Here's a thought for the younger ones who work in the fields and who might be thinking of doing so. Join the GPF or GDF. Learn as much as you can while in there and at the same time balance out the forces where we will never hear they are owned by the PNC. It might be beneficial having an influx of other nationalities in these groups then the mostly blacks now in the forces would not think "is we own, dem doan want nothing fo do with this, so is we own"

The job is too easy for them cane cutters. They might get bored and fight among themselves. Good idea though. You need to return and resurrect the UF.

Oi SK banna I notice a thread this morning where my buddy Gilly put yo rass in place for talkin bad bout me..big up bro Gilly. Now here'the ting SK, you does try fo get Iman riled up but I know you does only talk stupidness so I does doan tek you on....sometimes.

I glad you like my idea. At least when drivers are pulled over they might not feel as threatened when they see it's one of their own. Now I'm not saying they won't need to hand over a freck but that is an area the govt has to look at and put a stop to.

Amral posted:

Them coolie rather stay home and drink and play cards and dominoes and beat up wife and pikney while waiting for foreign currency to come in

Stop impersonating Caribj.

Getting into the Force is not that easy, first criteria is Brutal force and ignorance, you have be big and strong, you have to own a PNC card and last of all you have to be Black. I know of a guy in my village, after completing 8 subjects GCE, O levels he applied for the GDF cadet position, went for several interviews, at the end was told to try the next year. He is an Indian, that position was given to a Black guy from Stewartville who was less qualified.

Many coolie got frustrated  and yes end up drinking. Getting a good education did not assured them a decent job. Those days was who you know, and who know you.

So one guy you know was turned down...do you know the real reason for this?  Also as you ended with..that was then this is now. If Indos went in large numbers and none of them are accepted then we can probably say it is a racist mentality the forces are working with but how can we when we do not know the facts? 

Don't get me wrong, it's a good idea,  but do you know if the forces are recruiting. 

Amral posted:

Them coolie rather stay home and drink and play cards and dominoes and beat up wife and pikney while waiting for foreign currency to come in

That a loser’s recipe to a self fulfilling prophesy.   You take an education for yourself.  My parents thought us, take the education, it’s the one thing they cannot steal from you.  With an Education you can go anywhere and thrive.

I think dem bannas might be more interested in making money...police work and soldier work don’t pay much, especially with the oil money coming in.

Besides, many of these sugar workers might not be qualified to join the forces, they are generally poor and uneducated workers...they might shoot themselves in the foot.

Oi SK banna I notice a thread this morning where my buddy Gilly put yo rass in place for talkin bad bout me..big up bro Gilly. Now here'the ting SK, you does try fo get Iman riled up but I know you does only talk stupidness so I does doan tek you on....sometimes.

I glad you like my idea. At least when drivers are pulled over they might not feel as threatened when they see it's one of their own. Now I'm not saying they won't need to hand over a freck but that is an area the govt has to look at and put a stop to.

Brother Cain, you know I think very highly of you. I cannot give you praise all the time. I must give you a little bit of sh*t. Cain and Abel were Bilical figures and it so allegedly happened Cain killed his brother. With a name like Cain, I would not hesitate to put my 2 cents in on this nancy story. Hey, it's all in good humor.

I guess Skelly remembers his Sunday School classes.  

Nah gyal. No church lessons for me and my brothers. We grew up tough without any religious brain washing. I remember in one of my English classes, one of my teachers was explaining "Cain killed Abel" and "Abel was killed by Cain". Something like this. Too far back to remember.

I remember in one of my English classes, one of my teachers was explaining "Cain killed Abel" and "Abel was killed by Cain". Something like this. Too far back to remember.

Examples of passive voice and active voice.

Do you know if this was an example in the book we used for GCE?

I remember in one of my English classes, one of my teachers was explaining "Cain killed Abel" and "Abel was killed by Cain". Something like this. Too far back to remember.

What book did you use for GCE? I studied books, including ENGLISH FOR SENIOR CERTIFICATE by some Lamb. Red hardcover.

Amral posted:

That a loser’s recipe to a self fulfilling prophesy.   You take an education for yourself.  My parents thought us, take the education, it’s the one thing they cannot steal from you.  With an Education you can go anywhere and thrive.

What's holding you back? 

What book did you use for GCE? I studied books, including ENGLISH FOR SENIOR CERTIFICATE by some Lamb. Red hardcover.

I think we used English for GCE. It was a red hardcover book.

Amral posted:

Getting into the Force is not that easy, first criteria is Brutal force and ignorance, you have be big and strong, you have to own a PNC card and last of all you have to be Black. I know of a guy in my village, after completing 8 subjects GCE, O levels he applied for the GDF cadet position, went for several interviews, at the end was told to try the next year. He is an Indian, that position was given to a Black guy from Stewartville who was less qualified.

That's not true. I know of several Indo-Guyanese who were GDF and were staunch PPP. Chap living opposite me was a paratrooper and at his 70th Birthday Party I met other Indo-Guyanese who were in his unit. Trained in England. I would agree proportionately there is little Indo-Guyanese representation in the GDF but that was because the GDF was looked at as a PNC organization.

Last edited by GTAngler
. I would agree proportionately there is little Indo-Guyanese representation in the GDF but that was because the GDF was looked at as a PNC organization.

Funny this thinking when Jagdeo was the commander in chief and appointed one of his lovers to head the GDF.

Indians don't join because they don't want to. 

Amral posted:

1.  I have never said that about Indians except to say that pathologies exist in many communities INCLUDING Indians.  This in response to druggie. Ksaz and others who scream that only blacks have pathologies.

2. And you perpetuate the very stereotype here.  Many people in Guyana don't find the type of employment that they feel that they deserve. Why you think that only Indians react badly as a result of this?

3. O' levels isn't the only criteria to be successful in the military.  And you should really chat with Jagdeo to see why he didn't fix any anti Indian bias which might exist.  He had at least 15 years to do so.

. I would agree proportionately there is little Indo-Guyanese representation in the GDF but that was because the GDF was looked at as a PNC organization.

Funny this thinking when Jagdeo was the commander in chief and appointed one of his lovers to head the GDF.

Indians don't join because they don't want to

You did see where I said the GDF was viewed as a PNC organization and that was the reason many Indo-Guyanese didn't want to join, then. More Indians did join the GDF when the PPP came to power. It's that same thinking where anybody with a government job was PNC.