Home > TOP STORY > IMAG calls for apology from APNU’s Dr. Roopnarine
IMAG calls for apology from APNU’s Dr. Roopnarine
APNU’s Dr. Rupert Roopnarine

THE Independent Media Workers Association of Guyana (IMAG) has condemned in the strongest possible terms, public statements by A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU’s) Dr. Rupert Roopnarine in which he called for a boycott of Guyana Times and the state-owned Guyana Chronicle and the National Communications Network (NCN).

In a public statement, IMAG said, “Dr. Roopnarine’s call is a direct attack on press freedom and should not be condoned. Over the years we have fought extremely hard for a free press and should not allow anyone, including politicians like Rupert Roopnarine to reverse our gains.”
To this end, IMAG called for Dr. Roopnarine to withdraw his comments and issue an apology forthwith.
“Should he fail to do this, we urge the media to boycott APNU activities until such time an apology is issued,” IMAG said.
Speaking at an APNU rally last Friday at the Square of the Revolution, Roopnarine started off by urging attendees, “Do not buy the Chronicle or the Guyana Times; and when you see Channel 11 come on, change it.”
What was cause for alarm, however, was when he took things up a notch, saying: “Within a very short time, we will have to arrange a ceremony at the Square of the Revolution where we can make an enormous bonfire of the Chronicle and the Guyana Times.”
Additionally, there has also been no move by the Guyana Press Association (GPA) to address Dr. Roopnarine’s comment, in the same fashion as the association has moved to address other matters.

IMAG is a PPP front setup to counter the Guyana Press Association that has been in Guyana since colonial times.

This is another bundle of horse shit and a farce.

What does Gold Smith baboo know about media anyway? have you gotten that high school diplo yet?

PPPC moves to subvert the Guyana Press Association by creation of IMAG

Guyanese are urged to beware of a grouping calling itself Independent Media Workers Association of Guyana (IMAG). This group is said to be a PPP government front whose main purpose is to subvert the workings of the legitimate media umbrella organization, The Guyana Press Association (GPA).

How Independent can IMAG be when there is no representation by the “real” Independent media? How independent can IMAG be when their membership comprise; Terrence Christopher Holder; Dario McKlmon; Stacey Rahaman; Michael Younge; Karen Persaud; Michael Gordon and Michelle Alli , persons affiliated to PPP government controlled ( or sympathetic to)media outlets? How independent can IMAG be when there is no visible representation by Demerara Waves; Kaieteur News, Stabroek News and Channel 6 ( Sharma TV) ?

This Cabal of propagandists and mischief makers are up to no good, they want to subvert the working of the Guyana Press Association; they are already asking for membership fees, recognition by the University of Guyana; talking about training and asking people to join their association. They say they want to have a cohesive media organization, which is code for a PPP government controlled media, but we already have a cohesive media organization in Guyana that represents ALL media, and it is ably led by Mr. Gordon Mosley. This new creation that was spawned out of the belly of the Office of the President must be exposed and marginalized……. What we need is free access to the state controlled media and equal access by all opposition parties to the state media, until that happens there will be no free and fair elections in Guyana….. Stop the PPP rigging NOW!

IMAG is a PPP front setup to counter the Guyana Press Association that has been in Guyana since colonial times.

This is another bundle of horse shit and a farce.

What does Gold Smith baboo know about media anyway? have you gotten that high school diplo yet?

More jackass shit from the Sase.

are you denying its a PPP front? which media companies are part of IMAG?

Kwame INC?

I can't blame yuh, dem PPP chaps love when kwame rub dem back......

So is KN SASSE Inc.?

Kwame INC?

So is KN SASSE Inc.?

Be focused - Answer de quessshan.....asah de quesshan.

Kwame INC?

So is KN SASSE Inc.?

Be focused - Answer de quessshan.....asah de quesshan.

Your asinine question will be ignored.

From Bobby Ramroop's GUYANA TIMES of September 29, 2011: "IMAG’s known members are drawn from the state media, but the entity says it will also protect and advance the interests of media workers at the national, regional and international levels through the exchange of information, training, and other necessary interventions."

State-media employees formed that organization and named themselves independent media workers.

There is no such thing as state media. The PPP runs a litany of propaganda outlets all modeled after the Mirror.

The PPP is largely a racist mafia criminal entity and all these other entities are subservient to that criminal operation.

There is no such thing as state media. The PPP runs a litany of propaganda outlets all modeled after the Mirror.

The PPP is largely a racist mafia criminal entity and all these other entities are subservient to that criminal operation.

What else is new Sase?

You are stumped? answer the questions i have made....

What else is new Sase?

You are stumped? answer the questions i have made....

I believe people ask questions and not "make" questions. Come on Sase. You want minista wuk and you cyan't write wan prappa sentence?

Home > TOP STORY > IMAG calls for apology from APNU’s Dr. Roopnarine

APNU’s Dr. Rupert Roopnarine

THE Independent Media Workers Association of Guyana (IMAG) has condemned in the strongest possible terms, public statements by A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU’s) Dr. Rupert Roopnarine in which he called for a boycott of Guyana Times and the state-owned Guyana Chronicle and the National Communications Network (NCN).

In a public statement, IMAG said, “Dr. Roopnarine’s call is a direct attack on press freedom and should not be condoned. Over the years we have fought extremely hard for a free press and should not allow anyone, including politicians like Rupert Roopnarine to reverse our gains.”
To this end, IMAG called for Dr. Roopnarine to withdraw his comments and issue an apology forthwith.
“Should he fail to do this, we urge the media to boycott APNU activities until such time an apology is issued,” IMAG said.
Speaking at an APNU rally last Friday at the Square of the Revolution, Roopnarine started off by urging attendees, “Do not buy the Chronicle or the Guyana Times; and when you see Channel 11 come on, change it.”
What was cause for alarm, however, was when he took things up a notch, saying: “Within a very short time, we will have to arrange a ceremony at the Square of the Revolution where we can make an enormous bonfire of the Chronicle and the Guyana Times.”
Additionally, there has also been no move by the Guyana Press Association (GPA) to address Dr. Roopnarine’s comment, in the same fashion as the association has moved to address other matters.

He is using a well honed tool of the PPP. It is also not wrong. Both of these papers are propagandist rags.

for Cobra

Ramotar has only a 9% popularity rating.

Jagdeo is coming back 

Come back???  Leh he ker his Baxside suh. He must NEVER be President again. He had his time!!!

for Cobra

Ramotar has only a 9% popularity rating.

Jagdeo is coming back 

Come back???  Leh he ker his Baxside suh. He must NEVER be President again. He had his time!!!

Nehru Bhai

Cobra meant to torment dem AFC boys.

Jagdeo put them in their place.