Originally Posted by Django:

Good morning.

The picture shows the world's rarest postage stamp, a British Guiana One-Cent Magenta. It was sold by the auction house Sotheby's last month to an anonymous buyer. How much did the new owner pay for this stamp?

Image result for british guiana one-cent magenta

[Take your time. I have an appointment this morning and should return around noon.]

$9.5 million dollars

US$$ or GUY$$?

Originally Posted by Observer:

Lord, people have money to waste. They could have sent it to the poor and needy.

If you take the time to read about this stamp, you will see that since it was first sold, every buyer made a handsome profit. It is an investment, from the point of view of each buyer. And, who knows if each buyer doesn't contribute to charitable causes? Be careful with your assumptions.

Originally Posted by Anjali:

Good morning.

The picture shows the world's rarest postage stamp, a British Guiana One-Cent Magenta. It was sold by the auction house Sotheby's last month to an anonymous buyer. How much did the new owner pay for this stamp?

[Take your time. I have an appointment this morning and should return around noon.]

Good morning

9.5 million dollars

US$$ or GUY$$?

Originally Posted by Riya:

Good morning!

$9.5 million

US$$ or GUY$$?

Guys, this is a Guyanese forum and we are discussing a Guyana postage stamp. Besides members, there are Guyanese visitors who follow our thread. We must provide precise currency information because there is a big variation between Guyana and US money.

Originally Posted by Anjali:

Good morning.

Good morning

9.5 million dollars

US$$ or GUY$$?

US$$

Good morning.

[1] How many mosques and how many temples were in Guyana 145 years ago?

[2] How many mosques and how many temples were in Guyana 98 years ago?

I shall respond to 4 correct answers.

[1] 2 Temples     0 Mosque

[2]43 Temples   46 Mosque

Correct.

Congrats!

[INTERPRETATION: In 1870 the Hindus had already built 2 places of worship while the Muslims had none. Forty-seven years later, in 1917, the Muslims surpassed the Hindus by 3 places of worship. Great job!]

Good morning.

Correct.

Congrats!

[INTERPRETATION: In 1870 the Hindus had already built 2 places of worship while the Muslims had none. Forty-seven years later, in 1917, the Muslims surpassed the Hindus by 3 places of worship. Great job!]

Thank's Gill,tough tickler i found it at Google books

Guyana:Race and Politics among Africans and

East Indian. By R.A.Glasgow

Good morning.

Correct.

Congrats!

Thank's Gill,tough tickler i found it at Google books

Guyana:Race and Politics among Africans and

East Indian. By R.A.Glasgow

Hey brother, "Great job!" refers to the Muslim community of 1917, not to Django.

But you did fine research, indeed. Give yourself a pat on the shoulder.

Next one.

In 1918 the colonial government in Guyana proposed a scheme to set up a cooperative rice mill with poor rice farmers as members. That proposal was vigorously opposed by a particular big landowner and rice miller. Who was that man?

Gayadeen.

Great job!

Congrats!

That Gayadeen guy wanted to continue squeezing his poor tenant farmers who wanted some independence. Thanks to Dr Walter Rodney for mentioning it.

That's all for today. Have a nice weekend, everyone.

Good morning. A-salaam-o-alai-kum. Namaste. Ah wha y'ah do gyal?

A meteor shower occurs when a cluster of meteors enters the earth's atmosphere at or about the same time and burn themselves out before touching ground. A fireball is a brighter than usual meteor. An exceptionally bright fireball is called a bolide which explodes with an audible sound.

On December 11, 1935 there was a fireball and bolide explosion over Guyana, making the sky above red hot. What part of Guyana did most people witness that rare event?

Marudi Mountain Event

Three asteroids exploded in tremendous fireballs a mile above the jungle floor of Brazil and British Guyana close to Marudi Mountain, igniting a ground fire that destroyed over 800 square miles of rain forest.

(I heard my parents talking about it.)

The Marudi mountains are in Region 9/Rupununi. Indeed, in 1935 the fireball and airburst took place there. It coincided and was probably related to the annual Geminid meteor showers. According to Wikipedia, "The meteors from this shower are slow moving, can be seen in December and usually peak around December 13–14, with the date of highest intensity being the morning of December 14."

Congrats!!

APPRECIATION

I shall be volunteering my skills in my neighbourhood for the next six months, starting tomorrow. As such I regret I shall be unable to carry on with our brain-tickler project. If you guys feel it is worth continuing, feel free to carry on.

LEMME TICKLE ALLYUH BRAIN was started in January this year. It has chalked up 11,925 views as I write, with 3,046 replies running through 77 pages.

For me, it has been an exciting and gratifying experience. I wish to thank chiefly the following persons for their regular and active participation which made our thread exciting: in alphabetical order, Anjali, Django, Mars, Observer and Riya. You guys have devoted lots of your time and research to provide priceless information about Guyana for free. Honor before money. I also wish to recognize the occasional contribution of the following persons who thought it worthwhile to support and thus encourage us: in alphabetical order, Ball, Cain, kp, Shaitaan, Skelly and Warrior. I am indebted to you all and wish you the best that life has to offer.

APPRECIATION

I shall be volunteering my skills in my neighbourhood for the next six months, starting tomorrow. As such I regret I shall be unable to carry on with our brain-tickler project. If you guys feel it is worth continuing, feel free to carry on.

LEMME TICKLE ALLYUH BRAIN was started in January this year. It has chalked up 11,925 views as I write, with 3,046 replies running through 77 pages.

For me, it has been an exciting and gratifying experience. I wish to thank chiefly the following persons for their regular and active participation which made our thread exciting: in alphabetical order, Anjali, Django, Mars, Observer and Riya. You guys have devoted lots of your time and research to provide priceless information about Guyana for free. Honor before money. I also wish to recognize the occasional contribution of the following persons who thought it worthwhile to support and thus encourage us: in alphabetical order, Ball, Cain, kp, Shaitaan, Skelly and Warrior. I am indebted to you all and wish you the best that life has to offer.

where you going sing sing or rockers it nice spending time on your topic you be safe 

Good morning

I did not post for the past few days, took some time off for Monday holiday. I loved that thread, it's very informative and I learned a lot. Sir Gil I wish you all the best in your volunteer work and when you come back, hopefully you can start it up again. I must confess I look forward to the questions in the morning and getting the answers. ( I will not forget the 'lily' soap one ). All the best again to Sir Gil and my fellow students, it was fun.

Guys, you can all keep this thread alive. I know Mars, Django and Warrior are capable of posing some challenging questions. I will check in at evening to see how you're managing.

Thank's for checking in bro,i missed the daily brain tickle,

you have the knack to phrase the quizzes.

Yo is right he have the knack to mek yo knack yo head fo get the hansa

ball

Gilly, have you thought about penning your memoirs?  I'm sure it will be a hit.  I can link you up to some major publishing houses as I'm working on my boss's articles and memoirs.   

Gilbakka has written something but it's for his fish family only, with a request to pass it down the bloodline. No need to get fish processors and vendors involved.

OK here goes...first question.

There is a story that a man and not a man
Saw and did not see a bird and not a bird
Perched on a branch and not a branch
And hit him and did not hit him with a rock and not a rock.

How is this possible?

I am going to try and answer this one:

1) An eunuch (had poor eyesight)

2) Saw a bat

3) Holding on to a reed

4) Threw a pumice stone at him and missed