Originally Posted by Django:

let me give you guys one which indian movie show the longest in guyana 

Dosti

both you guys wrong,let me give you a hint it show at empire and run for 68 weeks

Give a hint..what year

i think it the seventy 

SHAAN starring Amitabh Bachchan

Dosti

both you guys wrong,let me give you a hint it show at empire and run for 68 weeks

Give a hint..what year

i think it the seventy 

SHAAN starring Amitabh Bachchan

na keep trying,this movie was so popular it get sold out all the time

This is a sociological brain teaser.

Before the advent of individual pit latrines on the sugar estates, where did sugar workers and their families lawfully relieve themselves?

In the TV show Who Wants to be a Millionaire? you can call a friend for an answer.

For the tickler above, feel free to call your grandfather, grandmother, great aunt, etc.

Over the trench or canals.

Correct. I remember the communal ones at Uitvlugt Estate in the 1950s. Separate ones for males and females.

This is what the Journal of the Board of Agriculture said in 1921:

"On sugar estates the system of sewage disposal is to place latrines over the open drainage trenches. Where a large volume of water is available and the trench is flushed out daily directly into the sea, this system is fairly satisfactory, but in cases where the trenches are small, shallow and inadequately flushed it leaves much to be desired especially as regards the spread of Ankylostomiasis and intestinal diseases generally."

Before the advent of individual pit latrines on the sugar estates, where did sugar workers and their families lawfully relieve themselves?

In the TV show Who Wants to be a Millionaire? you can call a friend for an answer.

For the tickler above, feel free to call your grandfather, grandmother, great aunt, etc.

Correct. I remember the communal ones at Uitvlugt Estate in the 1950s. Separate ones for males and females.

"On sugar estates the system of sewage disposal is to place latrines over the open drainage trenches. Where a large volume of water is available and the trench is flushed out daily directly into the sea, this system is fairly satisfactory, but in cases where the trenches are small, shallow and inadequately flushed it leaves much to be desired especially as regards the spread of Ankylostomiasis and intestinal diseases generally."

you guys know what you saying skeltonman use to swim in these trench

Nah man. Punt trench and drainage trench different. Skelly swam in punt trench, like I did.

Originally Posted by Chameli:

I would like to say it was Sholay (or Enter the Dragon)

even though i saw Kabhi Kabhie 21 times!!!!

Kabhi Kabhi IS the answer.

both movies is nice but its none of these,sholay show at liberty not empire

My last try. Was it FARZ with Jeetendra?

keep trying,jeetendra wear too much white pants

MERA NAAM JOKER starring Raj Kapoor and Dharmendra

na a next good movie but not good enough  for this long 

last try..   Mother India

one of the old greats but not the right one

Dosti

http://youtu.be/lI9j7X-h7Gs

Dosti  is me favourite movie, even today, I must have watched it 100 times.

The songs makes me very emotional because of a specific time/incident in Guyana.

Me late Belvedere friend Ivan Sukhai was getting  married to Doreen Jagan, Oudit's daughter at Port Mourant. Both are now laid to rest  in Virginia.

Weeks before the wedding we were invited to chop wood for the wedding at Ivan's house at Belvedere.

As usual, it was a party with  cook-up.

The late 'Grub' Jaimangal wid his guitar , Spoilers and about ten guys were present.

We ran out of rum and I volunteer with the late Sonny Ratta Ramotar [NY] to get more bottles from Ramkumar's shop nearby.

As we were coming into  the back yard, we were running and I landed in the back drain where they throw the open corn beef or corn mutton tin.

My left foot insole landed on the sharp edges of the tin and I started to bleed.

Dem baie say, drink some more man, it gun stop de bleeding... drunk man logic.

Ivan's  brother Harry[NY] took me to Albion dispensary on his motorcycle, wid an old shirt wrapped around my foot and a  blood trail all along the road.

Years later dispenser Pariaug reminded  me about other humorous things he did for me.

One  time chopping me big  toe wid a  hatchet while making a clothes beater. I will not tell you what I called my toe. Its private.

But Audie Murphy 'To Hell and Back' was showing at Albion community centre and I did not miss it for anything.  

My foot was dresses with stitches  and I return home, went to sleep and about 4:00am I got up to pee, fell down and hit my head on the sharp corner of an arborite desk, returned to the dispensary and got six more stitches.

I am laughing so hard as I write this over 50 years later...

I was on crutches and was also doing photos at the time, which I was not able to do at the wedding.

The day of the wedding, I had a large bandage on my foot and another on my forehead.

Dosti was playing at Albion Yollanda cinema and everyone at the wedding house was calling me Dosti, which was bit of an honour.

Wait til me tell you about being shot on my left arm by Ralph Singh[NY].

True stories...

My one disappointment was not able to photograph Ivan and Doreen's wedding. They were good friends. Ivan lost his sight, died  in Florida after Doreen  and Doren died from natural illness in NY.   

Last edited by Tola
Originally Posted by Tola:

Dosti

http://youtu.be/lI9j7X-h7Gs

Dosti  is me favourite movie, even today, I must have watched it 100 times.

The songs makes me very emotional because of a specific time/incident in Guyana.

Me late Belvedere friend Ivan Sukhai was getting  married to Doreen Jagan, Oudit's daughter at Port Mourant. Both are now laid to rest  in Virginia.

Weeks before the wedding we were invited to chop wood for the wedding at Ivan's house at Belvedere.

As usual, it was a party with  cook-up.

The late 'Grub' Jaimangal wid his guitar , Spoilers and about ten guys were present.

We ran out of rum and I volunteer with the late Sonny Ratta Ramotar [NY] to get more bottles from Ramkumar's shop nearby.

As we were coming into  the back yard, we were running and I landed in the back drain where they throw the open corn beef or corn mutton tin.

My left foot insole landed on the sharp edges of the tin and I started to bleed.

Dem baie say, drink some more man, it gun stop de bleeding... drunk man logic.

Ivan's  brother Harry[NY] took me to Albion dispensary on his motorcycle, wid an old shirt wrapped around my foot and a  blood trail all along the road.

Years later dispenser Pariaug reminded  me about other humorous things he did for me.

One  time chopping me big  toe wid a  hatchet while making a clothes beater. I will not tell you what I called my toe. Its private.

But Audie Murphy 'To Hell and Back' was showing at Albion community centre and I did not miss it for anything.  

My foot was dresses with stitches  and I return home, went to sleep and about 4:00am I got up to pee, fell down and hit my head on the sharp corner of an arborite desk, returned to the dispensary and got six more stitches.

I am laughing so hard as I write this over 50 years later...

I was on crutches and was also doing photos at the time, which I was not able to do at the wedding.

The day of the wedding, I had a large bandage on my foot and another on my forehead.

Dosti was playing at Albion Yollanda cinema and everyone at the wedding house was calling me Dosti, which was bit of an honour.

Wait til me tell you about being shot on my left arm by Ralph Singh[NY].

My one disappointment was not able to photograph Ivan and Doreen's wedding. They were good friends. Ivan lost his sight, died  in Florida after Doreen  and Doren died from natural illness in NY.   

dosti first open at starlight cinema 

Originally Posted by Observer:

Warrior, you need to give better clues.    All the females swooned for Rajesh and rushed to see his movies.  I guess it was Amar Prem, Aradhana, Talash, etc.

was radesh in talash,what better clue it was the longest running movie,starring rajesh khanna,it show at empire in the seventy  

Originally Posted by Tola:

one more try.. Haathi Mere Saathi

bingo,that right when the man elephant get kill and he pull it all over the town how them collie girls cry and i was right there to lent my shoulders 

Me hear you ah good man, Wha else yu lent fa comfort warria

bai me wan gentleman me always try to help the ladies

Nah man. Punt trench and drainage trench different. Skelly swam in punt trench, like I did.

Yeah we swam in the punt trench. However, we use to see warria's dad with a cast net by these logie latrines. Everytime someone takes a crap, the kum kuma and kasie fish use to come up and grab the sh*t. Next you see the net cast over and the man would take the net and ran. Warria ate alot of those kum kuma and kassie fish. That is why he is so smart. Ah dem Skeldon peeple sh*t get am like dah.

You're out of order now, Skelly. Let's stick to brain teasers.

Skelly you mek Warria so.

De baie was good til he meet you.

Look how de baie tun out now.

I have photos of the ten-seater latrine near  Albion school, that is now replaced by out-houses.

The male and female teacher's privacy door used to go missing a lot.

Sometime dem people even thief  de zinc sheets to mek dem own out-house.

The problem with the ten-seaters near de logies,they were always too far to go in an emergency and quite often we would see a man 'walking fast sideways'  with a rum bottle full ah wata.

I am laughing so hard thinking about dat scene. It used to be so funny, but poor guy he might crap on he dhoti.

Sanitation was really bad in the logies. Crapping in bushes and my worse memory is the smell of dead animals and  alligators.       

Last edited by Tola