Largest private US oil company interested in Guyana

Georgetown, GINA, September 8, 2011
Source - GINA

President Bharrat Jagdeo speaking with officials of Anadarko Petroleum Corporation and Head of GGMC’s Petroleum Division, Noel Dennison

Guyana’s rich underexplored offshore area continues to attract the attention of major oil and gas companies hoping to pursue exploration.

Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, an independent oil and gas company in the United States of America which is considered world's largest independent oil and gas exploration and production company, is the latest to be brainstorming the prospects of a franchise operation in Guyana’s territory.

Head of the Petroleum Division of the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) Noel Dennison accompanied officials of Anadarko to a meeting with President Bharrat Jagdeo today at his State House residence.

Vice President, Business Development of Anadarko, Ian J. Cooling who led the delegation later told the Government Information Agency (GINA) that the company’s interest in Guyana stemmed from its research on the country’s offshore area.

Vice President of Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, Ian Cooling meets President Bharrat Jagdeo in the presence of GGMC’s Petroleum Division Head, Noel Dennison

“We like areas like what we are seeing, (and) the sort of potential we think is here. It’s (offshore area) pretty much underexplored right now,” Cooling said in an invited comment.

Anadarko is at present conducting a geological assessment of the region and given what has been observed thus far, Cooling said it fits the environment in which the company has always shown interest.

“We look for frontier areas, we look for deep waters… we think the Government of Guyana needs to bring some people in that are technically capable and financially capable to do some work. We’re hoping we’re going to be selected to do that,” Cooling said.

While their optimism is high, the company officials have acknowledged that they have a long way to go, beginning with years of preparatory work.

The Guyana offshore area is considered the second most attractive under-explored basin in the world with a potential of 15.2 billion barrels of oil and were a discovery to be made targets would be estimated at 50 million barrels per year which would be equivalent to 140,000 barrels per day.

Last November, Tullow Oil, a London-based Company had announced to President Jagdeo its readiness to drill for oil by April this year in the Jaguar well through a joint venture with REPSOL, a leading international oil exploration company out of Spain.

President Jagdeo is of the view that discovery of oil will lead to an explosion of immediate and auxiliary services to the oil and gas industry but assured that Guyana’s path along a low carbon course would not be compromised.

In April, Prime Energy LLC- Caribbean, a United States (US) based petroleum company proposed to construct the first ever Oil Refinery in Guyana which officials say will create employment opportunities for approximately 100 persons.

President of the company Jerry Brooks had explained that the interest to establish a refinery in Guyana was stimulated by the fact that several countries around the world are looking to 20,000 barrels a day refineries for their countries given the high cost incurred to transport crude oil to the US for refining.

If huge quantities of oil is discovered in Guyana. It is time for Guyanese around the world to pack up their things and head back home. Except, collect your ABC citizenship and passport before doing this.
Wally
Right cause I need them to send my social Security CHECK to Rd House where i will be living. yippie
Originally posted by Wally:
If huge quantities of oil is discovered in Guyana. It is time for Guyanese around the world to pack up their things and head back home. Except, collect your ABC citizenship and passport before doing this.
The Guyanese populace knows the P.P.P/C cares and looks into the interest of all Guyanese especially those of the working class, and is constantly looking at investments that will boost the country's G.D.P and create job opportunities for all...
Originally posted by albert:
The Guyanese populace knows the P.P.P/C cares and looks into the interest of all Guyanese especially those of the working class, and is constantly looking at investments that will boost the country's G.D.P and create job opportunities for all...

Support the drug barons, build mansions and construct inferior roads.

Why are people runnig away to the small Islands to live in Dogs sheds and do shitty jobs that Islanders natives wouldn't do?
President Bharrat Jagdeo speaking with officials of Anadarko Petroleum Corporation and Head of GGMC’s Petroleum Division, Noel Dennison

Guyana’s rich underexplored offshore area continues to attract the attention of major oil and gas companies hoping to pursue exploration.

Anadarko Petroleum Corporation

He is out of there in 3 months and should not make commitments to large deals for the nation at this point. He will make Lenora kind of deals with added parachutes for himself.
Originally posted by D2:

He is out of there in 3 months and should not make commitments to large deals for the nation at this point. He will make Lenora kind of deals with added parachutes for himself.

Decisions will be made until the President leaves office.
Originally posted by D2:

Anadarko will try their best to seal a deal with BJ before he is out of office so they dont have to deal with a new president and any uncertain political outcomes . These guys buy and sell govts and countries .
Originally posted by kidmost:
Originally posted by Eric's_Revenge:
No BP or SHELL or EVEN EXXON hmmmmmmmmmm......?

Moron they own 25% of BP's US interest.

Who owns 25% of BP ?
Originally posted by kidmost:
No BP or SHELL or EVEN EXXON hmmmmmmmmmm......?

Moron they own 25% of BP's US interest.

Anadarko owns 25% interest of BP's US operations. So they are no penniless operation.

Who owns 25% of BP ?

I would caution you to take a look at Equatorial Guinea. Expect Guyana to go down that same direction. They call it the resource curse. The Putin-like surrogate is known for giving close associates and family members high privileges. Expect the monies to be banked in India. If I were you I'd say where you are.
Originally posted by Cobra:
I am waiting for an opportunity like that to re-migrate, more so if Donald Ramotar wins election.

Is anyone thinks my motivation state incorrectly? Smile

If you are a family of Ramotar or a close associate like Glen Lall you will do fine under the Putin-like surrogate. Otherwise, please take a look at my previous response to Wally.
Why would anyone want to go back to Guyana just because oil was found? The oil industry will only employ qualified people. One minor mistake by a drunk can cause a massive explosion or oil spill.
Originally posted by Mr.T:
Why would anyone want to go back to Guyana just because oil was found? The oil industry will only employ qualified people. One minor mistake by a drunk can cause a massive explosion or oil spill.

WITH OR WITHOUT OIL GUYANA IS A POWDER KEG WAITING TO BE BLOWN TO SMITHEREENS .
Originally posted by Mr.T:

The PPP have problems opening/closing koker on time, how the hell they gun operate an oil industry. Too many thieves to worry about safety.
Originally posted by Nehru:
Right cause I need them to send my social Security CHECK to Rd House where i will be living. yippie

Is that's why you jumping up to get noticed by the PPP and hope to land a lil gravy train wuk if they get lucky with the oil lottery?

What have you done over the past 30 years for the suffering people of Guyana?