Harmon Says Guyanese Believe The Country Is In A Better Place:

Minister of State Joseph Harmon on Thursday declared that majority of the population is happy with the progress the coalition government has made in its two years in office.

“The people who are here in this country, I’m sure the majority, if not all, believe we are doing a good job in so far making this country a better place and a more accountable place for all Guyanese,” he told reporters at a post cabinet press briefing.

He was at the time explaining measures his administration has taken to ensure the perception of corruption is diminished.

“If there is a perception, we try to put out the facts to deal with that perception but sometimes there is a big gap between perception and reality, and depending on where you stand, your perception becomes your reality,” Harmon said.

He also noted that government has implemented several measures to stamp out corruption and the perception of corruption.

“We are doing our best to ensure our processes are clean, that there is transparency in what we do and that wherever corruption is found, action is taken against it,” the Minister emphasised.

Harmon said the early presentation of the National Budgets and the conducting of financial enquiries are evidence of the government’s fight against corruption.

He added, “if there is a perception, then it was there before and we are now trying our best to work our way out of it.”

Guyana moved up by 11 places on the international ranking of ‘perceived corruption’ – from 119, with a score of 29, in 2015 to 108, with a score of 34, in 2016. This was revealed in the Transparency International’s Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) report for 2016.

http://newsroom.gy/2017/07/21/...s-in-a-better-place/

In some areas this may be true but overall, especially from an economic perspective, I don't believe Guyanese feel they are better off. Corruption is rampant as ever if not even worse. The govt are more interested in collecting taxes than growing the economy. They are basically waiting for oil revenues while investors are few and far in between. 

Prince, I challenge you to find a more naive, dumb and stupid group of people like the GNI FILTH HEADS. There are no words to describe the depth and ignorance of this Group. Thank you they are a small group!!!!!!

In some areas this may be true but overall, especially from an economic perspective, I don't believe Guyanese feel they are better off. Corruption is rampant as ever if not even worse. The govt are more interested in collecting taxes than growing the economy. They are basically waiting for oil revenues while investors are few and far in between. 

As far as most Guyanese are concerned APNU/AFC=PPP.  They felt badly off then and fled to small islands to eke out a living.

They still feel badly off now, though those small islanders no longer want them, so its harder for them to flee to those places.  Chinese have now appeared in the Caribbean and they are even more easily exploited than Guyanese were.

Now we will see what Guyanese will do about it. Will they whine "wha we gun do" and let the current crop of corrupt incompetents (APNU/AFC and the PPP) continue to misrule Guyana as they have over the past 60 years?

Or will they craft a new way and toss those cretins in the incinerator?