World Bank, IMF to test Guyana’s Financial Sector – Finance Minister

August 17, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

In an effort to assess the resilience of the country’s financial sector and its ability to deal with crises, Government has requested the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank to conduct a Financial Sector Assessment Program (FSAP). This is according to Finance Minister, Winston Jordan. He said that this is likely to be done in 2016. The FSAP is a comprehensive and in-depth assessment of a country’s Financial Sector. It analyzes the sector, the quality of the regulatory and supervisory framework, and the capacity to manage and resolve financial problems. Jordan explained that the goal of FSAP is twofold:  to gauge the stability of the Financial Sector and to assess its potential contribution to growth and development. He said that Government certainly looks forward to this independent review and will consider the ensuing recommendations to strengthen the Financial Sector and hence promote the development of Guyana. The Finance Minister said that consideration would also be given to bringing the Credit Unions under the supervision and regulation of the Bank of Guyana and to having a Deposit Insurance Scheme established. He said that work has already commenced on the development of a legal and institutional framework for market conduct and financial consumer protection.

Finance Minister, Winston Jordan

As for the Credit Bureau, the Finance Minister noted that it is making measured progress towards having credit information from the Credit Information Providers and subsequently making credit reports accessible. As it relates to the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA), which is a measure instituted by the United States of America to combat tax evasion by US persons holding investments in foreign accounts, Jordan said that the Government has indicated its intention to sign the Model 1 Reciprocal Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA). The Finance Minister said that the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) has been identified as the competent authority to receive and submit the financial information of customers identified as US persons by the reporting institutions.  He said that this information will be sent by the GRA to the United States Inland Revenue Service (USIRS). He said, too, that the reporting institutions, particularly the commercial banks, have already begun the process of registering with the USIRS as compliant Foreign Financial Institutions and are putting measures in place to ensure compliance with all reporting requirements. As far as financial sectoral developments go, the Minister said that throughout last year and the first half of 2015, the licensed financial sector, including the insurance sector, remained strong; it was adequately capitalized, profitable and with high excess holdings of liquid assets. By the end of December 2014, he revealed, total assets of the licensed financial institutions stood at $508.9 billion, which is 3.6 percent above the level at the end of 2013, with the commercial banks accounting for $413.8 billion or 81.3 percent of total assets. As at June 30, 2015, the Finance Minister said that total assets for the Licensed Financial Institutions (LFIs) amounted to $525.6 billion, 3.3 percent above December 2014. Overall, he said that the level of assets in the system is indicative of an environment that is stimulating and promoting growth. With regard to the insurance industry, the Finance Minister noted that it has rebounded somewhat since the calamitous collapse of CLICO in 2008. He said that that event had a significantly negative impact on the industry’s financial strength in that year. He said that the recovery, notwithstanding net premiums reported by the long-term insurance sector, were only 42.3 percent of the amount prior to the CLICO debacle.  Jordan said that this is an indication that many policyholders might have lost confidence in the long-term insurance sector. He said that the systemic failures by CLICO have reinforced the need for enhanced regulation in the insurance sector. In this respect, Jordan said that the drafting of the new Insurance Act and attendant Regulations was finalised and they are being examined with a view of bringing them to the National Assembly for passage. In the meanwhile, Jordan noted that efforts will be made to build supervisory capacity in the insurance sector while a risk-based supervisory framework will be developed to supervise and regulate the sector.

Originally Posted by TK:

LOL! I can think of several Guyanese living inside Guyana who can do this. It is pretty obvious as to the structure and nature of financial system.

Can do, and doing a good job are two different things. Alexei said he could do the fibre optic project. The barber of Queens said he could build a road. Ramotar said he could run the country. You get the idea now I hope.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:
Originally Posted by TK:

LOL! I can think of several Guyanese living inside Guyana who can do this. It is pretty obvious as to the structure and nature of financial system.

Can do, and doing a good job are two different things. Alexei said he could do the fibre optic project. The barber of Queens said he could build a road. Ramotar said he could run the country. You get the idea now I hope.

Unlike the fiber optic thing, this is all public knowledge. There is nothing mysterious about the Guyanese financial system.

Originally Posted by TK:

OK, given that, remind me what exactly is so funny about:

"Government certainly looks forward to this independent review . . ."

as a economist with better-than-most knowledge of Guyana's government and politics you surely must understand the utility of the World Bank/IMF imprimatur

Originally Posted by TK:

as a economist with better-than-most knowledge of Guyana's government and politics you surely must understand the utility of the World Bank/IMF imprimatur

This is common knowledge. What are the specific questions they hope to get answered?

Originally Posted by TK:

This is common knowledge. What are the specific questions they hope to get answered?

dude, what is it about "independent" that is so hard for u to understand?

read my full post

sounds personal

Originally Posted by TK:

dude, what is it about "independent" that is so hard for u to understand

read my full post

sounds personal

Guyanese could summarize and extend these matters of common knowledge. They will be as independent as Anand Golsarran and Christopher Ram, no?

Originally Posted by TK:

read my full post

sounds personal

Guyanese could summarize and extend these matters of common knowledge. They will be as independent as Anand Golsarran and Christopher Ram, no?

this is politics sir . . . stop pretending you don't understand the difference between the UN brand and Ram & McRae

like i said, this carping over nothing seems personal

Originally Posted by TK:

read my full post

sounds personal

this is politics sir . . . stop pretending you don't understand the difference between the UN brand and Ram & McRae

Several agencies in Guyana have INDEPENDENT public servants doing some of the same stuff they asking IMF/WB to do. Or is it that they only trust old army officers? Perhaps they need to get some army men 65 years and older to summarize what independent public servants are already doing. What yuh say to dat?

Originally Posted by TK:

read my full post

sounds personal

Several agencies in Guyana have INDEPENDENT public servants doing some of the same stuff they asking IMF/WB to do. Or is it that they only trust old army officers? Perhaps they need to get some army men 65 years and older to summarize what independent public servants are already doing. What yuh say to dat?

this should be beneath you . . . i will comment no further

This gov't. is too busy trying to score political points against their opponents. They need to get serious with the business of running this country and making things work for everyone. Everyday they are out with some bullshit about the billions that were being siphoned off. We all know there was corruption in the PPP gov't just like it is elsewhere in the world, but for god sake stop blowing it out of proportion.

Originally Posted by TK:

If a Guyanese did it then we will hear that they are pro government, or anti PPP.  Let Jagdeo scream at the WB/IMF if their conclusions are not to his liking.