Alleged gun-butting by Kwame Mc Coy…Victim still to give statement, expresses fears for his safety
November 16, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News

Pull quote: “I am fearful to go to the police because this man (MC Coy) is above the law. I’m looking for protection and I want this thing to go to the courts”

Police are still seeking to get a statement from APNU activist Clifton Stewart about the alleged gun-butting he sustained at the hands of Information Liaison to the President, Kwame Mc Coy.
But Stewart has indicated that he is reluctant to go to the police because he fears for his safety, even while vowing to ensure that the matter is taken to the courts.
Police sources told Kaieteur News that arrangements were made yesterday to have the injured man gave a statement to Commander of A Division George Vyphuis, but the 50-year-old Lodge resident failed to show up.

“He’s made an initial report, but he did not return after getting a medical. Without the statement, how can we proceed with the matter?” an official said. “The matter is already under investigation, but the man has to give a statement. What is he afraid of? We’re not going to do him anything. He’s the victim here.”
The official also said that while Mc Koy had spoken with the police, he had not given a statement but promised to do so.
In a televised statement yesterday, Stewart, who identified himself as an APNU activist, said that he was at home at around 20:10 hrs on Saturday when he decided to purchase some mosquito coils in D’Urban Street.
Stewart said that as he entered D’Urban Street, he saw four vehicles, and observed Kwame Mc Koy, who was instructing persons to put up political posters in the area.
According to the APNU activist, Mc Koy instructed his assistants to erect the posters over those of APNU Presidential Candidate David Granger’s.
“I said ‘Kwame, you got to know how you speaking. You either put the posters above or below. If you put it over then you covering it (Granger’s poster) and that is violating that man, and I won’t encourage that.’”
He said that Mc Koy then said ‘Who is you?” and Stewart said that he retorted by saying “That is not relevant.”
Stewart alleged that Mc Koy called him a ‘madman’ and began taking pictures of him. The Lodge resident claimed that he began to walk away, while Mc Koy followed, still taking pictures of him. Eventually, some women in the street saw what was happening and they engaged Mc Koy in a verbal altercation.
“I tell the girls don’t take worries with him, is only 16 days left for him to go on with these things, and his words were ‘y’all got another five more years with me’.”
“I say ‘what you mean?’ and he say ‘is another five more years I got in y’all ass’. I say ‘yuh mean is five years in jail.’ With that, he come out of the vehicle and throw a punch at me,” Stewart said.
The man said that he parried the blow but Mc koy then “pulled out a gun” and struck him in the head.
Stewart said that he then made a report at a police station and was given a medical, which he took to a hospital.
However, Steward confirmed that he has not returned to the police.
“I am fearful to go on the road. I did not even take back the medical (to the police). I am fearful to go there because this man (Mc Koy) is above the law. I’m looking for protection and I want this thing to go to the courts. I am a big man and I won’t have no lil boy beating me in the streets and got me terrorized.”
Stewart said that he has made a complaint to the APNU leadership team, which is looking into the matter.

he come out of the vehicle and throw a punch at me,” Stewart said.

Well well. first it was Jagdeo and Ramjattan now is Kwame and Sewart.
This PPP regime really turning violent nowadays. Big Grin Big Grin
Rohee and Donald planning on beating anybody yet? Big Grin
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
That will be the day, a PNC supporter allowing and antiman to beat him. hahahahaao

Dont forget di anti-man also mek the big bad Benschop run like hell. Licks like peas. All da mouth they got. Anti man beating dem
Sumboby going to really beat AM Kwame real bad and the JUDGE isn't going to save him either. The PPP has employed a bunch of thugs but there are all AM. They should fight real men - mano y mano and put the guns down.
Originally posted by TI:
Steewwwps! PNC mek meh hand fall. A PNC man allow a PPP man to beat him?
What is the world coming to? Big Grin

The PNC man protecting he batty, jus in case he fall pan de ground. You neva know which adda PPP man hiding in Kwame SUV, fa jumpin in too fa a lil bit. Big Grin
Originally posted by Tola:
Originally posted by TI:

The PNC man protecting he batty, jus in case he fall pan de ground. You neva know which adda PPP man hiding in Kwame SUV, fa jumpin in too fa a lil bit. Big Grin

will see wey all yu mouth go gann when we announce the PPP win th eelections...ah want fu see yu here on the 29 cheers
Originally posted by SuperMike:
Originally posted by Tola:
Originally posted by TI:

will see wey all yu mouth go gann when we announce the PPP win th eelections...ah want fu see yu here on the 29 cheers

Right on, the PPP don't believe in violence, but dem using a gun. Rass, maybe it was a two-barrel cap gun or a water pistol dat shoot piss.
Desperate times, Supa, desperate times, wid lots of anxiety.