How can I avoid this kind of executive lawlessness and persecution?

February 20, 2014 | By | Filed Under Letters 

DEAR EDITOR,
I am a retiree, and a remigrant living at Den Amstel Village, West Coast Demerara. Since I returned to Guyana on July 19, 2013, I have been experiencing a whole heap of situations which are not surprising, because I was warned of the unprecedented levels of corruption and executive lawlessness which was commonplace in this society.
This sort of activity is present at the highest government departments and people seem to have accepted that they can do nothing to restrain these miscreants. Fear of persecution by these ‘officials’ or even losing one’s life is a distinct possibility.
My first taste of this was when I applied for remigrant status. I submitted a list of items for duty-free concessions. The list included a Grand Cherokee Jeep and a boat. I was granted remigrant status but was told by the person acting in the capacity of remigration officer that the Minister had decided that I could not be granted duty-free concessions for the Jeep because I had not registered and insured the vehicle in The Bahamas.
She claimed that this was indicated to me in the list of required documents which the Ministry had published. I pointed out to her that in my opinion this was not so. In the letter that granted me remigrant status, there was nothing that stated the reason for the Minister’s action. The list of items that was approved did not list the Grand Cherokee Jeep. I have had to take legal action over this issue.
My second issue was over a workshop folding crane which was shipped to Guyana by Tropical Shipping. When I arrived in Guyana on July 19, 2013, I visited the GNIC wharf and was sure that I saw this item in the warehouse. However when I turned up to clear the item, I was told that the folding crane had not arrived..Subsequently, I had to claim compensation for this. The money granted could not enable me to repurchase and ship to Guyana..
My third problem was when I found out that there was no collaboration between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Finance even though these were supposed to implement the Government’s policy on Remigration. The Guyana Revenue Authority has claimed that they have their own rules, and statements made by the Ministry of Foreign in relation to advice to remigrants is Foreign Affairs’ ‘own business’.
My fourth issue that again exposed the executive lawlessness was when I applied for permission to the Commissioner-General to re-export my Jeep. I was told that I would be informed when the approval was granted. In fact, I ‘would receive a call’. This never happened. Six weeks later, during one of my visits to GRA, I paid a call to the commissioner’s office and was taken to an officer, who informed me that permisson had been granted. I then had to inform the office that I was forced to change plans because of the long delay of the reply.
The latest issue is one which involves the GT&T. I paid my internet bill on Monday January 3, 2014, at the Fellowship Post Office, the day it was due. I called 0488 and submitted the receipt number and amount paid. I was told that the information would be passed on to the relevant personnel. To my surprise, on Wednesday February 5, 2014, my internet connection was disconnected. At about 8.30 am. I got an apology from the secretary of the Director of Customer Services, and was told that the service would be restored by 11 o’clock. I enquired why it was that I had to endure this situation. I suggested that GT&T could make it much simpler for persons (customers) to make payment, by setting up a ‘secure website’ with all the information of their accounts on line. This would do much to improve their revenue collection and get rid of possible avenues for corruption. I have done so on several occasions, but to no avail. My internet connection was restored at 10:48 am, over two hours later. The only redeeming factor was that I did not have to wait until 11:00 am.
George Isaac Jordan

Yes, only when the cuffies take over and pnc/afc is in charge will corruption go away and soapboy will lead the people back to Guyana like Moses across the red sea. ahaahahaha

Soapboy says you inconsequential. The cuffies claim that you are a consequence of their broken condom.

THis man want the same service he got in NA. Wake up fool, Guyana is a THIRD WORLD Country!!!!! Bloody IDIOT!!!

He is complaining of minor annoyances that makes life a living hell. Who like mosquitoes or flies?

My sister wanted to start a business in Gy for my brother. After the first time trying to clear a container she give up. It is a who knows who kind of place and that is no place for those of us who demand services offered for monies paid and no jangat in between

THis man want the same service he got in NA. Wake up fool, Guyana is a THIRD WORLD Country!!!!! Bloody IDIOT!!!

Bhai

The government must make things a bit easier. Guyana has too much red tape.

Hope Donald removes the red tape and make things easier for people. That will also wipe out the corrupt Customs officials and other departments that need to change.

I visited the GNIC wharf and was sure that I saw this item in the warehouse. However when I turned up to clear the item, I was told that the folding crane had not arrived" Wah yuh head got stuck in yuh kakahole again? Wha happen now the sweet laka sumutoo country become a "THIRD WORLD country" that thief the man crane....

Bhai

The government must make things a bit easier. Guyana has too much red tape.

Hope Donald removes the red tape and make things easier for people. That will also wipe out the corrupt Customs officials and other departments that need to change.

Why would he wait for the last minute to pay his Bill at a subsidiary location??? Al YUh  full of it.

Druggie why speculate about what might happen should ni99ers take over, because that is what you really mean.

The Indocracy in charge are quite corrupt, and inefficient as we can see.  From his name he isn't one of that group.  Rich, preferably Indian, and a PPP supporter. No one else need apply, including the vast majority of those who vote PPP, as they aren't rich.

No all he wants is what one can get in Barbados.  Its just amazingly how primitive Guyana is.  Elsewhere in the Caribbean one can pay bills online, and I know of old people who have internet access SOLELY for that purpose.

Originally Posted by Danyael:
. It is a who knows who kind of place and that is no place for those of us who demand services offered for monies paid and no jangat in between

And people who watched Gold Rush learned this.  Yet the PPP still thinks that the TV exposure will generate thousands of new visitors, merely because they saw Guyana on TV.

Why would he wait for the last minute to pay his Bill at a subsidiary location??? Al YUh  full of it.

Maybe he was shocked to discover that Guyana is still a 19th century country where bills can only be paid in cash, after enduring a long wait in the line.  You certainly can't mail in payment.

It is no a matter of the wait. It is a matter of not being told what fees to pay as they size you up for the kill. 

Yes that too.   I keep on forgetting that Guyana is way more lawless than it was in the 70s.

Druggie why speculate about what might happen should ni99ers take over, because that is what you really mean.

The Indocracy in charge are quite corrupt, and inefficient as we can see.  From his name he isn't one of that group.  Rich, preferably Indian, and a PPP supporter. No one else need apply, including the vast majority of those who vote PPP, as they aren't rich.

I don't use the n word as it is derogatory. Cuffies are blacks, not the n word. Cuffies and blacks can be used interchangeably as the word has become a synonym at least on this forum.  Yes the afc gang believe that when blacks are in charge euphoria will ensue and people will flock back in droves to Guyana. This you see is far from the truth. The fact is that there is no indoacry as you claim, 99.99 % of govt jobs belong to the blacks. And they are in leadership positions too, check out all the armed forces and ministries and you will see that most leaders are blacks.

The fact is that maybe if blacks take over they might be able to phantomize their own cuffies and indo bantits without the controversy we see today anytime a cuffie is terminated for errant behavior  

drugabeer

This re migrant issue is touch and go for some. There are those who re migrate with little or no trouble at all, and others the contrary. Two elderly fellows from my job did re migrate in 2011 but are now back in the US. I asked them what happened, but they wouldn't say.
Originally Posted by Sheik101:
This re migrant issue is touch and go for some. There are those who re migrate with little or no trouble at all, and others the contrary. Two elderly fellows from my job did re migrate in 2011 but are now back in the US. I asked them what happened, but they wouldn't say.

I do not know of anyone who returned who is happy. One feels more grounded there until the reality of having to put up with the most asinine of rules, never receiving the appropriate service advertized and the provider being surprised when you complain.  No government service is without its run around.  You cannot go to the post office with out the person there being an ass or the idiot police being surprised when you ask them to explain themselves as they are obliged to do.  Do not try to see a minister or official person or  even expect a phone call to be returned etc. Those fellows are sitting too high up on the pole in their rectum. Check this out for illustration of a monumental ass..hole who thinks he is king kong. This is funnny

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

I do not know of anyone who returned who is happy. One feels more grounded there until the reality of having to put up with the most asinine of rules, never receiving the appropriate service advertized and the provider being surprised when you complain.  No government service is without its run around.  You cannot go to the post office with out the person there being an ass or the idiot police being surprised when you ask them to explain themselves as they are obliged to do.  Do not try to see a minister or official person or  even expect a phone call to be returned etc. Those fellows are sitting too high up on the pole in their rectum. Check this out for illustration of a monumental ass..hole who thinks he is king kong. This is funnny

That is really funny. Here is part of the trans script.

MORE SHOCKING REVELATIONS ON VIDEO  - at Sep 8, 2007 NBS meeting called by NBS members but vewers must FIRST read  about the SINISTER  plot concoted by the EVIL conspirators  and the limits they will go to save certain criminals AND to to get their hands on NBS funds! : THIS VIDEO IS A PORTION OF THAT MEETING! The “Strategy” used by MC Doom and Vice Chairman (VC) Gopaul  - although ILLEGAL as was ...subjudice- is that Mc Doom will provide to all members thru spin Doctor Kit Nascimento,a 4 page document lambasting the CEO & 2 Managers (we will post that entire report later with comments refuting the LIES  and DECEIT state therein!): Then, instead of discussing what was on the Agenda, Mc Doom proceeded to read that document  with the hecklers preventing the members from raising what was on the Agenda i.e. the wrongful charge and the ILLEGAL dismissal of the CEO & 2 Managers. - t all started  Nov 2006, ONE day after Dep CEO Nizamodeen Mohamed proceeded on leave (so that his “fingerprints” wont be on any documents )  when the POA was presented for  the first withdrawal from Bib Shamila Khan’s account. - Mohamed later confirms  that on Jan 19, 2007, Dr Zinool Safi  told him that his  wife  Bibi Shamila Khan did not authorise G$32 M (cheques CEO Arjoon authorised) of $69M withdrawn by a POA - Instead of advising the NBS CEO, next day Mohamed went to CIOG at a meeting with Safi, Moen Ul Hack (CEO of CIOG) and his wife (Shalimar Hack, the DPP!) - When Arjoon is told on Jan 22nd, he immediately launches an investigation (and within days the amount  unauthorised suddenly changed  to $69M). - On Jan 23rd, Chairman Moen Mc Doom asks  CEO about matter  (later discovered that he LIED that he did not know Safi and that he was also at meetings at CIOG on matter) - The NBS Board officially informed by CEO on Jan 25th; and at monthly meetings thereafter (in minutes) as well as during the months as deemed necessary . ( Mc Doom and Gopal LIED that they were “kept in the dark’!) - The investigation  revealed that  systems & procedures of NBS met  (confirmed by documents tendered in court) & that the signature  of Bibi Khan on the POA  was hers. - The Police were given ALL information by the CEO & NBS Auditor but strangely were not charging those involved despite tangible EVIDENCE obtained from the investigation! - The External auditor also conducted an investigation which confirmed the innocence of the CEO & Managers but Mc Doom & Gopaul held on to that report ! - In April & May2007 the CEO seeks to employ a private investigator to confirm his findings that Safi also involved as then NBS will not lose money by having to refund the account holder, but INSTEAD  Mc Doom holds more meetings at CIOG including with the DPP where a plot is concocted  then Mc Doom  and others also hold meetings at Freedom House and it is decided to use that "opportunity" to save those involved in the scam and to TAKE OVER THE NBS !! - In accordance with “their plot” the DPP writes to the NBS Board and  LIES that she has Strong & Compelling evidence against the CEO & 2 Managers and   places trumped up charges against them although the entire Board, DPP , Police, President of Guyana etc ALL knew they were innocent, (The Police later revealed  that they NEVER had any evidence but that “Gopaul & Mc Doom”  help the DPP charge the 3 Top men instead of those involved) - After the wrongful charge on June 1st the Board called the 3 victims to a meeting  and confirmed  to them that they KNEW they were innocent but  that it was the Police who said they had evidence. - The Board  said the CEO & Managers will go on admin leave and undertook to pay their full salary & benefits  & all Legal fees incurred until the case completed but within weeks without reason the salary & benefits stopped (later learned  that was outcome fo discussion held at NAACE pub with Gopaul & Mohamed) - In the meantime to avoid suspicion of their involvement  in getting the innocent charged Mc Doom admitted  at staff meeting on June 2nd  (which staff later quoted in petition):
I know that none of these gentlemen did not benefit from a penny I looked at the POA and having 41yrs of service, I could not detect that it was fake. We know that they are innocent but the matter is now at the Court so we have to wait. Up to now the police don’t know nor do we know if this document was forged.
- But despite the foregoing and  available evidence  that Dr Safi also collected proceeds from the cheques encashed, within days the Board refunded  Bibk Shamila  Khan who months later fled the country with Dr Safi! - The 3 victims wrote the Minister of Finance (copied to the AG & Cabinet Secretary) with information that can PROVE their innocence and requested investigation. BOG conducted that investigation & confirmed theirinnocence but instructed to “duck” the report! - President Bharat Jagdeo  called  the  Board to a meeting and  Director who later left said that it was the President who told them  to fire the 3 Officers – which they did although contrary to Guyana’s Laws. - A group of concerned NBS members did their own private investigation and called a special meeting to discuss  on Sep 8, 2007 - A few days/weeks before the meeting, dozens  of  persons who never dealt at NBS  went to Dep CEO Nizam Mohamed & each  collected G$500 from him and opened new accounts – they were present at the meeting heckling the concerned members who were  not allowed to raise what was on the Agenda and  Chairman Mc Doom abruptly  ended  the meeting - NBS then filed an injuction  preventing another meeting, then a bill was rushed thru Parliament and quickly assented to by the President to prevent any such meeting ever again if there are wrongdings by the Board! 3 Directors later resigned (publicly citing corruption etc at NBS) , replaced by political appointees – NONE with  knowledge or skills in Banking - In the meantime judges and lawyers helped to delay the court matter for 4 ½ years without any evidence ever provided; then Arjoon was approached to accept half his pension in return for dropping the lawsuit (more on this later) NB: Major portion of the above since proven in court and there is evidence of the rest! “Oh what a tangled web we weave when we plan to deceive….