Ministers Henry and Ferguson among multi-million scholarships beneficiaries

—Others include children of gov’t MPs, politically appointed Board members
Earlier this week, Opposition Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira, questioned how many persons were on scholarships.

Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, disclosed that nine persons are on scholarships at the PHD level, 75 at the Masters Level, 186 at the Bachelors level and 704 at various local institutions.  He promised to disclose a list of the persons on scholarships.

The answers were provided and indicate that Ministers Nicolette Henry and Annette Ferguson  are beneficiaries of multi-million dollar scholarships

Henry is doing her first year PHD in Public Health at a cost of $3.39M, while Ferguson is benefiting from a $3.38M scholarship in the area of Public Policy Management, second year. Henry is studying in the United States of America, while Ferguson is studying in the United Kingdom.

Also benefiting from scholarships are the children of sitting Government Members of Parliament: Alicia Roopnarine – first year Psychology in the United Kingdom – at a cost of $2.57M; and Stephen Rutherford – first year Petroleum and Gas in the United States – at a cost of $5.88M.

Tabitha Sarbo Halley, a board member of the Guyana National Newspapers Limited (GNNL), is also on a scholarship – second year Public Policy Management in the United Kingdom – at a cost of $3.43M.

These persons are included on a list of “fully funded sponsored students on overseas scholarships presently” – a list of 38 persons.

No kokobeh comments,Nimakaraam,and the use less words.

Real comments only.

I will make it short and bitter "IT'S WRONG"

Two pea of the same pod,when will the Guyanese kick the PNC and PPP TO THE CURB

Bai, in Guyana anything possible... the previous government had their time.  

Any government needs to run like a business to be successful, unfortunately that's not the case in Guyana.  

A promise by the current regime to run office efficiently has proven other wise... 

These frigging ninconpoops have the audacity to speak about Pradoville.

I will say this: It is not a PNC or PPP issue. This country is riddled with corruption and malfeasance and there is so much information clouded in secrecy. We need full disclosure on everything...

Rupert Roopnarine daughter is unemployed and need money to mind her bastard child so she is collecting scholarship money.  She has never stepped foot one day in any university in the UK.  She lives in a jungle in Mahaica.

Django bai, when me read dem story wah you peeple dem do, me feel fuh halla halla and cry. Guyana is imploding with the PNC sucking the blood out of a starving population. When will these leeches, including Neemakharam and Kanwa, see and admit their mistakes?

Don't worry about Django, he is celebrating all of this.  This is what they wanted.  They knew exactly what they were doing. You watch, they will be putting the PNC back in there again to finish the job in 2020 if the country is not bankrupt by then.

THE ENTIRE BUDGET IS A DISGRACE AND IT IS EVIDENT THE RACIST BURNHAM POLICIES ARE BACK. BUXTON, MOCHA ARCADIA, TRIUMPH AND 2 OTHER PNC STRONGHOLD ARE RECEIVING OVER 15 MILLION US. 

CANE GROCE, ENTERPRISE, MAHAICA CREEK AND OTHERS CAN HOLD WOOD!!!

OPEN, DIRECT AND SHAMELESS RACISM IS BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACK!!!

The scholarships were not made public ....they were handpicked and it was secret until now.  In addition, they were paid a monthly salary while they are studying.

I think the UG lecturers were paid while studying abroad so this might not be a big deal because people still have to support a family.

The question is if they were selected on a purely political basis?  It would be interesting to know if these people are under contract to serve Guyana for a number of years after studies.

There is no contract that anyone is aware of.  In the case of Rupert's daughter, Alicia Roopnarine, she is receiving money for studying in the UK.  She never stepped foot in any university in the UK.  She had a baby a few months ago and she lives with the baby and the child's father in Rupert's house in Mahaica right now.  They did not want the baby to be Guyanese so she went and gave birth in Brazil and then returned to Guyana.  Sources are saying that the scholarship money paid for the trip to Brazil as Alicia Roopnarine and her baby daddy are both unemployed.

If true, this is clearly illegal.

Guyana's politics make me sick.

VVP posted:

Were you not one of the coalition supporters during the PNC cum AFC campaign? Why cry now?

Django bai, when me read dem story wah you peeple dem do, me feel fuh halla halla and cry. Guyana is imploding with the PNC sucking the blood out of a starving population. When will these leeches, including Neemakharam and Kanwa, see and admit their mistakes?

"No kokobeh comments,Nimakaraam,and the use less words."

Like you nah read wha meh seh.

Anyway leeches on both side of the fence,CROOKS running the homeland.

Don't worry about Django, he is celebrating all of this.  This is what they wanted.  They knew exactly what they were doing. You watch, they will be putting the PNC back in there again to finish the job in 2020 if the country is not bankrupt by then.

You got me wrong,

I prefer periodic change of government,the people will decide which is lesser of the two evils PPP and PNC come 2020.

I deliberately used those words. Somehow you seem to condone the current crooks. I do not see you asking for those crooks to be feathered and tarred.Alyu deh on top now.

Banna you funny,why did I created this thread ?

You got me wrong,

I prefer periodic change of government,the people will decide which is lesser of the two evils PPP and PNC come 2020.

Show me your friends and I will tell you who you are.

The PNC are SHAMELESS, RUTHLESS, DUMB PIGS and their Snakeoil drinking FILTH HEADS are ever WORST.

Meh Canecutter Padna does seh whem dem STUPID dem done STUPID. Dem listen to Uncle Tom glorious LIES about Democracy, transparency, balance Govt and these FILTH HEAFDS like STUPIDEE BILL went gaga for it!!!

VVP posted:

Were you not one of the coalition supporters during the PNC cum AFC campaign? Why cry now?

The PPP was and will be no better.  Same secrecy used to happen under the PPP where favors were given to their cohorts.

VVP posted:
VVP posted:

The PPP was and will be no better.  Same secrecy used to happen under the PPP where favors were given to their cohorts.

Is this all the response you have? Sick and illegal? Only if it was the PPP doing this!!!!!

Chatree should start a law suit of some kind.  Good work Gail!

Welcome home darling.  What should I cook you for dinner?

Thanks. I'll take a rain check.

To err is human.  To forgive is divine.  If a man owns a hundred sheep and one of them is lost.  He will leave the other 99 and go in search of that one until he finds it.