Region Seven administration commended by PAC chair

DPI, Guyana, Tuesday, April 17, 2018

The regional administration of Region Seven (Cuyuni/Mazaruni) was on Monday commended by the chairperson of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) as it met in Parliament Chambers to consider the Auditor General’s (AG’s) report for the year 2016.

Minister of Public Health, Volda Lawrence at PAC.

During the day’s sitting, the AG’s report on matters relating to staffing, drug purchases and overpayments on contracts were considered.

Based on answers provided by the Regional Executive Officer (REO), Roderick Edinborough and his team of officers, Opposition Member of Parliament (MP), Pauline Campbell-Sukhai, performing the duties of the chairperson in the absence of substantive chairman Mohammed Irfaan Ali, commended them for the marked improvement in region’s management of its finances.

“There seems to have been somewhat of an improvement in the region and I will ask that some of the areas that we have had some prolonged questioning, that you take note of those and make sure that you come prepared in the future because I am sure we will see you back in the stipulated time and thank you again for the engagement here, you and your team,” Sukhai said.

Meanwhile, committee member and Minister of Public Health, Volda Lawrence, highlighted the efforts of the regional administration to work within known constraints as she acknowledged the difficulties faced by the outlying regions to adhere to the stipulations for clearing cheque orders.

“This is a matter that has been coming for several years to the Public Accounts Committee and we are not only here to see the discrepancies, but we are here to be advised so that we can make recommendations to the Minister of Finance,” Minister Lawrence said.

The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) of the National Assembly has the primary task of examining the use of allocated funds by the various arms of government. It functions mainly by calling to account regional and other agencies cited for noncompliance by the AG.

Pauline Sukhai, M.P. PAC Chair (ag).

Regional Executive Officer of the Region Seven RDC, Roderick Edinborough.

Bradford laments effects of Guyana/Venezuela controversy on the region

DPI, GUYANA, Tuesday, April 17, 2018

The Cuyuni-Mazaruni Region remains one of the richest areas in Guyana with its many natural resources, however, Regional Chairman, Gordon Bradford said the current disagreement between Guyana and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, has had a dampening effect on the exploration of this natural wealth.

Bartica, the capital town of Region Seven.

This wealth, if exploited, can do so much for the region and the country to a wider extent.

The longstanding issue, perpetuated by Venezuela, sees the Spanish speaking nation refusing to accept an award made to Guyana, giving rights to this country’s territorial boundary.

Venezuela has for decades claimed that an 1899 arbitral award was null and void and that the area under contention, is in fact, theirs.

The Cuyuni-Mazaruni district borders the regions of Barima-Waini, (Region One), Pomeroon-Supenaam (Region Two) and Essequibo Islands-West Demerara (Region Three) to the north, the region of Upper Demerara-Berbice (Region 10) to the east, the region of Potaro-Siparuni (Region Eight) and Brazil to the south and Venezuela to the West. It is also a territory under contention by Venezuela.

Most of the residents of the region are involved in mining for gold and diamonds. Other areas of economic activities are found in the logging and tourism sectors.

Regional Chairman of Region Seven, Gordon Bradford.

The Regional Chairman said that he hopes Guyana and Venezuela can consult to bring an end to the issue, which he noted, is direly affecting his region.

“We cannot continue to live under threat of war or whatever you want to call it. Our region is considered one of the richest region in this country and it holds so many natural resources, but because of that threat, we are unable to exploit our natural resources to the benefit of the Guyanese nation.”

He is hoping that the matter, currently before the International Court of Justice (ICJ), works out in Guyana’s favour.

“I have to touch on this issue because it is a priority for our nation. But whatever the world court should rule, then we will abide by the ruling of the court.”

He spoke to the fact that Venezuela has refused to be part of the court proceedings, but said whatever has to be done, must be done to bring the issue to an end.

He called on all Guyanese to be “onboard” and “alerted”, since, “if anything should happen, we are among the first that will be affected and so we cannot sweep that issue away from us. We should forever have it in our thoughts,” he said.

Region Seven roads to be tolled – upon road works completion

DPI, Guyana, Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Roads in the Cuyuni Mazaruni Region will soon be tolled following the completion of various road projects. This is according to Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson who said the strategy will aid in the maintenance and sustainability of the infrastructure.

Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson.

“Soon we will be finished upgrading the roads. I would hope that we can work along with the region on this,” Minister Patterson said upon conducting the inspection of the hinterland projects during his recent trip to the region. It was observed that work needs to be done on the Amaila Falls road which is heavily traversed, especially by trucks from the gold company – Troy Resources.

He noted, the tolls collected will go directly to the region for the proper maintenance and care of the roads since it will be generated from those in the region. Minister Patterson encouraged the town council to create a road plan and work along with his ministry on the idea.

Regional Chairman of Region Seven, Gordon Bradford said the council welcomes the idea of tolling the roads and believes it is vital for the upkeep of the roads. He explained that in previous years the strategy was used in the region and aided in the preservation of several roads leading to Mahdia.

Echoing his sentiments, Mayor of Bartica, Gifford Marshall explained the town council has deliberated the issue of tolling the roads for some time. However, he believes the ministry will have to be the implementing body of the strategy.

Marshall said during the next regular statutory meeting, the council will craft a “road plan” to which it will seek the approval of the Regional Democratic Council (RDC) before sharing with the Infrastructure Ministry.

On April 13, a team of officials from the Ministries of Public Infrastructure and Finance, led by Minister David Patterson visited the region to get a firsthand look at the two main crossings which link both Mahdia and Bartica.

The ministry has ongoing works on the roads from Mahdia to the Denham Bridge and Miles 78 on the Bartica-Potaro trail to Mile 96 (Cassandra Crossing).

Mayor of Bartica, Gifford Marshall.

Regional Chairman of Region Seven RDC, Gordon Bradford.

Who would pay tolls on those flooded, pot-holed roads that the PNC cannot maintain?  David Patterson needs to start worrying about black out everyday in Guyana first.

Regional Chairman of Region Seven, Gordon Bradford said the council welcomes the idea of tolling the roads and believes it is vital for the upkeep of the roads. He explained that in previous years the strategy was used in the region and aided in the preservation of several roads leading to Mahdia.

Guess you didn't fully comprehend the article.

Who would pay tolls on those flooded, pot-holed roads that the PNC cannot maintain?  David Patterson needs to start worrying about black out everyday in Guyana first.

No wonder some one once told you about your juvenile   “ brains”  

Gal Bibi explain slowly so he undastand about maintainence under PNC government . 

Dude try again,you seem to be failing.

It’s not good when we fail to accept the truth .

Obviously you never travel those roads you are just clueless. Tolls on those routes are not new, there was always tolls at Wismar and other crossings on the way to Madhia which always been a trail made up of more potholes than actual road...

Bibi Haniffa and comprehend bai yuh mekking laff story

Pointblank