Marriott hotel opening marred by protest action

April 16, 2015 1:18 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Tracey Khan-Drakes

20150416_095724

The Protesters

[www.inewsguyana.com]

The ribbon cutting ceremony of the Marriott Hotel was today marred by protest action from Guyanese and members of the political opposition.

Even though the protesters were peaceful they were not allowed to enter Battery road, the entrance to the hotel since it was filled with ranks from the Guyana Police Force and security officials of the Hotel.  The other entrances were also blocked by ranks and barricades.

The protesters and officials from the opposition Political Parties were outraged by the police’s action.

Only Government and certain officials were allowed beyond the barricades, while others including workers from the forestry commission were forced to abandon their vehicles and walk.

City Mayor Hamilton Green was visibly upset after he was initially prevented from entering Battery road by the police. The Mayor is now calling for the restoration of democracy to Guyana, so that they can walk the streets of the city unhindered.

20150416_103503

Green and other protesters were eventually allowed to enter Battery road to a certain point but were once again stopped by the large number of secutiry officials present.

A Partnership for National Unity Member, Ronald Bulkan speaking to members of the press questioned why, “taxpayers of this country denied access for viewing for that facility, even as we speak the PPP have advertisement boasting about returning democracy to Guyana…that there is freedom to descent, freedom of assembly…the denial by the police today, to deny citizens freedom of movement nails the lie to those advertisement that the PPP have.”

He believes government should have invested in the university and created more jobs instead of building a five star luxury hotel.

“I am here to express my displeasure and disgust at the state of financial lawlessness that exist in our country…the state should not be competing with the private sector, the state should be investing in infrastructure to take care of people’s every day needs, the state should focus their attention to save the collapsing sugar industry….they should focus on jobs because there is a high level of joblessness…the state should be focusing on ensuring that we have a five start university that we can offer a proper education for our citizens.”

I do not agree with the protest.

Average Guyanese ppl love to go to these sort of affair-suh the Guyanese ppl were denied access to their property.

I thought dey sey the hotel is open and guest is already there. suh, is only wan bady in dat bg big property. I suppose any new guest ain't allowed. Dey close off the property.

Imagine the Mayor of the City ain't invited. I tell yuh kulie ppl government s----t really backward.

I love to stay in fancy hotels. I wonder, i qualify to stay there? 

any guess on the room rate?

150 US

r u sure? That is not pricey. If that is true, then Pegasus is in trouble. They charge me US$175.00 per day. and I duz be there for ten days at a time.