Kari & Spotlight TV

Kari interviewed Moses Magamootoo on several occasions, pre and post election, and up to recent times as Moses is now a member of the AFC. Kari is said to be a TV journalist with neutrality on political matters. Kari is also a friend and a supporter of Moses Magamootoo as seen on GNI. How can Kari be neutral when there is a conflict presence here? Kari, are you an opinionated journalist, or your producer gets the blame for making you look bad in the public presence?

Originally posted by Churchill:
Was the Guyana Chronicle, a state owned newspaper, neutral in its pre and post elections coverage of our last elections ?

The question is about conflicts of interest and the ethics of journalism of spotlight TV and its host, Kari. Someone should make a post of Chronicle newspaper and let's discuss it separately. Why people get so offended when a question is aimed at their friend and colleague?
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
Originally posted by Churchill:
Was the Guyana Chronicle, a state owned newspaper, neutral in its pre and post elections coverage of our last elections ?

The question is about conflicts of interest and the ethics of journalism of spotlight TV and its host, Kari. Someone should make a post of Chronicle newspaper and let's discuss it separately. Why people get so offended when a question is aimed at their friend and colleague?

Yes Kari is a friend of mine but where did I show offense by asking a simple question ?

A question deserves an answer. A question with a question is meaningless. We can try to make sense on the offense issue, but when you ask a question on the fairness and balance in journalism of another media, it certainly strikes me to think otherwise. To answer your question, I don't think the chronicle is fair enough in the public eyes since it favors the ruling government. The same can be said about Stabroek and Kaieteur news.
Sir, I asked the question. Please answer it if you care or step back. Spotlight TV and Kari's credibility is at stake here. America is not AFC playing field.
you as a supporter of the ppp,is not fit to judge,the ppp break all the rules.and make some of they own.let those without sins cast the first stone
Sir, I asked the question. Please answer it if you care or step back. Spotlight TV and Kari's credibility is at stake here. America is not AFC playing field.
Quit the crap. Where is the moral breach or the conflict of interest in the interview? Where is it said that there is a conflict interest if a journalist interviewed a friend?

You could complain if individuals or interests of an opposing nature were not aired Demonstrate that the gentleman used his position in prejudicial ways first before you ignorantly begin to insinuate this or that simply to besmirch his character. That appears a habit among you folks.
Originally posted by Cobra:
What is wrong with being a PPP supporter? Half of Guyana's population is on my side when you have only 10 percent on your side. Who look more like an idiot here?
There is nothing wrong with being a PPP supporter. The PPP is a wrong party to support presently.

The right or wrong of an issue is not a matter of how many people support it or not. If I need to interpret a J curve I am going to ask TK and TI. I would get a better advice that way than polling the board
Kari & Spotlight TV

Kari interviewed Moses Magamootoo on several occasions, pre and post election, and up to recent times as Moses is now a member of the AFC. Kari is said to be a TV journalist with neutrality on political matters. Kari is also a friend and a supporter of Moses Magamootoo as seen on GNI. How can Kari be neutral when there is a conflict presence here? Kari, are you an opinionated journalist, or your producer gets the blame for making you look bad in the public presence?

ABIDHA,
Journalist are not aliens from outer space. They are products from the community and like the rest of us, they have their likes and dislikes, their friends and foes, their strength and weakness and their quirks and complexities that is part and parcel of all societies. Since when does friendship, familiarity or support for one's political point of view automatically places a journalist/ facilitator in a conflict of interest? So far, you have yet to produce a scintilla of proof that Kari or Spotlight TV has let their friendship and familiarity with Moses jeopardized a fair and balance interview of their guest. In fact Spotlight TV & Kari should be commended for giving coverage and public exposure to an interesting, and yes controversial personality, that has been virtually squelched by Hen See Hen & the Chronicle, the Govt. mouth piece.
Originally posted by D2:
What is wrong with being a PPP supporter? Half of Guyana's population is on my side when you have only 10 percent on your side. Who look more like an idiot here?
There is nothing wrong with being a PPP supporter. The PPP is a wrong party to support presently.

The right or wrong of an issue is not a matter of how many people support it or not. If I need to interpret a J curve I am going to ask TK and TI. I would get a better advice that way than polling the board

Nothing wrong with being a PPP supporter, but at the same time it's the wrong party to support? Don't get ahead of your self here. After two months in parliament with seven seats and you think the AFC qualifies you to make that statement to condemn the PPP? I am not budging and half of Guyana's population is not budging. Without APNU the AFC is nothing. Let's give them six months to one year and see their performance before you grade them.
Originally posted by D2:

Nothing wrong with being a PPP supporter, but at the same time it's the wrong party to support? Don't get ahead of your self here. After two months in parliament with seven seats and you think the AFC qualifies you to make that statement to condemn the PPP? I am not budging and half of Guyana's population iot budging. Without APNU the AFC is nothing. Let's give them six months to one year and see their performance before you grade them.
Using your logic the majority voted against the PPP. On your own grounds they see them as wrong. And that is not even taking into account their totalitarian and corrupt rule.

The AFC is in the position to veto anything from either party so that is a powerful role. It is similar to a minority veto to bring fairness in the system. With two major groups speaking at each other rather than to each other for 60 years and keeping us ethnically divided, the AFC is indeed a salvation if they can break this ice.

I am sure we are never going back to totalitarian governments. The Guyanese people are now aware they can control the loud mouthed politicians and make them accountable. You are of a bygone era.
It seems that this Key-board tyrant, posting under a Psuedo name, is trying to get attention by trying to cast doubts about Kari.

Let him crawl back to the cesspool and ride on his "pad"

Kari & Spotlight TV

Originally posted by Wendy Holmes:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:
Is why yuh laffing suh Gal. Ah happy yuh HappyQUOTE]

Forbes' son is a comedian, he should join SNL. Big Grin

Forbes son ? is dat his godson Josef Stalin Jagan aka CBJ Jr. aka Joey or yuh talking bout de odda son he had name Goadie if is the latta ..I tawt he was buried with the rest of Forbes remains !