A Jamaican girl, Achsah Wildish has scored the highest GCE AS-Level maths grades in the world for 2015.   Source: Jamaica Observer.

Achsah is a sixth form student at British West Indies Collegiate (BWIC) in the Turks and Caicos Islands.

There was reportedly great excitement at the institution when it was announced that the Cambridge International Examination Board had named sixth form student Achsah Wildish “Top in the World” for her performance in Advanced Subsidiary-Level mathematics.

According to the Observer, AS mathematics is an advanced course that is equivalent to three modules of the complete six at the Advanced Level.

“She not only scored 100 per cent in her AS mathematics examinations, but she has officially topped the world in mathematics,” vice-principal Anthony Wilkinson announced.

Jamaican-born Achsah Wildish tops the world in Math via jamaicaobserver.com

Achsah, the daughter of well-known Jamaican building contractor John Wildish, was kept in suspense until the moment her name was called and confessed that she was in shock.

“I put two and two together to figure I was involved in the assembly, but I didn’t know how or why. So this is all one big surprise,” she said.

She explained that she sat two exams – one in pure mathematics and one in mechanical mathematics.

“To me, this achievement means that I have achieved my goals in mathematics; that I put in the effort, and that it will help me going forward as a recognised awardee, and will help me to get into university and help me develop my future,” Achsah said.

It came as little surprise to her father, who proclaimed his daughter’s abilities.

“Her mathematics teacher and the school are very supportive, and I think that the work ethic at the school is extremely high and they make the students go the extra mile. Achsah has got talent, and it is hard work on her behalf and good preparation on the school’s behalf, so I am glad for her. I feel very, very happy. She will be able to get into a good college,” he said.

And let us not forget our own Guyana Scholar Dinesh Sukhu who scored 4 As at the GCE A Levels in 2010.  Our country has produced some excellent mathematicians who do not get the recognition they deserve.  Perhaps if we showcase our scholars more we can motivate and influence other students.  Our very own Alena here on GNI did these A Level math subjects at Queens College.

If Mathematics is an art, pure mathematics is the abstract form of it.  GH Hardy ( those of you who did pure maths is familiar with his  two massive brown hard cover texts) noted that his entire life was spent in a world perusing numbers for numbers sake  and he cannot say for sure any of it would matter in the least in the real world.Pure mathematicians cannot be counted on to even to elevate the taste of cotton candy.

Theirs is a world of creating beauty in numbers for numbers sake. It is the joy a two year old gets from marking up the walls with his/her crayons. This girl has mastered the precepts of pure maths. She may be a  Picasso  among mathematics but much of what she paints will only be understood by a few and matter to even less. The light in this tunnel is that most pure mathematicians turn to applied mathematics where they give us better computer graphics, encryption, etc,

That white girl smart. The one on the left is Achsah Wildish.

Drugb, I'm trying to figure out these two girls' vital statistics but they're not adding up. I may have to dust of a GH Hardy text on pure math to reference spatial properties, angles, curves, lines and the applicable formula to calculate measurements by sight, the way astronomers calculate the circumference, diameter and distance of Venus. 

baseman posted:

Gilly, you rass prappa wicked. You ah full you eye nah?

Leave him alone, his birdy just died, he grieving!!

Which birdie?

• blobid0

Looks like this picture was taken sometime ago from a pet shop. Anyway, hope your other bird is doing well. Can you post the other one too?

My deceased birdie was a parakeet just like that one in the pic.

Your question about "the other one" suggests a perverted mind. Gilbakka is not of your ilk. 

Looks like this picture was taken sometime ago from a pet shop. Anyway, hope your other bird is doing well. Can you post the other one too?

My deceased birdie was a parakeet just like that one in the pic.

Your question about "the other one" suggests a perverted mind. Gilbakka is not of your ilk. 

Arite padna. Me get you drift.

That white girl smart. The one on the left is Achsah Wildish.

Drugb, I'm trying to figure out these two girls' vital statistics but they're not adding up. I may have to dust of a GH Hardy text on pure math to reference spatial properties, angles, curves, lines and the applicable formula to calculate measurements by sight, the way astronomers calculate the circumference, diameter and distance of Venus. 

Gil, your oxford geometry set gone bad.