legal representation of Indian hospital bidder not an issue

-Hughes

The AFC yesterday played down concerns that party leader Khemraj Ramjattan is in a conflict of interest position over his legal representation of the Fedders Lloyd Corporation, which believes it was cheated of a contract to build the specialty hospital at Turkeyen.

Ramjattan’s role as lawyer for the Indian firm has been greeted with accusations by the government that the company and the AFC leader have political rather than legitimate motives for objecting to the US$18.1 million contract for the design and construction of the hospital being awarded to Surendra Engineering.

Thank drugb for answering his question. It looks like a duck, it walks like a ****. It sounds like a duck. It is a duck. Mitts, where is the integrity they promised. Now they are lying again. Trottman lied and said that they were not considering massive pay increases for ministers. Moses lied when he said that as prime minister he would be responsible for internal matters, they lied when they told Essequibo rice farmers during the election campaign that they will ensure they received $6000 to $9000 for a bag of paddy. Now, you are trying to defend their lie that he, Ramjattan was not their lawyer.

Z

August 30, 2012

Speaking at the AFC’s weekly press conference, party Chairman Nigel Hughes urged Guyanese not to be distracted by personality, but focus on whether Fedders Lloyd’s rights were breached. Ramjattan is currently out of the country on business.

“The real issue is whether or not the procedures that were set out in the tender documents were adhered to. There is no rule in the profession that stops Mr. Ramjattan, who is a practising attorney, from plying his trade as a lawyer,” Hughes told the news conference.

Hughes, who is also a practising lawyer, assured that Ramjattan’s position on behalf of the AFC represents the party. He reiterated that the party leader’s position is consistent with his professional stance as far as fairness and transparency are concerned.

The AFC Chairman said he would expect the contract to be awarded on the basis of merit. “If awarded the contract, I would assume and hope that it is after a very transparent process of retendering, where everyone who has been invited to tender and the process of evaluation is transparent,” he said.

Hughes added that if the company performs badly, it would be Ramjattan the attorney and not the AFC leader who would have to represent his client to disprove that the company was liable for any acts of commission or breach of contract. “It’s certainly not the AFC’s position that Fedders Lloyd must get the contract. What we are saying is that the process was flawed and Guyana, as a country,

Nigel Hughes

cannot be inviting international tenders to build anything and then by our own act breach the same rules and regulations that we have invited them to come and tender under,” Hughes added.

The government has accused Fedders Lloyd of orchestrating a campaign against the work of the NPTAB committee that awarded the contract to Surendra Engineering and of “politicisising” the situation after the rejection of its bid.

Fedders Lloyd’s grounds for objection included Surendra Engineering’s bid security being issued by a bank in India rather than by a locally-based commercial bank.

The Guyana government on Tuesday, however, said the decision to use only banks in India was taken and made known to prospective bidders at a pre-bid meeting, where Fedders Lloyd was represented and for which minutes were subsequently circulated. That decision, government says, supersedes any other conditions laid down.

A National Procurement and Tender Board Administration (NPTAB) executive told Stabroek News that the issue of the bid bond lies in the tender documents specifications. The source said that this is not the first time that a bond was issued from a foreign bank, since with most foreign funded loans, which have international bidders, bonds are issued. Fedders Lloyd also questioned Surendra Engineering’s apparent lack of technical expertise in building such facilities.

Fedders-Lloyd plans to formally protest to the NPTAB the awarding of the contract to Surendra Engineering. The former company also intends to file similar objections with India’s EXIM Bank, which is responsible for the line of credit provided by the Indian government for the construction of the hospital.