It is a known fact that our businessmen have had a long history of affiliating themselves politically for financial gains. It does not matter what the party represents or who is at helm. The bottom line is to make money. Ethics and morals are casted aside. Today, they are people behind the AFC and APNU who are just giving support with the expectation of getting contracts, illegal tax-exemption, and downright fraud if they should get into power. Now, some of you would argue that such individuals are also behind the PPP/Civic gov't. This is very true. However, the PPP has been able to control the corruption to a level that is okay but better can be done. The hungry men and women of the PNC will pawn the nation assets to get a good dress or car without worrying about the small that starves.

We must be careful with the political point of views expressed by businessmen and professionals. Most of them of them are out for themselves and nobody else.

Billy, all the time you weren't questioning the motives of businessmen who supported the PPP regime. Now that some businessmen have started criticizing the PPP, you're questioning their motives for supporting the opposition. No one is naive. We know profit maximization is business's goal. We know businessmen support governments for selfish reasons.

There's nothing you can do if businessmen are now turning their backs on the corrupt PPP.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

It is a known fact that our businessmen have had a long history of affiliating themselves politically for financial gains. It does not matter what the party represents or who is at helm. The bottom line is to make money. Ethics and morals are casted aside. Today, they are people behind the AFC and APNU who are just giving support with the expectation of getting contracts, illegal tax-exemption, and downright fraud if they should get into power. Now, some of you would argue that such individuals are also behind the PPP/Civic gov't. This is very true. However, the PPP has been able to control the corruption to a level that is okay but better can be done. The hungry men and women of the PNC will pawn the nation assets to get a good dress or car without worrying about the small that starves.

We must be careful with the political point of views expressed by businessmen and professionals. Most of them of them are out for themselves and nobody else.

Well said Billy....

Guyana soup drinkers are no funâ€Ķ.

It is a known fact that our businessmen have had a long history of affiliating themselves politically for financial gains. It does not matter what the party represents or who is at helm. The bottom line is to make money. Ethics and morals are casted aside.

Today, they are people behind the AFC and APNU who are just giving support with the expectation of getting contracts, illegal tax-exemption, and downright fraud if they should get into power. Now, some of you would argue that such individuals are also behind the PPP/Civic gov't. This is very true. However, the PPP has been able to control the corruption to a level that is okay but better can be done. The hungry men and women of the PNC will pawn the nation assets to get a good dress or car without worrying about the small that starves.

You are speculating on what is actual practice in the PPP.! Why do you not feel inclined to complain about the PPP crony capitalism. Do you think Bobby the boob and Ed the talking horse and the white powder pilot and Buddy and Bk et all are not benefactors of the PPP cronyism?

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:

Well said Billy....

Guyana soup drinkers are no funâ€Ķ.

Maybe it is time to switch the output of the spigot! Fair is fair. One party does not get to slurp all the soup especially when the are of a growing minority status

Ramotar said that there is corruption in his gov't and he cannot stand in front of the Guyanese and deny it with a straight face. The man is right. Let the PNC admit rigged elections and corruption during their three decades of rule. Let the AFC tell us about those unscrupulous financial backers who are out to line their pockets. Let the Guyanese see both sides.

Gilbakka,

There is something you and can do to control corruption. We can support a party that is the least corrupted.

Billy, in 1964 the US and Britain supported the PNC because, according to them, the PNC was "the lesser of the two evils."

Today, 50 years later, the PNC is still the lesser of the two evils.

PPP corruption during the past 22 years far outweigh the 28-year PNC corruption.

I think a PPP elections defeat will have a sobering effect at Freedom House. It will cause the party to purge out the corrupt ones that caused the defeat. Provided they learn their lesson, there is no reason why they can't get back in government at a later time.

Leave it to the voters to decide.

Gilbakka,

The lesser of the two evils gave us three decades of dictatorship and wrecked economy. The lesser of the two evils today won't be different from that of yesterday.

The wrecked economy in Guyana was as a result of the collaboration between the PNC and the PPP which foisted Socialism and the resulting nationalization on Guyana. It would have been no different had the PPP been in power. It would have probably happened sooner if the PPP were in power since the UF provided a buffer in the early years to prevent the curse of Socialism and Nationalization. Once the UF were out of the Government, the Communist forces in the PNC and PPP brokered a deal with their Soviet masters via Cuba to nationalize the economy which led to its eventual implosion.

Bhai, Since the beginning of time there is always KACK Men waiting for easy money BUT if you listen to dem yuh gun think they are God's chosen few who were sent to HELP and CARE for the Poor and destitute.

examples of kack men...Jagdeo, Irfaan, Ramotar etc etc

wHY YOU LABELLING OUR GREAT PRESIDENT AS A KACK MAN???

Bhai, Since the beginning of time there is always KACK Men waiting for easy money BUT if you listen to dem yuh gun think they are God's chosen few who were sent to HELP and CARE for the Poor and destitute.

buggerman sound more decent 

wELL YOU AND OTHERS ON gni came out the closet and we are Happy for Al Yuh.