Why the Granger presidency is already keeping us up at night

May 22, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, This country has just released itself from a fifteen year long cave of psychological oppression which only now that the people are free can they begin to comprehend how dark and dangerous it was. The Jagdeo years will go down in this country’s history as a quasi-tyranny under which outspoken critics were slandered and victimised while the rest remained in fearful silence. And that is why it is essential in the formative days of this Granger presidency that we call him out for every small thing he and his ministers do so they all hear it loud and clear that politicians can never again in this nation benefit from that silence, and that climate of scared acquiescence, that allowed vagabonds to rule with such impunity. So here are a couple of things that are bugging us. First, the naming of the Guyana International Conference Centre. We have no problem with Granger naming it after President Arthur Chung. It’s just the way he decided and announced it. It’s like he woke up this morning and had a brain storm. Quite frankly, it comes across as whimsical and authoritarian, and is no way to go about such a decision. At the least, it should have been one for his new Cabinet, and ideally one resolved in the Parliament. What better way to honour the late President?  And before that, it should have been debated in the letters pages, and on social media, and been the subject of television panels. Maybe someone else’s name could have been proposed…In other words, the proposal needed to be thrown out to the people, chewed over for a while, and for a collective decision to be made. Secondly, the naming and swearing in of the partial Cabinet today was just piss poor. (We will excuse the running out of parchment paper. Blame that on Ramotar who never thought he would have to do all this swearing-in rigmarole and that life would return to normal). Again what is disturbing is not the renaming of the ministries, but the complete lack of any explanation of the reasoning behind the numerous decisions. Tell us what is the purpose of the Ministry of Social Cohesion, except to keep Amna Ally happy, even though she is not the most unifying member of the APNU? Why is it now called the Ministry of Social Protection instead of the old name Social Security and Human Services? Why is it the Ministry of Communities? Tell us why did we hear only later that Youth, Sports and Culture is to be absorbed under Education and what is the rationale behind that? Tell us the reason why we hear the Ministry of Natural Resources is to be controlled by the Office of the President, despite having huge authority over the country’s economic activity?  To us, this seems like a dangerous centralisation of power. Tell us why the Ministry of Tourism is now only tourism? Is it because it is an AFC position? Just throwing out the name of a new ministry and attaching a minister to it emphasises personalities over purpose, faces over functions.  And tell us why are there no complete bios on any of the new ministers? Tell us who is Simona Broomes. What are her qualifications for her position? Tell us why was Basil Williams picked as the new AG, when many in the legal community are shaking their heads?  TELL US. This is no way to start. Governments are duty bound to be transparent, inclusive and answerable to the people and this smacks of high handedness and secrecy. The country has had quite enough of that and we urge all people to speak up and never give this new administration a moment of rest. It is not through cheerleading but through criticism that we will get the government we deserve. Taken from www.gtmosquito.com

What do you think.

Legitimate questions. I also had a suspicion that some Ministries were designed to suit some people, rather than designed on the basis of need.

Why should Tourism be a stand alone Ministry and exports be subsumed under Foreign Affairs?  Tourism will always remain an interesting sector for Guyana, but it will never be a major one.    Guyana doesnt offer the safaris that East and South Africa offer.  It doesnt combine beaches and surfing/diving with eco adventure as do Costa Rica and Belize.  So why couldnt the Ministry be Tourism and Non traditional exports?

They have also created new ministries without explaining the purpose.  What is Social Cohesion or Communities?  We can deduce that Social Protection means Social Security, child and senior services, etc.

Aside for ethnic insecurity the biggest problem that Guyana has is its youth, now we have been officially told that up to 40% of them are unemployed.  We also know that many are semi literate.  It is nonsense to think that hanging or other drastic measures will reduce crime. Unless there is a systematic actions to connect disconnected youth to employment/entrepreneurial opportunities there will always be crime, as people need to feed themselves.

Legitimate questions. I also had a suspicion that some Ministries were designed to suit some people, rather than designed on the basis of need.

Aside for ethnic insecurity the biggest problem that Guyana has is its youth, now we have been officially told that up to 40% of them are unemployed.  We also know that many are semi literate.  It is nonsense to think that hanging or other drastic measures will reduce crime. Unless there is a systematic actions to connect disconnected youth to employment/entrepreneurial opportunities there will always be crime, as people need to feed themselves.

Baseman shares your concerns and the new Govt should not be given kid glove treatment lest they cater to the lowest common denominator.  We should also not be overly patient as they should have already thought through plans.

It's absolutely critical that the disconnected youth be engaged asap or the quickly get disenchanted and drift away from whatever hope the change brought to them.

Regarding the ethnic insecurity issues, there is also a small window.  Apart from the street-level abuse we have seen recently, there are some concerns over institutions as many begin to see the old PNC power structure being resurrected.  If this is not addressed, expect another major exodus of mainly Indians.

This strike me as the same dictatorial stance of LFSB and CJ and BJ and Ram. I thought we were moving away from this kind of thing and hope this is not a harbinger of things to come, and that the old general is not a dictator in waiting. One thing that seriously worries me is the overt overtures to the ABC countries. The US State Department has made blunder after blunder everywhere it sends an expedition, and the indigenous peoples always suffer. We have many examples right close to our borders. They do not do anything for nothing! I hope this has nothing to do with the recent oil discovery that was fortuitously discovered. People may not want to entertain this, especially now that they are glad to see the backs of the PPP, but everyone should know that the mighty USA can move mountains much less the woeful PPP. Could it be that uncle Sam was looking for a strongman to control the situation so that he can deliver the country/oil to them? Remember who now controls the Ministry of Natural Resources? Shades of yesterdays? Just saying.

I had voiced those concerns to my other half. She said I was nit picking. I am glad that some one took the time to write about it. I wasn't out of stride.

President Granger din wake up one morning and said he was going to do all of that. He had that plan all along. His style of governance is to have a handle on the government. And he knew Joe Harmon was going to be important person in his government-probably a very long time ago.

If job creation is the main focus, then the names and responsibilities of the ministries involved are going to get confused. The way I see it some ministers going to get alot of responsibilities. And others very little.

To a very specific point. The other day when the President went to the oil rig, he should have made a point of taking along also an Indo face. We are a super sensitive country. If I noticed the absence, than I am certain others have.

I have a suspicion, Trotman is heading back to the PNC. Groomed for leadership. The President's wish.

Democracy and Statesmanship are two different thing. At this time of our history, President Granger is aiming for Statemanship. That is good thing to prepare the nation for seven generations.

And that is why he will mold the PNC with Trotman.

The PPP should take note on how an excellent leader plans the progress of a nation. Dem should stop their stupid azz behavior the Jagan teach dem and study Granger's method.

Bai Franky, you are only interested in protecting the ill gotten gains that your family accumulated. So stop spilling crocodile tears as if you are a concerned citizen. You can't hide the fact that you are a worried individual who prefers to avoid investigations into your family acquired wealth under the PPP regime.

Regarding the ethnic insecurity issues, there is also a small window.  Apart from the street-level abuse we have seen recently, there are some concerns over institutions as many begin to see the old PNC power structure being resurrected.  If this is not addressed, expect another major exodus of mainly Indians.

What is needed is an honest discussion by Indians as to why they refuse to join the GDF and the police force.  A government that they supported was in power for 22 years and they didnt join.  In the early days Cheddi literally begged them to join, and each new class of recruits continued to be mainly blacks.

Now that the APNU dominated govt is back in power once again they will be blamed for Indians not joining the security forces.

Be honest and tell us why Indians do not join, and it is not because they are prevented from doing so.

The Indian exodus continued under the PPP.  Quit trying to pretend as if this only occurs when blacks are in power!

What is needed is an honest discussion by Indians as to why they refuse to join the GDF and the police force.  A government that they supported was in power for 22 years and they didnt join.  In the early days Cheddi literally begged them to join, and each new class of recruits continued to be mainly blacks.

Now that the APNU dominated govt is back in power once again they will be blamed for Indians not joining the security forces.

Be honest and tell us why Indians do not join, and it is not because they are prevented from doing so.

The Indian exodus continued under the PPP.  Quit trying to pretend as if this only occurs when blacks are in power!

Here we go. Caribj's group ethnic security dilemma has been effectively solved, so F the Indos. Big surprise there.

You have zero interest in a balanced Disciplined Forces. The guns need to be always near the heads of Indian people to compel "good behavior." Not sure why I'm surprised. I was actually hoping you'd be a little more gracious in victory.

When you talk to me about the lack of Black entrepreneurship and why we don't have enough Black representation in the private sector of Guyana, I have consistently not asked you WHY that is so but what reasonable measures the State can take to ensure the problem is remedied.

Conscript the Amerindians nuh.

Granger was DEMANDING that Pres Ramotar consult him when he want to Fart, now less than a week he confirm that he was Trained by the World's best Dictator, LFSB.

ABEE GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!!

I have been keeping my mouth shut but gritting my teeth and scratching my head. I am particularly concerned if openness is the key why is the ministry of natural resources in the hands of the president? It is as if he does not have enough to do in our crippled land and need more to be perplexed  about and chew on his fingernails. This whole business of renaming the ministries without telling us specifically why or  who is heading them ( their bios) and what is the scope of their activities have me truly pissed. Not a damn word to the press to date!

This is not a thoughtful, deliberative and transparent leader. This is a lock jawed, black boxed, obtuse, perplexing enigma for a leader. This is not the leader who will stop the Chinese and tell us how the Marriott was built. This is a glimpse of theodoro obiang nguema! Truly....if this fellow march about prescribing orders we are on our way to be screwed like jagdeo!

I had voiced those concerns to my other half. She said I was nit picking. I am glad that some one took the time to write about it. I wasn't out of stride.

President Granger din wake up one morning and said he was going to do all of that. He had that plan all along. His style of governance is to have a handle on the government. And he knew Joe Harmon was going to be important person in his government-probably a very long time ago.

If job creation is the main focus, then the names and responsibilities of the ministries involved are going to get confused. The way I see it some ministers going to get alot of responsibilities. And others very little.

To a very specific point. The other day when the President went to the oil rig, he should have made a point of taking along also an Indo face. We are a super sensitive country. If I noticed the absence, than I am certain others have.

I have a suspicion, Trotman is heading back to the PNC. Groomed for leadership. The President's wish.

Democracy and Statesmanship are two different thing. At this time of our history, President Granger is aiming for Statemanship. That is good thing to prepare the nation for seven generations.

And that is why he will mold the PNC with Trotman.

The PPP should take note on how an excellent leader plans the progress of a nation. Dem should stop their stupid azz behavior the Jagan teach dem and study Granger's method.

Not that I have a problem with someone getting a grip on the country. God knows it needs someone strong at the helm to curb some of the crude elements that seem to be the recent hallmark of Guyanese society. But remember, Granger and Harmon and military men, accustomed to being "in control". And why not in control of the AFC as well; they bit and bit until we caught them. Where are they going to go if they don't like things. There is no going back to them. They cannot say, "we made a mistake". They are in the game now. Don't misunderstand me, I do wish them well. The stakes are too high for the Guyanese people.

Don't forget that Granger is a soldier, trained in the US and Britain and then became the head of the GDF. He has long established relationships and contacts in those countries who are in positions of power or at least the agents of their governments. What makes anyone think that by extension, influence cannot be exerted on Granger, now that "he is the man", by these governments. In exchange of course for "things" to stay in power as long as he plays along.

With respect to the visit to the oil rig, he should, if he meant what he said on the campaign trial, show the inclusivity, even if he doesn't mean it, by acknowledging that half of the country did not vote for him, and they were mostly Indians. You are right to say that by including an Indo person in his party, perhaps the Prime Minister, he would start demonstrating that he is the President for "ALL" Guyanese. Those optics are powerful things. Or could it be that the old instincts are there. Recall that he joined the PNC party, no doubt because of an alignment of philosophy. I do not want to be unfair top the man, he deserves his fifteen minutes to show his colours, but I would he less than honest if I didn't agree with you with respect to Trotman.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Bai Franky, you are only interested in protecting the ill gotten gains that your family accumulated. So stop spilling crocodile tears as if you are a concerned citizen. You can't hide the fact that you are a worried individual who prefers to avoid investigations into your family acquired wealth under the PPP regime.

Mr T. I am worried, but not about what you think or say, and no, my family are as ordinary as can be with extremely modest means. I am worried for the people of Guyana; they deserve a break after all the BS of the two political parties. And no I have no political connections with either parties, but I do know many actors in both very well. I grew up with them.

!

Here we go. Caribj's group ethnic security dilemma has been effectively solved, so F the Indos. Big surprise there.

You have zero interest in a balanced Disciplined Forces. The guns need to be always near the heads of Indian people to compel "good behavior." Not sure why I'm surprised. I was actually hoping you'd be a little more gracious in victory.

When you talk to me about the lack of Black entrepreneurship and why we don't have enough Black representation in the private sector of Guyana, I have consistently not asked you WHY that is so but what reasonable measures the State can take to ensure the problem is remedied.

Blacks wish to work in the private sector at all levels, up to top management.  There is rampant racism against them.

If sufficient numbers refuse to be entrepreneurial then thare isnt anything that can be done about that.  The complaint that blacks have is EMPLOYMENT discrimination. 

Now one can argue as to the reasons why blacks are less entrepreneurial than are Indians, but that is the reality. They less interested in taking on the risk associated with entrepreneurship and prefer the steadiness of a regular pay check.

You see this is the type of response that we get.  Not an honest discussion about why Indians refuse to join. Shaitaan, if Africans join and Indians do not then the armed forces will not be balanced.  It is that simple.  You cannot have a situation of Indians refusing to join, and then scream when the forces are majority African.

And you are a screaming dishonest bytch if you claim that under the PPP rule that the armed forces were biased against Indians.  I cannot recall any protest consisting mainly of Indians where police nastily fired bullets into crowds.  This was done SEVERAL times since 2000.  And I even recall an occasion in the Corentyne when Indians BURNED DOWN a police station.

This is not a thoughtful, deliberative and transparent leader. This is a lock jawed, black boxed, obtuse, perplexing enigma for a leader. !

Well when some folks were screaming that the Lord will descend on Earth and all will be fine, I remember talking about the Granger who showed up at the last PNC Congress, and who was chased out of Linden not long after that.

Granger is NOT transparent.  He might mean well, but he works with a narrow cadre of folks who he trusts, many ageing former army men like him.  He doesnt seem able to work with others whose opinion differs from him.

He will compromise with the AFC (in fact I think that some of the Ministries were created with them in mind), because they have the ability to destroy his govt if he doesnt.  Not so sure about his willingness to do the same with others though.  He is an army man, so expects others to follow orders.

Originally Posted by Franky:
. You are right to say that by including an Indo person in his party, perhaps the Prime Minister, he would start demonstrating that he is the President for "ALL" Guyanese. Those optics are powerful things. .

I am watching to see who will be appointed as ambassadors as well. In fact most of the AFC cabinet members are not Indian.  I assume that Moses selected them.  Maybe this is a result of the internal tension within the AFC between his faction and the original founders.

Let us hope that the honey moon period doesnt lead folks to over estimate their popularity. Guyana remains politically divided.  Let us hope that APNU AFC dont squander an opportunity to demonstrate their potential to be the first post independence government to be fair in terms of how it views the various ethnic groups.

Did you notice you said "APNU dominated govt is back in power once again" and "when blacks are in power"? That is one of the things with instinct, it always surfaces when you least expect it. The exodus of Indians started under the Burnham regime and continued under the PPP regime. First for fear of subjugation/economics and then primarily for economical reasons. Black people also left under both, and here is the kicker; they will both continue to so, even under an APNU government.

With respect to Indians not joining the security forces, you simply must know of the cultural biases that existed in both. There might be other reasons, but do not deny that a cultural bias was already entrenched in those organizations by the time of the Cheddi Jagan administration. I would venture that cultural biases take a long time to shift, but can be helped along with an accommodating leadership.

. You are right to say that by including an Indo person in his party, perhaps the Prime Minister, he would start demonstrating that he is the President for "ALL" Guyanese. Those optics are powerful things. .

I am watching to see who will be appointed as ambassadors as well. In fact most of the AFC cabinet members are not Indian.  I assume that Moses selected them.  Maybe this is a result of the internal tension within the AFC between his faction and the original founders.

Let us hope that the honey moon period doesnt lead folks to over estimate their popularity. Guyana remains politically divided.  Let us hope that APNU AFC dont squander an opportunity to demonstrate their potential to be the first post independence government to be fair in terms of how it views the various ethnic groups.

Couldn't agree with you more. I sincerely hope this turns out good for the people. I am one of them.

Dude shut your silly behind...where in the world do you get these nonsensical idea as to what indians or anyone else has to confess to? If Guyana is politically divided who are you going to call out to confess what?

We need to use traditional conflict resolution/transformation strategy as well as enhance dialog with national groups to solve that problem. And no one has to confess a damn thing.

Also, the AFC cannot publicly squabble with the government. 

This is not a thoughtful, deliberative and transparent leader. This is a lock jawed, black boxed, obtuse, perplexing enigma for a leader. !

Well when some folks were screaming that the Lord will descend on Earth and all will be fine, I remember talking about the Granger who showed up at the last PNC Congress, and who was chased out of Linden not long after that.

Granger is NOT transparent.  He might mean well, but he works with a narrow cadre of folks who he trusts, many ageing former army men like him.  He doesnt seem able to work with others whose opinion differs from him.

He will compromise with the AFC (in fact I think that some of the Ministries were created with them in mind), because they have the ability to destroy his govt if he doesnt.  Not so sure about his willingness to do the same with others though.  He is an army man, so expects others to follow orders.

Some of americas most beloved presidents were army men. Washington, the first president was  a man who knew cruel war but also had a keen understanding of the common folk and their needs. He was a rigid soldier and general but a deliberative and temperate leader. America is a democracy and not a kingdom because of him.

Dude shut your silly behind...where in the world do you get these nonsensical idea as to what indians or anyone else has to confess to? If Guyana is politically divided who are you going to call out to confess what?

We need to use traditional conflict resolution/transformation strategy as well as enhance dialog with national groups to solve that problem. And no one has to confess a damn thing.

Also, the AFC cannot publicly squabble with the government. 

They can squabble; it would show that they still maintain their separate identity, and show the base that they can disagree the APNU but still work with them. But too much would indicate a serious mistake.

Did you notice you said "APNU dominated govt is back in power once again" and "when blacks are in power"? That is one of the things with instinct, it always surfaces when you least expect it. The exodus of Indians started under the Burnham regime and continued under the PPP regime. First for fear of subjugation/economics and then primarily for economical reasons. Black people also left under both, and here is the kicker; they will both continue to so, even under an APNU government.

With respect to Indians not joining the security forces, you simply must know of the cultural biases that existed in both. There might be other reasons, but do not deny that a cultural bias was already entrenched in those organizations by the time of the Cheddi Jagan administration. I would venture that cultural biases take a long time to shift, but can be helped along with an accommodating leadership.

Some time ago, I wrote a commentary promoting the idea of recruiting eligible young Amerindians into the GDF. They will be a better choice than the East Indians. The current army lives too close to the city. We need an army where it is needed-in the hinterlands. That is where our gold and diamonds are smuggled. Gun running occurs at the Brazilian border.  

I have been keeping my mouth shut but gritting my teeth and scratching my head. I am particularly concerned if openness is the key why is the ministry of natural resources in the hands of the president? It is as if he does not have enough to do in our crippled land and need more to be perplexed  about and chew on his fingernails. This whole business of renaming the ministries without telling us specifically why or  who is heading them ( their bios) and what is the scope of their activities have me truly pissed. Not a damn word to the press to date!

This is not a thoughtful, deliberative and transparent leader. This is a lock jawed, black boxed, obtuse, perplexing enigma for a leader. This is not the leader who will stop the Chinese and tell us how the Marriott was built. This is a glimpse of theodoro obiang nguema! Truly....if this fellow march about prescribing orders we are on our way to be screwed like jagdeo!

He is just 'REFASHIONING' the Ministries and other things in Guyana.  From day one I said he is a waste.

Originally Posted by alena06:

He is just 'REFASHIONING' the Ministries and other things in Guyana.  From day one I said he is a waste.

I did not argue for his case. I argued against the PPP. Whatever this fellow does will be a lesson for us and the Corrupt PPP. If  he turns out as he say he is then we are really lucky, if otherwise, then it matters not since he is the cure for the PPP anyway.

Burnham started the same way with his new broom..  He was supposed to open up industries and created JOBS.  WHAT HAPPENED?

The PPP followed with the same.

I told you what would make the GDF more attractive for young Indians.  Like in any country, the military has to compete unless it's mandatory.  The value proposition for many Indians is different from Afros however, making it more attractive for Indians will inevitably benefit the Afros.

The 2nd exodus will dwarf the previous and see a rapid decline leaving Indians in the low 30's ratio.  But then again, this ethnic cleansing will probably be for the better.  The remaining Indians will no longer present a threat to Afro dominance and as such may not suffer the abuse and ridicule Indians have suffered since the early 60's.

Blacks were in power between 1964 and 1992.  Do you deny that this was a mono racial African regime?  We will see how the APNU AFC govt turns out to be, and whether Indians will continue to flee.

The decline of the Indian population was less than 50% in 1960.  Increased to 51% in 1970, and declined to 49% by 1991.  The Indian population did NOT shrink relative to the overall population under the PNC.

Under the PPP the Indian population has shrunk to 40% by the 2012 census (so unconfirmed reports indicate).  Therefore it is under the PPP regime that the Indian population shrunk relative to the population as a whole.  So don't blame the PNC for the Indo exodus as the PPP clearly plays a role here as well.

As to the Indo refusal to join the armed forces.  What cultural biases exist?  If Indians do not have a cultural disposition to join the armed forces in Guyana (but suddenly develop this when they migrate) then why do we hear this daily harangue blaming blacks for their failure to join. 

The truth is that there isn't sufficient financial reward for Indians to join the armed forces when one considers the danger and the hardships.  Indos are now very present in the interior in the mining sector, so it isn't the difficulty of living away from their kinship networks, which used to be the excuse. People just need to be honest.

The 2nd exodus will dwarf the previous and see a rapid decline leaving Indians in the low 30's ratio.  But then again, this ethnic cleansing will probably be for the better.  The remaining Indians will no longer present a threat to Afro dominance and as such may not suffer the abuse and ridicule Indians have suffered since the early 60's.

In the 20 years between 1991 and 2012 the Indian population fell from 49% to 40%.  Without migration rates increasing, it is easy to project 35% by 2020.

Now if the pay is too low for Indians to join the army/police blame the PPP which deliberately kept pay rates low as these were mainly staffed by blacks.  Indeed they were told to increase pay and improve training opportunities to better prepare people for lives after they left these forces.  PPP did nothing.  Now you will as usual imagine some plot by black people, instead of blaming Indians as you ought to.  Its they who voted for the PPP as recently as May 11th.

Burnham started the same way with his new broom..  He was supposed to open up industries and created JOBS.  WHAT HAPPENED?

40% of the youth in Guyana are unemployed.  So who did the PPP create jobs for? CHINESE?

Originally Posted by alena06:

The PPP left Guyana with a 40% youth unemployment rate.  What a waste.  This from the UNDP by the way.........oooops I forget the whole world now hates the PPP, so every thing that they say are lies.

Be careful what you wish for - you and friends were clamouring for change, well brace yourselves for the tsunami slowly rumbling. Just a few days ago folks were glorifying Granger, his wife, etc. and posting their bios. The shocks are being delivered one by one, brace yourselves.

Originally Posted by Observer:

Be careful what you wish for - you and friends were clamouring for change, well brace yourselves for the tsunami slowly rumbling. Just a few days ago folks were glorifying Granger, his wife, etc. and posting their bios. The shocks are being delivered one by one, brace yourselves.

I've already outfitted my brain with some shock absorbers.

Originally Posted by Observer:

You read what is in your head. The man has always been a black box to me. I never uttered one word...yes one word as to his virtues of his difficiencies. I knew and still know not what they are.

I argued against what was clearly a kleptocracy in the PPP. I said if change is to come it is not from them. I noted if they are out of office maybe they will eat humble pie. I said our change can only come from Granger. He is not the PPP. What  he is we are yet to see. I am not putting him down. I just see the formation of an organization that makes sense only to those accustomed to rigid hierarchies ( and his organization is not even hierarchical but spokes!) I am not sure this is the best way but he is the president. We are the critics.