Manickchand educates Granger on education

Education Minister Priya Manickchand

…says PPP/C revolutionised sector after PNC’s destruction

By Michael Younge

Education Minister and People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Executive Priya Manickchand has educated the Presidential Candidate of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNC/)-led coalition about the work done by the ruling Party to revolutionise Guyana’s education sector over the last two and a half decades.

Manickchand, hitting the campaign trail on Sunday at Bush Lot, West Coast Berbice, defended the Government’s track record in the sector while rubbishing many of the arguments made by the Opposition coalition group about the state of the country’s education sector. Granger and his running mate, Moses Nagamootoo, had flown to the US and held meetings with various Diaspora groups as part of their campaign strategy ahead of the upcoming May 11 elections.

They told the overseas-based Guyanese, who would not have been au fait with the tremendous strides made in the delivery of education since the PNC years, that Guyana’s education sector was on the decline and that enough was not being done to further improve the quality of education that was being delivered at the nursery, primary and tertiary levels. Granger specifically alleged that the Government was busy spending billions of dollars on questionable large-scale and unnecessary projects at the expense of making well-thought-out investments in the education sector which could lead to the creation of an “education nation”.

He also surprisingly made several promises to reform the sector and boost it with the necessary resources to take it forward were he to be elected to the presidency. But Manickchand, speaking at the rally, wasted no time in telling the mammoth crowd that the Opposition coalition had no original plan for the country’s overall development much less the sector. She said that by the time the ruling Party came to power in 1992, the education sector was in disarray, there were few primary and secondary schools, there was a lack of critical teaching resources including books and learning aids, and the notion of equitable access to education was foreign to many.

The Education Minister told the gathering that the government had its work cut out for it as there was also a lack of teachers and other personnel to man the sector as well as drive policy change. “Do you remember not being able to send your children to schools, there were no place to send them…no chalks…no books….that’s where we came from…no teachers…but where are we today? Eighty-five of our nursery children can go to school,” Manickchand said in an emotion- driven address.

Change for better

She said that the Government faced all of the challenges in the sector and was now satisfied that it had turned the situation around for the better. The politician said that 100 per cent of Guyanese children of primary school age can access education, explaining that the Government has managed to attain universal primary education.  Again citing the relevant statistics, the Minister said that 90 per cent of Guyanese children have access to secondary education regardless of where they live or who they are. She said that children within the education sector have access to exercise and text books while Government was trying to carry the burden of the cost. Soon after Manickchand explained that 72 per cent of the teachers were trained …“More children are passing Common Entrance and topping the Caribbean year after year,” she started again as she detailed the story of progress and accomplishment which have dominated the education sector.

Manickchand even made references to a boy who topped the country and the Region in Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) Technical Vocation who was born, schooled and bred in Region Five. “He was a cane cutter’s son,” the Minister explained as she detailed the challenges faced by his parents to ensure that he gained an education by utilising all of the opportunities made available by Government in the public education system.  “We have a plan for you. We have done well, but we are not satisfied with where we are,” she said to a very supportive crowd that stood on the sidelines of the streets listening to her presentation. Manickchand spoke about the millions of dollars in assistance used to provide hot snacks, meals, uniforms, cash grants and other incentives aimed at further providing an enabling environment for children to benefit from a free quality education.

“We promise you that you will see the results increasing…You are living the development. You are living the progress. You are living the change brought about by the PPP/C and we are asking you to give us another chance to bring more change and progress to this country,” she appealed again.

Manickchand also reflected on the Opposition’s posture in Parliament and their decision to place in jeopardy the comprehensive Education Bill, which would have further transformed and catapulted the sector into the modern age,. Last year, Government expended $32.202 billion in the education sector. In 2013 and 2012, the sums of $26.094 billion and $27. 947 billion were invested in the sector to build many schools, laboratories and other facilities.

Since 1992, there has been a marked increase in the number of Guyanese students achieving top grades at the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) and secondary school placement exam, and access to increased subsidies for meals, uniforms, the “Because We Care” grant and transportation for children living in remote communities. At the tertiary level, over 30,000 students have graduated from the University of Guyana post 1992, compared to 9391 pre-1992.

Originally Posted by ksazma:
Originally Posted by TK:

Is this a joke? Please tell me it is.

TK, did the level of education in Guyana improve from where it was in 1992 or not? 

The politician said that 100 per cent of Guyanese children of primary school age can access education, explaining that the Government has managed to attain universal primary education.  Again citing the relevant statistics, the Minister said that 90 per cent of Guyanese children have access to secondary education regardless of where they live or who they are. She said that children within the education sector have access to exercise and text books while Government was trying to carry the burden of the cost. Soon after Manickchand explained that 72 per cent of the teachers were trained …“More children are passing Common Entrance and topping the Caribbean year after year,” she started again as she detailed the story of progress and accomplishment which have dominated the education sector.

What can this fat dunce teach anyone about education.  She is the govt's squarest peg.  She flaunts an honorary doctorate but does not have as much as an associate degree in education.

Is that her glamour picture? She said she became Minister after helping to wrap scotch tape on pencils at Freedom House.

Guyana is at least 3 decades behind in education.  They can't even provide furniture in schools, keep the grass cut, or powerwash the fungus off school buildings. When your system is staffed largely by teachers with 2 years of training, that's a sign of backwardness.  In some states in the USA, you have to have 2 years of college just to be a teacher assistant. In Guyana, you have many principals with 2-years teacher's training.

Two years ago, I tried to use my influence to get textbooks for a child whose father was killed and left 4 girl children behind, and my friends in the Ministry could not help because they simply did not have the books for everyone.

Originally Posted by TK:

TK, did the level of education in Guyana improve from where it was in 1992 or not? 

Forgive TK for his being too young and display some ignorance of the education standards in Guyana before the PNC dictatorship. After the PNC dictatorship, Guyana did not have money to feed the people. Where would they have money to spend on education?
Still wondering where some of these people get their facts from.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

What can this fat dunce teach anyone about education.  She is the govt's squarest peg.  She flaunts an honorary doctorate but does not have as much as an associate degree in education.

Is that her glamour picture? She said she became Minister after helping to wrap scotch tape on pencils at Freedom House.

Guyana is at least 3 decades behind in education.  They can't even provide furniture in schools, keep the grass cut, or powerwash the fungus off school buildings. When your system is staffed largely by teachers with 2 years of training, that's a sign of backwardness.  In some states in the USA, you have to have 2 years of college just to be a teacher assistant. In Guyana, you have many principals with 2-years teacher's training.

Two years ago, I tried to use my influence to get textbooks for a child whose father was killed and left 4 girl children behind, and my friends in the Ministry could not help because they simply did not have the books for everyone.

You are the typical Parasite in our society. People like you get into Power it will be contacts and Influence as the standars for services.  You really have no SHAME!!

Conditions are the same as under the PNC.

You can't put a square peg Bully to run education.  

Education needs a qualified technocrat, not a jackass.

The fat one can only speak in terms of how many pieces of furniture they put in.  She does not have the educators language of: curriculum, instruction, assessments, teacher quality, professional learning communities, blended learning, differentiated supervision, technology integration in instruction, etc.

Some schools do not have phones still.

The fat one can only speak in terms of how many pieces of furniture they put in.  She does not have the educators language of: curriculum, instruction, assessments, teacher quality, professional learning communities, blended learning, differentiated supervision, technology integration in instruction, etc.

Bottom line the success rate of our children is much higher now at the CSEC examinations and that is THE MEASURE.. not phones and all that crap.  Our children have been kicking asses and topping the Caribbean recently at these exams.  Kids are taking 21 subjects now and not 5 and 6 that was the norm. 

Personal attacks do not get you anywhere.  Tell us about Granger's credentials.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Bottom line the success rate of our children is much higher now at the CSEC examinations and that is THE MEASURE.. not phones and all that crap.  Our children have been kicking asses and topping the Caribbean recently at these exams.  Kids are taking 21 subjects now and not 5 and 6 that was the norm. 

How does CXC compare to GCE as far as the content etc?

Alena, Leave him to drown in his IGNORANCE!!!  He thought he was special but was ignored, so now he is bitter.  It is the normal "COOLIE" attitude!!!

Manickchand was a failure in the legal profession, she was a complete waste of time at social services overseeing the appointment of a pedophile to the rights of a child commission and at Ministry of education her biggest achievement was to purchase illegal photocopied text books for children.

She is a  dunce!

Originally Posted by TK:

Overall, including high school and tertiary education (UG, Technical Institute, CPCE, etc), the answer is a resounding NO!

The students who are doing well are what we call the "in spite of" kids (usually gifted).  They will succeed in spite of the schools they attend. They have the resources, usually come from affluent families or families who risk all to provide extra lessons, etc.

The kids who are not succeeding (the majority) are the "because of" kids.  They are not succeeding because of the design and structure of the current education system. Guyana does not have much services for students with learning disabilities, where a lot of work needs to be done.

The students who take 20 subjects are the outliers; you can count them on one hand- that's not typical of the test takers.

Don't let the fat one dupe you.

Guyana is so far behind they do not even have the language of a 21st century education system.

Originally Posted by TK:

Overall, including high school and tertiary education (UG, Technical Institute, CPCE, etc), the answer is a resounding NO!

NO is a word any FOOL can use even one who is causing American Kids to be at the bottom of the barrel with regards to Education.

Manickchand was a failure in the legal profession, she was a complete waste of time at social services overseeing the appointment of a pedophile to the rights of a child commission and at Ministry of education her biggest achievement was to purchase illegal photocopied text books for children.

She is a  dunce!

Look where she is now? Where are you? Trying to get a minista wuk? Whose the dunce? Go look in the mirror.

Alena, Leave him to drown in his IGNORANCE!!!  He thought he was special but was ignored, so now he is bitter.  It is the normal "COOLIE" attitude!!!

What exactly is "coolie" attitude?

She is a  dunce!

Look where she is now? Where are you? Trying to get a minista wuk? Whose the dunce? Go look in the mirror.

HAHAHAHAHA      HEHEHEHEHEHE 

Dont forget jumping like a monkey from Party to Party

Originally Posted by TK:

Forgive TK for his being too young and display some ignorance of the education standards in Guyana before the PNC dictatorship. After the PNC dictatorship, Guyana did not have money to feed the people. Where would they have money to spend on education?

There has been a switch, but overall no improvement. My old high school has improved under PPP. But my old undergraduate college (UG) has gotten worse under PPP. Is this an overall improvement?

How does CXC compare to GCE as far as the content etc?

I think it is a fair comparison.  I took a combination of both and I can tell you some CXC subjects seemed a little tougher than GCE. 

Originally Posted by TK:

There has been a switch, but overall no improvement. My old high school has improved under PPP. But my old undergraduate college (UG) has gotten worse under PPP. Is this an overall improvement?

U wan UG scholar! 

Get all the benefits for yourself and push the rest down. "Crabs in a Barrel" Ever heard the saying???

Skeldon man:

I visited Skeldon Lutheran 2 years ago to check upon some relatives who attend that school (their father had died leaving 4 girls behind and their mom).

The floor was so dinghy and nasty, I just stood there dumbfounded and speechless. I had been hearing how the PPP improved education, and was shocked to see the reality on the ground. Different year, some nonsense.

Get all the benefits for yourself and push the rest down. "Crabs in a Barrel" Ever heard the saying???

Like Jagdeo good buddy...Ed AHmad

Skeldon man:

I visited Skeldon Lutheran 2 years ago to check upon some relatives who attend that school (their father had died leaving 4 girls behind and their mom).

The floor was so dinghy and nasty, I just stood there dumbfounded and speechless. I had been hearing how the PPP improved education, and was shocked to see the reality on the ground. Different year, some nonsense.

And you did not take a Photo of the condition. Oh you did not have a camera.

Like Jagdeo good buddy...Ed AHmad

Ed Ahmad certainly does not fit that category.

Originally Posted by TK:

U wan UG scholar! 

Yes I started UG in 1992 (October) just when PNC was voted out so I saw the state PNC had it in. I can compare it with the state PPP has it today. Manikchand was a year behind me. Nandalall was doing Law at the same time. Donald Ramotar and I did one class, Labor Economics, together as he was two years ahead of me. What is the point you're trying to make?

The last report of the CARICOM Commission on Youth Development, "Eye on the Future: Invest in Youth Now for the Community Tomorrow", noted that the primary education dropout rate was “at a staggering height” in Guyana.

The Ministry of Education itself also reported that nearly 7,000 children drop out of our primary and secondary schools every year.

These are the things Minister Manickchand will avoid mentioning in her elections campaign.

Originally Posted by TK:

Ksazma,

How can primary and high school education improve without top notch tertiary institutions like UG and CPCE? 

Overall, I would say there are some improvements if you benchmark with the PNC, as the PPP likes to do.  If you benchmark to the world standards, we are 3 decades behind.

Plumpy is a square peg.  It's an affront to the nation to put a square peg to run education.

Skeldon man:

JB, I hate to say this. YOU ARE A COMPULSIVE LIAR. I visited the schools in and around Skeldon evertime I am there(Last time I was there June 2014). Every school(primary and high) has a fulltime janitor and security guard. They are always clean. Don't come here and spew your early morning weekend sea of hogwash. The schools are not a cesspit. The yards are clean and the principals and headmasters/headmistresses see to that. The outside of the school yards are littered with garbage. This is not the fault of the government; it's the duty of the town council to clean it up. 
Get a grip here and tell the truth. Remember, I grew up in Line Path.

Minister Manikchand gave it to the FOOLS!!

PPP is now hitting the campaign trail and Priya is giving the Racist Granger and the Afrocentric Nationalists PNC shytings.

PNC wheels are falling off.

Anyone knows Granger's credentials - resume, anything?

A few items:

Queen's College Alumnus.

Diploma in International Relations, University of the West Indies.

Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship, University of Maryland.

Lecturer, Army Command and Staff College, Nigeria.

Graduate, Mons Officer Cadet School, UK.

Graduate, University of Guyana, History major.

Adjunct Professor, National Defence University, Washington DC, USA.

Brigadier, Guyana Defence Force.

Anyone knows Granger's credentials - resume, anything?

A few items:

Queen's College Alumnus.

Diploma in International Relations, University of the West Indies.

Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship, University of Maryland.

Lecturer, Army Command and Staff College, Nigeria.

Graduate, Mons Officer Cadet School, UK.

Graduate, University of Guyana, History major.

Adjunct Professor, National Defence University, Washington DC, USA.

Brigadier, Guyana Defence Force.

go easy on them