Originally Posted by Mars:
Rainbow Terrace I never went to but I do remember the name. There are two places that cross my mind. First one I'll take a stab at is a place on Lamaha Street going up towards Middleton street and Campbell avenue. If that's not it, then there was another place in Durban Street Lodge which could be the Terrace.

Btw, the disco in the Chronicle Building was called Shabari.

Mars, your first stab hit the heart of the matter. Rainbow Terrace was originally a disco on the western side of Middleton Street, immediately south of the railway line. After discomania fizzled out, Rainbow Terrace was downgraded to a rum shop.

North of the railway line, Middleton is known as Lamaha Street, running to David Street.

Congratulations!!

And thanks for the confirmation of Shabari.

Originally Posted by ball:

Mars got the area right I don't know the name for the little street it was actually on, ( McDougal place but not sure) you had to cross a bridge to get to it from Middleton street.   

Ball, I had to use your name to give the folks some bearings. They were flying from Bartica to New Amsterdam to Linden. Django got stuck in his old Robb Street environment.

Originally Posted by Django:

If it was in that area,is it Birdie(who had the band)

place off Lamaha and De Abreu St

According to the Google map on my phone, De Abreau Street runs north to south. The junction of De Abreau and the east-west Lamaha Street was where Evil Eyes used to be. I believe De Originals played there. Dondadda can confirm if he reads this. The east-west Lamaha is different from the north-south Lamaha.

That's it Gil,Evil Eyes..Cain can confirm.

Rainbow Terrace I never went to but I do remember the name. There are two places that cross my mind. First one I'll take a stab at is a place on Lamaha Street going up towards Middleton street and Campbell avenue. If that's not it, then there was another place in Durban Street Lodge which could be the Terrace.

Mars, your first stab hit the heart of the matter. Rainbow Terrace was originally a disco on the western side of Middleton Street, immediately south of the railway line. After discomania fizzled out, Rainbow Terrace was downgraded to a rum shop.

North of the railway line, Middleton is known as Lamaha Street, running to David Street.

Congratulations!!

And thanks for the confirmation of Shabari.

I know exactly where Rainbow Terrace was except that I didn't really know what they called the street at that point. Those streets change names right there. On one side of Middleton Street it's called one thing and on the other side the street has a different name. I think that's where Kitty meets Campbellville. I don't know street names there as much as I know other parts of GT. On the Campbellville side of that same corner (Middleton & Campbell Ave) was a beer garden we used to go to. We called it Dog Puppy. By that time, Rainbow Terrace was a glorified Rum Shop. We'd go to Dog Puppy after we left the disco at 4.00 am, wake up the owner, open his bar and his wife would fry chicken for us. It became very popular and there was a big crowd there at 4 am on weekends. The place would be dead all night until the discos closed up and then everyone arrived there. I could tell so many stories of hanging out there. I saw many a sunrise from that very corner

That's it Gil,Evil Eyes..Cain can confirm.

I don't recall that name, I left in '73, was it there at that time?

I thought it was the upper part of Lamaha Street but now that I think about it some more, it's Sandy Babb Street where it meets Middleton Street. There's a trench there with a little bridge that you could walk over. Well I don't know if the bridge is still there but I'm talking about back in the good ole days.

That's it Sandy Babb st, that's where I hung out for awhile in the early 70's. If my memory is still intact, by the bridge there was a rumshop with a name something like, Carnation..Or Rose...something of that nature, wasn't it?

Our band, Destiny 5, played there just before leaving for Canada. Yo boy cain was frontman tarasss. It was also called "The Cave" because of the way it was done inside.

Another disco was what I believe,down the street from Main st church,they had tables and chairs done with footprints which glowed with the black lights.

Our band, Destiny 5, played there just before leaving for Canada. Yo boy cain was frontman tarasss. It was also called "The Cave" because of the way it was done inside.

Another disco was what I believe,down the street from Main st church,they had tables and chairs done with footprints which glowed with the black lights.

I figured you'd know Shabari. When you walked on Main Street, you could see clouds of smoke coming from in there. In those days weed was very new in GT and the cops probably weren't even aware of what it was. I was a bit too young to go in there and I think it closed down before I got older.

The other popular places I could remember at that time were Talk of the Town and Dog and the Bone but they were not on Main Street. Talk of the Town had a lot of glowing neon colors but I think that was on Water Street. My mind is a bit foggy as to exactly where they were. 

https://www.google.com/maps/@6.814741,-58.1441926,15z

Copy the whole link paste in browser you will see the names

of streets in the area.

I did and ended up in T.O...what gives man? hehe

Oii,highlight the whole link everyting this part is

important @6.814741,-58.1441926,15z

copy and paste in browser you will get the map,

i just did and is working,i am a lil computer expert

got some certif. in 2000. like you wan me come

over deh an show you.

* It was a joy perusing this thread. Excellent brain teasers. Great stuff from my friend gilbakka.

* I am especially impressed by the posters, Django, Riya, Anjali, etc who've solved most of gilbakka's puzzles----superb researchers.

Stop counting smart one Fish can't drown.

10 (8 live  and 2 dead)

Well i am few seconds late

https://guyaneseonline.wordpre...storic-cummingsburg/

Historic Cummingsburg

During 1759, Jaques Salignac applied for a grant of  500 acres of land  for cotton and coffee cultivation. He was granted  permission by the Court of Policy. Salignac named this tract of land La Bourgade. In 1807 , a Scotsman, became the owner of the estate and renamed Plantation La Bourgade  Cummingsburg, after his family, it was a town two miles in circumference and most regularly arranged.

A special feature of  Cummingsburg was the provision of fresh water reservoirs. these were filled with small fish and were later planted with Victoria Regia and Lotus lillies by Luke M. Hill. The reservoir in Main Street was filled up and converted into a walkway in 1897. It was named the Queen Victoria Promenade by the Mayor and Town Council in honour of Her Majesty’s Diamond Jubilee (this area is now known as Main Street Avenue). In later years other reservoirs were converted into similar walkways.

In 1864 the western part of  Cummingsburg was destroyed by fire. The creation of new streets  and redistribution of house lots were several  of the  plans undertaken to reorganize the destroyed area.         

An examination of the nomenclature of this ward of the city reflect rich examples of Guyana’s history. Some Streets such as Waterloo Street; named after Admiral Wellington’s great battle and Victory at Waterloo against the French forces on 18 June 1815 and Carmichael Street; named in honour of General Hugh Lyle Carmichael who served as Governor 1812 – 1813 are indicative of our colonial heritage. Quamina Street (formerly Murray Street named in honour of Major General John Murray) was renamed in honour of one of Guyana’s national heroes.

Other streets derived their names simply from geographic locations to buildings or places.  Thomas Street derived its name from its location as the main road to Plantation Thomas.  East Street on account of its easterly location in this ward. Cummings Street was formerly known as the back dam (Cummingsburg Backdam) of Plantation La Bourgade. Middle Street also derives its name on account of being the middle dam of Plantation La Bourgade. Lamaha Street was so named because of its northerly direction with main drainage trench of the district. New Market Street simply because it led to the new market. Church Street as it was the primary route used by citizens for access to St. Georges  Church.