ATTENTION SHAITAN

You think is only you can attract white woman? Prince Randian had plenty ah dem lang befo yuh aja time.

You and Jagan tek leftova.

I would never marry a white woman chap.

I went apaan jaat in finding a spouse. Just like all the men preceding me for the last hundred years in my family.

and it was a good match wedding

Originally Posted by Anjali:

Egbert Martin

CORRECT.

Egbert "Leo" Martin [1861-1890] had responded to a call from London to the entire British Empire for additional verses to the anthem God Save the Queen. Martin's entry was selected. He also wrote and published poems, not letting his physical disability keep him back.

Congrats!!

Next one.

In the 19th century, indentured immigrants had the option to return to India when their contracts ended, but that posed a problem. The colonial government had to contribute money for their return passage  and sugar planters had to hire and train new labourers. One way they dealt with the problem was to establish land settlements. What year was the first government land settlement established and where?

Originally Posted by Riya:

2nd guess

1871 at Nooten Zuill

My book says 1872 at Nooten Zuill, so I'll accept your answer.

Not our fault.

Nooten Zuill was the first land settlement for Indian indentured immigrants, intended to encourage them to stay in BG. The land settlement scheme was a fiasco, however.

Congrats!!

Tek a hug from Anjali.

2nd guess

1871 at Nooten Zuill

Not our fault.

Nooten Zuill was the first land settlement for Indian indentured immigrants, intended to encourage them to stay in BG. The land settlement scheme was a fiasco, however.

Congrats!!

Tek a hug from Anjali.

Thanks!

My book, A History of Indians in Guyana, said the first attempt was made in 1871 at Nooten Zuill but the land didn't meet approval of the immigrants and none applied.

((hugging Anjali))

2nd guess

1871 at Nooten Zuill

Not our fault.

Congrats!!

Tek a hug from Anjali.

Congrats Riya  a big hug to you  .

Sir Gil can I borrow that book you have   just kidding

2nd guess

1871 at Nooten Zuill

Not our fault.

Congrats!!

Tek a hug from Anjali.

If I lend you the books I get questions from, you will have to run the quiz.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-presence-in-guyana/

The Indian presence was cemented in the country by the colonial administration’s decision to establish exclusive land settlement schemes. After the first 30 years of the indentureship system, it was calculated that about 30, 000 immigrants were entitled to free return passages to India at a cost of $250,000 after their contracts had expired. Within a decade, the number of claimants, and the cost of their passages, had doubled. In order to avoid their responsibility, the planters and the colonial administration developed a number of land settlement schemes – Nooten Zuil and Helena on the East Coast Demerara; Huis ’T Dieren on the Essequibo Coast; Maria’s Pleasure on Wakenaam Island; Bush Lot on the West Coast Berbice; Whim on the Corentyne Coast – to lure the immigrants into accepting land in lieu of their return passage. This, perhaps, was the most significant factor in the permanent settlement of Indians in Guyana.

2nd guess

1871 at Nooten Zuill

Not our fault.

Congrats!!

Tek a hug from Anjali.

Thanks!

My book, A History of Indians in Guyana, said the first attempt was made in 1871 at Nooten Zuill but the land didn't meet approval of the immigrants and none applied.

((hugging Anjali))

As I said, it's not our fault. Different books have varying info. Thanks for sharing what your book says.

2nd guess

1871 at Nooten Zuill

Not our fault.

Congrats!!

Tek a hug from Anjali.

If I lend you the books I get questions from, you will have to run the quizz.

no would not want that, I am ok with you running the quiz, the fun part is getting the answer

2nd guess

1871 at Nooten Zuill

Not our fault.

Congrats!!

Tek a hug from Anjali.

no would not want that, I am ok with you running the quiz, the fun part is getting the answer

Congrats Riya I am late today,it's great you and

Angali holding the fort.

2nd guess

1871 at Nooten Zuill

Not our fault.

Congrats!!

Tek a hug from Anjali.

Did you notice I spelled quiz the wrong way? To avoid a spanking, I just corrected it.

Originally Posted by Django:

"A History of Indians in Guyana" this book is high priced

checked amazon US $345.00

Another rip off. The official records of the history of Indians in Guyana are in very poor state. Most are beyond recovery due to the lack of care shown towards them. So it is not too difficult to put pen to paper and make up stories, because most are impossible to verify.

Good morning, ladies and gentlemen.

Riff and dem boys ah watch you. Keep showing them that you're smart, sharp and savvy.

Today's quiz. The first person with all correct answers is winner.

Jill = __ cents

Bob = __ cents

Bitnahalf = __ cents

Jill = __ cents  2  big jill  2 cents..lil jill 1 cent

Bob = __ cents  25

Bitnahalf = __ cents  12

Good morning, ladies and gentlemen.

Riff and dem boys ah watch you. Keep showing them that you're smart, sharp and savvy.

Today's quiz. The first person with all correct answers is winner.

Jill = __ cents

Bob = __ cents

Bitnahalf = __ cents

Jill = __ cents  2  big jill  2 cents..lil jill 1 cent

Bob = __ cents  25

Bitnahalf = __ cents  12

Skelly, you're the first with all correct answers. Winner!

Anjali gets second prize.

Before 1966, British Guiana and the Eastern Caribbean shared one currency. Here's a jill. 1 cent for Skelly and 1 cent for Anjali:

photo BritishCaribbeanTerritories2c1955_zpsa5f9e392.jpg