President Ramotar…

WINNERES ROW: President Donald Ramotar and Education Minister, Ms Priya Manickchand (centre-ish) with the 2014 Awardees (Photo by Adrian Narine)

Investing in education is an investment in Guyana’s future
–as MoE hosts 18th National Awards Ceremony

THE Ministry of Education yesterday hosted its 18th National Award Ceremony for outstanding performances, and more than 36 students from across Guyana were recognised for their outstanding achievements.

President Donald Ramotar and Education Minister, Ms Priya Manickchand with the top four CSEC performers

The ceremony was held at the National Cultural Centre (NCC) which saw the students in 12 different categories being awarded for their outstanding performances at the National Grade Six Assessment (NGSA); the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC); the Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE); the Guyana Technical Education Examination (GTEE); the Carnegie School of Home Economics (CSHE); and the Cyril Potter College of Education (CPCE).
Awards were presented to Rama Krishna Primary and President’s College as the most improved primary and senior secondary schools, respectively; East Ruimveldt and Zeebury Secondary Schools were awarded for being the most improved junior secondary schools. Guyana won four out of the eight awards given this year to CSEC students who wrote the examination in June 2014.

Elisa Hamiltion, overall best CSEC performer 2014; Ryhan Chand, Best Business Student; Aliyyah Abdul Kadir, Best Humanities Student and Kishan Crichlow, Best Technological/Vocational Education Student were top performers for Guyana as well as top performers as recognised by the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC)

President Donald Ramotar greets Elisa Hamiltion, overall best CSEC performer 2014 with Education Minister Priya Manickchand

During her brief remarks, Education Minister Priya Manickchand expressed her congratulations to all the awardees, noting also that “to get where you are today it took a lot of commitment and hard work.” She also mentioned that without the encouragement and commitment by teachers, parents and communities this would not have been possible either.

She explained that there was a time when all the top places and students were from certain schools, whether it was primary or nursery. “But this goes to show how universal our programmes and policies are applied; we see persons from Berbice, Essequibo, Region 9 and 10 having more ones in CXC than I can count,” the Education Minister said. However, she said that while the top senior secondary schools continue to do well, “we now see them being joined by other schools who were never heard of before.”

Manickchand noted that all across the country services were given to students and as a result today we can celebrate achievements not only within our country, “ but are now the recipients of four CSEC awards , one of them being the best performer at CSEC 2014.” She said this is to show that “when we do in

Rosemarie Ramitt of the Guyana Blind Institute who is aspiring to be a teacher, achieved five Grade Ones at CSEC 2014 to become the first blind person to gain this achievement. Rosemarie is captured meeting President Donald Ramotar and Education Minister, Ms Priya Manickchand [Photos by Adrian Narine)

Rosemarie Ramitt of the Guyana Blind Institute who is aspiring to be a teacher, achieved five Grade Ones at CSEC 2014 to become the first blind person to gain this achievement. Rosemarie is captured meeting President Donald Ramotar and Education Minister, Ms Priya Manickchand (Photos by Adrian Narine)

things in the Ministry of Education and in the Government, when a service is given it is given equally to all,” she said. It can be noted that because of the ministry’s consistency in the distribution of services “we can reap the benefits now” the Education Minister explained.

President Donald Ramotar, during the main discourse, said: “I am proud of your achievements and the achievements of the Ministry of Education,” as he congratulated the students, and explained that his government will continue to make investments in education. “Our investments in education are investments in the future of our country, and that has always been the case,” he said. He explained that a country has to invest in education, because in the world we live in today is changing especially in technology and science and “for us to keep apace we have to educate our people.”
The Head of State restated that “the most important factor for development is the development of our people” and our country, he noted, even though quite young has been proving this. He noted too that only two decades ago “our country was described as a HIPC [Highly Indebted Poor Country] country, a poor country… and today we are being described as a middle- income developing country.” He explained that as we proceed to achieve universal secondary education, “where every child will be able to access a secondary education,” the Education Ministry should be congratulated yet again on achieving universal primary education.

He also related that the Education Ministry and the Government have been playing a part to ‘ease the pressure of parents’ through a number of programmes, such as the one laptop per family programme; serving hot meals in some schools; the distribution of text books and exercise books and uniform vouchers; and recently the “Because We Care” cash grant. Disbursement of the grant, he noted, has recently started and has touched almost all the regions, “Once we do for one, we do for all,” President Ramotar declared.

President Ramotar went on to explain the need for cheap electricity and the expansion of the international airport; he also explained that with the recent marine developments, a deep- water harbour will be necessary for Guyana. “This harbour will help to integrate our countries and make us a marine hub; we can definitely become the bridge between South America and the Caribbean,” the President asserted.

The Head of State told the students that “Whatever field you find yourself in that is where you will make a great contribution to our country or wherever life will take you, you can continue to make a contribution to Guyana and while at the same time to the world.”

President Ramotar urged the students to take this as your first step and “Always strive to be the best you can [be] and always strive to make a contribution to the development of wherever you are but never forget your country Guyana and always make a contribution to your country.”

(By Rebecca Ganesh-Ally)

Source: Chronicle

It's always refreshing to see the president and his side kick, Priya, campaigning on education. In recent weeks they have been around the country interaction with school children and giving out cash grants. This is the first time in history I have witness the performance of a caring government.

President Ramotar…

WINNERES ROW: President Donald Ramotar and Education Minister, Ms Priya Manickchand (centre-ish) with the 2014 Awardees (Photo by Adrian Narine)

Rosemarie Ramitt of the Guyana Blind Institute who is aspiring to be a teacher, achieved five Grade Ones at CSEC 2014 to become the first blind person to gain this achievement. Rosemarie is captured meeting President Donald Ramotar and Education Minister, Ms Priya Manickchand [Photos by Adrian Narine)

Rosemarie Ramitt of the Guyana Blind Institute who is aspiring to be a teacher, achieved five Grade Ones at CSEC 2014 to become the first blind person to gain this achievement. Rosemarie is captured meeting President Donald Ramotar and Education Minister, Ms Priya Manickchand (Photos by Adrian Narine)

Congratulations and best wishes for the future.

Guyana is advancing on education and encouraging the nation's children to pursue their studies. All of us went to school and understand the value of education. Some of us are still grateful for the gift of education by thanking our parents, the government and our teachers that make it all possible. Where would we have been today if we were not given that opportunity? Imagine yourself scavenging for food in a garbage dump everyday. Thankfully, Guyana surpasses many nation's children by investing in education, because education is the tool to alleviate poverty. I foresee, Guyana is destined to be a great nation.

Guyana is rated as a developing nation but it is developing quite well, specifically since 1992.

What metrics have you used to arrive at this illustrious conclusion?

Guyana is rated as a developing nation but it is developing quite well, specifically since 1992.

where exactly is it rated as a developing nation?

TOP10 poorest countries by GDP per capita (according to the IMF): 

1.-Haiti: $1,317 

2.-Nicaragua: $2,698 

3.-Guyana: $4,029 

4.-Honduras: $4,275 

5.-Bolivia: $4,365 

6.-Paraguay: $4,786 

7.-Guatemala: $4,907 

8.-El Salvador: $7,564 

9.-Ecuador: $7,786 

10.-Belize: $7,894 

Extremely simple .. check the official source(s).

It that the style of Priya's dress, or she need to pull it up on the left side? Nehru, stop watching Guyana next Hema Malini. 

post them nah...since you mek de claim

Another extremely simple process .. do your own research.

How come you can never provide data to backup your vacuous statements?

I did...can't find a single source...again you making wild claims...smh

Irrational statements seem to be your focus.

I cannot find his utterings in any searches either. Sheer fart he sellin here.

DG you, you are becoming real silly,show the goddam proof or shut your rass.

You have a question of your own or you chose to be pot salt?

That dear boy was neither, if you read a bit s-l-o-w-e-r you will see 'twas a statement.

Your point is ....?

You too, read it a bit s-l-o-w-e-r, you'll ketch it.

Your point is ....?

Perhaps, you are lagging far more than s-l-o-w-e-r.

Your point is ....?

Perhaps, you are lagging far more than s-l-o-w-e-r.

Perhaps not!  Go re-read it again.