Leguan’s entire rice crop ruined

Arjune Raghuber

As drought conditions worsen

– farmers cry foul over indebtedness, poverty

By Shemuel Fanfair

Shalim Razack

As dry weather patterns prevail across country, the livelihoods of many Leguan, residents are threatened since many rice crops are being destroyed.

On Friday Guyana Times interviewed several rice farmers who said conditions have become so dire that only 38-40 acres out of the usual 4000 were planted.

Arjune Raghuber

One farmer said that around 20 acres have been damaged by the dry conditions. It was explained that since Leguan has no conservancy water storage system, salt water from the Essequibo River had to be mixed with already depleting “sweet water” reserves in trenches. This situation has not only hampered rice crops but cash crops as well as cattle.

Chitranjan

Chitranjan

Arjune Raghuber who has been around the industry over 60 years said he would usually plant 45 acres rice but observed that he attempted to plan 7 acres this season. He claimed that he invested some $140,000 but has seen no returns since none of the crops has yielded results. Raghuber had hoped that the rain would have saved his fields.

“De salt water kill am, if it de rain it would help am,” Raghuber explained. He noted that this entire situation is “very hard” and claimed that the miller owes him $350,000. He said that because of his declining finances, he would have withdrawn from savings and further noted that he wasn’t sure what would become of him.

Mahendra Tularam

Mahendra Tularam, 29, a father of two in Blenheim, Leguan, said he has 10 years as rice farmer. He pointed out that he hasn’t seen such dry conditions since 1996 which was around the time that he attended Primary School.

He explained that if his fields were successful, he would have seen results in March of this year. Tularam claimed that he is also owed by the Leguan Rice Mil.

“I have been owed $730,000 since March last year; they say how they suffer blows [and] they can’t make it,” the young farmer stated. He called on Government to enforce the Rice Factory Act which he feels would compel millers to pay what is owed to farmers. Tularam explained that millers should pay half the amount of money to farmers in two weeks and the rest is supposed to be paid in 42 days.

Another farmer, Chitranjan who has been in rice for 15 years said he would usually plant 30 acres but decided not to plant any upon his assessment of the conditions. Chitranjan opined that Government should provide seed paddy since the destroyed rice crops cannot provide new offspring.

Shalim Razack, 58, said he has been around the rice industry since the age of eight and doesn’t know what he will do if this situation continues. The farmer is also involved in cattle rearing which supports his upkeep. He pointed out that he had to sell half of his cattle and worries that he will be force to sell the remainder.

Farmers have called for more dialogue with the Guyana Rice Development Board (GRDB) and stated that Government should send other officials from the Ministry of Agriculture to assess the situation.

Leguan is an island at the mouth of the Essequibo River and has a population of around 3000. Rice cultivation is the main source of sustenance and residents fear the economy will continue to decline if the rains do not return. The dry conditions have been blamed on the El Niño weather phenomenon.

This is the new and improved Guyana that the coalition afc/apnu promised. So far we have heard of no plans to give relief to the farmers. Only plans to raise the salary of civil servants(99.9% pnc supporters)

the govt now controls the weather

Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

You guys blamed the PPP when heavy rains flooded some parts of Guyana. Why is it different now?

Pointblank posted:

You guys blamed the PPP when heavy rains flooded some parts of Guyana. Why is it different now?

They were blamed for the flooding not the rain. How come GT is not flooded when rain falls as before

Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

They were blamed for the flooding not the rain. How come GT is not flooded when rain falls as before

The PNC government spent a lot of money to clean up the drainage system. Taxpayers were doused twice here. The town council stole all the taxpayers money they collected using phantom payrolls. The government used the taxpayers money again to clean up. You should know this since you are following the PNC closely.

Pointblank posted:

No but alil lesson for you. The Govt needs people with Brains to solve problems. Any FOOL  with a Pea brain would able to have solve the problem BOT NOT DUMMIES in the PNC.

Pointblank posted:

You are quiet a character, there has been a drought, hence no flooding. But there was flooding last year during heavy rainfall, despite the cleanup of GT, flooding was all over the city. Stop fabricating progress under the AFC/APNU.

Pointblank posted:

You are quiet a character, there has been a drought, hence no flooding. But there was flooding last year during heavy rainfall, despite the cleanup of GT, flooding was all over the city. Stop fabricating progress under the AFC/APNU.

Rain fel in January 2016 GT was not flooded as in the PPP days

Pointblank

I tell you, these PPP apologists are clutching at straws; rice straws. The farmers are going to have to adjust their rice planting methods in line with the effect of global warming.

Folks seems to just want to post without merit nor logic!

Above, Mr T is now "an EXPERT",,,,as usual

The GOG claimed they got a HUGE Rice Market in Mexico.

They promised the High Price for Rice in the local Market.

There are resources in Leguan that can be used to bring relief but the GOG is just gazing at the clouds as it flows along.

What have they done in Leguan so far? 

Vish M
Pointblank posted:

Rain fall constantly in Guyana, we should consider the inches per hour as such measurement before making a proclamation. Tell us from a scientific point of view what was the ratio per hour when there were a flood under PPP and compare against January's numbers. 

Pointblank posted:

Rain fall constantly in Guyana, we should consider the inches per hour as such measurement before making a proclamation. Tell us from a scientific point of view what was the ratio per hour when there were a flood under PPP and compare against January's numbers. 

Under the PPP rain drizzles and GT floods not so anymore

Pointblank

God Bless the PPP.

Bad luck will follow granger and his racist  de facto government for the wicked deeds that they and their negro followers did to decent East Indians people.At every turn they will be bedevilled by the ghosts and jumbies of their past.Ill luck will follow closely behind them and their supporters.

Many will look back in sadness at the golden era of Guyana during the rule of the PPP.Now the country is going back to black pudding and souse as staples

Partition is the only solution.

Pointblank posted:

Now you are being ignorant. Please provide the statistics of in/cm per hour that caused flooding during the PPP's tenure vs the rainfall and no flooding under the afc/apnu. 

Pointblank posted:

Now you are being ignorant. Please provide the statistics of in/cm per hour that caused flooding during the PPP's tenure vs the rainfall and no flooding under the afc/apnu. 

Do your own research.

Vish M posted:

Folks seems to just want to post without merit nor logic!

Above, Mr T is now "an EXPERT",,,,as usual

Why don't you shut your backside if you have nothing sensible to add? You think you smarter than me because they haven't yet managed to lock you up?

Mr T is the largest contributor to global warming. He blows out lots of hot air. 

We are in drought conditions here but he thinks that there is enough rain to test the drainage system of GT. He is suffering from a highly over extended imaginative complex. 

Z
Pointblank posted:

The PPP is not responsible for keeping the city clean. The city council headed by the PNC Green should do their work , rather that sabotaging the PPP government .... you need to educate yourself before making your comments.

ian posted:

The PPP is not responsible for keeping the city clean. The city council headed by the PNC Green should do their work , rather that sabotaging the PPP government .... you need to educate yourself before making your comments.

These jokers are living in denial. Granger took away resources from the Indian villages to clean up Georgetown, while Green kick back with his lifetime award. 

ian posted:

These jokers are living in denial. Granger took away resources from the Indian villages to clean up Georgetown, while Green kick back with his lifetime award. 

The Granger government has been spending thousands of tax payers dollars ( Indian Tax Dollars ) in their supporters - PNC  village, and is neglecting the Indians. 

I have witness this.  

Do you think Granger  is being neglectful in seeding the clouds over Leguan?

There should be a forensic audit of the operations of city hall. Where are the tenders advertisements for work carried on by the city council? How is the money collected from taxes and government subventions spent and who receives contracts?

Z
george dasilva posted:

God Bless the PPP.

Bad luck will follow granger and his racist  de facto government for the wicked deeds that they and their negro followers did to decent East Indians people.At every turn they will be bedevilled by the ghosts and jumbies of their past.Ill luck will follow closely behind them and their supporters.

Many will look back in sadness at the golden era of Guyana during the rule of the PPP.Now the country is going back to black pudding and souse as staples

Partition is the only solution.

You are funny...spouting racist bilge and calling others racist! This partition business tell us how much of a nut case you are. Guyana is completely racially intermingled. Every group has a claim to be where they are.

And the country will do just fine with the present administrators. The sad part is t hey will do better than the PPP and all you bigots would have to gather sack cloth and ashes and go into a period of deep lamentation.

Pointblank posted:

No one is fabricate evidence  of progress. It is clear the PPP are not thieving anymore!!!!! That is big savings. Increment that by the cessation of tangential leech streams to friends and family and there is big big progress!!!

ian posted:

You will not try to inprove yourself  from being a ass to a mule

Zed posted:

Please explain the oil importation fiasco if this government is so clean.

How can I explain what I do not know? Since you know; detail what is occurring and you have ready ears listening.

warrior posted:
ian posted:

You will not try to inprove yourself  from being a ass to a mule

Suh, tell abie nah: the differences and similarities between wan mule and wan ass. Hope is not your ass.  Me hope you know wan mule come from wan harse and wan ass.
So, you use wan ass or wan mule fuh tief dem peeple cow?