Wales woman strangled, husband found with wound next to body

The community of Good Intent, West Bank Demerara, has been left in shock after a man allegedly strangled his wife before attempting to kill himself by slitting his throat and drinking poison.

According to information reaching Stabroek News, 40-year-old Nigel Glasgow of Murphy Street was found in bed with the dead body of his common law partner, 48-year-old Diane Hernandez. Neighbours related to this newspaper that the discovery was made by the man’s relatives early this morning.

The Murphy Street, Good Intent, West Bank Demerara house where Nigel Glasgow lived and the dead body of his partner Diane Hernandez was found this morning.

Hernandez was reportedly found lying on the bed with her hands bound in front of her and a makeshift noose around her neck that was attached to the bed. Glasgow was found lying next to her body with a wound to his neck and was subsequently rushed to the West Demerara Regional Hospital where he was stabilized and then taken into police custody at the Wales Police Station.

It was also related that the man allegedly also killed his three dogs and attempted to set afire one of his neighbours’ house this morning too.

Glasgow was one of the cane cutters laid off at the end of 2016 when the Wales Estate was shut down but had started working with a slaughterhouse.

Second murder in Region 3

Leonora labourer found dead at Stewartville seashore

Sunil Mangra

The police in β€˜D’ Division have launched an investigation following the discovery of the body of a 23-year-old labourer attached to the Uitvlugt estate yesterday morning at the Stewartville seashore, West Coast Demerara.

Dead is Sunil Mangra, a resident of Para Field, Leonora, WCD.

Divisional Commander Rishi Dass confirmed the incident with Stabroek News. He said while no foul play is suspected, the police are awaiting the results of an autopsy to determine how Mangra met his demise.

Reports reaching Stabroek News revealed that around 6.30am yesterday, a pump attendant reported for work and discovered Mangra’s lifeless body lying at the seashore.

The police were summoned and the body was examined. There were no visible marks of violence, Dass said.

Mangra was last seen alive on Saturday.

These cane cutters from Leonora have been writing history with tragic stories for a very long time.  Is his wife Venezuelan?  I am guessing based on the name.

Could also be from deep-state Essiquibo.  I know several Guyanese in Mabaruma, Wauna, Waini, etc have Spanish name.  In fact my half-brother from Hosororo Hill is multi-generational Guyanese and his last name is Hernandez.

No wonder Venezuela want back them land.  If the people in that region have Spanish names.  Guess what!

Here you go, to the other extreme, one second totally uninformed, next second on the fringe of outer space "guessing what"!

There are people in GT with Spanish name.  And the Spanish names in Ebo, Rupununi, etc are not the majority.  There are more Indians, Blacks, Putagee and mixed Brits in that region than Spanish names.

My half-brother does not speak a word of Spanish and sees himself as Guyanese.  His son and daughter are UG grads and want to get into Govt.  They don't see themselves as anything but Guyanese

Riff posted:

Read the Venezuela-Guiana Arbitration Act of 1899 to find out why Amerindians on the border have Spanish names and spoke Spanish at that time.  Like how my Aja and Ajee spoke Hindi at the turn of the century. 

so that means that part of Guyana belonged to India?

Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Why you think Modi going to Guyana soon?   Now Trump can deport you to India.  Start practicing yuh Hindi Larkha!!

Read the Venezuela-Guiana Arbitration Act of 1899 to find out why Amerindians on the border have Spanish names and spoke Spanish at that time.  Like how my Aja and Ajee spoke Hindi at the turn of the century. 

Actually, I read it last night and also a PHd thesis on it from some fellow at the University of Maryland. The spanish did not settle the region. The spanish names are from cross border families of native peoples. My mother s family have  Jewish names Spanish Names and Scottish names. 

Bibi dawling:

The topic came up over whether the cane cutter wife is Venezuelan.   I said could be Guyana from deep Essequibo.  Not sure what the arbitration have to do with our discussion!

Now the topic is about to take a radical excursion to India!

Stay focused babe.

Don’t tek worries.  Tough subject for high school dropouts to comprehend.

Bibi dawling:

The topic came up over whether the cane cutter wife is Venezuelan.   I said could be Guyana from deep Essequibo.  Not sure what the arbitration have to do with our discussion!

Stay focused babe.

Bibi dawling:

Stay focused babe.

Mi know gyaal!!  Wah mi guh seh.  It tek wan genius laka you fuh one day not know Spanish names are Guyanese, then get a quick lesson from uncle Odean, then come back nex day as SME on da cane cuttah wife, Spanish name in Guyana, Venezuela tek over, the 1899 arbitration, yuh Hindi speaking Indian ancestors and somehow da story is bout da cane cutter Spanish name wife!

Oh what a tangled web baby dollπŸ€”!

No wonder Venezuela want back them land.  If the people in that region have Spanish names.  Guess what!

Jagdeo is willing to give them.

Not true. Jagdeo always comes on board with the president or as opposition leader and speak with one voice on Guyana sovereignty. 

Check this out. https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/gu...faces-relentless-foe

Jagdeo had a better relationship with Venezuela than Granger is. That friendly relation turns sour since Granger come into the picture. The opposition infighting is party politics of whose ideas are better to solve the border issue with Venezuela. Whatever Jagdeo said had no weight on his shoulder, but on Granger government. It doesn't mean Jagdeo is selling out Guyana to Venezuela. Jagdeo diplomacy is different, bhai.

Not true. Jagdeo always comes on board with the president or as opposition leader and speak with one voice on Guyana sovereignty. 

Jagdeo had a better relationship with Venezuela than Granger is. That friendly relation turns sour since Granger come into the picture. The opposition infighting is party politics of whose ideas are better to solve the border issue with Venezuela. Whatever Jagdeo said had no weight on his shoulder, but on Granger government. It doesn't mean Jagdeo is selling out Guyana to Venezuela. Jagdeo diplomacy is different, bhai.

Bhai is why you called me a liar? 

That’s also my opinion.  

Bhai is why you called me a liar? 

Where did I call you a liar? I have nothing to gain from Jagdeo nor Granger. I disagree with what you said and let's leave it at that. As you may know, I go after any one of them when I see fit, but I will give them credit likewise when they do good. 

Jagdeo is a Commie stooge so naturally he was friendly with the two Commie dictators in Venezuela, Chavez and then subsequently Maduro. Granger came into power after Exxon found oil in Guyana and Venezuela then started to threaten the sovereignty of Guyana, trying to stop us from benefiting from our own resources. What are we supposed to do then? Granger is correct to take them to the UN/ICJ and stop licking Maduro balls like Jagdeo was doing. It's about time we get this Venezuela issue solved once and for all. If they want to be good neighbors, we'll return the favor but don't expect us to be wimps when they threaten us with aggressive behavior. Not a blade of grass! 

Bibi dawling:

Stay focused babe.

At least Base made it to high school. I dropped out long before high school.