Interracial Marriage Becoming the Norm in U.S.: Report

The report’s findings include that Black men with a bachelor’s degree are more than twice as likely as Black women to intermarry.

A scene from the 2016 film “Loving,” which celebrates the commitment of Richard and Mildred Loving (portrayed by Joel Edgerton and Ruth Negga).

Interracial marriage is on the rise, making more than a fivefold increase since 1967, when only 3 percent of newlyweds were intermarried, according to a Pew Research Center report released Thursday. However, interracial marriage is more accepted by Democrats than Republicans, and Black men and Asian women are more likely to marry someone of a different race.

In 2015, 17 percent of all newlyweds in the country had a spouse of a different race or ethnicity — the growth coinciding “with shifting societal norms as Americans have become accepting of marriages involving spouses of different races and ethnicities, even within their own families,” according to the report.

The 17 percent represents one-in-six newlyweds, while, more broadly, among all married people in 2015,  one-in-10, about 11 million, were intermarried, according to Pew.

Asians were most likely to intermarry, with 29 percent of newlywed Asians married to someone of a different race or ethnicity, followed by Hispanics at 27 percent, Blacks at 18 percent and whites at 11 percent, according to the authors .

When looking at the data of Black newlyweds in the U.S., researchers found that intermarriage is twice as common for Black men as it is for Black women.

“While about one-fourth of recently married Black men (24 percent) have a spouse of a different race or ethnicity, this share is 12 percent among recently married Black women,” according to the analysis.

And the difference between Black men and women regarding intermarriage also increases with education.

“For those with a high school diploma or less, 17 percent of men vs. 10 percent of women are intermarried, while among those with a bachelor’s degree, Black men are more than twice as likely as Black women to intermarry (30 percent vs. 13 percent),” state researchers.

Related Story

College-Educated Black Women Least Likely to Have a Well-Educated Spouse

A report on social mobility by The Brookings Institution takes a look at the decline of marriage in the U.S., focusing on Black college-educated women.

In 2015, The Brookings Institution published a Social Mobility Memo called “Single Black female BA seeks educated husband: Race, assortative mating and inequality.”

It indicated that a large percentage of Black women with college degrees remain unmarried because they seek to only wed a Black, college-educated man.

The study found that married Black women who are college graduates are much more likely to have a husband with a lower level of education (58 percent), compared to whites of a similar background (48 percent).

The authors also noted that the racial gaps in our society offer the “greatest equity challenges of the 21st Century,” more so than the marriage gaps.

Inequality toward Black men in America has contributed to the difference in education levels between Black men and women — for example, the racial gap in U.S. arrest rates.

The Pew study released Thursday also found that Asian women are far more likely to intermarry than Asian men. In 2015, just over one-third (36 percent) of newlywed Asian women had a spouse of a different race or ethnicity, while 21 percent of newlywed Asian men had a spouse of a different race.

Loving vs. Virginia

In 1967, the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) represented Mildred Jeter, who was Black, and her childhood sweetheart, white construction worker Richard Loving, in the landmark U.S. Supreme Court case Loving vs. Virginia. The couple was unable to lawfully reside in the state together due to laws banning marriage between Blacks and whites.

The Court ruled that marriage across racial lines was legal throughout the country. Until this ruling, interracial marriages were forbidden in many states.

The Pew report, which is an analysis of Pew surveys, U.S. Census Bureau data and data from the research group NORC at the University of Chicago, was released to mark 50 years since the landmark case.

More Key Findings:

• About half (49 percent) of Democrats and Independents who lean toward the Democratic Party say the growing number of people of different races marrying each other is a good thing for society. Only 28 percent of Republicans and Republican-leaning Independents share that view.
  • Among newlyweds, intermarriage is most common for those in their 30s (18 percent). Even so, 13 percent of newlyweds ages 50 and older are married to someone of a different race or ethnicity.
  • White people living in urban areas are more likely to marry someone of a different race or ethnicity than those in non-urban areas. However, Hispanics and Asians are more likely to intermarry if they live in non-urban areas. And for Blacks the intermarriage rates do not vary by place of residence.
  • The most common intermarriages were between a Hispanic and white spouse, at 42 percent. The next most common was between a white and Asian spouse at 15 percent, followed by a multiracial and white spouse at 12 percent.

I am all for it if two people love each other. President Bill Clinton predicted this a long time ago. 

I have seen a few instances where children of interracial marriages having identity issues.

It is important for parents to install a sense of identity and confidence at an early age. 

Tola posted:

Does dis mean some kaka-rass bai from Coriverton, who did good in Amerika, only like Muslim women.  Marnin Chief.

Look story here now. You put a whole new spin on this article. I am not touching this one.

Tola posted:

Does dis mean some kaka-rass bai from Coriverton, who did good in Amerika, only like Muslim women.  Marnin Chief.

Bai Tola, dis kaka-rass bai married wan non coolie hooman..lang lang time ago. Dis work out good fuh me.

The TV commercials these days, for some time now have been showing several light skin handsme negroes with white young ladies as families with children. They depicting an uppity class. Suh doan expect a Black like blue chap 2 b seen on TV in bed wid a 5'-4'' shapely beautiful blonde anytime soon.

I live in a University town. Lots of Indo boys with Chinese girls, hand in hand. I see a few blacks with white girls. Indian girls mostly by themselves. Black girls too.  Chinese boys with Chinese girls, hand in hand.

People say, in a few hundred years, there will only be one race of people. From predictions, they will all be muslims, according to Chief. Muslims goan tek ovah the whole wide world. 

Every Caribbean black guy I see where I live has a white woman. Every East Indian Caribbean woman that I see where I live has a white man. I have only seen two African black men with white women. Prashad believe in the sustainability of strong families of color. So I am not into that nonsense.

Tola posted:

Bai Tola, dis kaka-rass bai married wan non coolie hooman..lang lang time ago. Dis work out good fuh me.

Our marriage is so inter-racial  that when the children were born, dankey years ago,  I keep asking at de hospital, 'you sure dis one is ours?'

One boy was so white, we almost sent  him back.

Inter-racial marriages might takes extra work for some, because of the different cultures.

Every Caribbean black guy I see where I live has a white woman. Every East Indian Caribbean woman that I see where I live has a white man. I have only seen two African black men with white women. Prashad believe in the sustainability of strong families of color. So I am not into that nonsense.

For black a man who has a white woman, you always see a black man with an extremely obese white woman with a couple of kids who probably is on welfare.

You are one racist ass hole. I do not know where you live but why you say these things are truly remarkable. Do yourself a favor and execute a random search on images of  interracial couples and check for yourself.

If you call me a racist ass hole for disclosing the truth, then you are truly a stupid and immature coolie hater, racist ass hole. I am just repeating here what I read in the newspaper here and have seen this for myself. You do not want to admit that some black, lazy, drug pushing blackman leeches on to a welfare woman(black or white). Grow some balls and accept it.

While this is a stereotype, there is a perception that it is true. The perception is that black men will scrape the bottom of the barrel of the white race and come up with a fat white woman that the white men don't want.  Same can be said for Blacks who date Indians, Asians, Hispanics etc. The perception is there, whether it is true is another story. 

If you call me a racist ass hole for disclosing the truth, then you are truly a stupid and immature coolie hater, racist *******. I am just repeating here what I read in the newspaper here and have seen this for myself. You do not want to admit that some black, lazy, drug pushing blackman leeches on to a welfare woman(black or white). Grow some balls and accept it.

My a race hater! You are the one making ignorant generalization that has no basis in fact. I also doubt you read that in the newspaper in liberal Minnesota without the community throwing a tantrum.

I do not want to doubt anything. I question your generalizations since they are based on your shriveled brains. I do not have to accept what a bigot says.

While this is a stereotype, there is a perception that it is true. The perception is that black men will scrape the bottom of the barrel of the white race and come up with a fat white woman that the white men don't want.  Same can be said for Blacks who date Indians, Asians, Hispanics etc. The perception is there, whether it is true is another story. 

Find one black personality with an ugly white woman or the reverse. They are the ones most likely to marry outside their race.

If you call me a racist ass hole for disclosing the truth, then you are truly a stupid and immature coolie hater, racist *******. I am just repeating here what I read in the newspaper here and have seen this for myself. You do not want to admit that some black, lazy, drug pushing blackman leeches on to a welfare woman(black or white). Grow some balls and accept it.

My a race hater! You are the one making ignorant generalization that has no basis in fact. I also doubt you read that in the newspaper in liberal Minnesota without the community throwing a tantrum.

I do not want to doubt anything. I question your generalizations since they are based on your shriveled brains. I do not have to accept what a bigot says.

You do not see beyond black. There was also an article in the City Pages confirming my observation. The paper also described some of those black men without front teeth.

You do not see beyond black. There was also an article in the City Pages confirming my observation.

I think that is more your problem. I just confront prejudices and that means I get more of such commentary here given this place is a den of some of the most pernicious racist with you leading the pack.

I am saying you are lying your ass off because no reputable paper would make that generalization. Maybe you have an active subscription to Stormfront

You do not see beyond black. There was also an article in the City Pages confirming my observation.

I think that is more your problem. I just confront prejudices and that means I get more of such commentary here given this place is a den of some of the most pernicious racist with you leading the pack.

I am saying you are lying your ass off because no reputable paper would make that generalization. Maybe you have an active subscription to Stormfront

You should confront yourself for being rejected by a coolie woman who turned you into a coolie hater.

Dum dum...I have two kids with my Indo  from India. Never had any live in arrangement with a guyanese woman or ever was married to one.

I went to a large grocery store once with a Jamaican guy. We saw this very large, fat and ugly white woman hugging up a very fit young muscular black man. The Jamaican guy turned to me and said " He has the tool to satisfy that whale"

It is becoming more popular, especially between Asian/Indians and Whites and Hispanics.  Main reason, many have integrated and went to college together.  But there is also a pick up with Blacks, mainly men and White women.  The Obama husband/father factor!

Obama as a symbol represents a successful interracial offspring for many of these white women to achieve a pathway to fame and fortune . Although Obama personally did the right thing in my opinion on choosing a woman of color as his wife and built a strong successful colored family.

Find one black personality with an ugly white woman or the reverse. They are the ones most likely to marry outside their race.

Now you have narrowed the scope to black personality. In fact the black man fat white woman myth is among the poorer classes. 

The perception is that RH women are abandoning RH men because they are tired of the wife beating, drunkenness, and men who don't respect them.

Do some research to see if this is true.

skeldon. Maybe you have an active subscription to Stormfront

Of course he does. Every single rant out of his mouth is what he reads from the Alt Right, except the part where the express their distaste for Indians at some many levels.

The perception is that RH women are abandoning RH men because they are tired of the wife beating, drunkenness, and men who don't respect them.

No such perception exist about RH men exists,  you are trying to lash back but it is well document, the perception that Black men can only get fat white women as leftovers.  See for yourself. 

https://www.reddit.com/r/AskRe...acted_to_overweight/

No such perception exist about RH men exists,  you are trying to lash back but it is well document, the perception that Black men can only get fat white women as leftovers.  See for yourself. 

https://www.reddit.com/r/AskRe...acted_to_overweight/

Believe as you wish but the biscuit chest is out of fashion and those Puerto Rican boys have moved in.

And the rapid increase in the dougla population in Guyana also suggests that many of those Indo women are making other choices as well.

In Islam , we do mot discriminate, you can marry anyone, regardless of race. 

Chief you make yourself look ridiculous with your assertions that Muslims are perfect.  Racism is rife among Arabs. In fact in 2017 they still call blacks slaves.  You are also aware of the abominable conditions that South Asians find themselves in many Muslim lands.

http://www.aljazeera.com/indep...362472519107286.html

Note the source of this so don't screams that this is anti Muslim propaganda.

Carib J instead about writing about douglas you need to address the plight of educated black women who cannot find find suitable black men.

Well if you Muslims are so free of racism why don't they rescue them then?  Is there a law that says that black women can only marry black men? If Muslims are so free of racism then than shouldn't matter.

Carib J instead about writing about douglas you need to address the plight of educated black women who cannot find find suitable black men.

Well if you Muslims are so free of racism why don't they rescue them then?  Is there a law that says that black women can only marry black men? If Muslims are so free of racism then than shouldn't matter.

The issue here is educated black American  women cannot find educated black men.Secondly not all black women are Muslims.

If they revert then problem solved!

Dum dum...I have two kids with my Indo  from India. Never had any live in arrangement with a guyanese woman or ever was married to one.

Oh SHIT!!! Here goes another lie again. You have said on this site that your ex-wife was from Sri Lanka. Stan up ugly liar and tell us who you are. I am surprised that you still live a fantasy world.

The issue here is educated black American  women cannot find educated black men.Secondly not all black women are Muslims.

If they revert then problem solved!

I see so racist Muslims can only marry a Muslim?  So why your screams that Muslims are so tolerant?

Muslims are intolerant hypocrites just like the rest of us, so cease this notion that you are the pillars of perfection.

And don't claim that Muslims can only marry Muslims, because the rest of us are dirty infidels.  You know that many Muslim/Hindu marriages occur among Indo Caribbean people, and in addition Islam and Christianity both arose from the same root religion, so aren't incompatible.

Believe as you wish but the biscuit chest is out of fashion and those Puerto Rican boys have moved in.

And the rapid increase in the dougla population in Guyana also suggests that many of those Indo women are making other choices as well.

In fact it is the other way around, Indo men are taking away your black women as you folks can't stay hard long enough to satisfy your women. We indo's are armed with the ancient art of kamasutra in our bloodline.