Don’t buy into stereotypes about PPP – Jagdeo

…says rumours about ExxonMobil keeping APNU/AFC in power false

Talk about ExxonMobil receiving the deal it did when the 1999 agreement was renegotiated by the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition Government, in exchange for keeping the coalition Government in power for the next 20 years were discounted by Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo. He addressed the matter at his news conference on Thursday at his Church Street office.
He noted that such comments have been reported by activists who have indicated that this is the line that the coalition Government is peddling to excuse it actions with respect to the increasingly controversial ExxonMobil deal. However, he urged Guyanese not to “buy into rumours” being peddled.
A confident Jagdeo declared that come 2020, the difference of votes at the

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

General and Regional Elections will be a whopping 50,000, given the work currently being done on the ground, including in APNU strongholds. Hard work, in addition to the fact that the APNU/AFC coalition Government has failed miserably on delivering its many manifesto promises, will deliver a People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) victory, according to him. “I don’t know what new they will come up on. All of their manifesto promises have been broken… the only card they are left with is the race card,” he said.

Stereotypes
The Opposition Leader disclosed too that already several former supporters of the APNU/AFC coalition have joined the People’s Progressive Party (PPP). “A group of individuals who worked very hard for APNU joined us recently,” he disclosed. Jagdeo added that work continues to break the stereotypes peddled about the PPP.
At a prior news conference, he referred to the fact that the one of the former APNU/AFC supporters was in a recent confrontation with a PNC leader, Aubrey Norton, and was told: ‘You will never make it to the top floor of Freedom House’.

President David Granger

Jagdeo pointed out that many of his news conferences are held on the very top floor and Norton’s comments are evidence of the warped view being peddled about the PPP. “Mister Norton and others who believe that there are secret rooms in Freedom House, I can invite them for a tour… this is the perception that is being peddled actively, that Freedom House is not receptive of persons from different races. Anyone is free to join the Party… we urge them not to fall prey to these stereotypes,” he said.
According to Jagdeo, Norton’s comments reflect the most recent stereotype peddled about the PPP – and the latest that has been rubbished. “This is similar to the list that was circulated 10 years that said the PPP Government killed 400 Afro-Guyanese… we have been re-circulating the list and it is clear who are on the

PNC leader, Aubrey Norton

list… it was not a list of people killed by the PPP but that stereotype thrived again and was actively peddled in many communities to create an impression of the PPP,” he said.
The PPP General Secretary added, “… a third issue is that Afro-Guyanese fared worse under the PPP than under the [People’s National Congress] PNC… I have said let us do fact-based analysis… let us see the difference between 1964 and 1992 and 1992 to 2015 and now… look at access to education, home ownership, wealth accumulation… Afro Guyanese, all Guyanese fared better under the PPP.”

Open to all Guyanese
Jagdeo made clear that the PPP’s work continues and all Guyanese are welcomed as supporters of the PPP. “We are working to change that and we urge people to look at the facts… we are leading the struggle to retake Government,” Jagdeo said.
He has stressed too that the coalition has proved that it is “incapable” of running a country. According to him, the current Administration is not only bereft of ideas on how to manage and grow the local economy, but has demonstrated it proclivity for greed, mediocrity and arrogance, in addition to being “hopelessly” incompetent. “This Government has made deception an art form,” he said.
Jagdeo added that by 2020 – or sooner – the PPP hopes to implement the plan that it has for the country, plans aimed at enhancing progress and development that benefits all of Guyana. “We will be bigger, better and stronger (by 2020),” Jagdeo declared.

He assured that the PPP will not neglect its support base, but will continue to reach out to all its supporters and stated that the PPP is a Party for all of Guyana and will take its message across the country.
Moving forward, Jagdeo made clear that the Party must be guided by what is good for all Guyanese and Guyana and by the founding principles of the PPP.
The PPP, he said, also has to decentralize and build up local leaders so that the PPP is in “tip top” shape to respond to the challenges of the day.
Jagdeo underscored the fact that the PPP has always been inclusive and will continue to engage anyone, regardless of ethnicity, religion or any other factor. According to him, the PPP is an unifying force. “We will work hard for the next few years to take back this country… those who voted for us and those who didn’t want to know what the Party stands for,” he said.
Specifically, he spoke to the need to strengthen the PPP family; the need for the PPP to remain open to new members and be accommodating to supporters who had left, but are returning; and the need to defend existing freedoms by understanding what is happening.
Jagdeo is also the PPP’s General Secretary. “At the moment my role is to prepare the Party to win the next elections,” he said.

If the PPP will win by 50,000 votes I am all for it. But I am not easily moved by predictions or calculated guess works to throw a boggy bone to fight over. ExxonMobil is not there to change the government, but they can have influences on the government. If the PPP were in power, ExxonMobil would have done the same to them. The ABC Embassies are there to take note of Guyana and its political state of affairs. Jagdeo needs to be realistic about what he is saying here. 

America's influence on Guyana politics is all about a semblance of balance or unity. The PPP is seen as an Indian party and Jagdeo said that candidly. He didn't realize what he said will hurt him so badly but it did.  

Did he really say that? I doubt. 

I will try to dive into the archive to show you the facts.

Rohee endorses Jagdeo statement that PPP is a ‘coolie people’ party

–    Says Afro Guyanese should welcome statement 
General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, yesterday supported the statements made by his comrade, Bharrat Jagdeo, to the effect that the incumbent party is a “coolie people” party.

Baseman:

The PPP ticket should be Clement Rohee President Mr. Jagdeo Prime Minister.

Goat bite Rohee and Jaggy will not settle for second best. That's a losing ticket anyway. 

Me like Anil. He can mek a good leader. He juss need ease up pon de constitution lil. Anyhow de man smart. He was de fuss person foh outline de constitution change. But meh buy he bora and cassava. But a wan good try. 

Anil Nandlall is smart and so are all ministers of parliament. Anil is bad news to be president. Anil, Rohee, Priya, and Jagdeo are a bunch of low life neemakarams now. They brought shame and disgrace to the PPP party. 

Be careful. The PPP fans will beat you up. 

General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, yesterday supported the statements made by his comrade, Bharrat Jagdeo, to the effect that the incumbent party is a “coolie people” party.

Baseman:

Not sure why you referring to Baseman.  I never said that and I am still not convinced he actually said that.  Maybe a Caribj take on things!  

Fake news!!

Be careful. The PPP fans will beat you up. 

Anil is one of the few hopes in the PPP.  Rohee represents a edgy wing. BJ and his inner circle are corrupt and arrogant.  

FREE, FAIR AND CREDIBLE ELECTIONS IN 2020. Only through THAT will the PPP return to power. I think there will be a small margin of victory for the PPP, somewhat like the 4,506 votes that propelled APNU+AFC into government. But, judging from its past actions, the PNC will not take a marginal PPP win graciously. There will be violent street protests to back up demands for a recount. 

Baseman:

Not sure why you referring to Baseman.  I never said that and I am still not convinced he actually said that.  Maybe a Caribj take on things!  

Fake news!!

The key words there are "to the effect". They suggest that what Jagdeo said was understood as stated above and not that he actually said that the PPP is a coolie party.

FREE, FAIR AND CREDIBLE ELECTIONS IN 2020. Only through THAT will the PPP return to power. I think there will be a small margin of victory for the PPP, somewhat like the 4,506 votes that propelled APNU+AFC into government. But, judging from its past actions, the PNC will not take a marginal PPP win graciously. There will be violent street protests to back up demands for a recount. 

I see your political wisdom is functioning properly now that the damage cannot be undone. I know you don't like me on your tail but I am hard to get rid of. Anyway, I am not telling to slide off if you know what I mean.

Dem throw Indians under the bus because of a personal gripe with BJ.  Now dem all crying crock tears hoping to find salvation within themselves.  But in the end, Indians are being dragged under the bus!  

Some People are so stupid and simple minded. They cannot parse relevancy from irrelevancy!

The PPP has already started the ground work paving the way for the next election, a relative of mine just return from a two week trip in Guyana and stated that the blue collar workers and the poor class of people are frustrated with the present situation in the country. The coalition has not fulfilled any of their campaign promises, to stop the crimes, create jobs and to rebuild the roads,schools and hospitals etc. Already there is foreign currency restriction, Indians are finding it difficult to get government jobs, Blacks thought life would be easy but it is more difficult now.  Yes, people are trying planting vegetable gardens and keeping poultry ,but people are more desperate and they steal.

In the areas where the sugar factories closed, shops are not doing business and will soon have to close, they have already stopped giving credit. Georgetown is still busy with people selling overseas barrel items and don't say the streets are filthy.

For the coalition to win the next election they have to start spending into the economy and investing into it's people[ their best resources].but the word out there is they will not allow another political party given a chance to remove them from the seat of government at any cost.

The PPP has already started the ground work paving the way for the next election, a relative of mine just return from a two week trip in Guyana and stated that the blue collar workers and the poor class of people are frustrated with the present situation in the country. The coalition has not fulfilled any of their campaign promises, to stop the crimes, create jobs and to rebuild the roads,schools and hospitals etc. Already there is foreign currency restriction, Indians are finding it difficult to get government jobs, Blacks thought life would be easy but it is more difficult now.  Yes, people are trying planting vegetable gardens and keeping poultry ,but people are more desperate and they steal.

In the areas where the sugar factories closed, shops are not doing business and will soon have to close, they have already stopped giving credit. Georgetown is still busy with people selling overseas barrel items and don't say the streets are filthy.

For the coalition to win the next election they have to start spending into the economy and investing into it's people[ their best resources].but the word out there is they will not allow another political party given a chance to remove them from the seat of government at any cost.

a relative of mine?

This line has become like frequent flyers pitch. Did your relative go to Guyana especially to take note of the PPP progress? If this is one or two people opinion you are lying.

a relative of mine?

This line has become like frequent flyers pitch. Did your relative go to Guyana especially to take note of the PPP progress? If this is one or two people opinion you are lying.

Let me answer you politely, Nah they went looking for you.  This was my sister-in-law her brother and daughter, prior to going they shipped several barrels of essential stuff of which the family members got together and contributed. They went to Wales, Uitvlugt, Skeldon, Enmore and Rose Hall, these were hard hit by the closure of the factories, except for Uitvlugt.Her brother is a businessman that lives in the USA, he makes yearly trip to Guyana and does his own charity. My sister-in-law goes every other year and would her heart to the needy, she has close family in the government, so most of the information is coming from reliable sources, first hand, unlike you, you depend on fake news.

Just yesterday I spoke to someone from Uitvlugt, he was describing how bad the tidal wave hit the coastal region. Anyway, this has nothing to do with you and the PNC, things are tuff you go and see for yourself.

a relative of mine?

This is your image of Guyana.

the PNC will not take a marginal PPP win graciously. There will be violent street protests to back up demands for a recount. 

alyuh Robb Street geniuses start early

so, what is the timing for a roll out of "black man ah gon kill abie and rape yuh daughta"?

it's still only 2018

My understanding, the PNC has major plans to alleviate some of the hardship due to the economic transition.  With oil on the horizon, the US will have the IMF open up the purse strings to Guyana. 

In the end, the mission of the Govt is to take the edge off the PPP criticism and hope their AFC wing can hold support.  They also intend to "incentivize" some notable PPP defection into the coalition so even if there is some irregular activities at election, the outcome will be more believable.  Money talks, BS walks!

Many Indians have reconciled to the coalition Govt in power as the PPP had 23 years and the results were mixed, at best!  Indians don't view the PPP as an answer to all their challenges!