National Psychiatric Hospital lacks trained staff – official

FEBRUARY 15, 2010 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

FORT CANJE, BERBICE – The National Psychiatric Hospital at Fort Canje in Region Six is a source of concern to those close to it.

Last week, a source close to the mental institution who requested anonymity, said that many things are needed in order for the facility to be able to function as it should and until then, both staff and residents would continue to be short changed.

The Victoria Block

There still is the need for a halfway home for rehabilitated residents. This home should be equipped with the necessary facilities to ensure a smooth transition back to society and occupants would be monitored by minimum staff.

In so doing, the individuals would learn to be independent once again, gain employment and enjoy the freedom of being unsupervised. Years ago, the necessary recommendations were made but nothing materialised.

While the health of some residents has improved, they have been rejected by their relatives, the source said, and their needs differ from those of the actual patients, “Once these people are at the ‘mental’ (National Psychiatric Hospital) there is a stigma attached and this could lead to another attack.”

The spokesperson noted that a study done in the late 1990s revealed that over 80 percent of patients at that time had been at the institution for the greater part of their lives. There is also an open door policy for residents where many are free to roam the compound but must be under supervision whenever it is necessary to go outside of the National Psychiatric Hospital.

According to the source, the National Psychiatric Hospital is home to some 144 residents, with 75 percent being men.

“It is badly in need of specially trained and capable staff. Many of the present staff members have little training in this field. A new batch of nurses came a few weeks ago but they are not trained in the psychiatric field. Very few of the present staffers are properly trained. Training is usually done at Fort Canje with personnel from Georgetown.

A section of the National Psychiatric Hospital

Years ago, there were peace corps volunteers at the ‘mental’ but we no longer have them.”

The spokesperson also indicated that there is one psychiatrist and two interns but there is need for another psychiatrist. A medical doctor visits once weekly and a full time Medex is stationed at the National Psychiatric Hospital as well as a social worker.

On an annual basis a subvention is allocated to assist the facility, “The financial aspect is managed by the Region Six Administration. There was a Management Committee but its life ended years ago.”

The source noted that the eight chalets at the facility are all in need of some form of maintenance. Some of them, though new need upgraded sanitary facilities. It is the hope that the architecture on the ‘Victoria Block’ would be preserved.

The occupation therapy section was recently rehabilitated and functions in an average capacity but only offers service to residents of the National Psychiatric Hospital.

In May last year, a patient in open ward went berserk and attacked five other patients, one of whom subsequently died. The spokesperson said that situation is now under control and that all potentially violent persons are placed in single rooms which are all more secured.

Yesterday, another staff of the National Psychiatric Hospital said that a lot of attention was given to the facility last week especially in view of the Berbice Regional Health Authority’s seventh Award Ceremony,

“They cleared the bush, slashed the compound and did a lot of general cleaning for the function but after the function things gone back to normal, they forget about us.

There are not even adequate security guards in the compound, and no professional guards and at least one of them is deaf. Can you imagine a deaf guard working at the mental to protect us staff and the government’s property?”

Last Friday when the Kaieteur News visited the National Psychiatric Hospital, Administrator Leila Clarke-Daniels declined to comment on many of the issues. However, she indicated that she is now back with the institution on a special contract which began two months ago.

Mrs. Leila Clarke-Daniels retired in 2007. She said that many of the residents of the institution have been living there for more than 20 years while others come and go. Apart from psychiatric ailments, there are those affected by substance abuse, the youngest being 17. According to her, the facility needs overall special attention

FORT CANJE, BERBICE – The National Psychiatric Hospital at Fort Canje in Region Six is a source of concern to those close to it.

Last week, a source close to the mental institution who requested anonymity, said that many things are needed in order for the facility to be able to function as it should and until then, both staff and residents would continue to be short changed.

The Victoria Block

There still is the need for a halfway home for rehabilitated residents. This home should be equipped with the necessary facilities to ensure a smooth transition back to society and occupants would be monitored by minimum staff.

In so doing, the individuals would learn to be independent once again, gain employment and enjoy the freedom of being unsupervised. Years ago, the necessary recommendations were made but nothing materialised.

While the health of some residents has improved, they have been rejected by their relatives, the source said, and their needs differ from those of the actual patients, “Once these people are at the ‘mental’ (National Psychiatric Hospital) there is a stigma attached and this could lead to another attack.”

The spokesperson noted that a study done in the late 1990s revealed that over 80 percent of patients at that time had been at the institution for the greater part of their lives. There is also an open door policy for residents where many are free to roam the compound but must be under supervision whenever it is necessary to go outside of the National Psychiatric Hospital.

According to the source, the National Psychiatric Hospital is home to some 144 residents, with 75 percent being men.

“It is badly in need of specially trained and capable staff. Many of the present staff members have little training in this field. A new batch of nurses came a few weeks ago but they are not trained in the psychiatric field. Very few of the present staffers are properly trained. Training is usually done at Fort Canje with personnel from Georgetown.

Years ago, there were peace corps volunteers at the ‘mental’ but we no longer have them.”

The spokesperson also indicated that there is one psychiatrist and two interns but there is need for another psychiatrist. A medical doctor visits once weekly and a full time Medex is stationed at the National Psychiatric Hospital as well as a social worker.

On an annual basis a subvention is allocated to assist the facility, “The financial aspect is managed by the Region Six Administration. There was a Management Committee but its life ended years ago.”

The source noted that the eight chalets at the facility are all in need of some form of maintenance. Some of them, though new need upgraded sanitary facilities. It is the hope that the architecture on the ‘Victoria Block’ would be preserved.

The occupation therapy section was recently rehabilitated and functions in an average capacity but only offers service to residents of the National Psychiatric Hospital.

In May last year, a patient in open ward went berserk and attacked five other patients, one of whom subsequently died. The spokesperson said that situation is now under control and that all potentially violent persons are placed in single rooms which are all more secured.

Yesterday, another staff of the National Psychiatric Hospital said that a lot of attention was given to the facility last week especially in view of the Berbice Regional Health Authority’s seventh Award Ceremony,

“They cleared the bush, slashed the compound and did a lot of general cleaning for the function but after the function things gone back to normal, they forget about us.

There are not even adequate security guards in the compound, and no professional guards and at least one of them is deaf. Can you imagine a deaf guard working at the mental to protect us staff and the government’s property?”

Last Friday when the Kaieteur News visited the National Psychiatric Hospital, Administrator Leila Clarke-Daniels declined to comment on many of the issues. However, she indicated that she is now back with the institution on a special contract which began two months ago.

Mrs. Leila Clarke-Daniels retired in 2007. She said that many of the residents of the institution have been living there for more than 20 years while others come and go. Apart from psychiatric ailments, there are those affected by substance abuse, the youngest being 17. According to her, the facility needs overall special attention

FEBRUARY 15, 2010

This article close to 5 yrs,did the PPP address the issue

don't worry this will be a top priority for the new incoming

gov't.

yuji, yuh really want mek mental health a political issue?

Fine. I'm all for it.

In that regard, I suggest that a post-PPP government despatch the following megalomaniacs speedily to the National Psychiatric Hospital in Berbice:

[1] Dr Dr Dr [what madness!] Bharrat Jagdeo

[2] Clement James Rohee [goat mentality]

[3] Dr Roger Luncheon [airy-fairy cloud dweller with unintelligible tongue]

[4] Dr Ashni Singh [spending public funds like his own salary, he gotta be mad]

[5] Donald Ramotar [thinking with Jagdeo's brain instead of his own]

[6] Dr Bobby Ramroop [for believing that after Bookers Guiana, British Guiana and Burnham Guyana it's now time for Bobby Guyana, entitling him to unlimited national resources]

Looks like this thread was shot down before we all make a contribution for the good of Guyanese.

Too bad.

Blame yourself, sir.

You want to make mental health a political issue.

I say mental health is a social issue.

Let's keep it that way.

Looks like this thread was shot down before we all make a contribution for the good of Guyanese.

Too bad.

Blame yourself, sir.

Let's keep it that way.

Gil

Perhaps I should have worded it better.

My original intent was to make this a top election issue and priority. Our suicide rate is quite a disgrace. Let us bring politicians to shame if they do not want to address the issue of mental health.

Anyway, I am done with this thread. At least I tried.

Too bad.

Blame yourself, sir.

Let's keep it that way.

Gil

My original intent was to make this a top election issue and priority. Our suicide rate is quite a disgrace. Let us bring politicians to shame if they do not want to address the issue of mental health.

Come on Yuji... our  foundation  been dealing with this thing in Guyana since 2006 and PPP people knock it down, why the hell its coming up now at election time, after dozens of youth killed themselves.

What the hell the government been doing since 1992 ??

Thanks for the list Gil, our team will design training manuals and initiate the shock treatment.  You wanna help ?

Everything in Guyana is a political issue.

Rama, you want to tell me what in Guyana is not ruled by PPP politics ??

Come on Rama, you must be a smart guy.

The Victoria Block

bar-rat have five doctrine he can go work here 

Originally Posted by Tola:

Too bad.

Blame yourself, sir.

Let's keep it that way.

Gil

Come on Yuji... our  foundation  been dealing with this thing in Guyana since 2006 and PPP people knock it down, why the hell its coming up now at election time, after dozens of youth killed themselves.

Thanks for the list Gil, our team will design training manuals and initiate the shock treatment.  You wanna help ?

I do not know too much about your organization. Does it work in assisting Guyanese with social and mental problems ?

What organization is it and what does it really do and who is in charge ?

How is it funded ?

Please do not get angry at me for asking but it nice to know that there are organizations reaching out to people in need.

Originally Posted by Tola:

Too bad.

Blame yourself, sir.

Let's keep it that way.

Gil

I do not know too much about your organization. Does it work in assisting Guyanese with social and mental problems ?

What organization is it and what does it really do and who is in charge ?

How is it funded ?

Please do not get angry at me for asking but it nice to know that there are organizations reaching out to people in need.

Yuji, I am not angry with your question and I will Dialog you.

You might understand my reason for being angry at the present government

and support a change in Guyana.

I am also angry  that the government allow  people to placed roadblocks in our efforts when we don't pay their bribes.  We pay our own way to GY and fundraise overseas  to help the kids, who face severe challenges, causing many to take their own life.

But on a positive side, some of the school dropouts retuned to school on our program, graduated from HS and UG and are now teachers at the school they dropped from. A good mentor for students with similar challenges.