NEWS SOURCE, APRIL 19 --- Paraphrasing a recent statement by U.S President Barack Obama on relations with Cuba that “what happened over 50 years ago is not relevant to him because he was a kid in short pants”, the only son of late Presidents Dr. Cheddi and Janet Jagan, Dr Cheddi “Joey” Jagan believes the youths of Guyana need to concentrate of what is in front of them now as they get ready to head to the polls on May 11.

In a letter to the press, Dr. Jagan “we have to focus on the present, especially for our children and grandchildren, who will indeed inherit the future.”

He said here in Guyana, former President Bharrat Jagdeo always talks about occurrences which happened 40-50 years ago and which “are really irrelevant to youthful voters who want to fulfill their dreams in the near future- not to fall in behind our former president’s antique race baiting views”.

Jagan said as Guyanese prepare to cast their ballots on May 11, the voters, especially the youthful voters, have to concentrate on what is in front of them now and what will determine the future, where the only criterion which is important is: change for the better.

“Harking back to the past will get us no-where and insinuation and assumptions about people’s character or former profession is precisely what the voter should disdain and discern as political folly, not deserving his/her vote”.

Jagan also criticized PPP Candidate Dr. Roger Luncheon for warning citizens that should Granger gain office, it would mean that Guyana would be transformed into a military state, because Granger is a retired Guyana Defence Force officer who enjoys the support of other GDF retirees.

“Dr Luncheon recently attacked Mr. Granger for his military service like if serving in the GDF is an act of conspiracy to militarize civic society -sheer nonsense coming from a supposedly educated man who is obviously so accustomed to distorting reality that it’s now second nature for him.”

Dr. Jagan pointed to many former army officers globally who have served their country well in its highest office adding that “I can name in many countries, former military men, who went on to serve their respective countries with honour, among them are such names as George Washington, Andrew Jackson, Dwight Eisenhower and John F. Kennedy of the USA, Winston Churchill of England, Gamal Nasser of Egypt, Charles de Gaulle of France, Rawlings of Ghana and the list can go on.”

He said young voters have to understand that this election is really in their hands and they have to forget about promises which they can discern as token and just electioneering, and concentrate on the actual reality of their lives.

Jagan who endorsed the PPP during the last elections has moved away from supporting the party during the upcoming polls. He said the PPP and President Ramotar have done very little to tackle the problems of corruption that he is convinced is a big part of government.

He has also openly criticised former President Jagdeo for comparing his “lavish” lifestyle to the lifestyle of the Jagans, who co-founded the PPP.

Dr. Jagan who operates a private dental clinic in Georgetown has been reaching out to the APNU+AFC coalition and has been repeating the coalition’s messages of unity.

"

Jagan also criticized PPP Candidate Dr. Roger Luncheon for warning citizens that should Granger gain office, it would mean that Guyana would be transformed into a military state, because Granger is a retired Guyana Defence Force officer who enjoys the support of other GDF retirees.

“Dr Luncheon recently attacked Mr. Granger for his military service like if serving in the GDF is an act of conspiracy to militarize civic society -sheer nonsense coming from a supposedly educated man who is obviously so accustomed to distorting reality that it’s now second nature for him.”"

Good Joey.

I've got me a feeling in this election, the youth will move the meter over to the green and yellow side, the side for truth and morality.

Let's be frank here. No one cares about Joey Jagan and his opinions. He ain't moving no one.

This election is still a contest between Blacks and Indians for control of the State. Conventional wisdom gives the edge to the Indo-Amerindian plus some Black/Mixed Coalition.

The fact is that it's easier for the Black person to support the PPP than an Indian to support the PNC.

Since the PPP loves to copy Obama's speeches I wonder if they will copy this?

“what happened over 50 years ago is not relevant"

In about a hour from now a certain individual gonna crawl in and say, Irrelevant!

Let's be frank here. No one cares about Joey Jagan and his opinions. He ain't moving no one.

This election is still a contest between Blacks and Indians for control of the State. Conventional wisdom gives the edge to the Indo-Amerindian plus some Black/Mixed Coalition.

The fact is that it's easier for the Black person to support the PPP than an Indian to support the PNC.

If he is so irrelevant why the PPP trot out Clive Jagan?

If he is so irrelevant why the PPP trotted him out in 2011?

I am no fan of this retard but...............

Oi, what the rass you doin jumpin around like a kangaroo? Maybe Joey is a bit of a hot head  but look the guy is on the good guys side and that's all Iman care about.

The youth is where a difference could be made and if they aren't as stupid as the majority of those who back the PPP/C this time around, the PPP will be history.

Failing this, they get the same old treatment which they obviously want and deserve.

We is going to borrow some things from Obama but we can write we own history. We will include the PNC in that history. We is inclusive people. We have a rich history. Parts of it stinks, like from 1963 t0 1992, but we like to be inclusive.Beleve me, a good thing is a good thing whether it comes from Moscow or it comes from Port Mourant we will take it. 

Originally Posted by simple:

We is going to borrow some things from Obama but we can write we own history. We will include the PNC in that history. We is inclusive people. We have a rich history. Parts of it stinks, like from 1963 t0 1992, but we like to be inclusive.Beleve me, a good thing is a good thing whether it comes from Moscow or it comes from Port Mourant we will take it. 

bendin ova.

Since the PPP loves to copy Obama's speeches I wonder if they will copy this?

“what happened over 50 years ago is not relevant"

In about a hour from now a certain individual gonna crawl in and say, Irrelevant!

Cain.... e need lil time fuh finish in de toilet and change diaper....

So it will be "about an hour.....or better"

Originally Posted by simple:

We don't have those any more. You the only one remaining.

People actually read my posts here for its analytical content. I doubt anyone here cares about your brain farts.