Teixeira, others remember Mrs Jagan

- During ‘Night of Reflection’at Red House

GUYANA’s first female President Mrs. Janet Jagan was saluted by the Executive members of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), the party she co-founded with her husband Dr. Cheddi Jagan, as a stalwart in Guyana’s history and a woman of substance who dedicated a significant part of her life struggling for the betterment of hundreds of thousands of Guyanese.High ranking party officials, Ms. Gail Teixeira and Mr. Hydar Ally were among those who reflected on the life of Mrs Jagan at a function held at the Cheddi Jagan Research Centre in High Street, Kingston on Wednesday last.

Former president of Guyana Janet Jagan during her early political career

Both Ally and Teixeira fittingly reflected on the life and many contributions of this ‘amazing woman’ to a nation which she dedicated her entire adult lifetime to, leaving the United States where she was born and making Guyana her home.
The event was chaired by Women’s Progressive Organisation (WPO) General Secretary, Ms. Sheila Veerasammy, who described Mrs Jagan, who was also the founder of the WPO, as “God’s gift to the Guyanese people, especially to the women of Guyana”.
When she came to Guyana in December of 1943, she immediately recognised the harsh living and working conditions of our women and worked assiduously to change it, Veerasammy said, adding: “We will forever be indebted to this remarkable human being, a teacher, a friend, a comrade of the poor and the under privileged.”
“Her sterling contributions towards the development of Guyana through the roads she travelled and some of her successes were so great, that we must reflect on them to ensure that our young generation learn and are aware of what one extraordinary woman has done for her nation.” she continued.

I sincerely salute the memory of Mrs Janet Jagan who made an enormous contribution to the political, economic and social development of Guyana from the 1950s through the 1990s.

To call Mrs Jagan Mother of the Nation, however, is to demean the meanings of motherhood and nationhood, if not the lady herself.

The Guyanese nation has many mothers, the mother of every citizen who makes up the nation. They must dutifully be remembered just as we rightly remember Mrs Jagan.

I sincerely salute the memory of Mrs Janet Jagan who made an enormous contribution to the political, economic and social development of Guyana from the 1950s through the 1990s.

To call Mrs Jagan Mother of the Nation, however, is to demean the meanings of motherhood and nationhood, if not the lady herself.

The Guyanese nation has many mothers, the mother of every citizen who makes up the nation. They must dutifully be remembered just as we rightly remember Mrs Jagan.

lol...

If Dr Jagan IS the Father of the Nation, why is she not the Mother of the Nation?

Who is Mother of the United States?

Send Vishnu Bisram to do a poll in Guyana on one question:

Is Janet Jagan the Mother of the Nation? YES or NO.

The answer will shock you.

I readily concede that Janet Jagan is Mother of the PPP.

I asked you a simple question but you asking me ah haad haad one.  Merika nah gat Mother.

Awright bhai. Leh we play on. Merika gat Founding Fathers. No Mother. Why should Guyana have one Mother?

Because he name Guyana and Guyana is unique.

Originally Posted by Django:

Oii Nehru who seh Dr J is the father of the nation????

he was a great man i have great respect for him,bai he

got to be turning in his grave to see behavior of the

current cabal of the party.

Bai Djang, who would you consider the father of the nation?

You have a point, D. Our Father fathered some big crooks.

I would say that he would have been very disappointed with Jagdeo, Anil, Kellawan and Baksh.

God bless her soul. The mother of the nation indeed.

Janet was the first woman who was brave enough to take on the British Masters who treated Guyanese like filth.

Janet was also brave enough to take up women issues and rights.

She also wrote children stories and possible started the Mirror Newspaper.

To deny Janet her rightful place in Guyana's history is being deceitful. Many Blacks in the PNC did not like Janet because she was of Jewish origin. Shame on them.

Janet Jagan was a monster who did as much damage to Guyana as Forbes Burnham did.   No wonder they were lovers.  Evidently when he dumped her she developed a huge rage towards Afro Guyanese.

Who introduced the party card to appoint incompetent people to positions? Janet Jagan!

Bai Djang, who would you consider the father of the nation?

Skelly,many individuals contributed for Guyana

self government,independence and economic

development,very difficult to pick one them

for the father of the nation.

Many Blacks in the PNC did not like Janet because she was of Jewish origin. Shame on them.

This explains my point. Blacks comprise more than one-third of Guyana's population. They are overwhelmingly PNC supporters. If many blacks did not like Janet Jagan, how could she be their Mother? After all, blacks are a big portion of the nation.

Janet was the first woman who was brave enough to take on the British Masters who treated Guyanese like filth.

To deny Janet her rightful place in Guyana's history is being deceitful. Many Blacks in the PNC did not like Janet because she was of Jewish origin. Shame on them.

Black people do not like Janet Jagan because she HATED them.

In addition when Janet Jagan arrived she JOINED a group of middle class Georgetown women who were already involved in politics.

I know that you were stuck in your mudflats so thought that some white foreigner started things but Guyanese were quite involvement in their self improvement.  It is the Burnhamist and Jaganite re write of history to suggest otherwise.

Many Blacks in the PNC did not like Janet because she was of Jewish origin. Shame on them.

This explains my point. Blacks comprise more than one-third of Guyana's population. They are overwhelmingly PNC supporters. If many blacks did not like Janet Jagan, how could she be their Mother? After all, blacks are a big portion of the nation.

Blacks AND mixed Guyanese comprise over 40% of the population.  They do NOT like Janet Jagan.  People must admit that the PNC not only gets almost all of the black vote, but they also get the majority of the mixed votes as well.

Given that not every Indian likes Janet Jagan I don't know how she can be mother.  Her popularity is a RURAL Indian phenomenon!  70$ of Guyana doesn't fit into this category.

possible started the Mirror Newspaper.

Thanks for furnishing proof that she was a communist monster who worshipped the USSR and Cuba and dreamed of converting Guyana into a nation like those.

really . . . dem anti-colonial black people in post WWII British Guyana were a bunch of antisemites, huh?

banna, get up off your knees and contemplate your God (not kwamee) for a change

Originally Posted by Wally:

Comrade Janet is clearly the mother of the PPP party.  No other PPP leader put their stamp and their traits on the party more than Comrade Janet. 

WallY... you got it right mother of the PPP not mother

of the NATION.

Comrade Janet is clearly the mother of the PPP party.  No other PPP leader put their stamp and their traits on the party more than Comrade Janet. 

no one is arguing dat

She was a complex woman. Probably the most complex leader Guyana every had. One moment she would curse you out so bad that you would want to cry in front of her. Then the next moment she would ask you if you are hungry then she would start to prepare a sandwich for you. That is the nature of the woman.

Wally

Dat is why that Party is such a pile of councie.

Many of these low breed comrades fail to recognize that this woman was a traitor to her own country. She shunned and rejected the freedoms and ideals that many in this great country the USA fight for daily.

Janet Jagan embraced communism to the death, she was a great believer in all things communist and corrupt. 

This of course seems lost on many, she was not fighting for Guyanese she was fighting to dominate and subjugate Guyanese to the whims and fancies of her bullshit dreams she could not achieve in America because she was a loser.

How is he the father of the nation or she the mother of it? I would reject both for that title. Because of them we are in this quagmire; she more since we got jagdeo the uber crook beause of her.

The PPP and these low breed comrades love to throw around this bullshit about the Jagans somehow being holier than thou and fathers and mothers of the nation.

Listen I whole heartedly reject these morons as being any such thing for the nation. They were crooks and selfish power drunk tools who are responsible for destroying Guyana to stroke their own ego. It is time they be accurately recognized in such light.

You are a maleducated fool. Not because you and other of your ilk decides to iconize her and make her your mother you think you  can thrust her down our throats.  She is not my mother nor did anything she represent was to my interest.

She was a communist so her Jewishness was insignificant to her life since she rejected it. Blacks are Christians and have no historical problems with Jews. Jesus was a jew.

Further, Jews were central to our origination as the Ashkenazi  were here from the beginning.Many Amerindians still have Jewish last names. My grand mother did. I am sure it was not by accident.

She was a complex woman. Probably the most complex leader Guyana every had. One moment she would curse you out so bad that you would want to cry in front of her. Then the next moment she would ask you if you are hungry then she would start to prepare a sandwich for you. That is the nature of the woman.

Bro, I am sorry to say u r confused on the word complex. To me a complex person could be genius who has peculiar habits. What u said about the lady, sounds more to me like she was possessed by some kind of spirit. She had a contempteous stare. One could tell what was going on in her mind.  

Do u know how many ppl were dumped on the wayside by the Jagans. Some of the original grassroots WHO MADE THE PPP were sidelined by those two if any person dared to question them.

Once again, the PPP is the people-Jagans just happen to head it. It is not his party.

Starting the Mirror is a great achievement, I tell yuh we are really screwed.

You rass cannot achieve 10 percent of what this woman has, HORSIE.

As a foreigner, she formed at one time the biggest women's organisation in Guyana and led it with over 10,000 members and in the dark PNC days.

Gosh Man Horse, Janet even give Guyana its messiah - [sic] Bharat Jagdeo [sic].  LOL

Well now you know I was joking.

Do not take that one serious, that was only throw in to wake up YUJI.

This was the lowest of her legacy, the imposition of Jagdeo on the people.

Even the cuckolding of Chedi in London with miles was not this low.