Joint services set up base at Rockstone to provide safe passage through Linden

August 8, 2012 | By | Filed Under News -- Source

“We are looking stupid. We know that the people will resist but we may have to use some force if necessary. We can’t allow this to go on all the time,” Senior Joint Services official.

The Joint Services have established a base at Rockstone, Region 10, to ensure safe passage through the mining community of Linden in the wake of a three week-long protest that appears to have given way to criminal infiltration.

A senior Joint Services source in Linden told Kaieteur News that although the security forces are still working out a permanent solution to the situation, persons seeking passage through Linden are assured of some unhindered access to and from the interior.

“There is some amount of safe passage,” said the source, adding that the joint services has been providing escorts to several convoys, including those of several Amerindian delegations attending this year’s Toshaos’ Conference in Georgetown.

The assurance comes in the wake of blockages to the gateway to the interior regions including Regions Eight and Nine by protestors protesting the hike in electricity tariffs imposed at the beginning of last month.

The protests led to the fatal shooting of three persons who were among demonstrators blocking the Wismar/McKenzie Bridge on July 18.

File photo: Joint Services personnel will have a hard time clearing blockages like this one and maintaining clear passage through Linden

The shooting led to further protests which spread to include looting and sporadic attacks on vehicles with persons traversing the access road to and from the interior.

President Donald Ramotar has once again ordered the Joint Services to remove all blockages on the roads in and out of Linden.

A planned visit to the mining community by the Head-of-State a little over a week ago was cancelled after Lindeners defied ranks of the Joint Services who were deployed to clear the roads.

On one occasion, residents sat in front of heavy duty equipment daring the Joint Services operators to run them over.  A senior police source has hinted that there will come a time when law and order will have to be restored, even if it means the use of some minimum force.

“We are looking stupid. We know that the people will resist but we may have to use some force if necessary. We can’t allow this to go on all the time,” a senior Joint Services official told Kaieteur News.

But given the soured relationship between the police and citizens over the fatal shooting, which has not yet been resolved, it is anyone’s guess how the security forces plan to go about using minimum force to prevent the determined protestors from blocking the main arteries to suffering communities such as Madhia and Lethem.

The official said that the security forces are fully aware that they may come in for some criticism from political and other human rights bodies, but they will not renege on the job that they are mandated to do and that is to ensure that the way is cleared for residents in other communities that are suffering as a result of the actions in Linden.

The officer said that what is transpiring in Linden is providing criminals with the opportunity to carry out their activities.

“We have found that even criminals from Georgetown have gone up to Linden to capitalize on the situation,” the officer said, referring to the capture of the suspect in the murder of GTM official Bert Whyte.

So far the security forces have detained and charged five persons in connection with the looting of stores in Linden.

“This has gone past the lawful stage,” the Joint Service source declared.
However, the police were forced to release three persons who were arrested following the attack on a truck coming from the interior at Rockstone, after the non-cooperation of the victims.

Police sources in the E&F Division have confirmed that although, the victims have reported the matter, they are refusing to give statements so that charges can be instituted.

The ruling government has given enough time, and his call for a peaceful means has been exhausted. Using appropriate force to provide free passage to the community that suffered the consequences due to the ongoing blockade is not about strength or weakness, but the right thing to do. The president shouldn't be afraid to use the necessary course of action when it comes protecting the nation or an entire community in time of difficulty. Criticism will always follow whether you do the right thing or not.

Great move my our brillant Govt. They have been given enough time to  get their self organise for a peaceful and meaningful Protest. The Govt deeply believes in the principle of " Freedom of Expression". The Govt also understand it's ROLE in ensuring that Protestors DO NOT do ANYTHING ILLEGAL.

How come this"brilliant govt" did't trow you in jail yet fuh dig and smell yuh kakahole....

how come burham was not killing collie when they was burning the cane fields,and protesting.the police with orders from goat bit me rohee cause all the problem,you ppp fools is asking the black people to shoot the black people,it will one day bite you fools in the ass

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

How come this"brilliant govt" did't trow you in jail yet fuh dig and smell yuh kakahole....

Nehru, you have to hear this. Bhai, you have to find another hubby.

how come burham was not killing collie when they was burning the cane fields,and protesting.the police with orders from goat bit me rohee cause all the problem,you ppp fools is asking the black people to shoot the black people,it will one day bite you fools in the ass

The dicipline forces are mainly black and the rioters are black. What would you do in this case after three week of blockade? Kiss their asses?

Since you KAKAHOLE and Mouth are the same, I can imagine the smell you have to put up with. Please dont come within a 100 Miles of me. I think I have Smellovision cause yuh Kakahole (Mouth) is smelling .

If your govt was so "brilliant" they would have had the armed forces controlling the entry points into Linden since the 5 day protest was announced. Clearly now that Linden's main  role ha sevolved to be an access point to the interior any attempting to make their point thru protest would have blocked the bridge.

If the GDF was on the Bridge BEFORE the protesters arrived this would not have happened.

You see this is the type of intelligent response to protests that your "brilliant" govt needs to learn.  Not preventing protests but ensuring by pre-emptive action that they will not be economically ruinous.

Keep repeating the same thing over and over and maybe one Idiot will agree with you. The World will then have at least 2 IDIOTS.

you ppp fools is asking the black people to shoot the black people,it will one day bite you fools in the ass

yes one day sugar workers will be shot.  I can hear all those who disrespect blacks like sugrim, nehru,druggie, yuji etc screaming about how they can just slaughter Indians so and that its a PNC plot.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

The dicipline forces are mainly black and the rioters are black. What would you do in this case after three week of blockade? Kiss their asses?

Abidah, This ASS always lok at the left jab, then I giove him the right uppercut. SUCKER.

you ppp fools is asking the black people to shoot the black people,it will one day bite you fools in the ass

yes one day sugar workers will be shot.  I can hear all those who disrespect blacks like sugrim, nehru,druggie, yuji etc screaming about how they can just slaughter Indians so and that its a PNC plot.

Fool, If Indians or anyone else disrespect our Armed forces, Burn, disrupt traffic, 5throw stones or other objects at the Officers, then they deserve what they get.

So when your Indians burned down a police station in Berbice how come none of them were shot.  I dont even think any were arrested.  Jagdeo immediately appeared to negotiate.

Bhai, Yuh see how quick KAKAHOLE PUTTY disappear.Remember he does use one place fuh eat and SHIT.

So when your Indians burned down a police station in Berbice how come none of them were shot.  I dont even think any were arrested.  Jagdeo immediately appeared to negotiate.

You are NOT only a FOOL but a LIAR and worst. The police did open fire at that incident. Yuh love to talk SHIT.

The linden situation was different, the Black police were afraid for their lives from their own Black people. Black on Black crime, the protesters were the criminals, getting ready to kill police. Lucky thing the police opened fire and avoided being killed. 

Bhai, Yuh see how quick KAKAHOLE PUTTY disappear.Remember he does use one place fuh eat and SHIT.

Nehru, we have to take up this matter to higher authority. This guy is telling you about what? Like he don't know who he's talking to. 

The linden situation was different, the Black police were afraid for their lives from their own Black people. Black on Black crime, the protesters were the criminals, getting ready to kill police. Lucky thing the police opened fire and avoided being killed. 

In other words druggie Indians can destroy govt property without any consequences.

Not surprised that a racist like you would think so.  You and Sugrimm yuji, baseman and your whole gang have this belief.

In other words druggie Indians can destroy govt property without any consequences.

Not surprised that a racist like you would think so.  You and Sugrimm yuji, baseman and your whole gang have this belief.

Now, why you referring when i'm not in the discussion?  I am still slanting toward police excesses as I still have not seen of heard of the police in imminent danger.  This is why I would not be surprised that police linked to PNC extremist forces instigated the shootings to create a crisis as a means to starting a wider mayhem and topple the Govt.  The PNC has such strategists within their midst.

Don't confuse destroying property to on the verge of killing police. The Black Lindeners were about to pull a Rawanda on their own Black PNC brothers in the police.  The Black PNC police killed their own PNC supporters out of fear of their own lives, not because they destroyed property but because the were about to destroy their life. get your facts correct before making erroneous comparisons. 

even think any were arrested.  Jagdeo immediately appeared to negotiate.

Now, why you referring when i'm not in the discussion?  I am still slanting toward police excesses as I still have not seen of heard of the police in imminent danger.  This is why I would not be surprised that police linked to PNC extremist forces instigated the shootings to create a crisis as a means to starting a wider mayhem and topple the Govt.  The PNC has such strategists within their midst.

Because you are part of that crowd who is demonizing these people.  And inventing conspiracies too!!!! Neither the PNC nor the AFC killed these protesters. So why are you bringing them in?

The violence which occurred happened AFTER the shootings.  Prior to this protesters apprehended some looters and HANDED THEM OVER TO THE POLICE!!!!!!!  Why arent you mentioning this?

This incessant need to perpetrate a lie is NOT doing anything to create an environment where peace will return and sensible and fair dialogue begins.  You are putting these protesters into the defensive where they feel that the ENTIRE PPP and many other their supporters are against them.......and they do not trust Granger to represent them either.

Regardless as to whether you agree with the electricity situation in Linden the fact remains is that the people have a right to protest and NONE of you have shown ANY evidence that prior to the shooting there was physical violennce. 

So why are you blaming the AFC, assuming that they did organize the protest, which by the way I doubt, given their pitiful showing in the last election.  In a democracy people have a right to protest to make their point when they begin to feel that alternative vehicles arent available.

 The Black Lindeners were about to pull a Rawanda on their own Black PNC brothers in the police.  The Black PNC police killed their own PNC supporters out of fear of their own lives, not because they destroyed property but because the were about to destroy their life. get your facts correct before making erroneous comparisons. 

Prtoof please. ALL teh videos showing the cops "bussing a lime" while watching tear gas being fired.

When police are being attacked they do not leave themselves exposed to missiles.

 The Black Lindeners were about to pull a Rawanda on their own Black PNC brothers in the police.  The Black PNC police killed their own PNC supporters out of fear of their own lives, not because they destroyed property but because the were about to destroy their life. get your facts correct before making erroneous comparisons. 

Prtoof please. ALL teh videos showing the cops "bussing a lime" while watching tear gas being fired.

When police are being attacked they do not leave themselves exposed to missiles.

The PNC did not show the video of the crowd charging the police with weapons that provoked the killings. That is politricks.

Yes this the incesssant fear of an Indian govt which knows that its treatment of and exclusion of AfroGuyanese means that it lacks legitimacy to that section of the population. 

The result being that an inept APNU was able to galvanize 95% of the African/mixed voters against the PPP.

So this endless prattling about being overthrown.

Here we have BLACK cops who shot down black people on the apparent orders of an INDIAN govt. The GDF will be involved to bolster the GPF.

So how are black people going to overthrow the PPP?

The PNC did not show the video of the crowd charging the police with weapons that provoked the killings. That is politricks.

The only videos shown on GNI were by PPP supporters who thought that this would show that the police were justified to shoot with intent to kill.

They thought that people will accept a resfusal to obey a police aroder as justification for the police to kill.

Since that has not been accepted the PPP crowd have not shown us any videos of the protest.

Here we have BLACK cops who shot down black people on the apparent ordersof an INDIAN govt.

The GDF will be involved to bolster the GPF.

Operative words .. but, are they the facts?

The only videos shown on GNI were by PPP supporters who thought that this would show that the police were justified to shoot with intent to kill.

They thought that people will accept a resfusal to obey a police aroder as justification for the police to kill.

Since that has not been accepted the PPP crowd have not shown us any videos of the protest.

You know very well that only PNC and a few known AFC supporters were allowed in Linden. Any PPP supporter would have been immediately beaten and killed had they ventured into Linden. Hence the only videos shown are those favorable to the looters. 

Here we have BLACK cops who shot down black people on the apparent ordersof an INDIAN govt.

The GDF will be involved to bolster the GPF.

Operative words .. but, are they the facts?

The cop in command was speaking to G/twn, briefing them of the situation. G/twn was aware of what they were doing or thinking of doing.  So whether or not they gave the command quite likely the act was done with their knowledge

Shooting to kill in a political confrontation brings consequences so no mere mid level police commander is going to act without orders, knowing full well that he will be made a scape goat.  If you dont know this you dont know how the disciplined forces work world over.  Mid and low level ranks are conditiopne dto follow orders and this is especially true in Guyana where we have never seen the type of rebellion that occurre din Trinidad and Grenada and Jamaica as examples.

And indeed he might well be made a scape goat by Rohee, ashamed of his deed of either issuing the order, or doing nothing to stop it.

You know very well that only PNC and a few known AFC supporters were allowed in Linden. Any PPP supporter would have been immediately beaten and killed had they ventured into Linden. Hence the only videos shown are those favorable to the looters. 

So you are going to tell me that the police didnt document what happened, knowing that this would be needed to deal with the PR fallout.

Druggie even you arent that simple.  Cell phones do exist in Guyana you know.  They no longer need a full camera team.

You are just chatting out of your posterior as usual.

So you are going to tell me that the police didnt document what happened, knowing that this would be needed to deal with the PR fallout.

Druggie even you arent that simple.  Cell phones do exist in Guyana you know.  They no longer need a full camera team.

The police did give their version but you and others refused to believe your own Black man because you would rather demonize the PPP who had no input into the shooting. In fact those same PNC police shooters probably had a deal with Corbin and Granger to sacrifice a few supporters to create mayhem.

The Black Lindeners were about to pull a Rawanda . . .

I know you're straining hard to use "Rwanda" in a sentence . . . but don't be a jackass, OK!

people may need to start burning feather

So

The police did give their version

Yes a senior police man says that the GPF knew who fired the guns and other police men wanted to know how come the ranks were carrying guns not issued by the GPF.

The very fact that a Commission of Inquiry is being assembled suggests that the PPP is not willing to go on record at this time to support the shooting.  They are trying to get some souplickers to do this for them....hopefully they will be forced to get an INDEPENDENT investigation performed by neutral parties....who unfortunately are probably going to have to be foreigners.

I also know about the lies are being peddled by albert and his biys at GINA.

The police did give their version but you and others refused to believe your own Black man because you would rather demonize the PPP who had no input into the shooting. In fact those same PNC police shooters probably had a deal with Corbin and Granger to sacrifice a few supporters to create mayhem.

Interesting.  At first you screamed that these policemen were these heroes under attack by savage PNC supporters.

Now you claim that they are PNC criminals who murdered innocent people to make the PPP look bad.

You seem confused druggie.  Try talking from your mouth after using your brain instead of from your posterior after expelling the noxious fumes from your intestines.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Every Guyanese has a right to have free passage through Linden........Linden is not a state within a state!

True and Lindeners also have a right to protest wiothout getting murdered.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Every Guyanese has a right to have free passage through Linden........Linden is not a state within a state!

tell we wha the leaflets allyuh PPP geniuses use de GDF helicopter to drop pun Linden seh nuh

Yes this the incesssant fear of an Indian govt which knows that its treatment of and exclusion of AfroGuyanese means that it lacks legitimacy to that section of the population. 

The result being that an inept APNU was able to galvanize 95% of the African/mixed voters against the PPP.

So this endless prattling about being overthrown.

Here we have BLACK cops who shot down black people on the apparent orders of an INDIAN govt. The GDF will be involved to bolster the GPF.

So how are black people going to overthrow the PPP?

Sounds a lot like Fineman's rants just before the Lusignan/Bartica massacres.  The Indian Govt ordered the Afro police to detain/kidnap his to-be child mother.